关于您孩子的药物镇静作用

本信息说明了当您孩子在进行扫描检查或手术时接受镇静时将会发生的情况。也能有助于您照看接受药物镇静之后的孩子。

镇静作用是当您孩子接受给药时的效应,以便让孩子在扫描或手术期间进入睡眠。用于镇静的药物称为镇静剂。在纪念斯隆凯特琳癌症研究中心(MSK 斯隆),专业的医疗服务人员,如通过认证的注册护理麻醉师(CRNA)或麻醉专家,会给您孩子进行镇静剂给药。

如果您孩子需要在扫描期间完全安静平躺,则药物镇静可用于扫描成像。它还可用于当孩子清醒时会有压力或疼痛的手术。

返回到頂部

镇静剂类型

某些镇静剂可进入孩子的血流中。这些药物称为静脉内镇静剂。其它镇静剂以气体形式给药,孩子可通过盖在鼻子和嘴部的面罩吸入该气体。

您孩子的医疗服务人员会和您谈论有关孩子将接受的镇静剂类型。在 MSK 斯隆,我们使用的镇静剂有丙泊酚、七氟烷和右美托咪定(Precedex®)。

丙泊酚

丙泊酚是一种白色 IV 镇静剂。它起效非常快,通常在不到一分钟内起效。您孩子的手术或扫描检查完成后,孩子通常会在 10-20 分钟内苏醒。每个孩子苏醒的情况会有所不同。丙泊酚的作用可能需要更长时间才能消退,特别是在进行较长时间扫描或手术时。

 

七氟烷

七氟烷是一种可迅速起效的气体镇静剂。如果您孩子进行扫描或手术的时间较短,且不需要 IV 管,我们可使用七氟烷,让其入睡。如果您孩子需要植入 IV 管进行扫描或手术,我们可以先给孩子使用七氟烷。这样可使 IV 管置入变得更容易,更舒畅。然后,我们可使用该 IV 管在孩子进行扫描或手术期间或之后,向他们给药其它镇静剂、药物或液体。

七氟烷气体有异味,这属于正常现象。通过这种方式让孩子入睡,孩子会相对恐惧,因而有时我们需要您帮助孩子打消疑虑并在孩子入睡时抱着孩子。

右美托咪定(Precedex)

Precedex 是一种透明的 IV 镇静剂。有时与丙泊酚或七氟烷一起用,可帮助孩子在镇静之后苏醒时减少不安或困惑。如果您知道孩子过去在镇静后苏醒时会哭闹、迷惑或不安,请告诉您的麻醉专家。

Precedex 极有可能会使您的孩子在扫描或手术后睡更长时间。它还可降低孩子的心率。我们会密切监测孩子的心率,以确保孩子的安全。待孩子苏醒,Precedex 作用消退后,心率将会恢复正常。

返回到頂部

您应该有怎样的预期

与您孩子谈论有关扫描或手术期间将会发生的事情,会有一定帮助。例如,您可以告诉他们我们会给他们用药让他们小睡一会。告诉他们在入睡期间以及醒来时,您会与他们在一起,这对消除他们的担心也很有帮助。

孩子入睡前

在进行扫描或手术前,您将会与孩子的麻醉专家见面。麻醉专家会回答您的问题,并与您谈论预期情况。然后,CRNA 或麻醉专家会给您的孩子使用镇静剂。

某些孩子在镇静剂催眠期间会出现无意识的肌肉或眼球活动。这是正常的现象。您可以通过拥抱或和他们聊天等方式,帮助他们消除顾虑。待您孩子进入睡眠后,您可返回等候室。

在您孩子入睡期间,

CRNA 或麻醉专家会在扫描或手术过程中陪在您孩子身边。他们会密切监测孩子情况,并对任何副作用进行治疗,例如:

  • 呼吸短促。这是最常见的镇静副作用。CRNA 或麻醉专家可能会让孩子额外吸氧,以帮助缓解副作用。如有需要,他们也会使用氧气袋和氧气罩,帮助孩子呼吸。有些孩子可能需要呼吸管,但是这种情况比较罕见。
  • 低血压。有些孩子在扫描或手术前或期间会接受 IV 输液。IV 液体可帮助孩子保持正常血压,避免血压过度降低。

在您孩子苏醒期间

扫描或手术之后,我们会将孩子转移到恢复室。待孩子苏醒后,工作人员会带您到恢复室。恢复室的护士会监测孩子状况,直到镇静剂作用消退为止。

10-20 分钟后镇静剂作用会消退,但是有些孩子会睡得更久一些。这属于正常的睡眠。孩子一旦回到您温暖舒适的怀抱中,他们会醒来,然后再次入睡,这对孩子来说属于正常情况。

通常情况下,孩子会在镇静作用之后自然醒来。有些孩子睡醒时可能会暴躁、哭闹、困惑,表现出不安。这种情况通常只需要一点时间就会得到好转。我们很少需要给孩子使用药物进行治疗。有时会使用 Precedex,防止发生这种情况。

如果您孩子感到恶心(如想要呕吐),我们会给孩子用药,帮助他们感觉舒服一些。对大多数镇静剂来说,这种情况比较罕见。

 
返回到頂部

药物镇静之后如何照看孩子

  • 当镇静作用消退时,您可以用温柔的声音和孩子聊天,或握住他们的小手。
  • 您的孩子可马上喝饮料或吃东西,除非有理由认为不可以这样(例如如果他们还有另外一项安排的化验)。可以开始吃清淡食物,例如咸饼干、烤面包、米饭或苹果酱。如果清淡食物让他们的胃不舒服,可以给他们通常使用的食物和饮料。
  • 如果您孩子服用了含阿片的镇痛药物(如 Oxycodone®),可能会使他们变得比通常情况下更瞌睡一些(如果当天早些时候使用过镇静剂)。
  • 孩子苏醒后,可能会感到疲倦或颤抖,或两种情况都出现。我们可以向您提供一个轮椅,帮助他们坐到车上或其它回家的交通工具上。
  • 待您和孩子回到家后,孩子应当注意休息,或做一些安静、轻松的活动,例如看电视。孩子可能会出现头晕和精神不稳定的情况,因此需要密切观察,确信他们不受伤。请不要让他们做需要平衡或稳定性的活动(例如骑自行车或爬楼梯),直到他们恢复正常的行为能力。
返回到頂部

何时致电您孩子的医疗服务人员

如果出现下列情况,请致电您孩子的医疗服务人员:

  • 孩子开始呕吐。
  • 孩子变得非常暴躁,或者不停地哭闹。
  • 您很难把孩子叫醒。
  • 孩子发烧,体温超过 100.4 °F (38 °C) ,或出现发冷的情况。
  • 孩子出现皮疹或麻疹。
  • 孩子出现气喘。

孩子呼吸困难时,请立即拨打 911 急救电话。

如果您有任何疑问,请您直接联系您的医疗团队成员。如果您是 MSK 斯隆的患者,并需要在 5:00 pm之后、周末或节假日联系医务人员,请您致电 212-639-2000,询问儿科医生电话。
返回到頂部

上次更新時間

About Your Child’s Sedation

This information explains what will happen when your child is sedated for a scan or procedure. It will also help you take care of your child after sedation.

Sedation is when your child is given medication so they sleep during a scan or procedure. A medication used for sedation is called a sedative. At Memorial Sloan Kettering (MSK), a specialized healthcare provider such as a certified registered nurse anesthetist (CRNA) or anesthesiologist will give your child the sedative.

Sedation may be used for imaging scans if your child needs to lie completely still during the scan. It may also be used for procedures that can be stressful or painful if your child is awake.

Back to top

Types of Sedatives

Some sedatives are put into your child’s bloodstream. These are called intravenous (IV) sedatives. Other sedatives are given as a gas that your child breathes in through a mask over their nose and mouth.

Your child’s healthcare provider will talk with you about the type(s) of sedative your child will get. At MSK, we use the sedatives propofol, sevoflurane, and dexmedetomidine (Precedex®).

Propofol

Propofol is a white-colored IV sedative. It starts working very quickly, usually in less than a minute. Once your child’s procedure or scan is over, they usually start waking up within 10 to 20 minutes. Every child wakes up differently. Propofol may take longer to wear off, especially with longer scans or procedures.

 

Sevoflurane

Sevoflurane is a sedative gas that works quickly. If your child’s scan or procedure will be short and they won’t need an IV line, we can use sevoflurane to keep them asleep. If your child will need to have an IV line placed for their scan or procedure, we may give them sevoflurane first. This makes placing the IV line easier and more comfortable. Then, we may use the IV line to give them other sedatives, medications, or fluids during or after their scan or procedure.

It’s normal for the sevoflurane gas to smell bad. It can be scary for children to fall asleep this way, and we sometimes need your help to reassure and hold your child as they fall asleep.

Dexmedetomidine (Precedex)

Precedex is a clear IV sedative. It’s sometimes used along with propofol or sevoflurane to help children be less upset or confused when they wake up after sedation. If you think your child has woken up crying, confused, or upset after sedation in the past, tell your anesthesiologist.

Precedex will probably make your child sleep longer after their scan or procedure. It can also lower their heart rate. We’ll watch your child’s heart rate closely to make sure they’re safe. Their heart rate will go back to normal once they’re awake and the Precedex wears off.

Back to top

What to Expect

It can be helpful to talk with your child about what will happen during their scan or procedure. For example, you can tell them that we’ll give them medication to make them nap. It’s also helpful to reassure them that you’ll be with them while they fall asleep and when they wake up.

Before your child falls asleep

You’ll meet with the anesthesiologist before your child’s scan or procedure. The anesthesiologist will answer your questions and talk with you about what to expect. Then, the CRNA or anesthesiologist will give your child the sedative.

Some children have involuntary muscle or eye movements while falling asleep from the sedative. This is normal. You can help reassure your child by holding or talking to them. Once your child is asleep, you’ll go back to the waiting room.

While your child is asleep

The CRNA or anesthesiologist will stay with your child during their scan or procedure. They’ll monitor your child carefully and treat any side effects, such as:

  • Slower, shallower breathing. This is the most common side effect of sedation. The CRNA or anesthesiologist may give your child extra oxygen to help with this. If needed, they will also use an oxygen bag and mask to help your child breathe. Some children may need a breathing tube, but this is rare.
  • Low blood pressure. Some children get IV fluids before or during the scan or procedure. The IV fluids help keep their blood pressure from getting too low.

While your child wakes up

Your child will be moved to a recovery room after their scan or procedure. A staff member will bring you to the recovery room once your child is awake. A nurse in the recovery room will monitor your child until the sedative has worn off.

The sedative wears off after about 10 to 20 minutes, but some children sleep a little longer. This is a normal sleep. It’s normal for children to wake up and then fall asleep again once they’re in the comfort of your arms.

Usually, children wake up comfortably after sedation. Some children wake up angry, crying, confused, and not themselves. This usually only needs a little time to get better. We very rarely need to give your child medication to treat this. Precedex can sometimes be used to keep this from happening.

If your child feels nauseous (like they’re going to throw up), we’ll give them medication to help them feel better. This is rare for most sedatives.

 
Back to top

How to Care for Your Child After Sedation

  • You can talk to your child in a soothing voice or hold their hand while the sedation is wearing off.
  • Your child can drink or eat right away, unless there’s a reason not to (such as if they have another test scheduled). Start with bland foods such as crackers, toast, rice, or applesauce. If bland foods don’t upset their stomach, they can have their usual foods and drinks.
  • If your child takes pain medication containing an opioid (such as Oxycodone®), it might make them sleepier than usual if they had sedation earlier that day.
  • After they wake up, your child may feel tired, shaky, or both. We can give you a wheelchair to help get them to your car or other ride home.
  • Once you and your child are home, they should rest or do a quiet, easy activity, such as watching TV. They might be dizzy and unsteady, so watch them closely to make sure they don’t get hurt. Don’t let them do activities that require balance or steadiness (such as riding a bike or using the stairs) until they’re back to their normal behavior.
Back to top

When to Call Your Child’s Healthcare Provider

Call your child’s healthcare provider if:

  • Your child starts vomiting (throwing up).
  • Your child becomes very irritable or can’t stop crying.
  • You’re having trouble waking up your child.
  • Your child has a fever above 100.4 °F (38 °C) or chills.
  • Your child has a rash or hives.
  • Your child is wheezing.

If your child has trouble breathing, call 911 right away.

If you have any questions, contact a member of your healthcare team directly. If you’re a patient at MSK and you need to reach a provider after 5:00 pm, during the weekend, or on a holiday, call 212-639-2000 and ask for the pediatric fellow on call.
Back to top

Tell us what you think

Tell us what you think

Your feedback will help us improve the information we provide to patients and caregivers. We read every comment, but we’re not able to respond. If you have questions about your care, contact your healthcare provider.
 

Questions Yes Somewhat No

Last Updated