MSK Awards & Appointments April 2023

MSK Awards & Appointments January 2023

Selwyn Vickers
Selwyn Vickers Delivered the American Association for Cancer Research’s Minorities in Cancer Research Jane Cooke Wright Lectureship

Selwyn M. Vickers, MD, FACS, President and CEO, was the recipient of the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) Minorities in Cancer Research Jane Cooke Wright Lectureship. The lectureship is presented to outstanding scientists who have made meritorious contributions to the field of cancer research and who have furthered advancement of minority investigators in cancer research. Dr. Vickers was recognized for his celebrated contributions to the understanding and targeting of pancreas cancer metastasis, including work that assisted with the development of minnelide, a novel drug for pancreatic and liver cancer.

Ingo Mellinghoff
Ingo Mellinghoff Received the American Academy of Neurology Scientific Research Award

Ingo Mellinghoff, MD, FACP, neuro-oncologist, chair of the Department of Neurology, Chief of the Brain Tumor Service, and Evnin Family Chair in neuro-oncology, was awarded the Scientific Research Award by the American Academy of Neurology. The award recognizes an individual for a singular scientific achievement that has advanced the field of neuro-oncology. Dr. Mellinghoff’s work focuses on the development of molecularly targeted treatments for brain tumors, both in the laboratory and the clinic.

Samuel Bakhoum
Samuel Bakhoum Received the BioInnovation Institute & Science Prize for Innovation

Samuel F. Bakhoum, MD, PhD, Josie Robertson Investigator Samuel Bakhoum was one of two finalists to receive the BioInnovation Institute & Science Prize for Innovation, which recognizes “bold researchers who ask fundamental questions at the intersection of life sciences and entrepreneurship.”

Gregory Riely, Tiffany Traina, and Victoria Blinder
Gregory Riely, Tiffany Traina, and Victoria Blinder Elected 2022 American Society of Clinical Oncology Fellows

Gregory Riely, MD, PhD, FASCO, medical oncologist, Vice Chair of clinical research of the Department of Medicine, Victoria Blinder, MD, FASCO, medical oncologist, and Tiffany Traina, MD, FASCO, medical oncologist, Vice Chair of outpatient operations of the Department of Medicine and section head of the Triple Negative Breast Cancer Clinical Research Program, have been elected 2022 American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) Fellows. This distinction recognizes members for their extraordinary volunteer service, engagement, dedication, and commitment to ASCO.

Dmitriy Zamarin
Dmitriy Zamarin Awarded 2023 Society of Gynecologic Oncology Presidential Abstract Award

Dmitriy Zamarin, MD, PhD, medical oncologist and, translational research Director of the Gynecologic Medical Oncology Service, received the 2023 Society of Gynecologic Oncology (SGO) Presidential Abstract Award for his abstract “Evolution of Peripheral and Tumor Immune Parameters as Biomarkers of Differential Sequencing of Immune Checkpoint Blockade and Chemoradiotherapy in Locally Advanced Cervical Cancer: An NRG Oncology/GOG Study.” SGO awards individuals whose efforts have impacted the prevention, care, and treatment of women’s cancers.

Ryan Sugarman
Ryan Sugarman Named Top Oncologist by the Long Island Herald

Ryan Sugarman, MD, medical oncologist, received the 2022 Top Oncologist award at the Long Island Choice Awards. The Long Island Choice Awards recognize and celebrate individuals, businesses, and organizations throughout Long Island in several categories, all nominated by the community. The awards are sponsored by Richner Communications Inc, publishers of the Herald Community Newspapers, which cover the entire south Nassau (County) area.

Physicians Selected to Castle Connolly’s 2023 Exceptional Women in Medicine List

Castle Connolly recognized 58 MSK physicians on the 2023 list of Expectational Women in Medicine. The list acknowledges female Castle Connolly Top Doctors who have demonstrated outstanding leadership, expertise, and dedication in their respective field. Castle Connolly’s Expectational Women in Medicine are nominated by their peers, and Castle Connolly determines the final list based on important criteria, including professional qualifications, education, hospital and faculty appointments, research leadership, professional reputation, disciplinary history, interpersonal skills, and outcomes data.

You can see the full list here.

Francisco Sanchez-Vega
Francisco Sanchez-Vega Awarded the Corning and MSK Health Equity Fellowship

Francisco Sanchez-Vega, PhD, was awarded the Corning and MSK Health Equity Research Fellowship, a two-year grant that funds research into the broad disparities in cancer outcomes for patients in historically underserved communities. Sponsored by Corning’s Office of Racial Equality and Social Unity. The fellowship will allow Dr. Sanchez-Vega to research the genomic, clinical, and socioeconomic causes behind the disproportionately negative outcomes of colorectal cancer in Black communities across the United States.

William Rosa
William Rosa Honored with Nursing Awards

William Rosa, PhD, MBR, MS, behavioral scientist has been honored with several nursing awards, including the  Rising Star Research Award by Eastern Nursing Research Society, the New Investigator Award by Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association, and Emerging Nurse Researchers and Scholars Award by Sigma Nursing.

Eastern Nursing Research Society’s Rising Star Research Award recognizes a junior investigator who has shown promise in establishing a program of health and/or nursing research. Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association’s New Investigator Award honors the work of an individual in the beginning of their research career who has done quality research, which can be a pilot or preliminary study that focused on clinical care, professional development, or advancement of palliative nursing. Sigma Nursing’s Emerging Nurse Researchers and Scholars Award recognizes early career nurse researchers and scholars from each of Sigma’s seven global regions (Asia, Africa, Europe, North America, and Oceania) whose research or scholarship has influenced the nursing profession and the people it serves. Dr. Rosa was one of six individuals to receive the award this year.

Claudia Ortiz
Claudia Ortiz Received Municipal Credit Union’s Hero Award

Claudia Ortiz, DNP, WHNP-BC, CTTS, nurse practitioner, received the Municipal Credit Union (MCU)’s Hero Award. This award is given by MCU to the heroes of New York, whose actions big or small help to build a stronger community. Dr. Ortiz is being honored for her continuous work in Harlem through her role as program manager at the MSK Ralph Lauren Center and her community outreach, in both English and Spanish, which has impacted innumerable lives in this area.

Elizabeth Coffee
Elizabeth Coffee Selected for the MSK K12 Paul Calabresi Career Development Award for Clinical Oncology by the National Cancer Institute

Elizabeth Coffee, MD, neurologist and neuro-oncologist, was selected for the MSK K12 Paul Calabresi Career Development Award for Clinical Oncology by the National Cancer Institute (NCI). The award fosters a training program for clinical translational research at MSK which provides three years of junior faculty funding to selected scholars. Dr. Coffee was selected for her work studying hyperpolarized MRI probes to guide treatment in gliomas.