2012 BTC Grant Winners

2012 BTC Grant Winners

The following scientists and clinicians are winners of the 2012 Memorial Sloan Kettering brain tumor grant competition.

Leila Akkari
Leila Akkari, PhD, Cancer Biology and Genetics, Johanna Joyce Lab

Project Title: Unraveling the Role of Cysteine Cathepsin Proteases in the Brain Tumor Microenvironment

Christian Grommes
Christian Grommes, MD, Neurology and Human Oncology and Pathogenesis Program, Ingo Mellinghoff Lab

Project Title: Exploring the Role of the PI3(K) Pathway in Tumor Maintenance and Therapy Response inPrimary CNS Lymphoma

Gary Mason
Gary Mason, MD, Pediatrics and Human Oncology and Pathogenesis Program, Jason Huse Lab

Project Title: Elucidating the Oncogenic Effects of Histone Protein Mutations in Pediatric Glioma

Thomas Reiner
Thomas Reiner, PhD, Radiology

Project Title: Novel Bioorthogonal Strategies for Glioblastoma-Targeted Peptidic PET Probes

Sriram Venneti & Hanwen Zhang
Sriram Venneti, MD, PhD, Cancer Biology and Genetics, Craig Thompson Lab; Hanwen Zhang, PhD, Molecular Pharmacology and Chemistry, Jason Lewis Lab

Project Title: Evaluation of Glutamine Metabolism in Gliomas Using Biochemical and in vivo PET Imaging Approaches

Alexandre Wojcinski
Alexandre Wojcinski, PhD, Developmental Biology, Alexandra Joyner Lab

Project Title: Identification of Genes and Cell Behaviors Regulated by HH/GLI2 Signaling During Medulloblastomas Progression