帮助孩子度过兄弟姐妹患病的时期

本信息介绍了您应该如何帮助您的孩子度过其兄弟姐妹患病和治疗的时期。

当您有孩子生病时,整个家庭都会受到影响。 这对您的其他孩子来说尤其难以应对。 他们可能会担心自己的兄弟姐妹,对家人日常生活的改变感到有压力,或者感觉到自己越来越不受关注。 在您尝试应对自己的情绪和肩负责任的同时兼顾好支持照顾您的孩子可能具有挑战性。

本资源中的信息可以帮助您开始尝试了解您孩子的感受。 它介绍了一些您在支持照顾孩子时可以用到的一些策略。 此外,向您和您的孩子可以依赖的人寻求支持也将对您很有帮助。 您可以在本资源的“为您和您的家人提供的资源”部分找到支持服务的清单。

返回到頂部

了解您孩子的感受

每个孩子对其兄弟姐妹患病都有不同的反应。 以下是您的孩子可能会有的感受以及您可以采取的应对措施。

  • 悲伤:您的孩子可能会感到孤独和悲伤。 这可能是因为他们的家庭日常生活方式发生了变化,或是在预约或治疗期间与您和兄弟姐妹分离。 做一些事情让您的孩子感觉到他们仍然受到关注可能会有所帮助。 时常提醒他们您非常想念而且非常爱他们,可以帮助他们应对这些新的感受。
  • 担心:您的孩子可能会担心其兄弟姐妹的健康状况。 鼓励围绕其兄弟姐妹健康情况进行开诚布公的交谈。 给您的孩子机会,让他们能够表达担忧并进行提问。 这样可以帮助营造一种环境,让他们感受到您的支持照顾,并且明白他们的问题可以得到回答。
  • 焦虑:您的孩子可能会对家庭的经历感到焦虑。 他们的生命和日常生活中可能会发生很多意想不到的变化。 尽量保持他们的正常作息,但也要帮助他们为任何预期变化做好准备。 向他们解释接下来可能发生的一些变化,以及他们在未来几周可能需要做什么。 这将有助于减轻他们对未来的焦虑和不确定性。
  • 愤怒:孩子们会经常通过愤怒来表达自己的情绪。 当您的孩子看到他们的兄弟姐妹得到更多的关注时,他们可能会感到愤怒。 当您因为照顾兄弟姐妹的医疗需求,而减少与他们在一起的时间时,他们可能会感到愤怒。 鼓励您的孩子多去谈论他们的感受。 这样可以帮助他们以健康的方式与您或他们信任的成年人一起应对愤怒情绪问题。
  • 痛苦:如果您的孩子看到家中发生变化或兄弟姐妹出现治疗副作用,他们可能会感觉到很痛苦。 他们还可能会注意到您对其兄弟姐妹患病和治疗的反应,这可能会影响到他们的感受。 想要逃避与孩子进行不愉快的交谈是正常的。 但与他们谈论您的经历和感受可以帮助他们更好地表达他们自己的感受。
  • 嫉妒:您的孩子可能会感觉到被忽视冷落,或者他们的兄弟姐妹能够有更多的时间跟您待在一起。 留出一些时间与每个孩子单独相处可能会有所帮助。 这样,所有的孩子都可以与您单独相处一段时间,而不会因想要获取您的关注而进行竞争。
  • 内疚:您的孩子可能会因为对其兄弟姐妹或家人有负面情绪而感到内疚。 与他们谈谈他们可能有的不同情绪。 提醒他们,有这些情绪是正常的,这样将有助于减轻他们的内疚。
  • 困惑:孩子们在兄弟姐妹生病时常常会感到困惑。 他们可能会想知道为什么他们的兄弟姐妹生病了,而他们却没有。 他们可能会想自己是否也会患同样的病。 他们可能会觉得他们是导致兄弟姐妹患病的原因。 请务必要让他们放心,这并不是因为他们。 开诚布公地与孩子相处可以帮助他们更好地了解正在发生的事情,并减少他们的困惑。
  • 沮丧:当您的孩子开始接受治疗时,家庭日常生活和责任重心可能会发生变化。 所有家庭成员都需要适应这些变化。 孩子们可能会对这些变化感到沮丧,并希望他们能做更多的事情来帮助他们的兄弟姐妹。 给孩子更多的支持,帮助他们适应这些变化和过渡。 这样将有助于他们管理他们的沮丧和不确定性情绪。

这些感受都是正常的。 但有时从治疗师或其他医务人员那里获得支持可能会很有帮助,甚至是必要的举措。 请注意观察您的孩子是否表现出妨碍其社交、情绪或身体健康的一些情绪。 他们可能会告诉您他们头疼或胃疼。 他们可能会有一些比起其实际年龄小的行为,如尿床或吸吮拇指等。 如果您对下一步如何处理有任何顾虑或不确定该怎么办,请与您的社工或 MSK 儿童护理团队讨论。

返回到頂部

支持您的孩子

您的孩子对其兄弟姐妹患病和治疗的反应将取决于他们的年龄和对整体情况的理解程度。 他们会对身边人的应对方式作出反应。 以下这些方法可以帮助您的孩子理解和应对其兄弟姐妹的患病。

开诚布公

您可能会希望尽可能保护您的孩子,让他们感觉他们的兄弟姐妹不会有事。 但请勿说谎或给出您无法遵守的承诺,这一点非常重要。 因为这样可能会更令他们更加困惑。 坦诚的沟通将有助于您的孩子建立对您的信任。 它还有助于孩子在困惑的时候,面对自己的想法和感觉时不那么孤单。 有些问题您可以不知道答案,但您需要诚实地说不知道。

确认他们的感受

让您的孩子知道他们所有的感受都是正常的。 通过艺术、游戏或其他活动帮助他们表达自己的感受。 这将有助于他们更好地应对自己的情绪。 与您的孩子讨论您的感受。 告诉他们您也会感到悲伤和害怕。 解释您是如何进行应对的。 您的孩子可能会告诉您他们感觉“正常”或他们对兄弟姐妹的患病完全没有任何感觉。 经常告诉您的孩子,您会时刻在他们身边支持照顾他们。

鼓励他们提问,并诚实地回答

您的孩子可能会对他们的兄弟姐妹的经历以及原因有一些疑问。您可能会担心如果讨论兄弟姐妹的病情,不知道孩子会有怎样的反应。 让他们知道他们可以随时提问,这一点非常重要。 尽您最大的努力诚实地回答他们。 让您的孩子有机会提问会让他们更愿意与您交谈。 诚实地回答将有助于您的孩子更好地了解正在发生的事情。 这将阻止他们对目前的情况产生一些自己臆想出来的错误想法。您的医护团队可以帮助您做好准备,与您的孩子进行交谈。

与他们共度时光

变化会让您的孩子感到悲伤和孤独。 尽量多花些时间和他们在一起,这样他们就会感到更有安全感,并得到支持。 与他们开车散心或散步,或一起玩游戏。 您的孩子可能对他们想做的事情有自己的想法。

向他们寻求帮助

通过向您的孩子寻求帮助,可以让孩子感受到他们也在参与其中,并受到重视。 他们可以帮您为他们的兄弟姐妹挑选带到医院的玩具。 如果您的孩子无法在一起,这也将有助于他们保持联系。 如果可能,带您的孩子到医院看望他们的兄弟姐妹。 这样可以帮助他们了解医院是什么,那里发生了什么。

与老师和辅导员交谈

如果您的孩子在学校上学,请将有关他们的兄弟姐妹患病的情况告知老师。 这样也可以帮助您的孩子在学校里感觉得到支持。 老师或辅导员可以帮助您的孩子在白天的时候更好地表达他们的感受。 您还可以与孩子所在的社团成员交谈,例如教练、教员或宗教人士。 适应这些变化将会是一件困难的事情。 因此建立一个支持网络将会很有帮助。

照顾好自己

您能为您的孩子做的最好的事情就是首先照顾好自己。 找到您愿意与之交谈的人,即使您无法确定该说些什么。 为您和您的家人建立一个支持系统非常重要。

返回到頂部

为您和您的家人提供的资源

MSK 支持服务

Memorial Sloan Kettering (MSK) 有很多资源可以为您和您的家人提供支持和帮助。 有关本节所列各种项目的更多信息,请与您的社工或儿童生活专家进行讨论。

MSK 儿童支持服务
www.mskcc.org/pediatrics/experience/life-pediatrics/support-services-care-teams
MSK 儿童的支持服务和医护团队可以帮助您更好地应对您孩子的病情和治疗的整个医疗过程。 他们的职责就是帮助并支持您的家庭,为您提供帮助、咨询和相关资源。 与您的医护团队就为您和您家获取帮助支持进行讨论。

照护者支持
www.mskcc.org/caregivers
照顾好您自己将能够帮助您更好地照顾家人。 我们有相关资源,可以帮助您应对照顾接受治疗的儿童所带来的责任。 如需您需要了解更多有关支持资源和信息,请阅读A Guide for Caregivers资源。

与儿童谈论癌症项目
www.mskcc.org/experience/patient-support/counseling/talking-with-children
与儿童谈论癌症的项目,旨在为正在接受癌症治疗的父母提供照顾孩子(包括青少年)方面的支持。 但他们也可以帮助您与孩子讨论他们兄弟姐妹的治疗情况。 我们的社工可以为社区的专业人士提供家庭支持团体、个人和团体咨询服务、资源的获取以及指导,包括学校的社工、学校的心理医生、指导咨询师、老师和学校的工作人员。

更多资源

以下这些资源,可以在您孩子的兄弟姐妹接受治疗时为其提供帮助和支持。

有用的书籍

A Day with Dr. Waddle(与 Waddle 医生度过的一天)
作者:基础癌症研究中心
适合年龄:7-10 岁

Because…Someone I Love Has Cancer(因为……我爱的人罹患癌症)
作者:美国癌症协会
适合年龄:5-11 岁

Drums, Girls & Dangerous Pie(鼓、女孩和危险的派)
作者:Jordan Sonnenblick
适合年龄:10-13 岁

Oliver’s Story- For “Sibs” of Kids with Cancer (奥利弗的故事-献给有患癌症兄弟姐妹的孩子)
作者:Michael Dodd
适合年龄:3-8 岁

Sort of Forever(一种永恒)
作者:Sally Warner
适合年龄:8-12 岁

Staying Afloat(坚持下去)
作者:Suzanne Kornblatt (LMSW) 和 Joanna Formont (LMHC)、 Arlene Basner (MA)、Joan Perkell (LCSW) 和 Diane Silver (MA)
适合年龄:所有年龄。 父母和兄弟姐妹可以一起借助本书的指导来更好地应对艰难的感受。

What About Me, When Brothers and Sisters Get Sick(当我的兄弟姐妹患病后,谁来照顾我)
作者:Allen Peterkin (MD)
适合年龄:3-8 岁

社区支持资源

CancerCare
800-813-4673
www.cancercare.org
该组织可以为您提供咨询、支助小组、教育研讨班、出版物和财政等相关支持。

Gilda’s Club
www.gildasclubnyc.org
一个癌症患者通过建立社交网络、研讨会、讲座和社交活动找到社会和情感支持的地方。

Alex’s Lemonade Stand
www.alexslemonade.org/childhood-cancer/for-families/supersibs
一个致力于为癌症儿童及其家庭提供各种支持服务的非营利基金会。 他们设立了一个专门针对兄弟姐妹的名为“ SuperSibs”的活动项目!

Sunrise Day Camp
https://sunrisedaycamp.org
为 3 岁半至 16 岁的癌症儿童和青年患者及其兄弟姐妹举办的日间夏令营。

SIBS PLACE®
516-374-3000
https://sibsplace.org
这是一项针对 5 至 17 岁有父母或兄弟姐妹患有癌症的儿童设立的免费项目。 他们可以提供同伴支持和创造性艺术活动。

返回到頂部

上次更新時間

Supporting Your Child Through Their Sibling’s Care

This information explains how you can help your child through their sibling’s diagnosis and treatment.

When one of your children is sick, the whole family is affected. It can be especially hard for your other children. They may worry about their sibling, feel stressed about changes to their family’s daily routine, or feel as if they’re getting less attention. Helping your children may be challenging as you cope with your own emotions and responsibilities.

The information in this resource can help you begin to understand your child’s feelings. It offers strategies to support you as you support your children. You may also find it helpful to ask for support from someone you and your child can depend on. You can find a list of support services in the “Resources for You and Your Family” section of this resource.

Back to top

Understanding Your Child’s Feelings

Every child reacts to a sibling’s diagnosis differently. Here are some feelings your child may have and what you can do to help.

  • Sadness: Your child may feel lonely and sad. This may be because of changes in their family routine and being separated from you and their sibling during appointments or treatment. It can be helpful to do things to make your child feel special. When you remind them you’re thinking about them and love them, it can help them manage these feelings.
  • Worry: Your child may worry about their sibling’s overall health. Encourage open and honest conversations around their sibling’s health. Let your child express their concerns and ask questions. This can help create an environment where they feel supported and know their questions can be answered.
  • Anxiety: Your child may feel anxious about what the family is going through. There may be a lot of unexpected changes to their lives and daily routine. Try to keep to their normal routine as best you can, but also prepare them for any expected changes. Explain to them how things may be different and what they may need to do in the coming weeks. This can help reduce anxiety and uncertainty about the future.
  • Anger: Children often express their emotions through anger. Your child can feel angry when they see their sibling getting more attention. They can be angry when you spend less time with them to focus on their sibling’s medical needs. Encourage your child to talk about how they’re feeling. This can help them process their anger in a health way with you or a trusted adult.
  • Pain: It can be hurtful for your child to see changes in their family or their sibling have side effects of treatment. They may also notice how you’re reacting to their sibling’s diagnosis and treatment, which can affect their own feelings. It’s normal to want to avoid hard conversations with your child. But talking with them about what you’re all experiencing can help them express their own feelings.
  • Jealousy: Your child may feel left out, or that their sibling is spending more time with you. It can be helpful to set aside some time to spend alone with each child. This way, all your children spend time alone with you and don’t compete for your attention.
  • Guilt: Your child may feel guilty for having negative feelings towards their sibling or their family. Talk with them about the different emotions they may be feeling. Remind them that it’s normal to feel them, which can help reduce their guilt.
  • Confusion: Children often feel confused when a sibling is sick. They may wonder why their sibling is sick and they are not. They may wonder if they’ll get the same illness themselves. They may feel they had a role in causing the sibling’s illness. Be sure to reassure them this is not true. Being honest and direct with your child can help them better understand what’s happening and make them less confused.
  • Frustration: Family routines and responsibilities may change as your child starts their treatment. All family members will need to adjust to these changes. Siblings may feel frustrated with these changes and wish they can do more to help their sibling. Support your children as they adapt to change and transition. This can help them manage their frustration and feelings of uncertainty.

These feelings are normal. But there are times when getting support from a therapist or other provider can be helpful or even necessary. Watch to see if your child shows emotions that get in the way of their social, emotional, or physical well-being. They may say their head or stomach hurts. They may behave younger than their age, wetting the bed or sucking their thumb. If you have concerns or are unsure about next steps, talk with your social worker or your MSK Kids care team.

Back to top

Supporting Your Child

Your child’s response to their siblings’ diagnosis and treatment will depend on their age and understanding of the situation. They will react to how people close to them are coping. Here are some ways you can help your child understand and cope with their sibling’s diagnosis.

Be open and honest

You may want to protect your child and make them feel their sibling will be OK. But it’s important to avoid lying or making a promise you can’t keep. That can be even more confusing. Open and honest communication will help your child trust you. It also helps them feel less alone with their thoughts and feelings during a confusing time. It’s OK to not know all the answers, and you can be honest about not knowing.

Validate their feelings

Let your child know that how they feel is OK. Help them express their feelings through art, play, or another activity. This will help them cope with their emotions. Talk with your child about how you’re feeling too. Tell them that you also feel sad and scared. Explain how you cope. Your child may share that they are feeling “fine” or don’t have feelings about their sibling’s diagnosis at all. Keep telling your child you’re here to support them.

Encourage them to ask questions and speak honestly

Your child may have questions about what their sibling is experiencing, and why they’re going through this. You may feel worried about your child’s reaction to talking about their sibling’s diagnosis. It’s important to let them know they can ask questions. Do your best to answer them honestly. Letting your child ask questions will help them feel comfortable talking with you. Answering honestly will help your child understand what’s really happening. It will stop them from creating their own false ideas about this situation. Your care team can help you get ready to talk with your child.

Spend time with them

Change can make your child feel sad and alone. Try to spend some alone time with them so they feel safe and supported. Take a drive or a walk, or play a game. Your child may have their own ideas of what they’d like to do.

Ask them for help

Help your child feel involved and valued by asking them for their help. They can help you pick toys to take to the hospital for their sibling. This will also help your children stay connected if they can’t be together. If possible, have your child visit their sibling in the hospital. This can help them understand what the hospital is and what happens there.

Talk to their teachers and coaches

If your child is in school, tell their teachers about their sibling’s diagnosis. This can help your child feel supported there too. A teacher or counselor can help your child express their feelings during the day. You may also want to talk to members of social groups that your child is a part of, such as coaches, instructors, or religious figures. It will be difficult to adjust to change. Building a network of support will help.

Take care of yourself

The best thing you can do for your child is to take care of yourself. Identify someone you feel comfortable talking to, even if you’re not sure what to say. Creating a support system for you and your family is important.

Back to top

Resources for You and Your Family

MSK support

Memorial Sloan Kettering (MSK) has many resources to support you and your family. For more information about the programs listed in this section, talk with your social worker or child life specialist.

MSK Kids Support Services
www.mskcc.org/pediatrics/experience/life-pediatrics/support-services-care-teams
MSK Kids’ support services and care teams can help you navigate your child’s diagnosis and treatment throughout their care. They’re here to help support your family and can provide help, counseling, and resources. Talk with your care team about getting support for you and for your family.

Help for caregivers
www.mskcc.org/caregivers
Taking care of yourself will help you take better care of your family. Resources and support are available to help manage the responsibilities that come with caring for a child going through treatment. For support resources and information, read A Guide for Caregivers.

Talking with Children About Cancer program
www.mskcc.org/experience/patient-support/counseling/talking-with-children
Talking with Children About Cancer is a program to help support adults receiving cancer treatment as they parent their children and teenagers. But they can also help you talk with your child about their siblings’ treatment. Our social workers offer family support groups, individual and group counseling, connections to resources, and guidance for professionals in the community including school social workers, school psychologists, guidance counselors, teachers, and school staff.

More resources

Here are some resources that may help your child as their sibling gets treatment.

Helpful books

A Day with Dr. Waddle
Author: Center for Basic Cancer Research
Ages 7 to 10

Because…Someone I Love Has Cancer
Author: American Cancer Society
Ages 5 to 11

Drums, Girls & Dangerous Pie
Author: Jordan Sonnenblick
Ages 10 to 13

Oliver’s Story- For “Sibs” of Kids with Cancer
Author: Michael Dodd
Ages 3 to 8

Sort of Forever
Author: Sally Warner
Ages 8 to 12

Staying Afloat
Authors: Suzanne Kornblatt, LMSW and Joanna Formont, LMHC with Arlene Basner, MA, Joan Perkell, LCSW, and Diane Silver, MA
All ages. This book is a guide for parents and siblings to use together to cope with hard feelings.

What About Me, When Brothers and Sisters Get Sick
Author: Allen Peterkin, MD
Ages 3 to 8

Community support

CancerCare
800-813-4673
www.cancercare.org
This organization provides counseling, support groups, educational workshops, publications, and financial help.

Gilda’s Club
www.gildasclubnyc.org
A place where people living with cancer find social and emotional support through networking, workshops, lectures, and social activities.

Alex’s Lemonade Stand
www.alexslemonade.org/childhood-cancer/for-families/supersibs
A nonprofit foundation that provides many support services for children with cancer and their families. They offer a sibling-specific program, called SuperSibs!

Sunrise Day Camp
https://sunrisedaycamp.org
A day camp for children and young adults ages 3 ½ to 16 living with cancer and their siblings.

SIBS PLACE®
516-374-3000
https://sibsplace.org
This is a free program for children ages 5 to 17 who have a parent or sibling with cancer. They offer peer support and creative arts activities.

Back to top

Tell us what you think

Tell us what you think

Your feedback will help us improve the information we provide to patients and caregivers. We read every comment, but we're not able to respond. If you have questions about your care, contact your healthcare provider.
 

Questions Yes Somewhat No

Last Updated