Starr Cancer Consortium


The Starr Cancer Consortium (SCC) brings together five biomedical research institutions — Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, the Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, The Rockefeller University, and Weill Cornell Medical College.

Established in 2006 with a generous gift from The Starr Foundation, the SCC forges productive alliances between scientists at the participating institutions. The initiative supports collaborative research that requires extensive, multidisciplinary expertise; advanced technology; and broad access to clinical samples, which are a crucial resource for the study of cancer.

SCC researchers are developing new technologies for the molecular characterization of different types of cancer. They are applying these technologies to identify new therapeutic and diagnostic targets, as well as to gain insights into the biological mechanisms by which cancers arise or worsen.

The ultimate goal is to accelerate the development of more-effective approaches to prevent, diagnose, and treat cancer.