2009 BTC Grant Winners

2009 BTC Grant Winners

Lindy Barrett

The following scientists and clinicians are winners of the 2009 Memorial Sloan Kettering brain tumor grant competition.

Lindy Barrett, PhD, Postdoctoral Fellow, Cancer Biology and Genetics

Project Title: The Role of Id Proteins in GBM Tumorigenesis

Oren Becher, Jason Huse, Praveen Raju
Oren Becher, MD, Instructor, Pediatrics; Jason Huse, MD, PhD, Instructor, Pathology; Praveen Raju, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor/Research Fellow, Developmental Biology

Project Title: Molecular Characterization and Stratification of Human Medulloblastomas

Timothy Chan

Timothy Chan, MD, PhD, Assistant Member, HOPP/Radiation Oncology

Project Title: Understanding the Function of the Tyrosine Phosphatase PTPRD, a Frequently Inactivated and Mutated Tumor Suppressor in Glioblastoma

Jason Huse

Jason Huse, MD, PhD, Instructor, Pathology

Project Title: Biomarker Development for the Molecular Subclassification of Malignant Glioma

Drs. Lassman and Mellinghoff

Andrew Lassman, MD, Assistant Member, Neurology; Ingo Mellinghoff, MD, Assistant Member, Neurology/HOPP

Project Title: Pulsatile Kinase Inhibitor Therapy for Malignant Glioma: Proof of Concept Clinical Trial

Tatsuya Ozawa
Tatsuya Ozawa, MD, PhD, Research Fellow, Cancer Biology and Genetics

Project Title: The Discovery of Genetic Events Cooperating with NF1 Inactivation in Glimoagenesis

Teodoro Pulvirenti
Teodoro Pulvirenti, PhD, Postdoctoral Fellow, Cell Biology

Project Title: Wnt Signaling in Gliomas and the Control of Stem-like, Glioma Cell Fate