Types of Graft-Versus-Host Disease (GVHD)


There are two main types of graft-versus-host disease (GVHD). These are acute GVHD and chronic GVHD.

Acute GVHD

Acute GVHD typically occurs within about 3 months of a transplant, but can last for a longer period of time. The symptoms start when the donor’s immune cells begin to attack the recipient’s tissues. Acute GVHD may affect the skin, liver, and gastrointestinal tract (gut).

Chronic GVHD

Chronic GVHD can appear at any time after an allogenic transplant. It may be a few months after the transplant or several years later. Chronic GVHD most commonly affects the skin, eyes, and mouth, but it can also affect the lungs, joints, gastrointestinal tract (gut), liver, and genitals, as well as other organs.

Request an Appointment

Call 800-525-2225
Available Monday through Friday, to (Eastern time)