Past Presidents

Past Presidents

Pictured: Craig Thompson, MD

Craig Thompson, MD, 2010-2022

A board-certified internist and medical oncologist with extensive research experience in cancer, immunology, and translational medicine, Craig B. Thompson led Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center through an unprecedented period of transformation and growth from 2010 to 2022. He remains at MSK as the head of his laboratory, focusing on research defining the molecular signaling pathways that regulate cell nutrient uptake. Read more about Craig Thompson »

Pictured: Harold Varmus, MD

Harold Varmus, MD, 2000–2010

Internationally recognized for his research on retroviruses and the genetic basis of cancer, Harold Varmus served as President and CEO of Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center from 2000 to 2010. He is now Director of the National Cancer Institute. Previously, Dr. Varmus was Director of the National Institutes of Health from 1993 to 1999. Read more about Harold Varmus »

Pictured: Paul A. Marks

Paul A. Marks, MD, 1980–1999

As President and Chief Executive Officer, Dr. Marks led Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center for 19 years, beginning in 1980. He remains a vital part of Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center as President Emeritus and Member of the Sloan Kettering Institute. Read more about Paul Marks »

Before 1980:

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Lewis Thomas, MD: President and CEO, 1973–1980

David Walsh: Acting President, 1971–1973

Richard D. Vanderwarker: President and CEO, 1964–1971

Richard D. Vanderwarker: Acting President and CEO, 1962–1964

John R. Heller, MD: President and CEO, 1960–1961

Memorial Hospital for Cancer and Allied Diseases

James D. Robinson, III: President, 1974–1980

John M. Walker, MD: President, 1965–1973

Ogden White: President, 1962–1964

B. Brewster Jennings: President, 1958–1961

Laurance S. Rockefeller: President, 1950–1958

Reginald G. Coombe: President, 1945–1950

Harry P. Robbins: President, 1933–1944

Walter Douglas: President, 1924–1932

Herbert Parsons: President, 1919–1923

George C. Clark: President, 1917–1919

Herbert Parsons: President, 1915–1917

John E. Parsons: President, 1884–1915

Sloan Kettering Institute

Robert A. Good, MD, PhD: President, 1973–1980

Leo Wade, MD: Vice President and Deputy Director, 1971–1972

Frank L. Horsfall, Jr. MD: President and Director, 1960–1971

Frank A. Howard: President, 1945–1959