Research led by Prasad Adusumilli focuses primarily on tumor immunology and the development of T-cell-mediated immunotherapy for thoracic malignancies and pleural-based diseases. In recent years, Dr. Adusumilli has devoted his efforts to study the tumor immune microenvironment in thoracic malignancies and developing mesothelin-targeted immunotherapy for malignant pleural mesothelioma and lung cancer.


Adusumilli PS, Cherkassky L, Villena-Vargas J, Colovos C, Servais E, Plotkin J, Jones DR, Sadelain M. Regional delivery of mesothelin-targeted CAR T cell therapy generates potent and long-lasting CD4-dependent tumor immunity. Sci Transl Med. 2014 Nov 5;6(261):261ra151. 

Nitadori J, Bograd AJ, Kadota K, Sima CS, Rizk NP, Morales EA, Rusch VW, Travis WD, Adusumilli PS*. Impact of Micropapillary Histologic Subtype in Selecting Limited Resection vs Lobectomy for Lung Adenocarcinoma of 2cm or Smaller. J Natl Cancer Inst 2013; Aug 21;105(16):1212-20. Epub 2013 Aug 7. (PMC 3748005)

Suzuki K, Kadota K, Sima CS, Nitadori J, Rusch VW, Travis W, Sadelain M, Adusumilli PS*. Clinical impact of immune microenvironment in stage I lung adenocarcinoma: tumor IL-12R & IL-7R, and stromal FoxP3/CD3 ratio are independent predictors of recurrence. J Clin Oncol 2013;31(4):490-498.

Kachala SS, Bograd AJ, Villena-Vargas J, Suzuki K, Servais EL, Kadota K, Chou J, Sima CS, Vertes E, Rusch VW, Travis WD, Sadelain M, Adusumilli PS*. Mesothelin Overexpression Is a Marker of Tumor Aggressiveness and Is Associated with Reduced Recurrence-free and Overall Survival in Early-Stage Lung Adenocarcinoma. Clin Cancer Res. 2014 Feb 15;20(4):1020-8. (PMC3944669)

Adusumilli PS, Stiles BM, Chan MK, Eisenberg DP, Yu Z, Stanziale SF, Huq R, Wong RJ, Rusch VW, Fong Y. Real-time diagnostic imaging of tumors and metastases by use of a replication-competent herpes vector to facilitate minimally-invasive oncological surgery. FASEB J 2006 Apr;20(6):726-8. (PMC 1424670)

View Prasad S. Adusumilli’s physician profile.
Selected Achievements

Department of Defense (DoD) Technology/Therapeutic Development Award (2011-2014) 

Department of Defense (DoD) Lung Cancer Promising Clinician Research Award (2012)

American Association for Thoracic Surgery (AATS) Third Edward D. Churchill Research Scholarship (2009)

International Association for Study of Lung Cancer (IASLC) Young Investigator Award (2008)