新病患就診指南

新病患就診指南

VIDEO03:54
Newly diagnosed? Hear advice from our patients.
Video Details

對於癌症診斷,病患可能有很多種情緒:恐懼、緊張、驚訝、困惑等等。但有一種情緒通常是不可能有的,那就是輕鬆應對。

希望做到輕鬆應對?拿上您的一站式清單,來 MSK 吧。我們將幫助您了解各種治療方案并確保您獲得您需要的照護。

下面介紹如何完成初次就診。

 
第 1 步,預約就診。

要預約就診,請撥打 800-525-2225。國際病患可撥打 212-639-4900 或使用美國電話電報公司直接入口撥打您所在國家的接取號碼,然後撥 888-675-7722

您或您的家人或朋友也可以於線上預約

VIDEO02:00
If you or someone you know has been diagnosed with cancer, you can contact Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center’s Patient Access Service. to make an appointment.
Video Details

您不需要任何的內部資訊或私人關係就可以聯絡到我們。儘管我們是世界知名的癌症醫院,但是任何人都可以致電聯絡我們。您在我們這裡治療不需要什麼「門路」。

您亦不需要患上罕見癌症才能到這裡就診。在治療最複雜、最具挑戰性的疾病方面,我們是世界領導者。但是,即使是患有常見癌症的病患,在我們全面綜合的關懷照護下也會產生大不同的療效,這些常見癌症包括乳腺癌肺癌前列腺癌。我們的專家通常會提供更有效或可以提高病患生活品質的治療方案。

最后,您預約我們的專家不需要轉介。我們的預約專員有豐富的知識、經過專業訓練並且能夠做出明智的判斷,您的許多問題他們都可以回答。

您將需要回答以下相關問題:您的癌症狀況、治療史以及其他有助於我們根據您的需求為您匹配合適醫師的資訊。

如果您有興趣參加臨床試驗或到長島新澤西威徹斯特郡的專家醫師處就診,請告知我們。儘管一些治療僅在我們位於上東區的主要營業地點提供,越來越多的病患現在已經可以在離家更近的地方接受他們所需的絕大多數醫療服務。(我們的外科醫生也在曼哈頓以外的地方提供醫療咨詢服務。)此外,您在我們所有地點接受的醫療服務均遵循相同的高標準——由同一位醫師提供,只是在一個對您更方便的地方提供。

第 2 步,檢查您的保險。

確保您的保險計劃能夠承保您在 MSK 接受的醫療服務。承保範圍因保險計劃而異,但大多數主要保險公司均在其網路中包含了 MSK。Medicaid 及紐約州 Medicare 也承保這裡的醫療服務。

若您有任何問題,我們建議您與您的保險公司溝通或撥打 646-497-9176 聯絡我們。

在您初診前,我們的病患財務服務 (PFS) 部門專員將與您聯絡,說明您可以享受的福利並檢查任何預授權要求。 (這意味著您的保險計劃同意您所接受的醫療服務是必要的。)一旦接受了我們的醫療服務,許多您可能接受的服務都可能需要預授權;我們的 PFS 工作人員將與您一同完成預授權。 

如果您沒有健康保險,或者您擔心您的保險可能無法承保您全部賬單,我們可以提供幫助。

看一下我們向您的保險公司提出的問題以及一份為 MSK 醫療服務提供承保的醫療保險公司名單。 我們還與有限數量的國際保險公司有合作。欲了解國際病患之保險承保範圍,請透過 international@mskcc.org 與我們聯絡。 

第 3 步,為您的就診做準備。

為您安排就診的專員將告知您需要在初診前提供哪些病歷記錄及其他詳細資訊

您亦將了解到您的初診地點。如果您駕車前往曼哈頓,請確保提前準備好行車指南,並了解我們的病患及照護者可享受折扣的停車方案

如果您從三州地區之外前往 MSK,請了解我們在地區酒店為 MSK 病患、家人及照護者提供的特殊價格與服務。此外,我們亦提供可方便您進行航空旅行的相關資源清單。

知識可以是有力的武器——亦可以帶來慰藉。每一個人的感受是不同的,但許多人發現,更多地了解他們被診斷的癌症類型可以使他們更坦然地接受他們的治療方案,亦使他們能夠更加有信心地做出決定。

我們還建議您在初診時帶上一份問題清單,以方便諮詢醫師。如果可以,讓您的家人或朋友陪伴您,參加討論、做記錄或者只是傾聽以及提供支援。

第 4 步,會見您的醫療團隊。

從您的初診開始,您將見到醫師、護士以及其他醫護人員,他們將齊心協力為您服務。此專家團隊的每一名成員都為您的特定需求而選——他們在診斷及治療您特定類型癌症方面是專家。他們的合作將使您受益於他們在不同領域的技術與經驗。這樣的方法可以幫助我們確保您接受到專為您設計的可能最佳治療。

關於護士的說明:護士在 MSK 病患照護中起著重要作用,而且是您最常見到的治療團隊成員。他們提供特別的關懷、豐富的專業知識以及扎實的照護技能,將幫助您順利度過每一步治療。

第 5 步,請讓我們支援您。

我們不僅治療您的癌症,亦關心您的整體健康,這對於在 MSK 的每一個人都很重要。我們提供支援小組財務援助以及許多其他服務,以每一種我們能夠做到的方式為您提供支援。

我們的病患活動幫助您保持活躍、緩解壓力。您可以參加藝術療法,報名拜訪我們可愛的關懷療法狗狗,或者透過我們深受病患歡迎的寫作計劃表達自己,這項活動將為病患安排有經驗的寫作導師。 

除了為病患提供支援,我們亦為照護者提供相關資源,包括線上支援小組以及面對面諮詢課程。

Becoming a Patient

Becoming a Patient

Dealing with a cancer diagnosis can be many things: frightening, stressful, surprising, confusing, and the list goes on. One thing it usually isn’t? Easy.

Consider this guide your one-stop checklist for becoming our patient. We’re here to help you make sense of your options and be sure you get the care you need.

Here’s how to get started.

To make an appointment, call us at 800-525-2225. You can also request an appointment online.

If you or someone you know has been diagnosed with cancer, you can contact Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center’s Physician Referral Service to make an appointment.

You don’t need any inside knowledge or personal ties to reach out to us. While we are a world-renowned cancer hospital, anyone can call us. You don’t need an “in” to be treated here.

You also don’t have to have a rare cancer. It’s true that we’re world leaders in treating many of the most complex, challenging types of the disease. But our compassionate, comprehensive approach to care can make a big difference to people with the most common forms of cancer, too, including breast, lung, and prostate cancers. Oftentimes, our experts are able to offer treatment options that are more effective or that can improve your quality of life.

Finally, you don’t need a referral to make an appointment with one of our specialists. The representatives who staff our appointment lines are knowledgeable, well trained, and sensitive, and they can answer many of your questions.

You will need to answer a few questions about your cancer status, past treatment history, and other things that will help us match you with the right doctor for your needs.

And if you’re interested in participating in a clinical trial or seeing one of our experts in Long Island, New Jersey, and Westchester County, just let us know. While some treatments can only be given at our main locations on the Upper East Side, more and more patients are receiving the vast majority of their care that’s closer to home. (Our surgeons offer consultations outside Manhattan, too.) What’s more, the care you receive at all of our locations is held to the same high standards — provided by the same doctors, just in a location that’s more convenient for you.

Make sure your insurance plan provides coverage at MSK. Coverage does vary depending on the individual plan, but most major insurance providers do include MSK in their networks. Medicaid and New York State Medicare also provide benefits for care here.

If you have any questions, we recommend that you speak with your insurance company or call us at 646-497-9176.

Before you come for your first visit, a representative from our Patient Financial Services (PFS) department will contact you to explain your benefits and review any pre-authorization requirements. (This means that your insurance plan agrees that your care is medically necessary.) Once you’re in our care, pre-authorization is required for many of the services you might receive; our PFS staff will work with you to make sure that happens. 

If you don’t have health insurance or you’re worried that your insurance may not cover your entire bill, we may be able to help.

Take a look at our questions to ask your insurance company and see a list of health insurers who provide coverage at MSK.

The representative who schedules your appointment will give you information about the medical records and other details we’ll need to have before your first appointment.

You’ll also find out the exact location of your first appointment. If you’re driving into Manhattan, be sure to have your driving directions ready ahead of time and review the parking options that offer discounts to our patients and caregivers.

If you’ll be coming to see us from somewhere outside the tristate area, take a look at the special rates and services we’ve arranged with area hotels for MSK patients, family members, and caregivers. We also keep a list of several resources that can help you with air travel.

Knowledge can be a powerful tool — and a comfort. Each person is different, but many people find that knowing more about the cancer type they’ve been diagnosed with makes them feel more comfortable with their treatment options and more empowered to make decisions confidently.

We also recommend that you bring a list of questions to ask your doctor at your first appointment. If you can, have a family member or friend come with you to participate in the discussion, take notes, or just listen and provide support.

Beginning at your first visit, you’ll meet the doctors, nurses, and other healthcare professionals who will work together to care for you. Every member of this team of experts — chosen just for you, to meet your specific needs — specializes in diagnosing and treating your particular type of cancer. Having them work together gives you the benefit of their skills and experience in different areas. This approach helps us make sure that you receive the best possible treatment, designed for you.

A note about nurses: Nurses play an important role in caring for patients at MSK and are often the members of your treatment team that you’ll see the most. They bring extraordinary compassion, knowledge, and expertise to your care, and will help you through every step of your experience.

Our online portal for patients, called MyMSK, can take some of the stress out of cancer treatment. It allows you to send secure messages right to your doctor’s office, manage your appointments, keep track of your medications, view your lab results, make changes to your personal information, and manage your bills. Best of all? You can access all of this from your home computer or smartphone.

If you have questions after an appointment or a treatment, don’t hesitate to contact a member of your healthcare team. We’re here to help, every step of the way.

It’s important to everyone at MSK that we care for your total health in addition to treating your cancer. We offer support groups, financial assistance, wellness programs, and a number of other services to support you in every way we can.

Our patient activities can help keep you active and relieve your stress. You can participate in art therapy, sign up for a visit from our beloved Caring Canines therapy dogs, or express yourself through our popular writing program, which pairs patients with experienced writing mentors. 

We also offer resources especially for caregivers, including online support groups and in-person counseling sessions.