COVID-19 期间压力和焦虑的调节:给癌症幸存者父母的信息

本信息介绍了在 COVID-19 期间癌症幸存者的父母应该如何调节压力和焦虑。

如果您的孩子患有癌症,在 COVID-19 期间您可能会面临独特的挑战和担忧。您现在可能比那些孩子没有严重疾病的父母感到更担忧。您可能有很多问题,其中包括:

  • 我孩子有癌症病史是否会使他们患 COVID-19 的风险更高?
  • 我该如何和我的孩子谈论 COVID-19?
  • 在这段时间内,我该如何管理孩子的担忧和生活方式的变化?
  • 如果没有学校或其他社区服务的帮助和现场支持,我该如何管理孩子的情感和教育需求?

遇到这些问题并对 COVID-19 感到有压力和担忧是很正常的。作为癌症幸存者的父母,COVID-19 可能会让您有不同的感触。您可能会感觉与那些了解您癌症体验的人更亲近。您可能会感觉自己比大多数人更容易应对或管理保持社交距离。对于那些总在抱怨保持社交距离的人,您可能没有什么耐心。这些都是您对身边发生的一切的正常反应。有这样的感受是没有问题的,但同时您需要管理好这些压力和焦虑,从而保证您能够安全健康地度过这段特殊时期,陪伴照顾您的孩子。

返回到頂部

COVID-19 期间的压力和焦虑的调节

请记住,应对 COVID-19 带来的压力的方法没有对错之分。每个人处理压力的方式各不相同。在这段时间里,您可以做一些事情来照顾好自己,调节自己的压力,这样您就可以陪伴照顾您的孩子了。更多信息,请阅读COVID-19 期间压力和焦虑的调节:给癌症幸存者的信息

  • 了解您孩子面临的风险。与您孩子的医疗保健提供者交谈,了解您孩子在 COVID-19 期间面临的健康风险,以及您如何能够确保他们的安全。有癌症病史并不会增加您孩子感染 COVID-19 的风险,但您仍应遵循 CDC 指南(例如经常洗手,)避免与生病或居住在您家中以外的人密切接触,以保护您和您的家人。
  • 承认您的感受。接受这对每个人来说都是一个有压力的时刻,特别是如果您的孩子正在或曾经与癌症奋战。请记住,此刻您并不是孤身一人。感到担心或焦虑是正常的。
  • 及时了解情况。 及时了解与 COVID-19 相关的新闻,以便学习如何保持健康和安全。请确保从可靠和值得信赖的来源获得相关信息,如疾病控制和预防中心(www.cdc.gov)和纽约市卫生和精神卫生署(www1.nyc.gov)网站。
  • 必要时请远离新闻。虽然在这段时间里及时获知最新消息很重要,但过量的信息可能会让您不知所措。当您感到焦虑时,停止收看、浏览和收听新闻(包括社交媒体),休息一下。
  • 认识到您能控制和不能控制的事情。尽管我们对 COVID-19 知之甚少,但您要重点关注您能做些什么来保护您和家人。确保您和您的家人遵循 CDC 指南来保护自己。 我们正在经历的这些生活方式的改变可能类似于您的孩子接受癌症治疗时您所经历的,比如担心感染病菌,不能做一些活动。请记住,您应该能够比其他人更能遵循这些指南。
  • 和您的孩子谈谈发生了什么事。 让他们知道,您了解这是一个可怕的时刻,如果他们愿意,他们可以提问或表达他们的感觉。每个孩子的应对方式都不一样,并非每个人都愿意与人交谈。让您的孩子知道,他们的感觉对您很重要,他们可以向您寻求帮助。当他们准备好交谈时,尽量进行坦诚的对话,这样他们会感到被理解,而不那么孤独。
  • 花时间陪伴您的孩子。 虽然您和您的孩子经历了很多,但重要的是专注于现在。 试着每天留出几分钟和孩子一起做一些你们都喜欢的事情。您可以抽出时间通过艺术、游戏或他们选择的其他活动与他们建立联系。您的孩子可能很乐意帮助提出一些你们可以一起做的事情的想法。
  • 与您的家人和朋友保持联系。 虽您可能无法与所爱之人待在一起,但您可以打电话、发短信以及和他们视频聊天。您可能会发现,计划与所爱之人的每日通话很有帮助,因为这样会让您有所期待。您可以尝试在吃饭的时候与家人视频聊天或一起玩游戏。
  • 获取情感支持。与您信任的人谈谈自己的感受。可以是您的孩子接受癌症治疗时帮助过您的人,也可以是专业人士,比如治疗师或社工。与其他癌症幸存者的父母交谈也可能对您有所帮助,他们在 COVID-19 期间可能与您有类似的感受。如果您想与其他父母联系,请告知您的社工。
  • 留些时间给自己。请记住,这对每个人来说都是一个有压力的时刻,您可以为孩子做的最好的事情就是照顾好您自己。花点时间放松一下,为您自己做点什么,比如洗个澡或做您喜欢但通常没有时间做的活动。
返回到頂部

MSK 斯隆资源

无论您身处何地,您和您的家人都能在这里得到支持。MSK 斯隆能够提供各种资源来帮助您调节 COVID-19 引起的压力和焦虑。请致电您的医生办公室以获取更多信息或与任一以下资源建立联系。

社会工作
212-639-7020
www.mskcc.org/experience/patient-support/counseling/social-work-support
我们的社会工作者为患者及其家人、朋友和照护者提供情感支持和指导。社会工作提供很多项目,包括面对面和在线支持小组。每个 MSK 斯隆站点都配备了社会工作者。如果您想咨询社工,请致电 212-639-7020

如果您有兴趣加入在线支持小组,请访问虚拟项目网站 www.mskcc.org/vp,获取更多信息并注册报名。

咨询中心
646-888-0200
www.mskcc.org/experience/patient-support/counseling
MSK 斯隆的咨询师为个人、夫妇、家庭、照护者和团体提供咨询服务。他们也可以开具药方,帮助人们解决焦虑、抑郁和其他心理健康问题。如需了解更多信息,请致电 646-888-0200

照护者诊所
646-888-0200
www.mskcc.org/experience/caregivers-support/caregiver-services
在 MSK 斯隆,照护者诊所专门为那些不满足护理人员资格要求的照护者提供支持。如需了解更多信息,请致电 646-888-0200,与照护者诊所联系。

牧师服务
212-639-5982
www.mskcc.org/spiritual-religious-care
在 MSK 斯隆,牧师可以倾听、帮助支持家庭成员、祈祷、联系附近的牧师或信仰团体,或者仅作为一个安慰的同伴和精神上的慰藉。无论信仰什么宗教,任何人都可以会见牧师。MSK 斯隆还设有一个跨宗教的小教堂,对所有人开放。如需了解更多信息,请致电 212-639-5982

综合医学服务
646-888-0800
www.mskcc.org/integrativemedicine
在 COVID-19 紧急时期,我们的综合医学服务部门将提供在线服务,包括远程医疗会诊、冥想课程和私人健康会议,以补充传统医疗。患者、患者家人、照护者和公众均可获得该服务。如需了解更多信息,请致电 646-888-0800

患者及照护者教育
www.mskcc.org/pe
请访问患者及照护者教育网站,搜索我们的虚拟图书馆。您可以在图书馆中找到书面教育资源、视频和在线课程。

患者及照护者支持计划
212-639-5007
www.mskcc.org/experience/patient-support/counseling/support-groups-programs/patient-patient-support
与有类似经历的人交谈可能会让您感到些许安慰。通过患者及照护者支持计划,您可以与之前的患者和照护者交谈。他们可以面对面或通过电话或电子邮件与您交谈。如需了解更多信息,请致电 212-639-5007 或发送电子邮件至 patient2patient@mskcc.org

患癌后的生活资源 (RLAC)
646-888-8106
www.mskcc.org/experience/living-beyond-cancer/services-survivors
MSK 斯隆将从始至终为您提供照护服务,直至您完成治疗。RLAC 计划是专为已经完成治疗的患者及其家属设计的。该项目提供许多服务,包括研讨会、讲习班、支持小组、治疗后生活咨询以及有关保险和就业问题的帮助。如需了解更多信息,请致电 646-888-8106

虚拟计划
www.mskcc.org/vp
当您无法亲自前往 MSK 斯隆时,可以使用 MSK 斯隆的虚拟计划,该计划为患者和照护者提供在线教育和支持。通过实时的交互式会议,您可以了解您的诊断、治疗期间的预期情况以及如何为癌症护理的各个阶段做准备。会议全程保密且免费,并由专业的临床工作人员主导。如果您有兴趣加入虚拟项目,请访问我们的网站 www.mskcc.org/vp,获取更多信息。

返回到頂部

上次更新時間

Managing Stress and Anxiety During COVID-19: Information for Parents of Cancer Survivors

This information explains how you can manage stress and anxiety as a parent of a cancer survivor during COVID-19.

If your child had cancer, you may have unique challenges and concerns during COVID-19. You may feel more worries right now than parents whose children haven’t had a serious medical illness. You may have a lot of questions, including:

  • Does my child’s cancer history put them at a higher risk for COVID-19?
  • How do I talk with my child about COVID-19?
  • How do I manage my child’s worries and lifestyle changes during this time?
  • How do I manage my child’s emotional and educational needs without support and access to in-person support from school or other community services?

It’s normal to have these questions and feel stressed and worried about COVID-19. As a parent of a cancer survivor, COVID-19 may make you feel a lot of different things. You may feel closer to people who understand your experience with cancer. You may feel like you can cope with or manage social distancing easier than most people. You may have little patience for people complaining about social distancing. These are all normal reactions to what you’re going through. It’s okay to feel this way, but it’s important to manage your stress and anxiety so you can stay safe and healthy during this time and be there for your child.

Back to top

Managing Stress and Anxiety During COVID-19

Remember, there’s no right or wrong way to cope with the stress caused by COVID-19. Everyone deals with stress differently. Here are some things you can do to take care of yourself and manage your stress during this time so you can be there for you child. For more information, read Managing Stress and Anxiety During COVID-19: Information for Cancer Survivors.

  • Understand your child’s risk. Talk with your child’s healthcare provider to learn about your child’s health risks during COVID-19 and what you can do to help them stay safe. Having a history of cancer doesn’t put your child at a higher risk for COVID-19, but you should still protect yourself and your family by following CDC guidelines, such as washing your hands often and avoiding close contact with people who are sick or who live outside of your home.
  • Acknowledge your feelings. Accept that this is a stressful time for everyone, especially people whose children have or had cancer. Remember that you’re not alone in this. It’s okay to feel afraid or anxious.
  • Stay informed. It’s important to stay updated on news related to COVID-19 related so you know what to do to stay healthy and safe. Make sure to get your information from reliable and trustworthy sources, such as the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (www.cdc.gov) and the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (www1.nyc.gov) websites.
  • Disconnect from the news when you need to. While it’s important to stay updated with the news during this time, it can be overwhelming. Take breaks from watching, reading, and listening to the news, including social media, when you’re feeling anxious.
  • Recognize what you can and can’t control. While there’s a lot we don’t know about COVID-19, focus on what you can do to protect yourself and your family. Make sure you and your family follow CDC guidelines to protect yourselves. These lifestyle changes we’re all going through may be similar to what you experienced while your child was getting cancer treatment, such as worrying about germs and not being able to do some activities. Remember that you’re more prepared to follow these guidelines than others.
  • Talk with your child about what’s happening. Let them know you understand these are scary times and that they can ask questions or express their feelings if they want. Each child copes differently and not everyone wants to talk. Let your child know that their feelings matter to you and they can come to you for support. Try to have honest conversations when they’re ready to talk so they feel understood and less alone.
  • Spend time with your child. While you and your child have been through a lot, it’s important to stay focused on the present. Try setting aside a few minutes each day to do something together with your child that you both enjoy. You can make time to connect with them through art, play, or another activity of their choice. You may find your child has fun helping to come up with ideas for things you can do together.
  • Stay connected to your family and friends. While you may not be able to be with your loved ones in person, you can call, text, and video chat with them. You may find it helpful to plan daily calls with your loved ones that you can look forward to. You can also try video chatting with your family during meals or to play games together.
  • Get emotional support. Talk with people you can trust about what you’re feeling. This can be someone that helped you as your child went through cancer treatment or a professional, like a therapist or social worker. You may also find it helpful to talk to other parents of cancer survivors who may be feeling the same way you are during COVID-19. Talk with your social worker if you’d like to connect with other parents.
  • Take time for yourself. Remember that this is a stressful time for everyone and that the best thing you can do for your child is take care of yourself. Take time to relax and do something for yourself, like taking a bath or doing an activity you enjoy but don’t usually have the time for.
Back to top

Resources at MSK

No matter where you are in the world, there is support available to you and your family. MSK offers a range of resources to help you manage stress and anxiety caused by COVID-19. Call your doctor’s office for more information or to be connected to any of these resources.

Social Work
212-639-7020
www.mskcc.org/experience/patient-support/counseling/social-work-support
Our social workers provide emotional support and guidance to patients and their families, friends, and caregivers. Social work offers programs, including both in-person and online support groups. Social workers are available at every MSK location. To talk with a social worker, call 212-639-7020.

If you’re interested in joining an online support group, visit the Virtual Programs website at www.mskcc.org/vp for more information and to sign up.

Counseling Center
646-888-0200
www.mskcc.org/experience/patient-support/counseling
MSK’s counselors provide counseling for individuals, couples, families, caregivers, and groups. They can also prescribe medications to help with anxiety, depression, and other mental health problems. For more information, call 646-888-0200.

Caregivers Clinic
646-888-0200
www.mskcc.org/experience/caregivers-support/caregiver-services
At MSK, the Caregivers Clinic provides support specifically for caregivers who are having difficulty coping with the demands of being a caregiver. For more information, call the Caregivers Clinic at 646-888-0200.

Chaplaincy Services
212-639-5982
www.mskcc.org/spiritual-religious-care
At MSK, chaplains are available to listen, help support family members, pray, contact nearby clergy or faith groups, or simply to be a comforting companion and spiritual presence. Anyone can meet with a chaplain, no matter their formal religious affiliation. MSK also has an interfaith chapel that’s open to everyone. For more information, call 212-639-5982.

Integrative Medicine Service
646-888-0800
www.mskcc.org/integrativemedicine
During the COVID-19 emergency, our Integrative Medicine Service is offering online services, including telemedicine consultations, meditation courses, and private fitness sessions to complement (go along with) traditional medical care. Services are available to patients, their families and caregivers, and to the general public. For more information, call 646-888-0800.

Patient and Caregiver Education
www.mskcc.org/pe
Visit the Patient and Caregiver Education website to search our virtual library. There, you can find written educational resources, videos, and online programs.

Patient and Caregiver Support Program
212-639-5007
www.mskcc.org/experience/patient-support/counseling/support-groups-programs/patient-patient-support
You may find it comforting to speak with someone who has been through a similar experience. Through the Patient and Caregiver Support Program, you can speak with former patients and caregivers. They can speak with you in person, over the phone, or through email. For more information, call 212-639-5007 or email patient2patient@mskcc.org.

Resources for Life After Cancer (RLAC)
646-888-8106
www.mskcc.org/experience/living-beyond-cancer/services-survivors
At MSK, care doesn’t end when your treatment is finished. The RLAC Program is for patients and their families who have finished treatment. This program has many services, including seminars, workshops, support groups, counseling on life after treatment, and help with insurance and employment issues. For more information, call 646-888-8106.

Virtual Programs
www.mskcc.org/vp
MSK’s Virtual Programs offer online education and support for patients and caregivers, even when you can’t come to MSK in person. Through live, interactive sessions, you can learn about your diagnosis, what to expect during treatment, and how to prepare for the various stages of your cancer care. Sessions are confidential, free, and led by expert clinical staff. If you’re interested in joining a Virtual Program, visit our website at www.mskcc.org/vp for more information.

Back to top

Tell us what you think

Tell us what you think

Your feedback will help us improve the information we provide to patients and caregivers. We read every comment, but we’re not able to respond. If you have questions about your care, contact your healthcare provider.
 

Questions Yes Somewhat No

Last Updated