Throat Cancer Doctors, Surgeons & Experts

Throat Cancer Doctors, Surgeons & Experts


Memorial Sloan Kettering is home to a multidisciplinary team of compassionate experts who specialize in treating throat cancer. The team includes head and neck surgeons, radiation oncologists, medical oncologists, dental oncologists, speech and swallowing therapists, plastic and reconstructive surgeons, nurses, and other healthcare professionals. Everyone on the team focuses only on caring for people with head and neck cancer.

Having experts from all of these disciplines on your team ensures that your treatment plan is coordinated and comprehensive. The team meets regularly to review each person’s care. We work together to develop a personalized treatment plan that is right for you.

Because the number of people we see in a year is among the highest in the United States, our care teams have a very high level of expertise. Many of our doctors and other specialists are recognized nationally and internationally for their skill in treating head and neck cancer.

Learn more about our experts in the list below.

Social Work
Jay O. Boyle, MD -- Director, Fellowship Training Program in Head and Neck Surgery
Jay O. Boyle
MSK head & neck surgeon Marc Cohen
Marc A. Cohen

Surgical Director, Pituitary & Skull Base Tumor Center

Memorial Sloan Kettering surgeon Jennifer Cracchiolo
Jennifer R. Cracchiolo
Pictured: Ian Ganly
Ian Ganly
Pictured: Luc G. T. Morris
Luc G. T. Morris

Associate Director, Immunogenomics and Precision Oncology Platform; Director of Fellowship Training

Pictured: Snehal G. Patel
Snehal G. Patel
Benjamin R. Roman, MD, MSHP
Benjamin R. Roman
Pictured: Jatin Shah
Jatin P. Shah

Elliot W. Strong Chair in Head and Neck Oncology

Pictured: Bhuvanesh Singh
Bhuvanesh Singh

Director, Laboratory of Epithelial Cancer Biology; Co-Director, Multidisciplinary Skin Cancer Management Program

Memorial Sloan Kettering surgeon Brian Untch
Brian R. Untch
Richard J. Wong, MD, FACS
Richard J. Wong

Chief, Head and Neck Service

Radiation Oncology
Memorial Sloan Kettering radiologist Daphna Gelblum
Daphna Y. Gelblum

Director of Regional Radiation Oncology Clinical Research

Memorial Sloan Kettering radiation oncologist Daniel Higginson
Daniel S. Higginson
Nancy Y. Lee, MD
Nancy Y. Lee

Vice Chair, Department of Radiation Oncology; Service Chief, Head & Neck Radiation Oncology; Director, Proton Therapy

Pictured: Sean McBride
Sean McBride
Pictured: Boris Mychalczak
Borys R. Mychalczak

Chief, Radiation Oncology, MSK Westchester & MSK Bergen

Pictured: Nadeem Riaz
Nadeem Riaz

Associate Director of Genomics Operations, Immunogenomics and Precision Oncology Platform

Memorial Sloan Kettering radiation oncologist C. Jillian Tsai
C. Jillian Tsai

Director, Metastatic Disease Radiation Oncology Research

Medical Oncology
MSK medical oncologist Lara Dunn
Lara A. Dunn
Juliana Eng, MD
Juliana Eng
Alan L. Ho, MD, PhD
Alan L. Ho

Geoffrey Beene Junior Faculty Chair

Memorial Sloan Kettering medical oncologist Anuja Kriplani
Anuja Kriplani
MSK medical oncologist Loren Michel
Loren Scott Michel
Kenneth K. Ng, MD -- Chief, Rockville Centre Medical Oncology Service
Kenneth K. Ng
Pictured: David Pfister
David G. Pfister

Chief, Head and Neck Oncology Service; Associate Deputy Physician-in-Chief, Strategic Partnerships

Eric J. Sherman, MD
Eric J. Sherman
MSK medical oncologist and internist Iris Zhi
Iris Zhi
Cherry L. Estilo, DMD
Cherry L. Estilo
Jerry L. Halpern, DDS
Jerry L. Halpern
Joseph M. Huryn, DDS, FAAMP -- Chief, Dental Service
Joseph M. Huryn

Chief, Dental Service

Memorial Sloan Kettering maxillofacial prosthodontist Joseph Randazzo
Joseph D. Randazzo

Director, Maxillofacial Prosthetics

Steven J. Tunick, DMD
Steven J. Tunick
Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery
Robert J. Allen, Jr., MD
Robert J. Allen, Jr.
Peter G. Cordeiro, MD, FACS -- Chief, Plastic and Reconstructive Surgical Service
Peter G. Cordeiro

William G. Cahan Chair in Surgery

Pictured: Joseph Dayan
Joseph H. Dayan
Memorial Sloan Kettering plastic surgeon Joseph Disa
Joseph J. Disa

Vice Chair of Clinical Activities, Department of Surgery; Benno C. Schmidt Chair in Surgical Oncology

Memorial Sloan Kettering plastic surgeon Evan Matros
Evan Matros
Pictured: Colleen McCarthy
Colleen M. McCarthy
Pictured: Babak Mehrara
Babak J. Mehrara

Chief, Plastic and Reconstructive Surgical Service; Peter G. Cordeiro Endowed Chair in Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

Memorial Sloan Kettering plastic and reconstructive surgeon Jonas Nelson
Jonas A. Nelson
Jean-Marc Cohen, MD
Jean-Marc Cohen

Director, Fine Needle Aspiration Biopsy Clinic

Pictured: Snjezana Dogan
Snjezana Dogan

Director, Molecular Genetic Pathology Fellowship Program

Ronald A. Ghossein, MD
Ronald A. Ghossein

Director, Head and Neck Pathology

Nora Katabi
Nora Katabi
Oscar Lin, MD, PhD
Oscar Lin

Chief, Cytology Service

Sofia S. Haque, MD
Sofia S. Haque
Vaios Hatzoglou, MD
Vaios Hatzoglou
Andrei I. Holodny, MD -- Chief, Neuroradiology Service
Andrei I. Holodny

Chief, Neuroradiology Service

Sasan Karimi, MD -- Director, Memorial Sloan Kettering 55th Street Radiology
Sasan Karimi

Director, MSKCC 55th Street Radiology

Bernard O'Malley
Bernard O'Malley

Director of Imaging Services, MSK Monmouth

Pictured: Hilda Stambuk
Hilda E. Stambuk

Director, Head & Neck Radiology

Pictured: Jamie Tisnado
Jamie Tisnado