关于您的连续葡萄糖监测仪 (CGM)

分享
阅读时间: 约 5 分钟

该信息描述了连续葡萄糖监测仪 (CGM) 是什么以及如何使用和佩戴。 还说明了如何读取葡萄糖水平和保养您的 CGM。

连续葡萄糖监测仪是什么?

CGM 是一种小型可穿戴设备,能够每隔几分钟测量您的葡萄糖(糖)水平。 该设备由一个传感器和一个变送器组成。

传感器呈细丝状(纤维),可进入您的皮肤测量葡萄糖(见图 1)。 变送器置于您的皮肤上,负责将数据传输至设备读取器或您的智能手机应用程序。 借助该设备,您无须频繁进行指尖采血即可追踪自己的葡萄糖水平。

图 1. CGM 传感器和变送器

图 1. CGM 传感器和变送器

CGM 可以帮助您:
  • 随时检查您的葡萄糖水平。
  • 实时查看体力活动和食物对葡萄糖的影响,从而作出健康的生活方式选择。
  • 与您的医疗团队轻松分享报告,包括您的医疗保健提供者和照护者。

CGM 适宜人群

每个人都可以使用 CGM,但需要凭处方获取。 CGM 最常用于使用胰岛素的 1 型或 2 型糖尿病患者。

CGM 承保范围

保险通常只会为每天需注射 1 剂以上胰岛素的患者承保设备费用。 如果无法承保,您可以自行承担该费用。 与您的医疗保健提供者进行讨论以了解更多信息。

询问您的服药情况

某些药物可能会导致 CGM 读数准确性下降,例如对乙酰氨基酚 (Tylenol®) 或羟基脲 (Droxia®)。 您需要与您的医疗保健提供者讨论使用 CGM 时哪些药物是安全的。

如何使用连续葡萄糖监测仪

CGM 有多种不同的系统。 其中大多数的运作机制都相同。 请与您的医疗保健提供者讨论哪一种适合您。

您的糖尿病门诊医疗团队会教您使用其为您开具的 CGM 系统。 请阅读产品用户指南,包括安全信息和如何使用 CGM。 您也可以访问制造商网站或联系客户支持,获取有关该设备的帮助。

CGM 的使用方法与部位

使用涂抹器将 CGM 置于您的上臂后侧或腹部。 请遵循您的具体 CGM 系统随附的说明书进行操作。 放置 CGM 时请避开疤痕、痣、伸展纹或注射胰岛素的部位。

CGM 的背衬具有粘性,可以将传感器固定在您的皮肤上。 您也可以使用 CGM 贴片进行防护或避免脱位。 避免在传感器附近的皮肤上涂抹乳液或粉末制品。 否则会导致传感器无法贴合皮肤。

您也可以使用贴片保护 CGM 设备,避免其掉落。 请勿用贴片的粘性侧盖住传感器。 否则可能会导致传感器进水,从而损坏。 您可以从当地药店或网上购买此类贴片。

如何读取葡萄糖测量值

CGM 读数可能与指尖釆血读数有所不同。 指尖釆血测量的是您血液中的葡萄糖水平。 CGM 测量的是组织液中的葡萄糖水平。 组织液指您体内细胞之间的液体(见图 2)。

图 2. 指尖釆血(左)和 CGM(右)

图 2. 指尖釆血(左)和 CGM(右)

CGM 与指尖釆血葡萄糖读数

组织液中葡萄糖水平的变化速度较血液中更慢。 通过指尖釆血得出的血糖 (BG) 读数显示的是您的实时血糖水平。 而 CGM 传感器葡萄糖 (SG) 读数显示的可能是您 15 分钟前的葡萄糖水平。 即使您的葡萄糖稳定(没有变化),这些读数略有不同也是正常的。

如果您的葡萄糖变化很快,则血糖读数和 CGM 传感器葡萄糖读数之间出现较大差异属于正常现象。 刚刚进食之后可能会发生这种情况。 如果您的葡萄糖超出范围,传感器会予以提醒。 如果您有任何担忧,请联系您的糖尿病医疗保健提供者。

请阅读下方的“如何使用连续葡萄糖监测仪读取您的葡萄糖水平”部分,了解更多信息。

如何使用连续葡萄糖监测仪读取您的葡萄糖水平

您的葡萄糖水平在一天内不断变化。 CGM 将每隔几分钟测量一次您的葡萄糖水平, 并将数据传输至设备读取器,或通过蓝牙无线传输至您的智能手机应用程序。 请确保您的读取器或智能手机始终在您附近。

读取器或应用程序中的程序会根据数据,使用一个或多个箭头向您显示趋势(见图 3)。 您可以通过该功能了解您的葡萄糖是在变化还是处于稳定状态。 如果您的葡萄糖正在变化,该程序会告诉您葡萄糖升高或降低的速度。

图 3. CGM 读取器或应用程序中显示的箭头

图 3. CGM 读取器或应用程序中显示的箭头

影响葡萄糖读数的因素

许多因素都会导致您的葡萄糖水平发生变化,包括体力活动和食物。 您可以根据您的 CGM 葡萄糖读数作出健康的生活方式选择,并预防糖尿病所引起的问题。 例如,某些活动或食物可以帮助您更长时间地将葡萄糖维持在目标范围内。 目标范围指您的葡萄糖不会过高或过低。

请与您的医疗保健提供者讨论您的目标范围是什么,以及哪些活动和食物最适合您。

何时需要通过指尖釆血测量葡萄糖

指尖釆血是管理糖尿病的重要组成部分。 指尖釆血有助于确认 CGM 葡萄糖读数是否正确, 从而帮助您决定如何管理您的葡萄糖。 请始终备好血糖仪和检测用品。

在使用 CGM 时,您无须通过指尖釆血定期检查您的血糖。 如果您认为 CGM 葡萄糖读数与您的自身感觉不符,请进行指尖釆血。 例如,虽然您的葡萄糖读数处于目标范围内,但您可能仍感觉有低血糖症状。

如果您的 CGM 传感器葡萄糖水平出现以下情况,读取器或应用程序上的图标可能会提示您进行指尖釆血:
  • 过高
  • 过低
  • 变化极快

如何保养您的连续葡萄糖监测仪

洗澡和淋浴

佩戴 CGM 淋浴或洗澡是安全的。 许多 CGM 能够抗水,但无法防水。 游泳前请遵循您的 CGM 随附的说明书进行操作。

在 MSK 住院期间使用您的连续葡萄糖监测仪

如果您需要在 MSK 住院,可以保持佩戴 CGM,以了解自身信息并让您感到安心。 如果您选择保持佩戴,您的医疗保健提供者会要求您签署一份表格。 该表格描述的是允许您在住院期间继续使用 CGM 的协议条款。 为了您的安全,我们需要您同意这些条款,否则只能取下设备。

您的医疗团队会在您的病房中通过指尖釆血检查您的血糖水平。 检查结果会立刻显示在医院的血糖仪上。 这被称为即时检验 (POCT)。 您的医疗团队会通过 POCT 作出所有治疗相关决策,例如药物剂量、检测或手术。

如果您选择住院期间使用您的 CGM,您必须在此期间妥善保养该设备。 如果您的 CGM 读数超出正常范围,请立即致电护士。 护士会通过 POCT 验证该读数,并指导您的治疗。

您需要携带您的个人用品,包括替换用 CGM 和贴片。 MSK 不能:

  • 填写您的 CGM 处方。
  • 如果您的 CGM 不慎丢失,或者您在治疗过程中必须将其取下,我们会为您报销更换 CGM 的费用。

如何更换或取下您的连续葡萄糖测量仪

每个传感器可佩戴 10 至 14 天,具体取决于您所使用的 CGM 系统。 您的 CGM 会在需要更换传感器时向您发送提醒。

如需取下传感器,请将粘性区域的边缘从皮肤上拉开。 请借助热肥皂水、除粘剂或酒精将其取下。 将使用过的涂抹器和传感器丢弃在家用医疗锐器收纳箱中。 请阅读 /node/20366 了解更多信息。

为避免皮肤刺激,请换不同的部位佩戴新 CGM。 如果 CGM 佩戴在手臂上,则每次更换 CGM 时都请更换手臂。 如果 CGM 位于您的腹部,则更换 CGM 时请换腹部上的其他部位佩戴。

您的医疗团队会要求您在进行某些检测或手术前将您的设备取下。 例如磁共振成像 (MRI) 扫描和计算机断层扫描 (CT)。 更多信息请咨询您的医疗保健提供者。

何时电话联系您的医疗保健提供者

如果出现以下任何情况,请致电您的糖尿病医疗保健提供者:

  • 低血糖症。 即血糖低于 70 毫克/分升 (mg/dL)。
  • 高血糖症。 该情况可能是:
    • 连续 2 至 3 天内有 1 次以上血糖读数高于 200 mg/dL。
    • 24 小时内血糖 2 次超过 300 mg/dL。

上次更新时间

星期五, 十月 20, 2023

请告诉我们您的想法

请告诉我们您的想法

您的反馈有助于我们改进所提供的教育信息。 您的医疗团队将无法看到您在本反馈表中填写的任何内容。 请勿通过反馈表表达您的医疗需求。 如果您对自己接受的医疗服务有任何疑问,请联系您的医疗保健提供者。

我们会阅读所有反馈,但不会回答任何问题。 请勿在本反馈表中填写您的姓名或任何个人信息。

Questions 有点
请勿输入您的姓名或任何个人信息。

About Your Continuous Glucose Monitor (CGM)

Share
Time to Read: About 5 minutes

This information describes what a continuous glucose monitor (CGM) is and how to use and place it. It also explains how to read glucose levels and care for your CGM.

What is a continuous glucose monitor?

A CGM is a small, wearable device that measures your glucose (sugar) level every few minutes. It is made up of a sensor and a transmitter.

The sensor is a small filament (fiber) that goes into your skin and measures your glucose (see Figure 1). The transmitter sits on your skin and sends data to a device reader or an app on your smartphone. This lets you track your glucose level using fewer fingersticks (fingerpricks).

Figure 1. CGM censor and transmitter

Figure 1. CGM censor and transmitter

A CGM can help you:
  • Check your glucose levels at any time.
  • See how physical activity and food affect your glucose in real time to make healthy lifestyle choices.
  • Easily share reports with your care team, including your healthcare provider and caregivers.

Who can use a CGM

Anyone can use a CGM, but you’ll need a prescription to get one. CGMs are most often used by people with type 1 diabetes or type 2 diabetes who use insulin.

Insurance coverage for CGMs

Usually, insurance will only pay for the device if you take more than1 insulin injection a day. If insurance does not cover it, you can pay for it on your own. Talk with your healthcare provider to learn more.

Ask about your medications

Certain medicines, such as acetaminophen (Tylenol®) or hydroxyurea (Droxia®), can cause less accurate CGM readings. Talk with your healthcare provider about which medicines are safe to take while using a CGM.

How to use a continuous glucose monitor

There are several kinds of CGM systems. Most work in the same way. Talk with your healthcare provider about which one is right for you.

Your outpatient diabetes care team will help teach you how to use the CGM system they prescribe for you. Read the product user guide, including safety information and how to use your CGM. You can also go to the manufacturer’s website or contact customer support for help with your device.

How and where to place your CGM

Use the applicator to place the CGM onto the back of your upper arm or your belly. Follow the instructions that come with your specific CGM system. Avoid placing the CGM over scars, moles, stretch marks, or areas where you inject insulin.

The CGM has a sticky backing to keep the sensor in place on your skin. You can also use a CGM cover to help protect and keep it in place. Avoid using lotion or powder near the sensor. They can keep the sensor from sticking to your skin.

You can place a CGM cover over your device to help keep it from falling off. Do not cover the sensor with the sticky part of the covering. This can trap water in the sensor and damage it. You can buy these coverings at your local pharmacy or online.

How to read your glucose measurements

CGM readings may be different from fingerstick readings. Fingersticks measure your glucose level from your bloodstream. A CGM measures your glucose from interstitial (IN-ter-STIH-shul) fluid. This is the fluid between your body’s cells (see Figure 2).

Figure 2. Fingerstick (left) and CGM (right)

Figure 2. Fingerstick (left) and CGM (right)

CGM versus fingerstick glucose readings

Glucose levels in your interstitial fluid change slower than in your bloodstream. Blood glucose (BG) reading from a fingerstick will show your blood glucose level in real time. Your CGM sensor glucose (SG) reading may show what your glucose was up to 15 minutes ago. It’s normal for these readings to be slightly different, even if your glucose is stable (not changing).

If your glucose is changing quickly, it’s normal to see a bigger difference between blood and CGM sensor glucose readings. This can happen right after you’ve eaten. Your sensor will tell you if your glucose is out of range. Call your diabetes healthcare provider if you have any concerns.

Read the “How to read your glucose level using a continuous glucose monitor” section below to learn more.

How to read your glucose level using a continuous glucose monitor

Your glucose level changes throughout the day. The CGM will measure your glucose level every few minutes. It will send the data to the device reader or your smartphone app wirelessly by Bluetooth. Make sure your reader or smartphone is close by at all times.

A program in the reader or app uses the data to show you a trend with an arrow or arrows (see Figure 3). This lets you know if your glucose is changing or in a stable pattern. If your glucose is changing, it will tell you how quickly it is going up or down.

Figure 3. Arrows shown in CGM reader or app

Figure 3. Arrows shown in CGM reader or app

Things that affect your glucose readings

Many things, including physical activity and food, can cause your glucose levels to change. You can use your CGM glucose readings to make healthy lifestyle choices and prevent problems caused by diabetes. For example, certain activities or foods can help keep your glucose in the target range longer. The target range is when your glucose is not too high or too low.

Talk with your healthcare provider about what your target range is and which activities and foods are best for you.

When to do a fingerstick to measure glucose

Fingersticks are an important part of managing your diabetes. Doing a fingerstick can help confirm if your CGM glucose reading is correct. This helps you decide how to manage your glucose. Always have your blood glucose meter and testing supplies available.

You do not have to regularly check your blood glucose by fingerstick while using a CGM. Do a fingerstick if you feel like your CGM glucose reading does not match how you feel. For example, you may feel symptoms of hypoglycemia even though your glucose reading is in the target range.

An icon on the reader or app may tell you to do a fingerstick if your CGM sensor glucose level is:
  • Too high
  • Too low
  • Changing very quickly

How to care for your continuous glucose monitor

Bathing and showering

It is safe to shower or take a bath with your CGM in place. Many CGMs are water resistant, but not waterproof. Follow the instructions that come with your CGM before swimming.

Using your continuous glucose monitor while you’re staying at MSK

If you need to stay at MSK, you can keep your CGM on for your information and comfort. If you choose to keep it on, your healthcare provider will ask you to sign a form. This form describes the terms of agreement that let you to keep the CGM on while you’re in the hospital. For your safety, we ask that you agree to these terms or take off the device.

Your care team will use a fingerstick to check your blood glucose level in your hospital room. Your results will appear right away on the hospital’s blood glucose meter. This is called point-of-care testing (POCT). Your care team will use POCT to make any decisions about treatment, such as medication doses, tests, or procedures.

If you choose to use your CGM while you’re in the hospital, you must care for it during your stay. If you have a CGM reading that is outside the normal range, call the nurse right away. They will use POCT to confirm the reading and guide your treatment.

You’ll need to bring your own supplies, including replacement CGMs and coverings. MSK cannot:

  • Fill your CGM prescription.
  • Reimburse you for a replacement CGM if you lose it or you have to take it off as part of your care.

How to replace or remove your continuous glucose monitor

You can wear each sensor for 10 to 14 days, depending on which CGM system you have. Your CGM will send you an alert when it’s time to change your sensor.

To take off your sensor, pull the edge of the sticky area away from your skin. Use warm soapy water, adhesive removal, or alcohol to help take it off. Throw the used applicator and sensor away in a home medical sharps container. Read /node/20366 to learn more.

Put your new CGM in a different spot when replacing it to avoid irritating your skin. If your CGM goes into your arm, switch arms each time you replace it. If your CGM goes into your belly, put it in a different spot on your belly when you replace it.

Your care team will ask you to take off your device before some tests or procedures. Examples include magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scans and computed tomography (CT) scans. Talk with your healthcare provider for more information.

When to call your healthcare provider

Call your diabetes healthcare provider if you have either of these:

  • Hypoglycemia. This is blood glucose below 70 milligrams (mg) per decilitre (dL).
  • Hyperglycemia. This can be:
    • More than 1 blood glucose reading above 200 mg/dL for 2 to 3 days in a row.
    • Blood glucose above 300 mg/dL 2 times in 24 hours.

Last Updated

Friday, October 20, 2023

Tell us what you think

Tell us what you think

Your feedback will help us improve the educational information we provide. Your care team cannot see anything you write on this feedback form. Please do not use it to ask about your care. If you have questions about your care, contact your healthcare provider.

While we read all feedback, we cannot answer any questions. Please do not write your name or any personal information on this feedback form.

Questions Yes Somewhat No
Please do not write your name or any personal information.