Stages of Rectal Cancer

Stages of Rectal Cancer


Recal Cancer Stages 0, 1, 2, 3, 4 Infographic

If your care team diagnoses you with rectal cancer, the next step is finding out the stage of the cancer, or how advanced it is. Staging helps us design a plan that treats you in the most effective way possible. So your care team can determine the stage of the cancer, you will have diagnostic tests to find out:

  • how deeply the cancer has grown in the wall of the rectum
  • whether the cancer has spread to other parts of the body

The stage of cancer helps determine the typical treatment and outlook for people with cancer at that same point. However, each person’s cancer experience is unique.

What are the stages of rectal cancer? 

There are five stages of rectal cancer, starting at zero and going up to four. They are often written with the Roman numerals I, II, III, and IV. In general, the lower the number, the less the cancer has spread and easier it is to treat. 

What is stage 0 rectal cancer? 

Stage 0 rectal cancer is found only in the innermost lining of the rectum wall, called the mucosa. 

What is stage I (1) rectal cancer? 

Stage I rectal cancer means that the tumor has spread beyond the inner lining but remains within the rectum wall and has not spread to the lymph nodes. Lymph nodes are small organs that are part of the immune system and act like filters. 

What is stage II (2) rectal cancer? 

Stage II rectal cancer extends through the thick outer muscle layer of the rectum but has not spread to the lymph nodes.

What is stage III (3) rectal cancer? 

Stage III rectal cancer has spread outside the rectum to one or more lymph nodes.

What is stage IV (4) rectal cancer?

Stage IV rectal cancer has spread to other parts of the body, such as the liver or lungs. The cancer may be in the lymph nodes.

Request an Appointment

Call 800-525-2225
Available Monday through Friday, to (Eastern time)