Inside My Lab: Kristian Helin

The Helin lab studies how fundamental biological processes are regulated and how these become perturbed in human disease, particularly in cancer. Our vision is that our research can play a role in developing new therapies for people with cancer and at the same time provide new insights into mechanisms regulating transcription, stem cell identity, and differentiation. Our research is focused on how chromatin-associated proteins regulate transcription and control cell-fate decisions. To do this we use a host of different methods in biochemistry, cell biology, and genetics (including mouse genetics) and a number of high-throughput genetic methods to identify potential novel therapeutic targets. 

Kristian Helin

Kristian Helin, PhD

Chair, Cell Biology Program, SKI; Director, Center for Epigenetics


Research Focus

Cancer biologist Kristian Helin studies how genetic and epigenetic mechanisms affect transcription and cell-fate decisions, and how their deregulation contributes to cancer.


PhD, University of Coepenhagen

Lab Members

  • Radzisheuskaya A, Shliaha PV, Grinev V, Lorenzini E, Kovalchuk S, Shlyueva D, Gorshkov V, Hendrickson RC, Jensen ON, Helin K. PRMT5 methylome profiling uncovers a direct link to splicing regulation in acute myeloid leukemia. Nat Struct Mol Biol. 2019 Nov;26(11):999-1012. doi: 10.1038/s41594-019-0313-z. Epub 2019 Oct 14.
  • Højfeldt JW, Hedehus L, Laugesen A, Tatar T, Wiehle L, Helin K. Non-core Subunits of the PRC2 Complex Are Collectively Required for Its Target-Site Specificity. Mol Cell. 2019 Nov 7;76(3):423-436.e3. doi: 10.1016/j.molcel.2019.07.031. Epub 2019 Sep 11.
Learn more
Selected Achievements
  • Kirsten og Freddy Johansens pre-clinical Research Prize (2018)
  • Director Ib Henriksen’s Foundation’s research prize (2015)
  • The Anders Jahre Senior Medical Prize (2014)
  • The Carlsberg Foundation’s Research Prize in Natural Sciences (2012)
  • The innovation prize of University of Copenhagen (2011)
Read more
  • The Novo Nordisk Prize (2008)
  • Elected to The Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters (2008)
  • Elected member of European Molecular Biology Organisation (2002)