Sloan Kettering Institute: Academic Lectures, Seminars & Workshops

Format: 11/23/2014

Tuesday, November 25, 2014

Seminar
Rethinking Asymetric Synthesis: The Development of General Metal-Catalyzed Cross-Coupling Reactions That Enable The Use of Optically Active Nucleophiles
4:00 PM – 5:00 PM

Mark Biscoe, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry
The City College of New York
New York, NY

Monday, December 1, 2014

SKI Talks
TBA
4:30 PM – 5:30 PM

Wednesday, December 3, 2014

Seminar
Roles for Transcriptional Super-Enhancers in Cell Identity and Cancer
4:30 PM – 5:30 PM

Richard Young, PhD
Member, Whitehead Institute
Professor of Biology
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Thursday, December 4, 2014

Seminar
Evolution to Expand The Enzyme Universe
10:30 AM – 11:30 AM

Santiago Schnell, DPhil, FRSC
Associate Professor of Molecular and Integrative Physiology, Associate Professor of Computational Medicine and Bioinformatics, William K. Brehm Investigator of Brehm Center for Diabetes Research
The University of Michigan Medical School
Ann Arbor, MI

Seminar
Powering Chromosomes Movement in Mitosis: Mobile Tethers on Dynamic Microtubule Ends
11:00 AM – 12:00 PM

Ekaterina Grishchuk, PhD
Assistant Professor of Physiology
University of Pennsylvania, Perelman School of Medicine
Philadelphia, PA

Seminar
Mechanisms of Olfactory Receptor Gene Choice
1:30 PM – 2:30 PM

Stavros Lomvardas, PhD
Professor, Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biophysics, Mortimer B. Zuckerman Mind Brain and Behavior Institute
Columbia University
New York, NY

Friday, December 5, 2014

Seminar
The Strange Case of Pluripotentality: Embryonic Stem Cells, Germ Cells and Genomic Conflicts
12:00 PM – 1:00 PM

Thomas Zwaka, MD, PhD
Professor, Department of Developmental & Regenerative Medicine
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
New York, New York

Monday, December 8, 2014

Seminar
Regulatory T cells
1:30 PM – 2:30 PM

Juan Lafaille, PhD
Professor of Pathology and Medicine
NYU School of Medicine
New York, NY

Tuesday, December 9, 2014

Seminar
Evolution to Expand The Enzyme Universe
4:00 PM – 5:00 PM

Frances Arnold, PhD
Dick and Barbara Dickinson Professor of Chemical Engineering and Biochemistry
California Institute of Technology
Pasadena, California

Seminar
Karl-Peter Hopfner, Prof. Dr.
4:00 PM – 5:00 PM

Karl-Peter Hopfner, Prof. Dr.
Department of Biochemistry and Gene Center
Ludwig-Maximilians-University, Munich

Thursday, December 11, 2014

Seminar
Regulation of Hippo Signaling by Cytoskeletal Tension
2:00 PM – 3:00 PM

Kenneth Irvine, PhD
Professor, Department of Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
Rutgers University
Piscataway, NJ

Friday, December 12, 2014

Seminar
Chromatin Architecture Defines Eukaryotic Start Sites of DNA Replication
12:00 PM – 1:00 PM

David MacAlpine, PhD
Associate Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Cancer Biology
Duke University
Durham, NC

Monday, December 15, 2014

Seminar
Mechanisms of Protective Tumor Immunity
1:30 PM – 2:30 PM

Glenn Dranoff, MD, PhD
Professor of Medicine, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA

Thursday, December 18, 2014

Seminar
Regulation of Pancreatic Islet Cell Fates
10:00 AM – 11:00 AM

Lori Sussel, PhD
Associate Professor, Department of Genetics and Development
Columbia University
New York, NY

Tuesday, January 13, 2015

Seminar
Yifan Cheng, PhD
4:00 PM – 5:00 PM

Yifan Cheng, PhD
Associate Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics
University of California, San Francisco

Monday, January 19, 2015

Friday, January 23, 2015

Seminar
Solid Organ Stem Cell Interactions with the Immune System
12:00 PM – 1:00 PM

Brian Brown, PhD
Associate Professor, Department of Genetics and Genomic Sciences
Mount Sinai School of Medicine
New York, NY

Seminar
Solid Organ Stem Cell Interactions with the Immune System
12:00 PM – 1:00 PM

Brian Brown, PhD
Associate Professor, Department of Genetics and Genomic Sciences
Mount Sinai School of Medicine
New York, NY

Friday, February 6, 2015

Seminar
Integrated Investigations into Inherited Susceptibility for Breast Cancer Metastasis
12:00 PM – 1:00 PM

Kent Hunter, PhD
Senior Investigator, Laboratory of Cancer Biology & Genetics
Center for Cancer Research at the National Institute of Health
Bethesda, MD

Monday, February 9, 2015

Friday, February 20, 2015

Seminar
Cancer Cell Signaling and Metabolism
12:00 PM – 1:00 PM

John Blenis, PhD
Professor of Pharmacology
Weill Cornell Medical College
New York, NY

Monday, March 9, 2015

Tuesday, March 17, 2015

Seminar
William Eaton, PhD
4:00 PM – 5:00 PM

William Eaton, PhD
Distinguished Investigator, Laboratory of Chemical Physics
National Institutes of Health

Monday, April 6, 2015

Monday, April 20, 2015

SKI Talks
TBA
4:30 PM – 5:30 PM

Tuesday, April 21, 2015

Seminar
Andreas Martin, PhD
4:00 PM – 5:00 PM

Andreas Martin, PhD
Assistant Professor, Departments of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
University of California, Berkeley

Tuesday, May 5, 2015

Tuesday, May 12, 2015

Seminar
Lewis Kay, PhD
4:00 PM – 5:00 PM

Lewis Kay, PhD
Professor, Department of Medical Genetics and Microbiology
University of Toronto

Monday, June 1, 2015

Monday, June 8, 2015

SKI Talks
TBA
4:30 PM – 5:30 PM

Monday, June 15, 2015