虽然 35 岁以下女性乳腺癌患者的疾病复发率较高,但保乳治疗仍适合该患者群体

简体中文
Share
Print
Atif J. Khan,医学博士

根据我们最近发表在《国际放射肿瘤学杂志》上的回顾性研究,对于 35 岁以下的乳腺癌患者,相较于接受乳房切除术的患者,接受初始保乳治疗的患者的生存结局并没有更差。 (1)

过去,与老年患者相比,40 岁以下的浸润性乳腺癌女性患者的总生存率 (OS) 更差,复发率更高, (2), (3), (4)因此这些患者接受更高强度的治疗,如乳房切除术(而非保乳手术)联合辅助治疗。

之前的研究也发现,年轻的乳腺癌患者的结局更差。 然而,在这些研究中,研究时间间隔以及对“年轻”或“非常年轻”患者组和老年对照组的定义各不相同,其中一些还包括 0 期或 IV 期患者。 因此,有关保乳治疗和乳房切除术在年轻患者中的使用和患者结局的报告也各不相同。

在我们目前的这项研究中,我们比较了 1990 年至 2010 年在纪念斯隆凯特琳癌症中心(MSK 斯隆)接受治疗的年轻浸润性乳腺癌患者与老年患者队列的结局,中位随访时间为 10 年。 我们的目的是确定哪些因素能够预测最年轻患者群体中的死亡率、复发和患继发性恶性肿瘤的情况。 (1)

我们分别研究了 529 例 35 岁以下、6246 例 36~50 岁以及 7294 例 51~70 岁女性患者的局部控制、远端控制和总生存情况,并对各年龄组患者的结局进行了比较。 在最年轻的队列中,我们还按照手术策略不同(乳房切除术或保乳手术)研究了疾病控制率,以及与使用辅助放射治疗相关的继发性恶性肿瘤和对侧乳腺癌的风险。 (1)

虽然最年轻的癌症患者队列的生存和复发结局比两个年龄较大的队列更差,但我们发现接受保乳治疗或乳房切除术的患者的 OS 在统计学上相似(这一点发现与既往报道一致)。 我们的新发现表明,保乳治疗适用于年轻乳腺癌患者,且对继发性恶性肿瘤的担心不应影响术后放射治疗的已知适应症。 (1)

我们的新发现表明,保乳治疗适用于年轻乳腺癌患者,且对继发性恶性肿瘤的担心不应影响术后放射治疗的已知适应症。
Atif Jalees Khan

35 岁以下的女性乳腺癌患者

乳腺癌是 40 岁以下女性中最常被诊断的非皮肤性癌症,占非皮肤癌诊断的 30%。 (5) 虽然在美国 40 岁以下的女性仅占所有浸润性乳腺癌病例的约 6%,但与老年患者相比,她们的复发率却不成比例地更高(2), (3), (4) ,总生存率更差。 (1) (4) (6)

两项观察结果支持了这些趋势。 首先,40 岁以下的女性并没有常规接受乳腺 X 射线摄影筛查,更容易在疾病的更晚期阶段确诊。 (5) (7)其次,对于非常年轻的女性患者,其乳腺癌可能具有独特的肿瘤生物学特性,与已知的生殖系驱动因素无关, (8)具有许多更差的组织学特征,包括高组织学分级、存在淋巴血管浸润和缺乏激素受体。 (9) (10) (11)在校正临床病理特征后,年轻与较差的预后独立相关, (12) (13) (14)且最近的研究发现,与老年女性患者相比,即使是患有早期疾病和较为有利的疾病亚型的年轻患者,其死亡和复发的风险也更高。 (3) (10) (13) (14) (15) (16)

总的来说,尽管权衡了长期治疗会出现相关毒性的可能性,这些观察结果仍然使得很多非常年轻的乳腺癌女性患者接受强度更高的治疗,如乳房切除术(而非保乳手术)联合辅助治疗。

返回到頂部

研究设计

我们对机构内部数据库中于 1990 年至 2010 年诊断为浸润性乳腺癌的 35 岁及以下女性患者的记录进行回顾,选择该时期保证有足够的随访时间观察患者的复发率、患对侧乳腺癌和继发性恶性肿瘤的情况,最终确定 529 例患者。 我们还同时确定了两个年龄较老的比较队列:6244 例年龄为 36-50 岁的患者和 7292 例年龄为 51-70 岁的患者,接近绝经的临界值。 (1)

未接受手术干预或诊断为 IV 期的患者未被纳入本研究。 我们从电子病历中收集了人口统计学、生殖系状态、手术病理、疾病分期、治疗详情和随访信息。 根据第 7 版美国癌症联合委员会癌症分期系统进行最终病理分期。 (1)

请注意,我们使用 2000 年作为分类变量,因为 Frandsen 等人的前期工作使用该变量来近似治疗得到改善的情况,包括 70 岁以下患者越来越多地使用以蒽环类药物为基础的化疗,50 岁以下患者越来越多地使用激素和化疗联合治疗,以及全乳照射后增加增强照射,这些因素均使得这一日期后无复发生存率的改善。 (17) 2000 年也标志着 HER-2 检测的广泛应用和曲妥珠单抗的获批。

与年龄更大的患者相比,35 岁及以下患者的生存结局

如本文图 1c 中的 Kaplan Meier 生存曲线所示,35 岁及以下患者的 10 年总生存率(OS) 为 73%,比两个老年队列中观察到的OS 更差。 (1)

在 35 岁及以下的患者队列中,接受保乳治疗和乳房切除术的患者的 OS 在统计学上相似。 唯一的例外是接受乳房切除术联合放射治疗的患者组的结局较差。

35 岁以下患者组的 10 年无病生存率 (DFS) 为 48%。 (1)

35 岁及以下患者的无局部和远端治疗失败情况

10 年时局部区域性复发的累积发生率为 20%,局部治疗失败在乳房切除术联合放射治疗组中的发生率高于接受部分乳房切除术联合放疗、部分乳房切除术和乳房切除术的另外三个手术组 (p = 0.04)。 (1)

35 岁及以下患者发生局部治疗失败的可能性显著高于 36 至 50 岁年龄组(风险比 2.2,95% 置信区间 1.8–2.6,p < 0.001)和 51 至 70 岁年龄组(风险比 3.1,95% 置信区间 2.45–3.9,p < 0.001)患者。 (1)

35 岁及以下患者的继发性恶性肿瘤和对侧乳腺癌发生率

5 年和 10 年的继发性恶性肿瘤发生率分别为 2.2% 和 4.4%。 单因素分析中,饮酒、家族史和生殖系突变的检测与继发性恶性肿瘤的发病风险相关。 然而,接受放疗与继发性恶性肿瘤风险升高无关(风险比 1.22,95% 置信区间 0.57-2.59,p = 0.612)。 (1)

35 岁及以下队列中患者发生继发性恶性肿瘤的可能性并不高于老年队列。 在最年轻组的 33 例继发性恶性肿瘤中,11 例很可能与接受放疗相关,另有 1 例可能相关。 (1)

在最年轻的患者队列中,对侧乳腺癌发生率在 5 年时为 4%,在 10 年时为 8.9%。 家族史和生殖系突变的检测是单变量分析的预测因素。 值得注意的是,使用任何辅助放疗均与对侧乳腺癌风险无关(风险比 1.26,95% 置信区间 0.7-2.27,p = 0.4)。 (1)

返回到頂部

推进乳腺癌治疗领域的发展

在 MSK 斯隆,目前我们正在开展 69 项针对乳腺癌患者临床试验,对新的治疗方案如新型化疗单用或与其他药物联用、放射治疗单用和与化疗联用以及免疫治疗进行测试。 在所有可能的情况下,我们的目标始终是在不影响患者结局的情况下尽可能减少治疗相关毒性和晚期效应。 我们还在一直致力于研究改善幸存者生活质量的方法。

我们有一项名为评估年轻患者患癌症原因的研究,该研究试图确定在没有父母疾病史的年轻乳腺癌及其他特定癌症患者中是否发生任何基因变化。 我们的目的是评估偶发性或遗传性基因突变是否会导致这些患者的癌症。 符合条件的乳腺癌患者包括在 40 岁或 40 岁之前确诊的患者,且其母亲或父亲没有癌症史,并且患者愿意提供唾液样本进行遗传分析。

该研究由 NIH 癌症中心支持基金 (P30 CA008748) 支持进行。 所有研究作者均声明无与手稿中数据相关的财务披露或冲突。

返回到頂部
  1. Billena C, Wilgucki M, Flynn J, et al. 10-Year Breast Cancer Outcomes in Women ≤35 Years of Age [印刷前在线发表,2020 年 10 月 24 日]. Int J Radiat Oncol Biol Phys. 2020;S0360-3016(20)34437-0.
  2. de Bock GH, van der Hage JA, Putter H, et al. Isolated loco-regional recurrence of breast cancer is more common in young patients and following breast conserving therapy: long-term results of European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer studies. Eur J Cancer. 2006;42(3):351–356.
  3. Voogd AC, Nielsen M, Peterse JL, et al. Differences in risk factors for local and distant recurrence after breast-conserving therapy or mastectomy for stage I and II breast cancer: pooled results of two large European randomized trials [发表后更正见 J Clin Oncol 2001 May 1;19(9):2583]. J Clin Oncol. 2001;19(6):1688–1697.
  4. Wapnir IL, Anderson SJ, Mamounas EP, et al. Prognosis after ipsilateral breast tumor recurrence and locoregional recurrences in five National Surgical Adjuvant Breast and Bowel Project node-positive adjuvant breast cancer trials. J Clin Oncol. 2006;24(13):2028–2037.
  5. Johnson RH, Anders CK, Litton JK, Ruddy KJ, Bleyer A. Breast cancer in adolescents and young adults. Pediatr Blood Cancer. 2018;65(12):e27397.
  6. Maggard MA, O’Connell JB, Lane KE, Liu JH, Etzioni DA, Ko CY. Do young breast cancer patients have worse outcomes? J Surg Res. 2003;113(1):109–113.
  7. Bharat A, Aft RL, Gao F, Margenthaler JA. Patient and tumor characteristics associated with increased mortality in young women (< or =40 years) with breast cancer. J Surg Oncol. 2009;100(3):248–251.
  8. Anders CK, Hsu DS, Broadwater G, et al. Young age at diagnosis correlates with worse prognosis and defines a subset of breast cancers with shared patterns of gene expression [published correction appears in J Clin Oncol. 2011 Sep 20;29(27):3721]. J Clin Oncol. 2008;26(20):3324–3330.
  9. Han W, Kang SY; Korean Breast Cancer Society. Relationship between age at diagnosis and outcome of premenopausal breast cancer: age less than 35 years is a reasonable cut-off for defining young age-onset breast cancer. Breast Cancer Res Treat. 2010;119(1):193–200.
  10. Partridge AH, Hughes ME, Warner ET, et al. Subtype-Dependent Relationship Between Young Age at Diagnosis and Breast Cancer Survival. J Clin Oncol. 2016;34(27):3308–3314.
  11. van der Hage JA, Mieog JS, van de Velde CJ, et al. Impact of established prognostic factors and molecular subtype in very young breast cancer patients: pooled analysis of four EORTC randomized controlled trials. Breast Cancer Res. 2011;13(3):R68.
  12. Fredholm H, Eaker S, Frisell J, et al. Breast cancer in young women: poor survival despite intensive treatment. PLoS One. 2009;4(11):e7695.
  13. Fredholm H, Magnusson K, Lindström LS, et al. Long-term outcome in young women with breast cancer: a population-based study. Breast Cancer Res Treat. 2016;160(1):131–143.
  14. Nixon AJ, Neuberg D, Hayes DF, et al. Relationship of patient age to pathologic features of the tumor and prognosis for patients with stage I or II breast cancer. J Clin Oncol. 1994;12(5):888–894.
  15. Kataoka A, Iwamoto T, Tokunaga E, et al. Young adult breast cancer patients have a poor prognosis independent of prognostic clinicopathological factors: a study from the Japanese Breast Cancer Registry. Breast Cancer Res Treat. 2016;160(1):163–172.
  16. Gnerlich JL, Deshpande AD, Jeffe DB, et al. Elevated breast cancer mortality in women younger than age 40 years compared with older women is attributed to poorer survival in early-stage disease. J Am Coll Surg. 2009;208(3):341–347.
  17. Frandsen J, Ly D, Cannon G, et al. In the Modern Treatment Era, Is Breast Conservation Equivalent to Mastectomy in Women Younger Than 40 Years of Age? A Multi-Institution Study. Int J Radiat Oncol Biol Phys. 2015;93(5):1096–1103.

Breast Conservation Therapy Doesn't Compromise Outcomes in Younger Breast Cancer Patients

English
Share
Print
Audree B. Tadros

Survival outcomes in breast cancer patients under the age of 35 was not compromised in those who had initial conservation therapy versus those who had mastectomy, according to our retrospective study published recently in the International Journal of Radiation Oncology(1)

Historically, women with invasive breast cancer under the age of 40 have had a disproportionately worse overall survival (OS) and higher rates of recurrences compared to older patients, (2), (3), (4) which has led to more aggressive treatment approaches, such as mastectomy instead of breast conservation and the addition of adjuvant therapies.

Previous studies have also found that young breast cancer patients have worse outcomes. However, they have used a variety of study intervals and definitions for “young” or “very young” patients and older comparison groups, and some included patients with stage 0 or stage IV disease. As a result, reports have varied regarding the use and outcomes of breast conservation therapy and mastectomy among young patients.

For our present study, we compared outcomes of young patients with invasive breast cancer treated at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (MSK) between 1990 and 2010 with older patient cohorts, with a median follow-up of ten years. Our goal was to identify factors that predict mortality, recurrence, and secondary malignancies in the youngest group of patients. (1)

We examined local control, distant control, and overall survival compared outcomes for 529 women under 35 years with 6,246 women aged 36 to 50 years and 7,294 women aged 51 to 70 years. Within the youngest cohort, we also examined disease control rates by surgical strategy — mastectomy or breast conservation — and the risk of secondary malignancy and contralateral breast cancer associated with the use of adjuvant radiation therapy. (1)

While survival and recurrence outcomes were worse for the youngest cancer patients than the two older cohorts, in concordance with previous reports, we found that OS was statistically similar for patients who had breast-conserving therapy or mastectomy. Our novel finding suggests that breast conservation therapy is appropriate for young breast cancer patients, and the concern for secondary malignancies should not influence the known indications for postoperative radiation therapy. (1)

Our novel finding suggests that breast conservation therapy is appropriate for young breast cancer patients, and the concern for secondary malignancies should not influence the known indications for postoperative radiation therapy.
Atif Jalees Khan

Breast Cancer in Women Under 35

Breast cancer is the most commonly diagnosed nonskin cancer in women under 40, accounting for 30 percent of diagnoses in this group. (5) While women under 40 only make up about six percent of all invasive breast cancer cases in the United States, they experience disproportionately higher rates of recurrences (2), (3), (4) and worse OS compared to older patients. (1), (4), (6)

Two observations underpin these trends. First, women under the age of 40 are not routinely screened with mammography and are more likely to present with more advanced stages of disease. (5), (7) Second, breast cancer in very young women may have distinct tumor biology, independent of known germline drivers, (8) with many tending to have worse histological features, including high histologic grade, presence of lymphovascular invasion, and an absence of hormone receptors. (9), (10), (11) Young age has been independently associated with worse outcomes after adjusting for clinicopathologic features, (12), (13), (14) and recent studies have found higher risks of mortality and recurrence even among those with early-stage disease and favorable subtypes of disease compared with older women. (3), (10), (13), (14), (15), (16)

Collectively, these observations have led to more aggressive treatment approaches for very young women with breast cancer, such as mastectomy instead of breast conservation therapy and the addition of adjuvant therapies, albeit weighed against the potential for long-term treatment-related toxicities.

Back to top

Study Design

We examined records from our institutional database for women ≤ 35 diagnosed with invasive breast cancer from 1990 to 2010, a period with sufficient follow-up time to observe recurrence rates, contralateral breast cancers, and secondary malignancies, and identified 529 patients. We also identified two older comparison cohorts: 6,244 patients aged 36 to 50 and 7,292 patients aged 51 to 70, approximating the cut-off for menopause. (1)

Patients who did not undergo surgical intervention or were stage IV at diagnosis were not included. We collected demographics, germline status, surgical pathology, disease stage, treatment details, and follow-up information from the electronic medical records. Final pathologic staging was performed according to the 7th edition of the American Joint Committee on Cancer classification system. (1)

Note that we used the year 2000 as a classification variable since previous work by Frandsen et al. used the variable to approximate improved treatments, including the increasing use of anthracycline-based chemotherapy in patients younger than 70, the combination of hormonal and chemotherapy in patients under 50, and radiation boosts after whole breast irradiation, which led to improvements in relapse-free survival after this date. (17) The year 2000 also marked the widespread adoption of HER-2 testing and the approval of trastuzumab.

Back to top

Study Findings

Survival Outcomes for Patients 35 and Under Compared with Older Patients

Ten-year OS was 73 percent among patients 35 years of age and under and was worse than the OS observed in both older cohorts as illustrated by Kaplan Meier curves in Figure 1c in the paper. (1)

Within the ≤ 35 cohort, OS was statistically similar for those who received breast conservation therapy and those who had mastectomies. The only exception was inferior outcomes for the group of patients treated with mastectomy plus radiation therapy.

The disease-free survival (DFS) rate at ten years was 48% for patients in the under 35 group. (1)

Freedom from Local and Distant Failure for Patients 35 and Under

The cumulative incidence of locoregional recurrences at ten years was 20 percent, with local failures occurring more frequently in the mastectomy plus radiation therapy group than in the other three surgical groups that received partial mastectomy plus radiation, partial mastectomy, and mastectomy (p = 0.04). (1)

Patients 35 years and under were significantly more likely to experience local failure than patients in the age a36 to 50 group (HR 2.2, 95% CI 1.8–2.6, p < 0.001) and the age 51 to 70 group (HR 3.1, 95% CI 2.45–3.9, p < 0.001). (1)

Rates of Second Malignancy and Contralateral Breast Cancer in Patients 35 and Under

The rate of secondary malignancies at five and ten years were 2.2% and 4.4%, respectively. Alcohol use, family history, and detection of germline mutations were correlated with the risk of secondary malignancies on univariate analysis. However, receipt of radiation was not associated with an elevated risk of secondary malignancies (HR 1.22, 95% CI 0.57–2.59, p = 0.612). (1)

Patients in the ≤ 35 cohort were not more likely than those in older cohorts to experience secondary malignancies. Of the 33 secondary malignancies in the youngest group, 11 were likely related to receipt of radiation, and another were possibly related. (1)

The contralateral breast cancer rate in the youngest patient cohort was 4 percent at five years and 8.9 percent at ten years. Family history and detection of germline mutations were predictive factors on univariate analysis. Notably, the use of any adjuvant radiation was not associated with the risk of contralateral breast cancer (HR 1.26, 95% CI 0.7–2.27, p = 0.4). (1)

Back to top

Advancing Breast Cancer Care

At MSK, we are currently conducting 69 clinical trials for patients with breast cancer, testing new treatment options such as novel chemotherapies alone or in combination with other agents, advances in radiation therapy alone and in combination with chemotherapies, and immunotherapies. Whenever possible, our goal is to reduce treatment-related toxicities and late effects without compromising outcomes. We also continue to study ways to improve the quality of life of survivors.

Our Evaluating the Causes of Cancer in Young Patients study seeks to identify gene changes in breast and select other cancers in young patients without a parental history of disease. Our goal is to evaluate whether sporadic or inherited gene mutations caused their cancers. Eligible patients with breast cancer include those diagnosed at or before the age of 40, with a living mother or father without cancer who is willing to provide a saliva sample for genetic analysis.

The study was supported by the NIH Cancer Center Support Grant (P30 CA008748). All study authors declare no financial disclosures or conflicts related to the data in the manuscript.

Back to top
  1. Billena C, Wilgucki M, Flynn J, et al. 10-Year Breast Cancer Outcomes in Women ≤35 Years of Age [published online ahead of print, 2020 Oct 24]. Int J Radiat Oncol Biol Phys. 2020;S0360-3016(20)34437-0.
  2. de Bock GH, van der Hage JA, Putter H, et al. Isolated loco-regional recurrence of breast cancer is more common in young patients and following breast conserving therapy: long-term results of European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer studies. Eur J Cancer. 2006;42(3):351–356.
  3. Voogd AC, Nielsen M, Peterse JL, et al. Differences in risk factors for local and distant recurrence after breast-conserving therapy or mastectomy for stage I and II breast cancer: pooled results of two large European randomized trials [published correction appears in J Clin Oncol 2001 May 1;19(9):2583]. J Clin Oncol. 2001;19(6):1688–1697.
  4. Wapnir IL, Anderson SJ, Mamounas EP, et al. Prognosis after ipsilateral breast tumor recurrence and locoregional recurrences in five National Surgical Adjuvant Breast and Bowel Project node-positive adjuvant breast cancer trials. J Clin Oncol. 2006;24(13):2028–2037.
  5. Johnson RH, Anders CK, Litton JK, Ruddy KJ, Bleyer A. Breast cancer in adolescents and young adults. Pediatr Blood Cancer. 2018;65(12):e27397.
  6. Maggard MA, O’Connell JB, Lane KE, Liu JH, Etzioni DA, Ko CY. Do young breast cancer patients have worse outcomes? J Surg Res. 2003;113(1):109–113.
  7. Bharat A, Aft RL, Gao F, Margenthaler JA. Patient and tumor characteristics associated with increased mortality in young women (< or =40 years) with breast cancer. J Surg Oncol. 2009;100(3):248–251.
  8. Anders CK, Hsu DS, Broadwater G, et al. Young age at diagnosis correlates with worse prognosis and defines a subset of breast cancers with shared patterns of gene expression [published correction appears in J Clin Oncol. 2011 Sep 20;29(27):3721]. J Clin Oncol. 2008;26(20):3324–3330.
  9. Han W, Kang SY; Korean Breast Cancer Society. Relationship between age at diagnosis and outcome of premenopausal breast cancer: age less than 35 years is a reasonable cut-off for defining young age-onset breast cancer. Breast Cancer Res Treat. 2010;119(1):193–200.
  10. Partridge AH, Hughes ME, Warner ET, et al. Subtype-Dependent Relationship Between Young Age at Diagnosis and Breast Cancer Survival. J Clin Oncol. 2016;34(27):3308–3314.
  11. van der Hage JA, Mieog JS, van de Velde CJ, et al. Impact of established prognostic factors and molecular subtype in very young breast cancer patients: pooled analysis of four EORTC randomized controlled trials. Breast Cancer Res. 2011;13(3):R68.
  12. Fredholm H, Eaker S, Frisell J, et al. Breast cancer in young women: poor survival despite intensive treatment. PLoS One. 2009;4(11):e7695.
  13. Fredholm H, Magnusson K, Lindström LS, et al. Long-term outcome in young women with breast cancer: a population-based study. Breast Cancer Res Treat. 2016;160(1):131–143.
  14. Nixon AJ, Neuberg D, Hayes DF, et al. Relationship of patient age to pathologic features of the tumor and prognosis for patients with stage I or II breast cancer. J Clin Oncol. 1994;12(5):888–894.
  15. Kataoka A, Iwamoto T, Tokunaga E, et al. Young adult breast cancer patients have a poor prognosis independent of prognostic clinicopathological factors: a study from the Japanese Breast Cancer Registry. Breast Cancer Res Treat. 2016;160(1):163–172.
  16. Gnerlich JL, Deshpande AD, Jeffe DB, et al. Elevated breast cancer mortality in women younger than age 40 years compared with older women is attributed to poorer survival in early-stage disease. J Am Coll Surg. 2009;208(3):341–347.
  17. Frandsen J, Ly D, Cannon G, et al. In the Modern Treatment Era, Is Breast Conservation Equivalent to Mastectomy in Women Younger Than 40 Years of Age? A Multi-Institution Study. Int J Radiat Oncol Biol Phys. 2015;93(5):1096–1103.