选择性内部放射治疗 (SIRT)

该信息将帮助您为在纪念斯隆凯特琳 (MSK 斯隆)进行的选择性内部放射治疗 (SIRT) 做好准备。

SIRT(有时也称为放射性栓塞)是一种用于破坏肝脏肿瘤的疗法。在 SIRT 治疗过程中,医生会通过您肝脏的动脉(血管)将放射性微珠直接递送至肿瘤处。这些微珠会在很短的距离内发出辐射。辐射是高能射束,它会损伤癌细胞,使它们难以复制。这些微珠使辐射到达肿瘤内部,有助于减少到达肝脏其余部分以及身体其他部位的辐射量。

返回到頂部

标测动脉造影手术

SIRT 治疗前约 1 个月,您将接受标测动脉造影手术。标测动脉造影是为了规划您的 SIRT 治疗。手术的第一部分将告诉我们哪些肝动脉为肝脏肿瘤供血。它还会表明是否有动脉会将血液从肝脏向外输送到腹部的其他区域。如果发现这些动脉,医生会将其阻断,这样辐射就不会伤害其他器官。手术的第二部分将检查是否会有辐射从肝脏流向肺部。

返回到頂部

标测动脉造影程序前

询问您的服药情况

您可能需要在术前停用某些药物。您需要与您的医生讨论停用哪些药物对您是安全的。我们在下面列举了一些常见的例子。

在标测手术前,您无需服用任何特殊的药物。

抗凝剂(血液稀释剂)

如果您正在使用血液稀释剂(影响血液凝固方式的药物),请咨询将负责为您做手术的医生您应该如何处理。他们的联系信息已列在本资源的末尾。他们是否会建议您停药将取决于您服药的原因。

请勿在未咨询医生的情况下停用您的血液稀释剂。

血液稀释剂示例
阿哌沙班 (艾乐妥®) 达肝素(法安明® 美洛昔康(莫比可® 替格瑞洛(倍林达®
阿司匹林 双嘧达莫(潘生丁® 非甾体抗炎药 (NSAID),如布洛芬 (Advil®) 或萘普生 (Aleve®) 亭扎肝素 (Innohep®)
塞来昔布(西乐葆®) 依度沙班 (Savaysa®) 己酮可可碱 (巡能泰®) 华法林 (Coumadin®)
西洛他唑(Pletal®) 依诺肝素 (Lovenox®) 普拉格雷 (Effient®)  
氯吡格雷 (波立维®) 磺达肝癸钠 (Arixtra®) 利伐沙班 (拜瑞妥®)  
达比加群 (泰毕全®) 肝素(皮下注射) 柳氮磺胺吡啶 (Azulfidine®、Sulfazine®)  

您可以阅读我们的资源 含有阿司匹林和其他非类固醇类抗炎药的常用药物。其中包含关于术前您需要避免的药物以及您可以使用哪些药物的重要信息。

 

糖尿病药物

如果您正在使用胰岛素或其他治疗糖尿病的药物,请咨询为您开此处方的医生,在手术当天的早晨您应该如何处理。您可能需要在术前改变剂量。

利尿剂(水丸)

如果您正在使用任何利尿剂(使您排尿更频繁的药物),请咨询负责为您做手术的医生您应该如何处理。您可能需要在手术当天停用这些药物。利尿药有时被称为水丸。例如呋塞米 (速尿®) 和氢氯噻嗪。

造影剂反应

造影剂是一种特殊的染料,可使医生更容易地观察到您内脏器官的差异。您将接受造影剂,这是手术中的一部分。有些人可能会对造影剂产生过敏反应。如果您有任何过敏,或者您曾对造影剂发生反应,请务必告知您的医生或护士。

安排人接您回家

疗程后请务必确保有一名负责任的照护者接您回家。请务必在疗程开始前将此事安排好。

如果没有人接您回家,您可以致电以下服务机构。他们会安排人送您回家。通常情况下,此项服务需要付费,并且您需要提供交通工具。

纽约的服务机构                                         新泽西的服务机构
Partners in Care: 888-735-8913                                         Caring People:877-227-4649
Caring People:877-227-4649                                          

 

如果您有任何生病不适请告知我们

如果您在手术前出现任何不适(发热、感冒、咽喉痛或流感),请致电 212-639-2236 联系介入放射科护士。您可以在周一至周五上午 9:00 至下午 5:00 联系我们的护士。下午 5:00 以后,以及周末和节假日,请致电 212-639-2000,咨询值班的介入放射科专业进修医生。

请记下您的预约时间

介入放射科的一名工作人员将在手术前 2 个工作日给您致电。如果您的手术安排在周一,我们将会在周四之前致电给您。

工作人员将告知您到医院进行该手术的时间。他们还会告知您进行手术的地点。如果您在手术前的工作日中午前仍未接到我们的来电,请致电 212-639-5051

请使用该区域写下您的手术日期、时间和地点:




如果您因任何原因需要取消手术,请致电为您安排手术的医生。

术前饮食说明

12 盎司水
  • 手术前一晚午夜后请勿进食。包括硬糖和口香糖。
  • 从午夜至您预定到达医院时间前的 2 小时,您可以饮用总计 12 盎司的水(见图)。
  • 从预定到达时间前 2 小时开始,请勿进食或饮用任何东西。其中包括水。
返回到頂部

手术当天

注意事项

  • 请仅服用您的医生告知您在手术当天早晨可服用的药物。请喝几口水送服。
  • 请勿涂抹任何乳膏(质地较厚的保湿霜)或凡士林 (Vaseline®)。您可以使用除臭剂和清淡保湿剂。
  • 请不要化眼妆。
  • 请取下所有的首饰,包括身体穿孔。
  • 请将所有贵重物品,如信用卡和珠宝首饰,留在家中。
  • 如果您习惯配戴隐形眼镜,如果可能,请换成镜框眼镜。如果您没有镜框眼镜,请携带您的隐形眼镜盒。

来医院时需随身携带的物品

  • 您在家服用的药物的清单。
  • 治疗您呼吸问题的药物(如吸入器)、治疗胸痛的药物或两者兼有。
  • 镜框眼镜或隐形眼镜盒。
  • 您的医疗授权书表(如果您已完成)。
  • 如果您使用 CPAP 或 BiPAP 设备帮助您在夜间的睡眠,请随身携带您的设备(如果可能)。 如果您无法随身携带这些设备,我们将在您住院期间为您提供。

您应该有怎样的预期

当您到达医院后,医生、护士和其他工作人员会多次要求您陈述和拼写出您的姓名和出生日期。这是为了您的安全考虑,姓名相同或相似的患者可能会在同一天接受手术。

换上医院病号服后,您将会见到您的护士。他们会将静脉 (IV) 导管置入您的一根静脉 (通常是手或手臂的静脉)。开始时,将通过静脉向您输送液体,随后会通过静脉向您输送药物,使您感到困倦并确保您在这个过程中轻松舒适。

返回到頂部

标测动脉造影手术期间

当您接受该手术时,您将被带入手术室,医生会帮您躺在检查台上。我们会为您连接上设备,以监测您的心率、呼吸和血压。您将通过位于您鼻子下方的被称为鼻插管的一根细管获得氧气。当您仰卧在手术台上时,将通过静脉为您输注镇静药物。这种药物会让您感到困倦和放松。

在您接受镇静剂后,医生可能会在您的膀胱中放置一根导尿管(细长的柔性管),以监测您的排尿量。我们将对您的腹股沟进行清洁,剃毛,并用无菌铺巾遮盖。随后,将在医生进行操作的部位注射局部麻醉剂(使身体某一部位麻木的药物)。医生将通过您的腹股沟的动脉将导管插入为肝脏供血的动脉中。医生将通过导管给予您造影剂,并将拍摄图像。

接下来,医生会向您的肝动脉中注射放射性成像染料。在您离开手术室之前,医生将移除您动脉中的导管,并用特殊装置或通过按住腹股沟 15 至 20 分钟来封闭动脉。

手术结束后,您将前往分子成像和治疗服务(也称为核医学)部门接受扫描。该扫描将检查注射到肝动脉的放射性成像染料是否进入您的肺部或肝脏以外的任何部位。这将帮助我们决定继续进行 SIRT 治疗是否安全。扫描大约需要 45 分钟。

返回到頂部

标测动脉造影手术后

手术结束后,您将被带到恢复区。您需要平躺,保持右腿伸直 1 到 4 小时。当您能够安全地坐起后,医生将会移除您膀胱中的导管。您将在恢复区停留 3 到 4 小时,随后您可以出院回家。在此期间,您的家人和朋友可以陪伴您左右。

返回到頂部

为 SIRT 治疗做准备

在完成动脉造影手术后几周,您将接受 SIRT 治疗。SIRT 治疗的准备工作与标测动脉造影的准备工作几乎相同。请遵循本材料中的“标测动脉造影手术前”部分的说明,以及以下部分中的附加说明。

在您接受 SIRT 治疗前,您需要进行血液检查,以检查您的肝功能。您的护士会在治疗前为您安排这项检查。

SIRT 治疗前 5 天

如果您尚未使用类似药物,您的护士将为您开具有助于预防胃痛的药物处方。请在接受 SIRT 治疗前 5 天开始服用该药物。治疗结束后,您需要继续使用该药物。

返回到頂部

SIRT 治疗当天

SIRT 治疗与标测动脉造影手术几乎相同。对于需要携带的物品、停车位置和前往何处,请参考同一说明。

您应该有怎样的预期

当您该接受手术时,您将被带入手术室,医生会帮您躺在检查台上。我们会为您连接上设备,以监测您的心率、呼吸和血压。您将通过鼻子接受供氧。当您仰卧在手术台上时,将通过静脉为您输注镇静药物,以使您感到困倦和放松。医生将在您的膀胱里放置一根导管,来引流尿液。

当您放松后,医生将通过您的腹股沟的动脉将导管插入为肝脏供血的动脉中。此时,将通过导管给予放射性微珠。与标测手术相同,治疗结束后,医生将移除您动脉中的导管,并用特殊装置或通过按压腹股沟来封闭动脉。您也需要前往分子成像和治疗服务(也称为核医学)部门接受扫描。可能不会在标测手术后立即进行此扫描。

您的恢复时间将与标测手术的耗时差不多。医生将在恢复区移除您的膀胱导管。

如果您患双侧肝癌,SIRT 治疗可能分 2 次进行。第二次治疗大约在第一次治疗后 6 周进行。

返回到頂部

SIRT 治疗后

服用甲泼尼龙 (Medrol) 剂量包

甲泼尼龙 (Medrol) 剂量包是一种低剂量类固醇,您需要在治疗后服用,以防止辐射引起的疲劳(感觉比平时更疲劳或虚弱)。 您需要在治疗后第二天的早餐前开始服用甲泼尼龙 (Medrol) 剂量包。 请按照包装上的说明服用药物。 甲泼尼龙 (Medrol) 剂量包并不能完全消除疲劳,但通常会使其更容易控制。类固醇可升高血糖,所以如果您患有糖尿病,请勿服用甲泼尼龙 (Medrol) 剂量包。您的医生将为您提供更多信息。

遵循辐射安全注意事项

请遵循以下辐射安全预防措施以及健康物理师(专门从事辐射安全的工作人员)向您提供的说明,避免将其他人暴露于辐射中。

  • 接受 SIRT 治疗后,您的体液中将存在少量辐射,如血液、尿液、粪便和呕吐物。随着时间的推移,辐射将逐渐减少直至消失。健康物理师会给您一份书面版的居家说明。
  • 接受 SIRT 治疗后,您无需避免与其他人接触。您可以与他人共处一室,包括怀孕的女性和小孩。
  • 在接受 SIRT 治疗期间,您不应怀孕或使其他女性怀孕。如需了解治疗期间性生活的更多信息,请向您的护士索取资源 Sexual Activity During Cancer Treatment: Information for Men 或 [***bXNrLW5vZGUtbGluazogMjA1Njg = **]。
  • 如果您正在进行母乳喂养,请与医生讨论是否可以在 SIRT 治疗后继续进行母乳喂养。
  • 如果您必须在 SIRT 治疗后 3 天内去看医生、到访急诊室,或者需要手术,请告知医务人员您曾接受过少量放射性物质的治疗。
  • 某些类型的安全设备(如机场内或隧道外的)可以检测到非常少量的辐射。工作人员会给您一张卡片,说明您接受了放射性药物治疗,在治疗后的 1 个月内,您可能会释放出少量的放射性物质。如果您在检查站被执法人员拦住,请向他们出示这张卡片。

SIRT 治疗后 24 小时:

  • 请坐下来排尿。请勿使用小便池。
  • 如果您的尿液被收集在导尿袋中,请将导尿袋中的尿液倒入马桶并冲水。
  • 擦拭任何体液或处理沾有体液的衣物时,请戴好手套。请将任何沾有您的体液的纸巾冲入厕所中。
  • 如厕后以及接触体液或沾有体液的衣服和床单后,请用肥皂和水清洗双手至少 20 秒。
  • 请将沾有体液的衣服和床单与其他衣服分开清洗。
  • 在进行性生活时请使用安全套。

在 SIRT 治疗后的 24 小时内请遵循这些注意事项。24 小时后您无需再遵循这些注意事项。

如果您对辐射安全有任何疑问,请在周一至周五上午 9:00 至下午 5:00 致电 212-639-7391 联系我们。

SIRT 治疗的副作用

出院后,有些患者会出现 SIRT 治疗的副作用,包括:

  • 发热达 100.4℉ (38 ℃) 或更高
  • 腹部疼痛
  • 恶心
返回到頂部

何时致电医疗保健提供者

如果出现以下任何一种情况,请致电您的医疗保健提供者:

  • 发热达 100.4℉ (38 ℃) 或更高
  • 持续存在的疼痛,尤其是腹部或腹股沟周围。
  • 恶心或呕吐症状较标测手术或治疗前有所加重。
  • 出现任何让您担忧的症状。
返回到頂部

联系信息

如果您有任何问题或疑虑,请致电 212-639-2236 联系介入放射科。您可以在周一至周五上午 9:00 至下午 5:00 联系我们的工作人员。下午 5:00 以后,以及在周末和节假日,请致电 212-639-2000,联系值班的介入放射科专业进修医生。

返回到頂部

上次更新時間

Selective Internal Radiation Therapy (SIRT) Treatment

This information will help you prepare for selective internal radiation therapy (SIRT) treatment at Memorial Sloan Kettering (MSK).

SIRT (sometimes called radioembolization) is a treatment that’s used to destroy liver tumors. During your SIRT treatment, tiny radioactive beads are sent directly to the tumor through the arteries (blood vessels) in your liver. The beads give off radiation over a very short distance. Radiation is high-energy beams that damage cancer cells making it hard for them to reproduce. The beads get the radiation inside the tumor, helping to reduce the amount of radiation that gets to the rest of your liver, as well as the rest of your body.

Mapping Arteriogram Procedure

About a month before your SIRT treatment, you will have a mapping arteriogram procedure. Mapping arteriogram is done to plan for your SIRT treatment. The first part of the procedure will tell us which liver arteries bring blood to the liver tumors. It will also tell us if there are arteries that carry blood outside of your liver to other areas in your abdomen (belly). If these arteries are found, they are blocked so that the radiation won’t harm your other organs. The second part of the procedure will check for any possible flow of radiation from your liver to your lungs.

Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

Before Your Mapping Arteriogram Procedure

Ask about your medications

You may need to stop taking some of your medications before your procedure. Talk with your doctor about which medications are safe for you to stop taking. We have included some common examples below.

Anticoagulants (blood thinners)

If you take a blood thinner (medication that affects the way your blood clots), ask the doctor performing your procedure what to do. Their contact information is listed at the end of this resource. Whether they recommend you stop taking the medication depends on the reason you’re taking it.

Do not stop taking your blood thinner medication without talking with your doctor.

Examples of Blood Thinners
apixaban (Eliquis®) dalteparin (Fragmin®) meloxicam (Mobic®) ticagrelor (Brilinta®)
aspirin dipyridamole (Persantine®) nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs) such as ibuprofen (Advil®) or naproxen (Aleve®) tinzaparin (Innohep®)
celecoxib (Celebrex®) edoxaban (Savaysa®) pentoxifylline (Trental®) warfarin (Coumadin®)
cilostazol (Pletal®) enoxaparin (Lovenox®) prasugrel (Effient®)  
clopidogrel (Plavix®) Fondaparinux (Arixtra®) rivaroxaban (Xarelto®)  
dabigatran (Pradaxa®) heparin (shot under your skin) sulfasalazine (Azulfidine®, Sulfazine®)  

Please read our resource Common Medications Containing Aspirin and Other Nonsteroidal Anti-inflammatory Drugs (NSAIDs). It has important information about medications you’ll need to avoid before your procedure and what medications you can take instead.

Medications for diabetes

If you take insulin or other medications for diabetes, ask the doctor who prescribes the medication what you should do the morning of your procedure. You may need to change the dose before your procedure.

Diuretics (water pills)

If you take any diuretics (medications that make you urinate more often), ask the doctor performing your procedure what to do. You may need to stop taking them the day of your procedure. Diuretics are sometimes called water pills. Some examples are furosemide (Lasix®) and hydrochlorothiazide.

Reactions to contrast

Contrast is a special dye that makes it easier for your doctor to see differences in your internal organs. You will be given contrast as part of your procedure. Some people can have an allergic reaction to contrast. Be sure to tell your doctor or nurse about any allergies you have or if you’ve had a reaction to contrast in the past.

Arrange for someone to take you home

You must have someone 18 years or older take you home after your procedure. If you don’t have someone to do this, call one of the agencies below. They will send someone to go home with you. There’s usually a charge for this service, and you will need to provide transportation.

Agencies in New York                                         Agencies in New Jersey
Partners in Care: 888-735-8913                                         Caring People: 877-227-4649
Caring People: 877-227-4649                                          

 

Tell us if you’re sick

If you develop any illness (fever, cold, sore throat, or the flu) before your procedure, call a nurse in Interventional Radiology at 212-639-2236. A nurse is available Monday through Friday from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm. After 5:00 pm, during the weekend, and on holidays, call 212-639-2000 and ask for the Interventional Radiology fellow on call.

Note the time of your appointment

A staff member from Interventional Radiology will call you 2 business days before your procedure. If your procedure is scheduled on a Monday, you will be called on the Thursday before.

The staff member will tell you what time you should arrive at the hospital for your procedure. They will also tell you where to go for your procedure. If you don’t receive a call by noon the business day before your procedure, please call 212-639-5051.

If you need to cancel your procedure for any reason, please call the doctor who scheduled it for you.

Instructions for eating and drinking before your surgery

12 ounces of water
  • Do not eat anything after midnight the night before your surgery. This includes hard candy and gum.
  • Between midnight and up until 2 hours before your scheduled arrival time, you may drink a total of 12 ounces of water (see figure).
  • Starting 2 hours before your scheduled arrival time, do not eat or drink anything. This includes water.
Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

The Day of Your Procedure

Things to remember

  • Take only the medications your doctor told you to take the morning of your procedure. Take them with a few sips of water.
  • Don’t  apply cream or petroleum jelly (Vaseline®). You can use deodorant and light moisturizers. Don’t wear eye makeup.
  • Remove any jewelry, including body piercings.
  • Leave all valuables, such as credit cards and jewelry, at home.
  • If you wear contact lenses, wear your glasses instead, if possible. If you don’t have glasses, please bring a case for your contacts.

What to bring with you

  • A list of the medications you take at home.
  • Medications for breathing problems (such as inhalers), medications for chest pain, or both.
  • A case for your glasses or contacts.
  • Your Health Care Proxy form, if you have completed one.
  • If you use a CPAP or BiPAP machine to sleep at night, please bring your machine with you, if possible. If you can’t bring your machine with you, we will give you one to use while you’re in the hospital.

Where to Park

MSK's parking garage
MSK’s parking garage is located on East 66th Street between York and First Avenues. If you have questions about prices, call 212-639-2338.

To reach the garage, turn onto East 66th Street from York Avenue. The garage is located about a quarter of a block in from York Avenue, on the right-hand (north) side of the street. There is a pedestrian tunnel that you can walk through that connects the garage to the hospital.

There are also other garages located on East 69th Street between First and Second Avenues, East 67th Street between York and First Avenues, and East 65th Street between First and Second Avenues.

Where to go

Please arrive at the main building of MSK at 1275 York Avenue between East 67th and East 68th Streets. Take the M elevator to the 2nd floor. Enter through the glass doors and check in at the desk.

What to expect

Once you arrive at the hospital, doctors, nurses, and other staff members will ask you to state and spell your name and date of birth many times. This is for your safety. People with the same or similar name may be having procedures on the same day.

After changing into a hospital gown, you will meet your nurse. They will place an intravenous (IV) catheter into a vein, usually in your hand or arm. At first, you will receive liquids through the IV, but it will be used later to give you medication to make you sleepy and ensure that you are comfortable during the procedure.

Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

During Your Mapping Arteriogram Procedure

When it’s time for your procedure, you will be brought into the procedure room and helped onto an exam table. You will be attached to equipment to monitor your heart rate, breathing, and blood pressure. You will get oxygen through a thin tube that rests below your nose called a nasal cannula. While lying on your back on the table, you will be given sedation medication through your IV. This medication will make you sleepy and relaxed.

After you’re sedated, you may have a urinary catheter (thin, flexible tube) placed in your bladder to monitor the amount of urine you’re making. Your groin will be cleaned, shaved, and covered with sterile drapes. A local anesthetic (medication to make an area of your body numb) will be injected into the area where your doctor will be working. A catheter will be placed through the artery in your groin up to the arteries that supply blood to your liver. You will be given contrast dye through the catheter and images will be taken.

Next, you will get an injection (shot) of a radioactive imaging dye into your liver artery. Before you leave the procedure room, we will remove the catheter in your artery and seal the artery with a special device or by holding pressure on your groin for 15 to 20 minutes.

After your procedure, you will go to a room in the Molecular Imaging and Therapy Service (also known as Nuclear Medicine) for a scan. This scan will check if any of the radioactive imaging dye injected into your liver artery traveled to your lungs or anywhere else outside of your liver. This will help us decide whether it will be safe to proceed with your SIRT treatment. The scan will take about 45 minutes.

Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

After Your Mapping Arteriogram Procedure

After your procedure, you will be taken to the recovery area. You will be asked to lie flat with your right leg straight for 1 to 4 hours. Once you’re able to safely sit up, the catheter in your bladder will be removed. You will be in the recovery area for 3 to 4 hours before you go home. Your family and friends can be with you during this time.

Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

Preparing for Your SIRT Treatment

A few weeks after your mapping arteriogram procedure, you will have your SIRT treatment. The preparation for your SIRT treatment will be almost the same as the preparation for your mapping arteriogram. Please follow the instructions in the “Before Your Mapping Arteriogram Procedure” section of this resource, as well as the additional instructions in the following sections.

You will need to have a blood test before you have your SIRT treatment to test your liver function. Your nurse will arrange this for you before your treatment.

5 days before your SIRT treatment

Your nurse will give you a prescription for a medication that will help prevent stomach pain, if you aren’t already taking a similar medication. Start taking this medication 5 days before you have your SIRT treatment. You will continue to take this medication after your treatment.

Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

The Day of Your SIRT Treatment

Your SIRT treatment will be almost the same as your mapping arteriogram procedure. Follow the same instructions on what to bring, where to park, and where to go.

What to expect

When it’s time for your procedure, you will be brought into the procedure room and helped onto an exam table. You will be attached to equipment to monitor your heart rate, breathing, and blood pressure. You will receive oxygen through your nose. While lying on your back on the table, you will be given sedation medication through your IV to make you sleepy and relaxed. You will have a catheter inserted into your bladder to drain your urine.

Once you’re relaxed, a catheter will be placed through the artery in your groin up to the arteries that supply blood to your liver. This time, tiny radioactive beads will be given through the catheter. As with the mapping procedure, when the treatment is completed, your doctor will remove the catheter in your artery and seal the artery using a special device or by holding pressure on your groin. You will also go to Molecular Imaging and Therapy Service (also known as Nuclear Medicine) for a scan. This may not be done immediately after your procedure.

Your recovery time will be about the same as for the mapping procedure. Your bladder catheter will be removed in the recovery area.

If you have cancer on both sides of your liver, SIRT may be given in 2 separate treatments. The second treatment is about 6 weeks after the first.

Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

After Your SIRT Treatment

Contact with people after your SIRT treatment

The radioactive beads will still be in your body after your SIRT treatment, but you won’t harm other people by hugging, kissing, or shaking hands. You can be in the same room with anyone, including pregnant women. You can’t make something radioactive by touching it. The amount of radiation in your body will decrease slowly and will be gone in 2 weeks.

You will be given specific instructions from a radiation safety officer about safety steps you should take around family and friends. They will also give you a wallet card to keep with you for 30 days after your procedure.

Breastfeeding and pregnancy after your SIRT treatment

If you’re breastfeeding, you can continue. The treatment won’t get into your breastmilk.

You shouldn’t become pregnant or father a baby while you’re undergoing SIRT treatment. To find out more information about sexual activity during treatment, ask your nurse for the resource Sexual Activity During Cancer Treatment: Information for Men or Sexual Activity During Cancer Treatment: Information for Women.

 

Side effects of SIRT treatment

After leaving the hospital, some people develop side effects from SIRT treatment, including:

  • A temperature of 100.4° F (38° C) or higher)
  • Abdominal pain
  • Nausea
Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

Call Your Doctor or Nurse if You Have:

  • A temperature of 100.4° F (38° C) or higher.
  • Pain that doesn’t go away, especially around your abdomen or groin.
  • Nausea or vomiting that is worse than it was before your mapping procedure or treatment.
  • Any symptoms that are worrying you.
Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

Contact Information

If you have any questions or concerns, please call Interventional Radiology at 212-639-2236. You can reach a staff member Monday through Friday from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm. After 5:00 pm, during the weekend, and on holidays, please call 212-639-2000 and ask for the fellow on call for Interventional Radiology.

Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

Last Updated