接受依鲁替尼(Ibrutinib)治疗的慢性淋巴细胞白血病患者的高血压管理

简体中文
Share
Print
血压读数

根据我们本月发表在《美国医学会杂志网络公开》 (JAMA Network Open)上的回顾性研究,在慢性淋巴细胞白血病 (CLL) 患者开始接受伊鲁替尼治疗后,应密切监测其血压,持续数月。

高血压是临床试验中接受伊鲁替尼治疗的 CLL 患者发生的常见不良事件。我们在非临床试验环境中研究了 CLL 患者中与伊鲁替尼相关的高血压的发展模式、管理策略和长期血管影响。 (1)

我们的结果显示,在接受伊鲁替尼治疗的 247 例 CLL 患者的整个队列中,包括存在和不存在高血压病史的患者,患者的血压均发生显著升高。

我们的结果显示,在接受伊鲁替尼治疗的 247 例 CLL 患者的整个队列中,包括存在和不存在高血压病史的患者,患者的血压均发生显著升高。
Lindsey Roeker MD

血压峰值的中位范围较基线显著升高,如下所示:收缩压由 127(90-182)mmHg 升至 153(105-215)mmHg,舒张压由 71(48-95)mmHg 升至 80(53-121)mmHg(p < 0.001)。值得注意的是,血压达到峰值的中位时间为 6 个月(0-35 月)。 (1)

CLL 与依鲁替尼

CLL 是成人中最常见的白血病类型,2019 年估计有 20,720 名美国人被诊断患有 CLL,3,930 人死于该病。几乎所有被诊断为 CLL 的患者,约 90%,年龄均在 50 岁以上。

靶向药物依鲁替尼是一种口服的 Bruton 酪氨酸激酶 (BKT) 小分子抑制剂。它会结合并抑制 BTK 活性,从而抑制过度表达 BTK 的恶性 B 细胞的生长。2016 年 3 月,美国食品药物监督管理局扩大了依鲁替尼的批准范围,将治疗 CLL 患者纳入一线治疗范围。 该批准是基于在 RESONATE-2 临床试验中,相较于苯丁酸氮芥化疗,该药在无进展生存期、总生存期、缓解率和改善血液学标志物方面均显示出优越性。 (2)

在临床试验中,高血压已被确定为接受依鲁替尼治疗的 CLL 患者的常见不良事件,其发生率为 18%,而根据《不良事件通用术语标准》的定义,6% 的研究参与者发生 3 级或 3 级以上的高血压。 (3)

返回到頂部

研究设计

在与同事的合作下,我们在三个癌症中心开展了这项研究:纪念斯隆凯特琳癌症中心 (MSK)、华盛顿特区乔治敦大学医院的伦巴第癌症中心以及费城宾夕法尼亚大学的艾布拉姆森癌症中心。我们确定 247 例 CLL 患者,这些患者每天接受 420 mg 伊鲁替尼治疗,持续至少 6 个月,且未曾参加临床试验。 (1)

开始依鲁替尼给药前,基线心血管合并症包括高血压(43.3%)、高脂血症(35.2%)、糖尿病(16.2%)、冠状动脉疾病(9.7%)、心力衰竭(2.0%)、瓣膜心脏病(2.8%)、房颤(4.5%)、其他心律失常(6.5%)、中风(2.8%)和吸烟史(42.1%)。 (1)

返回到頂部

研究结果

基线时,在开始伊鲁替尼给药前,中位收缩压为 127(90-182)mmHg,中位舒张压为 71(48-95)mmHg。 (1)

在开始依鲁替尼治疗后的第一年,血压峰值中位范围显著升高,如下所示:收缩压较基线升高至 153(105-215)mmHg,舒张压升高至 80(53-121)mmHg(p < 0.001)。 (1)血压达到峰值的中位时间为 6 个月,范围为 0 到 35 个月。

247 例患者中有 86 例患者(34.8%)发生突发性高血压(血压 ≥140/90 mmHg),82 例患者(33.2%)发生 3 级或 3 级以上收缩期高血压。 (1)这些观察到的高血压发生率高于临床试验中报告的发生率。 (4)

在 140 例基线时无高血压的患者中,92 例 (65.7%) 新发收缩期高血压,25 例 (17.9%) 新发舒张期高血压。

在 107 例基线高血压患者中,72 例 (67.3%) 基线血压控制良好,低于 140/90 mmHg。在伊鲁替尼治疗期间,53 例患者 (49.5%) 发生 3 级或 3 级以上收缩期高血压,5 例患者 (4.7%) 发生 3 级或 3 级以上舒张期高血压。 (1)

在整个队列中,单变量分析显示,既存心血管合并症、吸烟史和糖尿病与高血压的发生无关。51 例患者(20.6%)在依鲁替尼治疗期间心血管用药发生变化。近三分之一的患者增加了现有处方的剂量,80% 的患者开始使用至少一种新的抗高血压药物。出现新发房颤 16 例 (4%),诊断冠状动脉疾病 4 例 (1.6%)。 (1)

返回到頂部

推进 CLL 研究和患者结局

研究结果表明,我们有机会优化所有接受依鲁替尼治疗的 CLL 患者的医疗照护。无论患者是否有高血压病史,均应在开始依鲁替尼治疗后的几个月内对其血压进行持续密切监测。

由于依鲁替尼为连续给药,且高血压是累积性的,因此有必要对与依鲁替尼相关的高血压的长期血管结局进行持续研究。

在 MSK 斯隆,我们致力于推进研究,以找到新的方法,帮助患者在癌症治疗后最大限度地改善结局并减少不良事件的发生。目前我们正在开展 18 项针对 CLL 患者的临床试验,包括靶向治疗和化疗的新型联合疗法,以及针对持续性或复发性 CLL 患者的 CAR T-细胞治疗的 I/II 期研究。

Roeker 博士报告披露其配偶拥有艾伯维和雅培实验室的少数股权,获得艾伯维的旅行资金支持,在提交的研究工作之外获得美国血液学会的资金支持。

Mato 博士报告披露其在 Pharmacyclics、强生、艾伯维、Loxo Oncology、Sunesis Pharmaceuticals、基因泰克和Adaptive Biotechnologies 处获得资金支持和个人收入;从 TG Therapeutics 处获得资金支持和个人收入并担任,并在其数据和安全监查委员会任职;在 Celgene 数据和安全监查委员会任职;并在提交的研究工作之外接受 Regeneron Pharmaceuticals 的资金支持。

返回到頂部
  1. Roeker LE,Sarraf Yazdy M,Rhodes J 等人。接受依鲁替尼治疗的慢性淋巴细胞白血病患者的高血压 JAMA Netw Open. 2019;2(12):e1916326.
  2. Burger JA,Tedeschi A,Barr PM 等人 。伊鲁替尼作为慢性淋巴细胞白血病患者的初始治疗。伊鲁替尼作为慢性淋巴细胞白血病患者的初始治疗。N Engl J Med. 2015;373:2425–2437.
  3. Coutre SE,Byrd JC,Hillmen P 等人。3 项关键性研究中慢性淋巴细胞白血病患者接受伊鲁替尼单药治疗的长期安全性。Blood Adv. 2019;3(12):1799–1807.
  4. Caldeira D,Alves D,Costa J,Ferreira JJ,Pinto FJ。依鲁替尼增加高血压和房颤的风险:系统综述和荟萃分析。PLoS One. 2019;14(2):e0211228.

Managing Hypertension in Patients Treated with Ibrutinib for Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia

Share
Print
Blood pressure reading

Blood pressure should be monitored closely and on an ongoing basis for several months after initiating ibrutinib treatment in patients with chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL), according to our retrospective study published this month in JAMA Network Open.

Hypertension is a common adverse event among CLL patients treated with ibrutinib in clinical trials. We studied the patterns of development, management strategies, and long-term vascular consequences of hypertension associated with ibrutinib in CLL patients in the non-clinical trial setting. (1)

Our results showed that blood pressure was significantly elevated for the entire cohort of 247 CLL patients treated with ibrutinib, including those with and without pre-existing hypertension.

Our results showed that blood pressure was significantly elevated for the entire cohort of 247 CLL patients treated with ibrutinib, including those with and without pre-existing hypertension.
Lindsey Roeker MD

Median range peak blood pressure increased significantly from baseline as follows: systolic rose to 153 (105–215) mm Hg from 127 (90–182) mm Hg, and diastolic rose to 80 (53–121) mm Hg from 71 (48–95) mm Hg (p < 0.001). Notably, the median time to peak blood pressure was six months (0 to 35 months). (1)

CLL and Ibrutinib

CLL is the most common type of leukemia in adults, with an estimated 20,720 Americans diagnosed and 3,930 dying from the disease in 2019. Almost all people diagnosed with CLL, about 90 percent, are over the age of 50 years.

The targeted therapy ibrutinib is an oral, small-molecule inhibitor of Bruton’s tyrosine kinase (BTK). It binds to and inhibits the BTK activity, thereby inhibiting the growth of malignant B cells that overexpress BTK. In March 2016, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration expanded the approval of ibrutinib to include treating patients with CLL in the first-line setting. The approval was based on the drug’s superiority in progression-free survival, overall survival, response rate, and improved hematologic markers compared to the chemotherapy chlorambucil in the RESONATE-2 clinical trial. (2)

Hypertension has been identified as a common adverse event for CLL patients treated with ibrutinib in clinical trials, with an incidence of 18 percent and with six percent of study participants developing grade 3 or higher hypertension as defined by the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events. (3)

Back to top

Study Design

In collaboration with our colleagues, we conducted the study at three cancer centers: Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (MSK), the Lombardi Cancer Center at Georgetown University Hospital in Washington, D.C., and the Abramson Cancer Center at the University of Pennsylvania, in Philadelphia. We identified 247 patients with CLL who were treated with 420 mg of ibrutinib daily for at least six months and who had not participated in clinical trials. (1)

Before starting ibrutinib, baseline cardiovascular comorbidities included hypertension (43.3 percent of patients), hyperlipidemia (35.2 percent), diabetes (16.2 percent), coronary artery disease (9.7 percent), heart failure (2.0 percent), valvular heart disease (2.8 percent), atrial fibrillation (4.5 percent), other arrhythmia (6.5 percent), stroke (2.8 percent), and smoking history (42.1 percent). (1)

Back to top

Study Findings

At baseline, before ibrutinib initiation, median systolic blood pressure was 127 (90–182) mm Hg, and median diastolic blood pressure was 71 (48–95) mm Hg. (1)

In the first year after ibrutinib initiation, median range peak blood pressure increased significantly as follows: systolic rose to 153 (105–215) mm Hg and diastolic rose to 80 (53–121) mm Hg (p < 0.001) compared to baseline. (1)The median time to peak blood pressure was six months, with a range of 0 to 35 months.

A total of 86 patients (34.8 percent) of 247 patients had incident hypertension (blood pressure ≥ 140/90 mm Hg), and 82 patients (33.2 percent) developed grade 3 or higher systolic hypertension. (1)These observed rates of hypertension were higher than has been reported in clinical trials. (4)

Among 140 patients without hypertension at baseline, new systolic hypertension developed in 92 patients (65.7 percent), and new diastolic hypertension developed in 25 patients (17.9 percent).

Among 107 patients with hypertension at baseline, 72 (67.3 percent) had a well-controlled baseline blood pressure of less than 140/90 mm Hg. During treatment with ibrutinib, grade 3 or higher systolic hypertension developed in 53 patients (49.5 percent) and grade 3 or higher diastolic hypertension developed in 5 patients (4.7 percent). (1)

Over the entire cohort, pre-existing cardiovascular comorbidities, smoking history, and diabetes were not associated with the development of hypertension in the univariate analysis. Fifty-one patients (20.6 percent) had a change in their cardiovascular medications while taking ibrutinib. Almost one-third had an increased dose for an existing prescription, and 80 percent started at least one new antihypertensive medication. New atrial fibrillation was observed in 16 patients (4 percent), and coronary artery disease was diagnosed in 4 patients (1.6 percent). (1)

Back to top

Advancing CLL Research and Patient Outcomes

Our findings suggest that there is an opportunity to optimize care for all patients with CLL who are treated with ibrutinib. Whether they have pre-existing hypertension or not, we should monitor blood pressure closely for several months after ibrutinib initiation and on an ongoing basis.

Since ibrutinib is administered continuously and hypertension is cumulative, an ongoing study of the long-term vascular outcomes of hypertension associated with ibrutinib is needed.

At MSK, we are dedicated to advancing research to find new ways to help patients maximize outcomes and minimize adverse events following cancer treatment. We are currently conducting 18 clinical trials for patients with CLL including novel combinations of targeted and chemotherapies, as well as a phase I/II study of CAR T-cell therapy for patients with persistent or recurrent CLL.

Dr. Roeker reported having a spouse with a minority ownership interest in AbbVie and Abbott Laboratories; receiving a travel grant from AbbVie; and receiving a grant from the American Society of Hematology outside the submitted work.

Dr. Mato reported receiving grants and personal fees from Pharmacyclics, Johnson and Johnson, AbbVie, Loxo Oncology, Sunesis Pharmaceuticals, Genetech, and Adaptive Biotechnologies; receiving grants and personal fees from and serving on the data and safety monitoring board of TG Therapeutics; serving on the data and safety monitoring board of Celgene; and receiving grants from Regeneron Pharmaceuticals outside the submitted work.

Back to top
  1. Roeker LE, Sarraf Yazdy M, Rhodes J, et al. Hypertension in Patients Treated With Ibrutinib for Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia. JAMA Netw Open. 2019;2(12):e1916326.

  2. Burger JA, Tedeschi A, Barr PM, et. al. Ibrutinib as Initial Therapy for Patients with Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia. N Engl J Med. 2015;373:2425–2437.

  3. Coutre SE, Byrd JC, Hillmen P, et al. Long-term safety of single-agent ibrutinib in patients with chronic lymphocytic leukemia in 3 pivotal studies. Blood Adv. 2019;3(12):1799–1807.

  4. Caldeira D, Alves D, Costa J, Ferreira JJ, Pinto FJ. Ibrutinib increases the risk of hypertension and atrial fibrillation: systematic review and meta-analysis. PLoS One. 2019;14(2):e0211228.