Eight Memorial Sloan Kettering Investigators Awarded ASCO Grants


Each year, during ASCO’s annual meeting, the ASCO Foundation recognizes oncologists who are in different stages of their careers for major achievements or proven commitment to clinical research. This year, eight Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center investigators were honored with ASCO grants.

Two Advanced Clinical Research Awards were presented, both to Memorial Sloan Kettering researchers. Medical oncologist Ingo K. Mellinghoff of the Neurology Service received one of the awards for his research in brain cancer. The second award was presented to Shanu Modi, a medical oncologist who serves on the Breast Cancer Medicine Service. Drs. Mellinghoff and Modi each received a three-year grant of $450,000 for their unique, patient-oriented approaches to clinical research.

Rebecca Leboeuf, a physician on Memorial Sloan Kettering’s Endocrinology Service, received a three-year Career Development Award of $200,000 for her research on thyroid cancer. Intended to establish independent clinical research programs, this award is presented to investigators who are in their second, third, or fourth year of faculty appointment.

Five promising physicians who are starting their careers at Memorial Sloan Kettering received one-year Young Investigator Awards of $50,000 to begin their investigative studies. The recipients were medical oncology fellows Kristen Carr, Mark Dickson, Nicholas Mitsiades, Alexei Morozov, and Jonathan Schatz.