自体外周血干细胞采集

本信息对在 Memorial Sloan Kettering (MSK) 进行外周血干细胞采集进行了介绍,包括采集手术前、期间和之后可能发生的情况。

返回到頂部

关于自体外周血干细胞采集

外周血干细胞采集是从血液中采集部分干细胞的一种手术。 干细胞是人体内能够制造所有血细胞的一种未成熟细胞。 这包括:

  • 帮助您的身体抵抗感染和其他疾病的白细胞。
  • 将氧气从肺部输送到身体其他部位的红细胞。
  • 阻止出血并帮助伤口愈合的血小板。

自体是指在外周血干细胞移植中将采集您自身的干细胞,并进行储存,然后回输(移植)到您的体内。 您的干细胞将生长并成熟转化为新的血细胞,替代治疗期间被杀死的细胞。 外周血是指在血管中循环(流动)的血液。

 
返回到頂部

手术前

干细胞动员和粒细胞集落刺激因子 (GCSF) 注射

正常情况下,您的血液中只有少量的循环干细胞。 为了增加血液中干细胞的数量,您将注射一种被称为粒细胞集落刺激因子 (GCSF) 的药物。

GCSF 能帮助您的身体产生比平时更多的干细胞。 还有助于使干细胞移动到您的血液中,使得在血液中采集干细胞会更容易。 这一过程被称为动员。 GCSF 药物示例包括非格司亭 (Neupogen®)、培非格司亭 (Neulasta®) 和普乐沙福 (Mozobil®)。 您的护士将与您讨论您需要接受哪种药物注射。

您需要每天注射一次,持续约 1 到 2 周。 您的护士将告诉您何时开始和停止注射。 您可以与您的护士讨论制定注射计划,例如前来诊所接受注射。 或者,如果您希望自行注射,您的护士将向您展示如何注射。 他们还将为您提供Giving Yourself an Injection of Filgrastim (Neupogen®) or Pegfilgrastim (Neulasta®) With a Prefilled Syringe资源,来帮助您记住应该如何进行操作。

GCSF 的一些常见副作用包括:

  • 胸骨、手臂、腿部和下背部骨痛
  • 头痛
  • 流感样症状,例如
    • 发冷
    • 肌肉或身体疼痛
    • 咳嗽
    • 咽喉疼痛
    • 流鼻涕
    • 呕吐
    • 腹泻(稀便或水样便)
    • 疲乏(感觉疲倦或虚弱)
  • 恶心(想要呕吐的感觉)
  • 发烧,体温达 99 到 100 °F(37.2 到 37.8 °C)

您可以在开始注射前一天服用氯雷他定 (Claritin®)。 这将有助于预防或减轻一些副作用。 您也可以根据需要使用常规或超强效对乙酰氨基酚 (Tylenol®)。 请勿服用非甾体抗炎药 (NSAID),如布洛芬(Advil® 和 Motrin®)和萘普生 (Aleve®)。 这些药物可能会导致出血。

如果氯雷他定和对乙酰氨基酚不起作用,请告知您的医疗保健提供者。 他们会为您开具更强效的药物。

隧道式导管放置

在采集干细胞之前,护士会检查您手臂上的静脉,查看它们是否足够健康,可以承受手术。 如果它们不够健康(例如,如果它们太小),我们将会把一根隧道式导管(一根柔性细导管)置入您锁骨附近的大静脉中。 隧道式导管是中心静脉导管 (CVC) 的一种。

放置好隧道式导管后,您的护士将教您如何对其进行护理。 他们还将为您提供About Your Tunneled Catheter资源,来帮助您记住应该如何进行操作。

护士会告知您何时可以移除隧道式导管。 根据您的照护计划,导管可能会在原位保留数周或数月。 在此期间,您的护士将使用与导管连接的 2 个接口处采集血样,在采集血样过程中抽血,并在干细胞移植过程中给予静脉 (IV) 液体和药物。

饮食注意事项

采集干细胞后,您的血钙水平(血液中的钙含量)可能会下降。 因此,在干细胞采集前一天和当天,我们建议您食用乳制品和其他含钙丰富的食物。 例如希腊酸奶、杏仁、深色多叶蔬菜和豆腐。 这将有助于升高您的血钙水平。

在干细胞采集前饮用足够的液体也很重要。 这将使护士更容易为您的手术放置静脉 (IV) 管路。

您可以通过检查尿液的颜色来判断饮用的液体是否足够。 如果尿液是浅黄色(稻草色),则代表您摄入了足够的液体。 如果颜色较深,则需要增加摄入量。

返回到頂部

手术当天

前往何处

您的采集手术将在以下地点之一进行:

  • 献血室
    Arnold 和 Marie Schwartz 癌症研究大楼
    第一大道 1250 号(位于 67 大街和 68 大街之间)
    纽约,邮编 NY 10065
    212-639-7643
  • 单采中心
    Memorial Sloan Kettering 的 David H. Koch 癌症照护中心 12 楼的
    东 74 大街 530 号(位于 York 大道和 East River 之间)
    纽约,邮编 NY 10021
    646-608-3142

采集部分会在 2 至 4 次预约中完成。 每次采集过程通常持续 4 至 5 小时。 如果要求您服用非格司亭,您需要在每次采集预约当天前遵医嘱服用。

具体采集次数将取决于每次采集的干细胞数量。 您的医疗保健提供者将在您前来采集当天告知您是否需要返回继续进行下一次采集。

可能发生的情况

您需要躺在床上或坐在躺椅上接受干细胞采集。 护士会把将您与采集设备进行连接。 他们将通过静脉 (IV) 管路(柔性细导管,放置在您每个手臂的静脉内)或通过您的隧道式导管进行连接。

采集设备将从您的静脉管路或隧道式导管接口处抽取血液。 血液将在这台设备中循环流动,同时该设备会分离并收集您的干细胞。 采集设备将通过您的其他 IV 管路或隧道式导管接口将剩余的血液回输给您。

您可以在采集过程中看电视、阅读或使用智能手机或平板电脑。 如果感到冷,可以要求医护人员为您提供毯子来保暖。

在干细胞采集过程中,您可能会出现肌肉痉挛、抽搐,或在嘴唇和指尖周围有刺痛感(轻微刺痛或戳刺感)。 这些是您血钙水平低的一些体征。 如果有以上情况发生,请告知护士。 他们将为您提供 Tums®,这是一种快速简便的补钙方式。 他们还可能会通过静脉管路或隧道式导管给予您含钙的药物。

返回到頂部

手术后

完成采集程序后,如果您的手臂上有 IV 管路,护士会将其取出并用绷带覆盖该部位,以防止出血。 请在至少 3 小时后将绷带取下,但不要超过 5 小时。 如果取下绷带时有出血,请轻稳按压该部位 3-5 分钟。 如果出血未停止,请联系您的医疗保健提供者。

如果使用了隧道式导管,护士会对其进行冲洗并重新盖上盖子。

在每次采集后,您的 IV 部位可能会出现瘀伤。 您也可能会感到疲倦。 询问您的医疗保健提供者您何时可以恢复日常活动。 大多数人可以马上开始。

收集到的干细胞将被送至我们的干细胞实验室,在那里它们将被冷冻并安全储存,直到您的移植日。 您的医疗照护团队将告诉您干细胞冷冻和储存的时间。 根据您的照护计划,这可能需要数周或数月的时间。

返回到頂部

何时电话联系您的医疗保健提供者

如果出现以下任何一种情况,请您联系您的医疗保健提供者:

  • 发热 ≥100.4 ℉ (38 ℃)
  • 流感样症状
  • 隧道式导管部位周围或 IV 部位的任何发红、出血、溢液、肿胀或疼痛
  • 嘴唇、手或脚麻木或刺痛
  • 身体左侧明显疼痛
  • 严重头痛和任何神经变化,例如:
    • 视力变化
    • 短期或长期记忆变化
    • 移动能力变化
    • 说话困难
    • 任何其他相关症状
返回到頂部

上次更新時間

Autologous Peripheral Blood Stem Cell Harvesting

This information explains what to expect before, during, and after your procedure for harvesting peripheral (peh-RIH-feh-rul) blood stem cells at Memorial Sloan Kettering (MSK).

Back to top

About Autologous Peripheral Blood Stem Cell Harvesting

Peripheral blood stem cell harvesting is a procedure to harvest (collect) some of the stem cells in your blood. Stem cells are immature cells that make all the blood cells in your body. This includes:

  • White blood cells that help your body fight infections and other diseases.
  • Red blood cells that carry oxygen from your lungs to the rest of your body.
  • Platelets that stop you from bleeding and help your wounds heal.

Autologous (aw-TAH-luh-gus) means your own stem cells will be harvested, stored, and put back (transplanted) into your body in a peripheral blood stem cell transplant. Your stem cells will grow and mature into new blood cells that will replace your cells that were killed during treatment. Peripheral blood is the blood that circulates (flows) in your blood vessels.

 
Back to top

Before Your Procedure

Stem cell mobilization and granulocyte colony-stimulating factor (GCSF) injections

Only a small number of your stem cells naturally circulate in your bloodstream. To raise the number of stem cells in your bloodstream, you’ll get injections (shots) of a medication called granulocyte (GRAN-yoo-loh-SITE) colony-stimulating factor, or GCSF.

GCSF helps your body make more stem cells than usual. It also helps the stem cells move into your bloodstream, where they’re easier to harvest. This process is called mobilization. Examples of GCSF medications include filgrastim (Neupogen®), pegfilgrastim (Neulasta®), and plerixafor (Mozobil®). Your nurse will talk with you about which injections you’ll need.

You’ll need an injection every day for about 1 to 2 weeks. Your nurse will tell you when you’ll start and stop the injections. You can talk with your nurse about making plans to get the injections, such as coming into the clinic. Or, if you want to do the injections yourself, your nurse will show you how to do it. They’ll also give you the resource Giving Yourself an Injection of Filgrastim (Neupogen®) or Pegfilgrastim (Neulasta®) With a Prefilled Syringe to help you remember what to do.

Common side effects of GCSF include:

  • Bone pain in your sternum (breastbone), arms, legs, and lower back
  • Headaches
  • Flu-like symptoms, such as:
    • Chills
    • Muscle or body aches
    • Cough
    • Sore throat
    • Runny nose
    • Vomiting (throwing up)
    • Diarrhea (loose or watery poop)
    • Fatigue (feeling very tired and weak)
  • Nausea (feeling like you’re going to throw up)
  • A fever of 99 to 100 °F (37.2 to 37.8 °C)

You can take loratadine (Claritin®) the day before you start your injections. This will help prevent or lessen some of the side effects. You can also take regular or extra strength acetaminophen (Tylenol®) as needed. Don’t take nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs) such as ibuprofen (Advil® and Motrin®) and naproxen (Aleve®). These medications can cause bleeding.

If loratadine and acetaminophen don’t help, tell your healthcare provider. They’ll prescribe something stronger.

Tunneled catheter placement

Before your stem cells are harvested, a nurse will check the veins in your arms to see if they’re healthy enough for the procedure. If they’re not healthy enough (for example, if they’re too small), you’ll have a tunneled catheter (a thin, flexible tube) put into a large vein near your collarbone. A tunneled catheter is a type of central venous catheter (CVC).

After your tunneled catheter is placed, your nurse will teach you how to care for it. They’ll also give you the resource About Your Tunneled Catheter to help you remember what to do.

Your nurse will tell you when your tunneled catheter can be removed. It may stay in place for weeks or months, depending on your care plan. During this time, your nurse will use the 2 access ports attached to your catheter to take samples of your blood, to draw blood during your harvesting procedure, and to give you intravenous (IV) fluids and medications during your stem cell transplant.

What to eat and drink

As your stem cells are harvested, your blood calcium level (the amount of calcium in your blood) may drop. So, the day before and the day of your harvesting procedure, we suggest you eat dairy products and other foods that have a lot of calcium in them. Examples include Greek yogurt, almonds, dark leafy vegetables, and tofu. This will help raise your blood calcium level.

It’s also important to drink enough liquids leading up to your harvesting procedure. This will make it easier for the nurse to place the intravenous (IV) lines for your procedure.

You can tell if you’re drinking enough liquids by checking the color of your urine (pee). If it’s straw-colored or lighter, you’re drinking enough. If it’s darker, you need to drink more.

Back to top

The Day of Your Procedure

Where to go

Your harvesting procedure will be at one of the following locations:

  • Blood Donor Room
    Arnold and Marie Schwartz Cancer Research Building
    1250 First Avenue (between 67th and 68th Streets)
    New York, NY 10065
    212-639-7643
  • Apheresis Unit on the 12th floor
    David H. Koch Center for Cancer Care at Memorial Sloan Kettering
    530 East 74th Street (between York Avenue and the East River)
    New York, NY 10021
    646-608-3142

You’ll have 2 to 4 appointments for harvesting sessions. Each session usually takes 4 to 5 hours. If you’re asked to take filgrastim, you’ll need to take your dose on these days before each appointment.

The exact number of sessions you have depends on the number of stem cells harvested in each session. Your healthcare provider will tell you each day if you need to come back for another harvesting session.

What to expect

You’ll lie on a bed or sit in a recliner chair during each harvesting session. A nurse will connect you to a machine. They’ll connect you either by an intravenous (IV) line (thin, flexible tube) that’s put into a vein in each of your arms or by your tunneled catheter.

The machine will draw blood from one of your IV lines or tunneled catheter access ports. The blood will pass through the machine and the machine will separate out and collect your stem cells. The machine will return the rest of your blood to you through your other IV line or tunneled catheter access port.

You can watch TV, read, or use your smartphone or tablet during your procedure. If you feel cold, you can ask for blankets to keep you warm.

As your stem cells are harvested, you may have muscle cramps, twitching, or feel tingling (a slight stinging or poking feeling) around your lips and fingertips. These are signs your blood calcium level is low. If you have any of these things, tell a nurse. They’ll give you Tums®, which are a quick and easy source of calcium. They may also give you a medication that has calcium through your IV line or tunneled catheter.

Back to top

After Your Procedure

Once you finish the procedure, if you had IV lines in your arms, your nurse will take them out and cover the sites with bandages to prevent bleeding. Leave the bandages in place for at least 3 hours, but not more than 5 hours. If there’s bleeding when you take the bandages off, apply gentle but firm pressure on the sites for 3 to 5 minutes. Call your healthcare provider if the bleeding doesn’t stop.

If your tunneled catheter was used, your nurse will flush and recap it.

After a harvesting session, you may have bruising at the IV sites. You may also feel tired. Ask your healthcare provider when you can go back to doing your regular activities. Most people can right away.

Once your stem cells are harvested, they’ll be brought to our stem cell laboratory, where they’ll be frozen and stored safely until your transplant day. Your care team will tell you how long your stem cells will be frozen and stored. It may be weeks or months, depending on your care plan.

Back to top

When to Call Your Healthcare Provider

Call your healthcare provider if you have any of the following:

  • A fever of 100.4 °F (38 °C) or higher
  • Flu-like symptoms
  • Any redness, bleeding, drainage, swelling, or pain around your tunneled catheter site or at the IV sites
  • Numbness or tingling in your lips, hands, or feet
  • A lot of pain on the left side of your body
  • A bad headache and any neurological (nerve) changes, such as:
    • Changes in vision
    • Changes in short-term or long-term memory
    • Changes in mobility (your ability to move)
    • A hard time speaking
    • Any other concerning symptoms
Back to top

Tell us what you think

Tell us what you think

Your feedback will help us improve the information we provide to patients and caregivers. We read every comment, but we're not able to respond. If you have questions about your care, contact your healthcare provider.
 

Questions Yes Somewhat No

Last Updated