حفظ الحيوانات المنوية

مشاركة
وقت القراءة: حول 5 دقائق

تجيب هذه المعلومات على بعض الأسئلة المتكررة بشأن حفظ الحيوانات المنوية وتعرض قائمة لبنوك الحيوانات المنوية المحلية.

ما المقصود بحفظ الحيوانات المنوية؟

هو جمع الحيوانات المنوية وتجميدها وتخزينها لإمكانية استخدامها في المستقبل.

لماذا ينبغي عليّ فعل ذلك؟

تسبب الكثير من علاجات السرطان التلف للخلايا التي تنمو لتكوين الحيوانات المنوية. وإذا لم يكن بإمكانك إنتاج الحيوانات المنوية، فستصبح عقيمًا. وهذا يعني أنك لن تتمكن من إنجاب أطفال. أحيانًا تتعافي هذه الخلايا وأحيانًا لا تتعافى. لا يمكننا الجزم بمدى تأثير العلاج الذي تتلقاه على خصوبتك في المستقبل.

ربما لا تكون تفكر الآن في إنجاب الأطفال. ولكن يومًا ما قد يكون هذا الأمر مهمًا بالنسبة لك. يعزز حفظ الحيوانات المنوية قبل العلاج فرص إنجاب الأطفال في المستقبل باستخدام حيواناتك المنوية. يشعر العديد من الشباب الذين لم يحفظوا حيواناتهم المنوية قبل العلاج بالندم على هذا القرار إذا ما أُصيبوا بالعقم وكانت لديهم الرغبة في إنجاب الأطفال. ويذكر العديدون منهم أنهم تمنوا لو أن عائلاتهم وأطبائهم قد دفعوهم لذلك قبل فوات الأوان. ولهذا السبب ننصح جميع المراهقين والشباب بحفظ حيواناتهم المنوية قبل العلاج الذي ربما يؤثر على خصوبتهم.

متى ينبغي عليّ فعل ذلك؟

ينبغي عليك حفظ حيواناتك المنوية قبل بدء العلاج. إذا لم يكن علاجك سيبدأ على الفور، نقترح عليك جمع 3 عينات. بالنسبة للعينة الأولى، يُفضَّل ألا يحدث قذف أثناء ممارسة الجنس أو خلافه لمدة تتراوح بين يومين إلى 5 أيام قبل جمع العينة، وأن يمر يومان إلى 3 أيام بين مرات جمع العينات. فهذا يساعد في الحصول على أكبر عدد ممكن من الحيوانات المنوية.       

إذا كان علاجك يوشك أن يبدأ قبل هذه المدة، فيمكنك البدء في جمع العينات على الفور وجعل يوم واحد فقط يفصل بين المرة والأخرى. ويكون من الجيد جمع عينة واحدة أو اثنتين فقط لأن هناك تقنيات جديدة متاحة لتخصيب البويضات بعدد قليل للغاية من الحيوانات المنوية.

إذا كنت ستخضع لأي فحوصات باستخدام النظائر المُشعة (مثل تصوير العظم أو التصوير المقطعي المحوسب أو تصوير البُطين بالنظائر المشعة)، فلن تضطر للانتظار حتى يتخلص الجسم من النظائر المشعة لأجل حفظ الحيوانات المنوية. ويمكنك حفظ الحيوانات المنوية في أي وقت بعد الفحص. كما يمكنك حفظها إذا كنت ستخضع لفحص التصوير المقطعي المحوسب (CT) أو التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي (MRI).

أين يمكنني فعل ذلك؟

يتم حفظ الحيوانات المنوية عادةً في مختبر أو مركز مُرخص لعلاج العقم. ستجد عددًا من بنوك حفظ الحيوانات المنوية المحلية مدرجة في نهاية هذا المورد. بعد اختيار بنك الحيوانات المنوية، اتصل بهم أولاً لتحديد موعدك الأول. وأخبرهم أنك بصدد البدء في تلقي علاج السرطان في مركز ميموريال سلوك كيترينج (MSK).

إذا لم يكن بإمكانك جمع عينة في بنك الحيوانات المنوية، فهناك بعض البنوك التي تتيح لك جمع العينة في المنزل. وسيوفر لك بنك الحيوانات المنوية أو طبيبك كوبًا معقمًا لهذا الغرض.

إذا كنت في المستشفى، فيجب عليك جمع العينة في غرفتك بالمستشفى. ويمكنك الترتيب للاستعانة بأحد بنوك الحيوانات المنوية في نيويورك لجلب العينة نظير رسوم بسيطة واصطحابها إلى المختبر لمعالجتها.

إذا كان لديك قريب أو صديق سيصطحب العينة من المنزل أو المستشفى إلى بنك الحيوانات المنوية، فيجب تسليمها في غضون 60 دقيقة من جمعها. ويجب وضعها في جيب ملتصق بالجسم للمحافظة على درجة الحرارة المثالية لها.

كيف أفعل ذلك؟

عند وصولك إلى بنك الحيوانات المنوية، سيتم اصطحابك إلى غرفة صغيرة خاصة لجمع العينة. بعد غسل يديك وتجفيفهما، ستُحفز القذف لديك بالاستمناء. يُعرف السائل الذي يخرج من القضيب بالسائل المنوي، وهو يحتوي على الحيوانات المنوية. ستجمع العينة في كوب معقم. لا تستخدم اللعاب أو البصق أو مواد التزليق أثناء الاستمناء، لأنها قد تقضي على الحيوانات المنوية. ويمكنك أن تطلب زيتًا معدنيًا إذا كان سيساعدك على القذف ولكن يجب وضعه فقط عند قاعدة القضيب حتى لا يختلط بالسائل المنوي.

لا يستطيع بعض الذكور القذف عن طريق الاستمناء لشعورهم بالإعياء أو الألم الشديد، أو الإحراج أو عدم الارتياح، أو لا يكون مسموحًا لهم بذلك بسبب المعتقدات الدينية أو الثقافية. إذا لم يكن بوسعك جمع العينة بالاستمناء، فيُرجى إخبار طبيبك أو ممرضتك. هناك طرق أخرى لجمع الحيوانات المنوية، وسنناقش معك هذه الخيارات.

ماذا يفعل بنك الحيوانات المنوية بالعينة؟

يحلل بنك الحيوانات المنوية السائل المنوي، ويحصي عدد الحيوانات المنوية. وتُوزَّع العينات على قنينات صغيرة وتُجمَّد الحيوانات المنوية لحفظها. تموت بعض الحيوانات المنوية أثناء عملية التجميد وفك التجميد. غير أن الحيوانات المنوية التي تظل على قيد الحياة لا تتلف أثناء التجميد.

ويمكن حفظ الحيوانات المنوية طالما تريد، حتى لعدة سنوات. وستدفع رسوم حفظ سنوية طالما ظل بنك الحيوانات المنوية يحتفظ بعيناتك. إذا كنت تفكر في التخلص من حيواناتك المنوية المحفوظة، فتحدث مع طبيبك أولاً للتأكد أنك لا تحتاج لأي علاج إضافي. ويُفضل أن تحتفظ بعيناتك حتى تنتهي من تكوين أسرتك.

ما هي تكلفة ذلك؟

لا تغطي العديد من برامج التأمين حفظ الحيوانات المنوية. وتختلف التكلفة حسب اختلاف بنك الحيوانات المنوية وقد تتباين حسب الموقع. تتراوح التكلفة في نيويورك بين 700 دولار إلى 1000 دولار تقريبًا للعينات الثلاث، شاملةً السنة الأولى لحفظ العينات. بعد مرور السنة الأولى، يتم دفع رسوم سنوية للاحتفاظ بالحيوانات المنوية المُجمدة.

تعرض العديد من بنوك الحيوانات المنوية أسعارًا مُخفضة للمصابين بالسرطان. ويطلب عدد منها تقديم طلب للحصول على هذا التخفيض عن طريق برنامج الخصوبة LIVESTRONG. ويعتمد تأهلك للبرنامج على دخلك. لمعرفة المزيد، تفضل بزيارة الموقع www.livestrong.org/we-can-help/livestrong-fertility، ولإنشاء حساب لتقديم الطلب، سجِّل الدخول إلى https://livestrongfertilityportal.unicentric.com.

إذا كنت لا تستطيع تدبير تكلفة الحفظ بعد السنة الأولى، فيمكنك الترتيب لنقل العينات إلى بنك حيوانات منوية آخر. يقدم بنك Repro Tech أسعار مخفضة لحفظ الحيوانات المنوية لمدة طويلة للمصابين بالسرطان. انتقل لزيارة موقعه الإلكتروني  www.reprotech.com/financial-assistance.html.

ماذا أيضًا ينبغي عليّ معرفته؟

اطلب من بنك الحيوانات المنوية الاتصال بك أو بطبيبك إذا ظهر لهم عدم وجود حيوانات منوية في السائل المنوي الخاص بك يمكن استخدامها لإنجاب الأطفال في المستقبل. ويجب عليك أيضًا أن تطلب منهم إرسال نسخة من تحليل السائل المنوي إلى طبيبك.

ستحصل على استمارات خاصة ببنك الحيوانات المنوية لملئها. وهي تشمل استمارة تسألك عما ترغب في فعله بالعينات إذا وافتك المنية قبل استخدامها. على سبيل المثال، يمكنك أن تطلب التخلص منها أو تركها لزوجتك. ويمكنك تغيير هذه المعلومات في المستقبل إذا عدلت عن رأيك.

ربما يطلب بنك الحيوانات المنوية منك الخضوع لاختبار الأمراض المُعدية عند حفظ حيواناتك المنوية. وربما تُجرى لك فحوصات الدم والبول هناك، أو قد يحيلونك إلى مختبر محلي. وقد يستلزم ذلك دفع تكلفة إضافية.

أين يمكنني معرفة المزيد؟

للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات، اطلب من طبيبك أو ممرضتك إحالتك إلى أحد الممرضين المتخصصين في علاج العقم.

العثور على بنك حيوانات منوية

تعرض أغلب بنوك الحيوانات المنوية أسعارًا مخفضة للمصابين بالسرطان. تتطلب المواقع التي توجد علامة النجمة (*) بجوارها منك تقديم طلب عبر برنامج LIVESTRONG Fertility للحصول على سعر مُخفض. لمعرفة المزيد، تفضل بزيارة الموقع www.livestrong.org/we-can-help/livestrong-fertility، ولإنشاء حساب لتقديم الطلب، سجِّل الدخول إلى https://livestrongfertilityportal.unicentric.com.

مانهاتن

*MAZE Laboratories
633 Third Avenue, Suite 9B (بين شارعي 40th و41st)
New York, NY 10065
914-683-0000

Repro Labs
332 East 30th Street (بين جادتي First وSecond)
New York, NY 10016
212-779-3988

لونغ آيلاند

Reproductive Specialists of New York
200 Old Country Road, Suite 350
Mineola, NY 11501
516-739-2100, extension 110

أو

2500 Nesconset Highway, Building 23
Stony Brook, NY 11790
631-246-9100

ويستتشستر وجامعة أبستيت نيويورك

*MAZE Laboratories
2975 Westchester Avenue
Purchase, NY 10577
914-683-0000

CNY Fertility
195 Intrepid Lane
Syracuse, NY 13205
315-469-8700

أو

38A Old Sparrowbush Road
Latham, NY 12110 (بالقرب من ألباني)
315-469-8700

نيو جيرسي

Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey
140 Allen Road
Basking Ridge, NJ 07920
973-656-2823
ربما تكون قادرًا على حفظ الحيوانات المنوية في إيتونتاون أو مارلتون.

 

The Sperm and Embryo Bank of New Jersey
187 Mill Lane
Mountainside, NJ 07920
908-654-8836

بنسلفانيا

*Fairfax Cryobank
3401 Market Street, Suite 205
Philadelphia, PA 19104
215-386-1977

كونكتيكت

Reproductive Medicine Associates of Connecticut
761 Main Avenue, Suite 200
Norwalk, CT 06851
203-750-7400

آخر تحديث

الخميس, فبراير 22, 2024

Sperm Banking

This information answers some frequently asked questions about sperm banking and provides a list of local sperm banks.

What is sperm banking?

Sperm banking is the collection, freezing, and storage of sperm for possible use in the future.

Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

Why should I do this?

Many cancer treatments damage the cells that grow into sperm. If you can’t produce sperm, you will be infertile. This means that you won’t be able to have a biological child. Sometimes these cells recover, but sometimes they do not. We can’t say for certain how your treatment will affect your future fertility.

You may not be thinking about being a father right now. However, one day this may be important to you. Sperm banking before treatment will increase your chance of having a biological child in the future using your own sperm. Many young men who don’t bank sperm before treatment regret this decision if they’re infertile when they want to start a family. Many say they wish they had been pushed more by their families and doctors to do this. Because of this, we encourage all teens and young men to bank their sperm before treatment that may affect fertility.

Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

When should I do this?

You must bank your sperm before you begin treatment. If your treatment doesn’t have to start right away, we suggest you collect 3 specimens. For the first collection, it’s best if you don’t ejaculate (when semen comes out of the penis) during sex or masturbation for 2 to 5 days before the collection, and 2 to 3 days between each collection. This will help you collect the highest possible number of sperm.       

If your treatment will be starting too soon for this timing, you can start collecting right away and schedule the collections with only 1 day between each one. Collecting even just 1 or 2 specimens is helpful because there are new techniques available to fertilize eggs with very few sperm.

If you’re having any scans done using radioactive isotopes (such as a bone scan, PET scan, or MUGA scan), you don’t need to wait until the isotopes are cleared from your body to bank your sperm. You may bank your sperm any time after your scan. You can also bank sperm if you’re having a computed tomography (CT) scan or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI).

Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

Where can I do this?

Sperm banking is usually done at a licensed laboratory (lab) or fertility center. A number of local sperm banks are listed at the end of this resource. Once you choose a sperm bank, call to make your first appointment. Tell them that you will be starting cancer treatment at Memorial Sloan Kettering (MSK).

If you can’t collect a specimen at a sperm bank, some sperm banks will let you collect at home. They will give you a sterile cup for this.

If you’re in the hospital, you will need to collect the specimen in your hospital room. We have arranged with one of the sperm banks in New York to pick up the specimen for a small fee and bring it to their lab for processing.

If you’re having a family member or friend take the specimen from home or the hospital to the sperm bank, the specimen must be delivered within 60 minutes of collection. It should be put in a pocket close to the body to keep it at body temperature.

Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

How do I do this?

When you arrive at the sperm bank, you will be brought to a small private room for the collection. After washing and drying your hands, you will stimulate yourself to ejaculate by masturbating. The fluid that comes out of your penis is called semen, and it contains your sperm. You will collect the semen in a sterile cup. Don’t use saliva, spit, or lubricants to masturbate, as these can destroy the sperm. You can ask for mineral oil if this will help you to ejaculate but use this only at the base of your penis to avoid mixing it in with your semen.

Some men aren’t able to ejaculate by masturbating because they feel too sick, are in too much pain, feel too embarrassed or uncomfortable, or aren’t allowed to masturbate because of religious or cultural beliefs. If you can’t collect a specimen by masturbating, please tell your doctor or nurse. There are other methods of collecting sperm, and we can discuss these options with you.

Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

What does the sperm bank do with the specimen?

The sperm bank will analyze your semen, counting the number of sperm. They will divide the specimen into small vials and freeze the sperm for storage. Some sperm die during the freezing and thawing process. However, the sperm that survive aren’t damaged while they’re frozen.

Sperm can be stored for as long as you want, even for many years. You will have to pay a yearly storage fee as long as the sperm bank holds your specimens. If you’re considering throwing away your sperm, talk with your doctor first to ensure you won’t need any additional treatment. You may want to store your specimens until you’ve completed building your family.

Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

How much will this cost?

Most insurance plans don’t cover sperm banking. The cost is different at each sperm bank. The cost in the New York area ranges from about $700 to $1,300 for 3 collections, including the first year of storage.

Many sperm banks offer a discounted rate to people with cancer. A few require you to apply for this through the LIVESTRONG Fertility program. Your eligibility is based on your income. To learn more go to www.livestrong.org/we-can-help/livestrong-fertility, and to create an account to apply, log on to https://livestrongfertilityportal.unicentric.com.

If the cost of storage after the first year is more than you can afford, you can arrange to transfer the specimens to another sperm bank. Repro Tech provides discounted rates for long-term storage for people with cancer. Visit their website at  www.reprotech.com/financial-assistance.html.

Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

What else should I know?

Ask the sperm bank to contact you or your doctor if they feel you may not have any sperm that can be used to conceive a child in the future. You will also need to ask them to send a copy of the results to your doctor.

You will be given forms to fill out for the sperm bank. These include a form asking what you would like done with your specimens if you die before you have used them. For example, you can say that you want them thrown away or left to a partner. You can change this information in the future if you change your mind.

The sperm bank may require that you have infectious disease testing done at the time you bank your sperm. They may do the blood and urine tests there, or they may send you to a local lab. You may need to pay an additional cost for this.

Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

Where can I learn more?

For more information, ask your doctor or nurse for a referral to one of our Fertility Nurse Specialists.

Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

Finding a Sperm Bank

Most sperm banks offer a discounted rate for people with cancer. The locations with the star (*) next to their names require you to apply to LIVESTRONG Fertility to get a discounted rate. To learn more go to www.livestrong.org/we-can-help/livestrong-fertility, and to create an account to apply, log on to https://livestrongfertilityportal.unicentric.com.

Manhattan

*MAZE Laboratories
633 Third Avenue, Suite 9B (between 40th and 41st Streets)
New York, NY 10065
914-683-0000

Repro Labs
332 East 30th Street (between First and Second Avenues)
New York, NY 10016
212-779-3988

Long Island

Reproductive Specialists of New York
200 Old Country Road, Suite 350
Mineola, NY 11501
516-739-2100, extension 110

Or

2500 Nesconset Highway, Building 23
Stony Brook, NY 11790
631-246-9100

Westchester and Upstate NY

*MAZE Laboratories
2975 Westchester Avenue
Purchase, NY 10577
914-683-0000

CNY Fertility
195 Intrepid Lane
Syracuse, NY 13205
315-469-8700

Or

38A Old Sparrowbush Road
Latham, NY 12110 (near Albany)
315-469-8700

New Jersey

Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey
140 Allen Road
Basking Ridge, NJ 07920
973-656-2823
You may be able to sperm bank at the Eatontown or Marlton location.

 

The Sperm and Embryo Bank of New Jersey
187 Mill Lane
Mountainside, NJ 07920
908-654-8836

Pennsylvania

*Fairfax Cryobank
3401 Market Street, Suite 205
Philadelphia, PA 19104
215-386-1977

Connecticut

Reproductive Medicine Associates of Connecticut
761 Main Avenue, Suite 200
Norwalk, CT 06851
203-750-7400

Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

Last Updated