Critical Care Center

The Critical Care Center (CCC) was established in February 2017.

The CCC is designed as a multidisciplinary program that unites key stakeholders and experts involved in oversight of critical and progressive (intermediate or step-down) care at MSK. Our team includes physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, registered nurses, technicians, residents and fellows, and other support staff (respiratory therapists, pharmacists, nutritionists, occupational and physical therapists, case managers, patient representatives, chaplains, and social workers). The goals of the CCC include streamlining, standardizing, and improving the quality of critical care services as well as patient flow of acutely ill patients across MSK. Additionally, the CCC facilitates critical care education and training, informatics and data management, and oversees critical care quality assurance, and provides research opportunities.

Critical Care Center Units

Critical Care Advanced Care Specialized Services
Intensive Care Unit (ICU)  Surgical Advanced Care Unit (SACU) – surgical step-down and ventilator-dependent units Respiratory Therapy
Pediatric Intensive Care Unit (PICU) Medical Step-Down Unit (MSDU) – incorporating the Cardiac Intermediate Care Unit (CICU) (in development) Sepsis
  Neuro Advanced Care Unit (NACU) Rapid Response
  Post Anesthesia Care Unit (PACU) patients requiring advanced postoperative care   


Neil A. Halpern, MD, FCCM, FCCP, FACP -- Chief, Critical Care Medicine Service; Medical Director, Respiratory Therapy

Neil A. Halpern

Director, Critical Care Center; Chief, Critical Care Medicine Service; Medical Director, Respiratory Therapy

Rhonda L. D’Agostino

Rhonda L. D’Agostino

Advanced Practice Provider Associate Director, Critical Care Center Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine

SACU Directors

MSK intensivist David Shaz

David Shaz

Co-Director, Surgical Advanced Care Unit

Robert J. Downey, MD, FACS

Robert J. Downey

Co-Director, Surgical Advanced Care Unit


Edward K. Avila, DO

Edward K. Avila

Acting Co-Chair and Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs, Department of Neurology; Co-Director, Neuro Advanced Care Unit

Ilya Laufer, MD

Ilya Laufer

Neurosurgeon and Director of the Minimally Invasive Spine Tumor Surgery Program; Co-Director, Neuro Advanced Care Unit

Pictured: James Killinger

James S. Killinger

Medical Director, Pediatric Intensive Care Unit