微创肺叶切除术中不必要的硬膜外镇痛

简体中文
Share
Print
非小细胞肺癌患者的硬膜外镇痛

根据我们近期发表在《肺癌》杂志(Lung Cancer)上的回顾性研究结果,不建议对行微创肺叶切除术的非小细胞肺癌 (NSCLC) 患者常规应用硬膜外镇痛。

我们发现,无论有无硬膜外镇痛,行微创肺叶切除术的 I-III 期 NSCLC 患者在术前、手术或病理因素方面均无差异。未进行硬膜外镇痛的患者住院时间为 3 天,相比进行硬膜外镇痛的患者短 1 天。 (1)

我们需要开展一项前瞻性研究来证实这一发现,并确定在该患者人群中使用其他急性术后疼痛管理方法的安全性。目前,我们的证据对这类患者常规使用硬膜外镇痛提出了有力的反驳。

随着微创手术方法在肺癌治疗中越来越普遍,我们将继续质疑和重新定义标准方法,以确保优化患者结局,并最大程度地减少治疗带来的副作用。

外科手术向微创手术转型

过去的十年中,在治疗早期 NSCLC 患者方面,外科手术已经向使用更微创的手术方法转型。微创电视或机器人辅助手术可以减少术后并发症,如心律失常和肺炎;减少胸腔引流时间;缩短住院时间。 (2), (3), (4), (5), (6), (7), (8)

多个国家数据库曾报告道,与开胸手术相比,行微创手术的患者在并发症发生率和 (9), (10), (11), (12), (13), (14), (15) 住院时间 (10)(12)(14), (16)方面结局更好,而在长期生存率方面两者结果近似。 (13), (16), (17)与开胸手术相比,微创肺叶切除术在术后急性期的疼痛更少。 (5), (18)

返回到頂部

肺叶切除术的硬膜外镇痛

优化围手术期镇痛以减少疼痛对术后呼吸功能和患者并发症的不利影响是必要的。 (19)

硬膜外镇痛一直被认为是开腹大手术和开胸手术患者镇痛的金标准。然而,它与多种并发症相关,包括放置问题和副作用,如低血压和尿潴留。 (20), (21) 相比之下,仅接受全身镇痛的患者住院时间更短,出院时所需阿片类药物剂量更小。 (22)

…仅接受全身镇痛的患者住院时间更短,出院时所需阿片类药物剂量更小。
Prasad S. Adusumilli Deputy Chief and Attending, Thoracic Service; Vice Chair for Translational Research, Department of Surgery; Co-Director, Mesothelioma Program; Head, Solid Tumors Cell Therapy, Cellular Therapeutics Center
返回到頂部

研究设计

我们研究了 NSCLC 患者通过微创手术或开胸术行肺叶切除术后硬膜外镇痛的使用频率变化及其对术后短期结局的影响。通过使用从纪念斯隆凯特琳癌症中心胸外科服务数据库前瞻性收集的数据,我们确定了 793 例接受肺叶切除术的 I 至 III 期 NSCLC 患者。 (1)

为了解外科实践向更加微创的手术的转型,我们将患者分为两组。早期组 386 例患者于 2009 年 1 月至 2010 年 12 月接受治疗,晚期组 407 例患者于 2014 年 1 月至 2015 年 12 月接受治疗。 (1)

在 308 例接受微创手术的晚期组患者中,我们比较了 150 例接受硬膜外镇痛的患者和 158 例未接受硬膜外镇痛的患者的结局。 (1)

返回到頂部

研究结果

正如预期,随着时间的推移,微创手术方法的使用明显增加。在早期组中,53% 患者接受了微创手术,47% 接受了开胸手术。相比之下,在晚期组中,76% 患者接受了微创手术,24% 接受了开胸手术。 (1)

微创手术和开胸手术两种手术方式的术后发病率和死亡率并无差异。 (1)

在接受微创肺叶切除术的患者中,硬膜外镇痛的使用率从早期的 95% 显著降至晚期的 51%(p < 0.001)。接受或未接受硬膜外镇痛的患者在发病率和死亡率方面并无差异。 (1)

值得注意的是,未接受硬膜外镇痛的患者住院时间为 3 天,而接受硬膜外镇痛的患者为 4 天 (p = 0.038)。 (1)

返回到頂部

推进肺癌医护

在 MSK 斯隆,我们致力于通过研究推进肺癌治疗。例如,自 2015 年以来,我一直在主导一项开放标签、剂量递增、非随机性 I 期试验,研究利用基因工程嵌合抗原受体 (CAR) T 细胞疗法治疗间皮瘤和肺癌、乳腺癌等多种恶性疾病。 这些研究的新颖之处包括在胸膜腔区域局部给予 CAR T 细胞治疗以及派姆单抗 (Pembrolizumab) 联合免疫疗法。该研究目前仍在 MSK 斯隆的七个地点进行患者招募。目前我们正在等待监管部门的批准,以启动 II 期研究。

MSK 斯隆的研究人员还在肺癌患者中开展了 67 项其他临床试验,测试了一系列新的化疗、靶向疗法、免疫疗法和放射疗法。

本研究作者的实验室工作得到了美国国立卫生研究院(P30 CA008748、RO1 CA236615 和 RO1 CA235667)、美国国防部(BC132124、LC160212、CA170630 和 CA180889)、Emerson Collective 癌症研究基金会、Derfner 基金会、Joanne 和 John DallePezze 基金会,William 和Alice Goodwin、联邦癌症研究基金会和 MSK 斯隆实验治疗中心的资助。资金来源方并未参与任何研究设计、数据收集、分析和解读、报告的撰写或提交文章发表的决定环节。

返回到頂部
  1. Zeltsman M,Dozier J,Vaghjiani RG 等人。随着微创肺叶切除术应用的增加,减少使用硬膜外镇痛:对术后活动能力的影响。《肺癌》,2020,139(1):68-72。
  2. Paul S,Altorki NK,Sheng S 等人。胸腔镜下肺叶切除术的发病率低于开放性肺叶切除术:一项来自 STS 数据库的倾向性匹配分析。《胸心血管外科杂志》,2010,139(2):366–78。
  3. Paul S,Sedrakyan A,Chiu YL 等人。使用胸腔镜与开胸术进行肺叶切除术后的解决:一项利用全国住院患者样本数据库进行的有效性对比分析。《欧洲胸心外科杂志》,2013,43(4):813–7。
  4. Kent M,Wang T,Whyte R 等人。开放式电视辅助胸腔镜手术和机器人肺叶切除术:国家数据库综述分析。《胸外科年鉴》,2014,97(1):236–42。
  5. Nomori H,Horio H,Naruke T,Suemasu K。肺癌手术中胸腔镜肺叶切除术相对于有限开胸手术的优势是什么? 《胸外科年鉴》 2001,72(3):879–84。
  6. Park BJ,Yang HX,Woo KM,Sima CS。微创(机器人辅助胸腔手术和电视辅助胸腔手术)肺叶切除术治疗局部晚期非小细胞肺癌。《胸部疾病杂志》,2016,8(Suppl 4):S406–S413。
  7. Whitson BA,Andrade RS,Boettcher A 等人。电视胸腔镜手术比开胸手术更有利于临床 Ⅰ 期非小细胞肺癌的切除。《胸外科年鉴》,2007,83(6):1965–70。
  8. Yan TD,Black D,Bannon PG 等人。电视胸腔镜肺叶切除术治疗早期非小细胞肺癌的安全性和有效性:随机和非随机试验的系统综述和荟萃分析。《临床肿瘤学杂志》,2009,27(15:2553–62。
  9. Phillips JD,Merkow RP,Sherman KL 等人。影响肺癌解剖性切除术手术入路选择和后续短期结局的因素。《美国外科医师学会杂志》,2012,215(2):206–15。
  10. Paul S,Isaacs AJ,Treasure T 等人。胸腔镜与开放性肺叶切除术的长期生存率:使用 SEER-Medicare 数据库的倾向性匹配对比分析。《英国医学杂志》,2014,349:g5575。
  11. Pages PB,Delpy JP,Orsini B 等人。电视胸腔镜肺叶切除术与开胸术的倾向性评分对比分析:一项法国全国性研究。《胸外科年鉴》,2016,10(14):1370–8。
  12. Nwogu CE,D’Cunha J,Pang H 等人。VATS 肺叶切除术的围手术期结局优于开放性肺叶切除术:CALGB 31001,一项 CALGB 140202 (Alliance) 的辅助分析。《胸外科年鉴》,2015,99(2):399–405。
  13. Flores RM,Park BJ,Dycoco J 等人。电视胸腔镜肺叶切除术(VATS)与开胸手术治疗肺癌的比较研究。《胸心血管外科杂志》,2009,138(1):11–18。
  14. Falcoz PE,Puyraveau M,Thomas PA。电视胸腔镜手术与开放性肺叶切除术治疗原发性非小细胞肺癌:一项来自欧洲胸外科医师协会数据库的结局倾向匹配分析。《欧洲胸心外科杂志》,2016,49(2):602–609。
  15. Boffa DJ,Dhamija A,Kosinski AS 等人。通过电视辅助方法对临床 I 期肺癌进行解剖切除的并发症更少。 《胸心血管外科杂志》,2014,148(2):637–43。
  16. Yang CF,Sun Z,Speicher PJ 等人。美国国家癌症数据库中微创肺叶切除术在 I 期非小细胞肺癌中的应用和结局。美国国家癌症数据库中微创肺叶切除术在 I 期非小细胞肺癌中的应用和结局。《胸外科年鉴》,2016,101(3):1037–1042。
  17. Hanna WC,de Valence M,Atenafu EG 等人。非小细胞肺癌的电视辅助肺叶切除术在肿瘤学上是否等同于开放性肺叶切除术? 《欧洲胸心外科杂志》,2013,43(6):1121–5。
  18. Landreneau RJ,Mack MJ,Hazelrigg SR。开胸术或电视胸腔镜肺切除术后慢性疼痛的发生率。《胸心血管外科杂志》,1994,107(4):1079–85。
  19. Sabanathan S,Eng J,Mearns A。开胸术后呼吸力学的改变。《爱丁堡皇家外科医师学会杂志》,1990,35(3):144–50。
  20. Popping DM,Elia N,Van Aken HK 等人。硬膜外镇痛对术后死亡率和发病率的影响:随机对照试验的系统综述和荟萃分析。《外科学年鉴》,2014,259(6):1056–67。
  21. Joshi GP,Bonnet F,Shah R 等人。一项对评价开胸术后镇痛区域技术的随机试验的系统综述。《麻醉与镇痛》,2008,107(3):1026–40。
  22. Kampe S,Weinreich G,Darr C 等人。硬膜外镇痛与全身性阿片类镇痛对住院时间和肠功能恢复的影响:1555 例开胸患者的回顾性评价。《胸心外科杂志》,2014,9:175。

Epidural Analgesia Unnecessary in Minimally Invasive Lobectomy

English
Share
Print
Epidural analgesia for patients with non-small cell lung cancer

The routine use of epidural analgesia for patients with non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) who undergo a minimally invasive lobectomy is not warranted, according to the results of our retrospective study published recently in the journal Lung Cancer.

We found no differences in preoperative, surgical, or pathological factors between patients with stages I to III NSCLC who underwent a minimally invasive lobectomy procedure with or without epidural analgesia. Moreover, the length of hospital stay was three days for patients who did not have epidural analgesia, one day shorter than for patients who did. (1)

A prospective study is required to confirm our findings and determine the safety of using alternative methods of acute postoperative pain management in this patient population. At present, our evidence makes a compelling argument against the routine use of epidural analgesia in this patient population.

As minimally invasive surgical approaches continue to become more common for lung cancer treatment, we will continue to question and redefine standard methods to ensure that we optimize patient outcomes and minimize the negative side effects of treatments.

Surgical Approach Shifts to More Minimally Invasive Procedures

Over the last decade, surgical practice has shifted to more minimally invasive surgical approaches for treating patients with early-stage NSCLC. Minimally invasive video- or robotic-assisted surgeries are associated with fewer postoperative complications, such as arrhythmias and pneumonia; less time requiring a chest drain; and a shorter hospitalization. (2)(3)(4)(5)(6)(7)(8)

Several national databases have reported better patient outcomes with minimally invasive surgery versus thoracotomy with regard to the rate of complications and (9)(10)(11)(12)(13)(14)(15) the length of hospital stay, (10)(12)(14)(16) with similar long-term survival. (13)(16)(17) Minimally invasive lobectomy is also associated with less pain during the acute postoperative period compared to thoracotomy. (5)(18)

Back to top

Epidural Analgesia for Lobectomy

Optimizing perioperative analgesia to reduce the compromising effects of pain on postoperative respiratory function and patient morbidity is imperative. (19)

Epidural analgesia has traditionally been considered the gold standard for patients undergoing major open abdominal surgery and open thoracotomy. However, it is associated with several complications, including placement issues, and side effects, such as hypotension and urinary retention. (20)(21) In contrast, patients who received systemic analgesia alone are hospitalized for shorter periods and require smaller opioid dosages at discharge. (22)

…patients who received systemic analgesia alone [were] hospitalized for shorter periods and require[d] smaller opioid dosages at discharge.
Prasad S. Adusumilli Deputy Chief and Attending, Thoracic Service; Vice Chair for Translational Research, Department of Surgery; Co-Director, Mesothelioma Program; Head, Solid Tumors Cell Therapy, Cellular Therapeutics Center
Back to top

Study Design

We examined the shift in the prevalence of the use of epidural analgesia and its impact on postoperative short-term outcomes after a lobectomy via minimally invasive surgery or via thoracotomy in patients with NSCLC. Using prospectively collected data from the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center Thoracic Surgery Service database, we identified 793 patients with stages I to III NSCLC who’d had a lobectomy procedure. (1)

To capture the shifts in surgical practice toward more minimally invasive surgeries, we divided the patients into two groups. The early group of 386 patients was treated between January 2009 and December 2010, and the late group of 407 patients was treated between January 2014 and December 2015. (1)

Within the late group of 308 patients who underwent minimally invasive surgery, we compared the results for 150 patients who received epidural analgesia with 158 patients who did not. (1)

Back to top

Study Results

As expected, there was a clear shift toward the increased use of a minimally invasive surgical approach over time. In the early group, 53 percent had minimally invasive surgery, and 47 percent had a thoracotomy. By contrast, in the late group, 76 percent had minimally invasive surgery, and 24 percent had a thoracotomy. (1)

There were no differences in postoperative morbidity and mortality between the two time periods for both minimally invasive surgery and thoracotomy methods. (1)

Among patients who had a minimally invasive lobectomy, the use of epidural analgesia decreased significantly from 95 percent in the early time period to 51 percent in the late time period (p < 0.001). There were no differences in morbidity or mortality for patients who did or did not have epidural analgesia. (1)

Notably, the length of stay in the hospital was three days for those who did not have epidural analgesia compared to four days for those who did (p = 0.038). (1)

Back to top

Advancing Lung Cancer Care

At MSK, we are dedicated to advancing lung cancer care through research. For example, since 2015, I have been leading an open-label, dose-escalating, nonrandomized phase I trial studying the use of genetically engineered chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) T cell therapy to treat mesothelioma and malignant plural disease from lung and breast cancers. The novelty of these studies includes administering CAR T cells regionally in the pleural cavity and combination immunotherapy with pembrolizumab. The study is still recruiting at seven MSK locations. We are awaiting regulatory approvals to initiate a phase II study.

MSK investigators are also conducting 67 other clinical trials for people with lung cancer, testing a range of new chemotherapies, targeted therapies, immunotherapies, and radiation therapies.

The study authors’ lab work is supported by grants from the National Institutes of Health (P30 CA008748, RO1 CA236615, and RO1 CA235667), the US Department of Defense (BC132124, LC160212, CA170630, and CA180889), the Emerson Collective Cancer Research Fund, the Derfner Foundation, the Joanne and John DallePezze Foundation, William and Alice Goodwin, the Commonwealth Foundation for Cancer Research, and the Center for Experimental Therapeutics at MSK. None of the funding sources had any role in the study design; in the collection, analysis, and interpretation of the data; in the writing of the report; or in the decision to submit the article for publication.

Back to top
  1. Zeltsman M, Dozier J, Vaghjiani RG, et al. Decreasing use of epidural analgesia with increasing minimally invasive lobectomy: Impact on postoperative mobility. Lung Cancer. 2020;139(1):68-72.

  2. Paul S, Altorki NK, Sheng S, et al. Thoracoscopic lobectomy is associated with lower morbidity than open lobectomy: a propensity-matched analysis from the STS database. J Thorac Cardiovasc Surg. 2010;139(2);366–78.

  3. Paul S, Sedrakyan A, Chiu YL, et al. Outcomes after lobectomy using thoracoscopy vs thoracotomy: a comparative effectiveness analysis utilizing the Nationwide Inpatient Sample database. Eur J Cardiothorac Surg. 2013;43(4):813–7.

  4. Kent M, Wang T, Whyte R, et al. Open, video-assisted thoracic surgery, and robotic lobectomy: review of a national database. Ann Thorac Surg. 2014;97(1):236–42.

  5. Nomori H, Horio H, Naruke T, Suemasu K. What is the advantage of a thoracoscopic lobectomy over a limited thoracotomy procedure for lung cancer surgery? Ann Thorac Surg. 2001;72(3):879–84.

  6. Park BJ, Yang HX, Woo KM, Sima CS. Minimally invasive (robotic assisted thoracic surgery and video-assisted thoracic surgery) lobectomy for the treatment of locally advanced non-small cell lung cancer. J Thorac Dis. 2016;8(Suppl 4):S406–S413.

  7. Whitson BA, Andrade RS, Boettcher A, et al. Video-assisted thoracoscopic surgery is more favorable than thoracotomy for resection of clinical stage I non-small cell lung cancer. Ann Thorac Surg. 2007;83(6):1965–70.

  8. Yan TD, Black D, Bannon PG, et al. Systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized and nonrandomized trials on safety and efficacy of video-assisted thoracic surgery lobectomy for early-stage non-small-cell lung cancer. J. Clin Oncol. 2009;27(15:2553–62.

  9. Phillips JD, Merkow RP, Sherman KL, et al. Factors affecting selection of operative approach and subsequent short-term outcomes after anatomic resection for lung cancer. J Am Coll Surg. 2012;215(2):206–15.

  10. Paul S, Isaacs AJ, Treasure T, et al. Long term survival with thoracoscopic versus open lobectomy: propensity matched comparative analysis using SEER-Medicare database. BMJ. 2014;349:g5575.

  11. Pages PB, Delpy JP, Orsini B, et al. Propensity score analysis comparing videothoracoscopic lobectomy with thoracotomy: a French nationwide study. Ann Thorac Surg. 2016;10(14);1370–8.

  12. Nwogu CE, D’Cunha J, Pang H, et al. VATS lobectomy has better perioperative outcomes than open lobectomy: CALGB 31001, an ancillary analysis of CALGB 140202 (Alliance). Ann Thorac Surg. 2015;99(2):399–405.

  13. Flores RM, Park BJ, Dycoco J, et al. Lobectomy by video-assisted thoracic surgery (VATS) versus thoracotomy for lung cancer. J Thorac Cardiovasc Surg. 2009;138(1):11–18.

  14. Falcoz PE, Puyraveau M, Thomas PA. Video-assisted thoracoscopic surgery versus open lobectomy for primary non-small-cell lung cancer: a propensity-matched analysis of outcome from the European Society of Thoracic Surgeon database. Eur J Cardiothorac Surg. 2016;49(2):602–609.

  15. Boffa DJ, Dhamija A, Kosinski AS, et al. Fewer complications result from a video-assisted approach to anatomic resection of clinical stage I lung cancer. J Thorac Cardiovasc Surg. 2014;148(2):637–43.

  16. Yang CF, Sun Z, Speicher PJ, et al. Use and outcomes of minimally invasive lobectomy for stage I non-small cell lung cancer in the National Cancer Data Base. Ann Thorac Surg. 2016;101(3):1037–1042.

  17. Hanna WC, de Valence M, Atenafu EG, et al. Is video-assisted lobectomy for non-small-cell lung cancer oncologically equivalent to open lobectomy? Eur J Cardiothorac Surg. 2013;43(6):1121–5.

  18. Landreneau RJ, Mack MJ, Hazelrigg SR. Prevalence of chronic pain after pulmonary resection by thoracotomy or video-assisted thoracic surgery. J Thorac Cardiovasc Surg. 1994;107(4):1079–85.

  19. Sabanathan S, Eng J, Mearns AJ. Alterations in respiratory mechanics following thoracotomy. J R Coll Surg Edinb. 1990;35(3):144–50.

  20. Popping DM, Elia N, Van Aken HK, et al. Impact of epidural analgesia on mortality and morbidity after surgery: systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Ann Surg. 2014;259(6):1056–67.

  21. Joshi GP, Bonnet F, Shah R, et al. A systematic review of randomized trials evaluating regional techniques for postthoracotomy analgesia. Anesth Analg. 2008;107(3):1026–40.

  22. Kampe S, Weinreich G, Darr C, et al. The impact of epidural analgesia compared to systemic opioid-based analgesia with regard to length of hospital stay and recovery of bowel function: retrospective evaluation of 1555 patients undergoing thoracotomy. J Cardiothorac Surg. 2014;9:175.