Geoffrey Beene Graduate Student Fellowships Announced

Pictured: John Halliday, Neha Bhagwat, Ellen Hukkelhoven, Harold Varmus, & Eric Holland

Geoffrey Beene Graduate Student Fellows--John Halliday, Neha Bhagwat, and Ellen Hukkelhoven are recognized as Geoffrey Beene Graduate Student Fellows by faculty member Eric Holland (at podium) and Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center President Harold Varmus.

Three second-year students — Neha Bhagwat, John Halliday, and Ellen Hukkelhoven — received Geoffrey Beene Graduate Student Fellowships. These fellowships were awarded by the Geoffrey Beene Cancer Research Center at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, which was established with funds from the Estate of Geoffrey Beene to help realize the late designer’s goal of providing support to make meaningful progress against cancer.

Recipients are selected at the end of their first year of study based on academic excellence. By providing support for outstanding students at Gerstner Sloan Kettering, the Beene Fellowships are designed to expand the pool of investigators trained to pursue research in the highly complex, multidisciplinary field of cancer biology.