Nominations Sought for Paul Marks Prize


Nominations are currently being sought for the Paul Marks Prize for Cancer Research. This award, established by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (MSKCC) in 2001, is named for Paul A. Marks, MD, President Emeritus of the Center and a distinguished scientist.

The prize recognizes outstanding young investigators who have made significant contributions, through basic or clinical research, to increasing the understanding of cancer or improving the treatment of the disease.

The Paul Marks Prize is awarded to up to three investigators every other year. Nominees are required to be age 45 or younger at the time of the submission deadline. The winners will present their work at MSKCC and will share a cash award of $150,000.

The winners of the 2005 Paul Marks Prize were Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) investigator Tyler E. Jacks, PhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; HHMI investigator Scott W. Lowe, PhD, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Cancer Center; and Jeff Wrana, PhD, Samuel Lunenfeld Research Institute, Mount Sinai Hospital, Toronto, Canada.

Nomination packets must include a letter from the nominator outlining the significance of the accomplishments for which the candidate should be recognized. This should be accompanied by a one-page scientific biography of the candidate, a list of up to eight of the candidate’s published papers with a brief (fewer than 100 words) explanation of the importance of each one, the candidate’s curriculum vitae, and up to three supporting letters.

Nominations must be received by April 30, 2007. They may be e-mailed to [email protected] or mailed to:

Paizhe Pressley
Executive Assistant
Office of the President
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
1275 York Avenue
New York, New York, 10065

For more information about the Paul Marks Prize, go to: