GSK Students Receive Fellowships for the 2019-2020 Academic Year


Grayer Fellows

Third-year students Jordan Aronowitz and Adina Schonbrun have been named the 2019–2020 Grayer Fellows. The fellowships were established by Mr. Jonathan Grayer, a member of Memorial Sloan Kettering’s Boards of Overseers and Managers and Chairman and CEO of Weld North, an investment company. Two Grayer Fellows are selected based on achieved excellence, as demonstrated by their thesis proposal examination.

Olayan Fellow

Second-year student Shengyu “Sherry” Gao has been selected as the 2019–2020 Olayan Fellow. The fellowship, which supports the stipend of a GSK graduate student for one year, was established by The Olayan Group, a multinational corporation of more than 50 companies and affiliated businesses. The company’s Vice Chair, Hutham Olayan, serves on Memorial Sloan Kettering’s Boards of Overseers and Managers.

Robert B. Catell Fellow

Second-year student Ella Melnik has been named the 2019–2020 Robert B. Catell Fellow. Established by Robert Catell, the fellowship grew out of his commitment to advancing cancer research. It supports the stipend of a GSK graduate student for one year. Mr. Catell is the former Chairman and CEO of KeySpan and chairs the advisory boards for the Advanced Energy Research and Technology Center at Stony Brook University and the New York State Smart Grid Consortium. In addition, he chairs the advisory councils of the New York Energy Policy Institute and the New York State Foundation for Science, Technology and Innovation. Mr. Catell also serves on the boards of the Colin Powell Center for Policy Studies, the New York Academy of Sciences, Tomorrow’s Hope Foundation, the New York City Police Foundation, and the Feinstein Institutes for Medical Research, among others.

Palestin Fellowship

Second-year student Alexander Settle has been awarded the 2019–2020 Beatrice P. K. Palestin Fellowship. The fellowship was established in 2006 by the family of Beatrice Palestin to support the stipend of a GSK graduate student for one year. Mrs. Palestin was a New York philanthropist with a longtime interest in cancer research.

Geoffrey Beene Graduate Student Fellowship

Three second-year students — Eleanor Johns, Katelyn Mullen, and Michael Waarts — each received a Geoffrey Beene Graduate Student Fellowship. Recipients are selected at the end of their first year of study based on academic excellence. By providing support for outstanding GSK students, the Beene Fellowships are designed to expand the pool of investigators trained to pursue research in the highly complex and multidisciplinary field of cancer biology.