MSK Radiologist Named Winner of National Academy of Medicine's David Rall Medal


The National Academy of Medicine (NAM) has named Hedvig Hricak, MD, PhD, Chair of the Department of Radiology, a recipient of the David Rall Medal. The medal is given annually to a NAM member who has demonstrated outstanding leadership. Dr. Hricak will receive the award at the 2018 NAM Annual Meeting on Monday, October 15, 2018, in Washington, D.C.

Dr. Hricak is the first radiologist as well as the first MSK faculty member to receive this prestigious award. Former recipients include prestigious healthcare professionals and policy makers, such as Richard Hynes, PhD, of MIT, and Donna Shalala, PhD, who served as Secretary of Health and Human Services under President Bill Clinton.

Receiving this award is a tremendous honor, and serving on NAM committees has been a privilege beyond words,” Dr. Hricak says. “With each assignment, I have treasured the opportunity to learn, make new friends, and work with the most efficient, brilliant, and pleasant staff imaginable. It has been an unforgettable experience.”

The hallmark of Dr. Hricak’s career has been the development, validation, and dissemination of new diagnostic imaging techniques, particularly for genitourinary oncology. Her publications include more than 400 peer-reviewed original research articles and 18 books. She holds honorary doctorates from both Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich, in Germany, and Paul Sabatier University, in Toulouse, France. For her research accomplishments and her efforts to promote international collaboration and education in oncologic imaging, she has won numerous awards, including honorary memberships and fellowships in fourteen international radiological societies.

Prior to joining MSK, Dr. Hricak held high-ranking positions such as President of the California Academy of Medicine. Later she served as president of several major national and international radiology societies, including the Radiological Society of North America. In recognition of her distinguished work in radiology, she has received the Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award from the American Association for Women Radiologists and the Béclère Medal from the International Society of Radiology, as well as Gold Medals from the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine, the Association of University Radiologists, the European Society of Radiology, the Asian Oceanian Society of Radiology, and the Radiologic Society of North America.

The NAM is one of three organizations that make up the National Academies, which also include the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering. Originally named the Institute of Medicine, the NAM was founded in 1970. It provides expert advice on science and medicine to national and international organizations.