MSK 斯隆儿科项目中心:通过眼动脉化学外科疗法成功治疗视网膜母细胞瘤伴脉络膜浸润,避免眼球摘除

简体中文
Share
Print
一名患者正在 MSK 斯隆儿科项目中心接受检查

我们首次在线发表在《眼科视网膜》(Ophthalmology Retina) 上的研究表明,对视网膜母细胞瘤伴脉络膜侵犯的患者,可以通过眼动脉化学外科 (OAC) 方式进行成功治疗,避免眼球摘除。

在世界范围内,摘除受累一侧的眼球一直是管理脉络膜浸润的标准方式。 近期,有很多临床医生开始质疑视网膜母细胞瘤伴脉络膜浸润是否真正有较高的转移率,患者是否有必要进行眼球摘除和多药辅助全身化疗的高强度治疗。 (1)

我们对包含 4 例双侧视网膜母细胞瘤儿童患者的小型病例系列进行了一项回顾性综述,这些患者均伴随有大量直径大于 3 毫米的脉络膜浸润病灶。 4 例患者在纪念斯隆凯特琳癌症中心 (MSK 斯隆) 接受一次 OAC 治疗后均发生缓解。 在接受后续治疗后,所有患者均成功保留了患侧的眼球,且该侧视力与治疗前相当,在未接受全身化疗的情况下中位随访 28 个月时均无转移。 (2)

由 MSK 斯隆的研究者在十多年前首创的 OAC 疗法 (1)是目前我们针对视网膜母细胞瘤儿童患者的机构标准疗法。 我们是 2018 年报道使用 OAC 成功挽救 2 例视网膜母细胞瘤所致脉络膜浸润患者眼睛的首个医学中心。 (3) 本报告对 2 例既往报告病例和 2 例新发病例进行了情况的更新。

MSK 斯隆儿科项目中心,我们一直致力于改善儿童患者的结局和生活质量。 95% 的视网膜母细胞瘤患者能够保留双眼,维持正常视力。 我们对视网膜母细胞瘤的总体治愈率为 99%。

眼动脉化学外科疗法由 MSK 斯隆的研究者在十多年前首创, 目前它是我们针对视网膜母细胞瘤儿童患者的机构标准疗法。
Jasmine H. Francis

视网膜母细胞瘤所致脉络膜侵犯的治疗方式

视网膜母细胞瘤是儿童中最常见的一种眼癌,在美国每年约有 350 名儿童确诊。 它最常发生于五岁以下的患者。 90% 的病例为偶发性疾病,由 13 号染色体随机发生的基因突变引起。 剩下 10% 的病例由遗传性基因突变引起。 大多数患者都能战胜该疾病,继续过着视力正常的健康生活。 但生殖系突变患者发生第二种癌症的风险较高,死亡风险也较高。

脉络膜侵袭在视网膜母细胞瘤中较为常见,在约四分之一的摘除眼球中发现有其存在的组织病理学证据。 (4) 专家过去认为发生脉络膜侵犯的患侧眼睛更常发生转移性疾病,因此需要摘除眼球以改善患者结局。 有些医生建议以检测是否存在脉络膜侵犯为目的进行眼球摘除术,如发现存在侵犯,则建议患者接受辅助全身化疗。 (5)

OAC 涉及在患者麻醉状态下通过一根插入患者腿部血管的导管将化疗药物直接输送到眼动脉。 如有需要,患者还可接受激光治疗、冷冻治疗、放疗和眼内注射等进一步治疗。

OAC 将化疗药物递送至眼部的浓度约为静脉给药的 100 倍, (6) (7)因此确保高浓度化疗药物可以直接进入脉络膜。 由于全身剂量水平非常低,因此患者很少需要输注血液制品或引起有临床意义的发热或中性粒细胞减少的副作用。 (6)

返回到頂部

研究设计

我们对包含 4 例在 MSK 斯隆接受 OAC 治疗的视网膜母细胞瘤伴脉络膜浸润儿童患者的小型病例系列进行了一项回顾性综述。 脉络膜侵犯的诊断方式为通过检眼镜检查是否存在脉络膜无黑色素性隆起进行,且通过超声检查进行验证。 (1)

返回到頂部

各病例的研究结果

2 例更新病例

病例 1:一名 7 个月大的患儿,诊断患有双侧视网膜母细胞瘤,右眼分级为 Reese Ellsworth (RE)/国际视网膜母细胞瘤分级/儿童肿瘤组版本 (ICRb) RE Va/ICRb E,左眼分级为 RE Va/ICRb E。 患者右眼被摘除,左眼在另一家医学中心接受全身化疗(长春新碱、卡铂和依托泊苷 (VEC) )治疗。 肿瘤复发后,患者被转诊至 MSK 斯隆,随后接受三次 OAC 治疗,包括一次美法仑 2.5 毫克和卡铂 30 毫克,两次美法仑 3 毫克和卡铂 40 毫克,随后接受激光治疗和两次美法仑 30 微克玻璃体内注射,所有肿瘤均得到控制。 3 个月后患者出现脉络膜侵犯。 仅一次 OAC 治疗(�美法仑 4 毫克、卡铂 40 毫克和拓扑替康 1 毫克 )后,脉络膜侵犯便完全消退。 患者随后又接受了一次 OAC 治疗,药物包括拓扑替康 2 毫克和卡铂 40 毫克。 35 个月后患者视力 20/60,且未发生转移。 (1)

病例 2:一名 7 个月大的家族性视网膜母细胞瘤婴儿,被诊断患有双眼疾病,双眼分级均为 RE IIIa/ICRb C。在接受三次 OAC 治疗(美法仑 3-4 毫克和拓扑替康 0.5 毫克)和多次激光治疗后 21 个月,该患者的右眼出现脉络膜侵犯。 在接受一次 OAC 治疗(美法仑 5 毫克、拓扑替康 2 毫克和卡铂 70 毫克)后,脉络膜侵犯消失。 随后患者又接受了两次 OAC 治疗(美法仑 5 毫克、拓扑替康 2 毫克和卡铂 60 毫克)。 66 个月后患者视力 20/200,且未发生转移。 (1)

2 例新发病例

病例 3:一名 23 个月大的患儿,诊断患有双侧视网膜母细胞瘤,右眼分级为 RE Vb/ICRb D,左眼分级为 REⅡA/ICRb D。 除进行激光、冷冻和三次玻璃体内注射美法仑(两次 30 微克和一次 25 微克)治疗外,左眼还接受三次 OAC 治疗(卡铂 40 毫克,拓扑替康 0.5 毫克)。 该初始治疗后 17 个月,左眼出现脉络膜侵犯。 在接受一次 OAC 治疗(美法仑 5 毫克、拓扑替康 1 毫克和卡铂 40 毫克)后,脉络膜侵犯完全消失。 随后患者又接受了两次 OAC 治疗(使用同样的药物和同样的剂量)。 18 个月后,患者视力为数指,且无任何转移证据。 (1)

病例 4:一名 11 个月大的患儿,诊断患有双侧视网膜母细胞瘤,右眼分级为 REⅢb/ICRb C,左眼为 REⅣb/ICRb D。 患者既往在另一家医学中心接受四个疗程的全身化疗 (VEC) 治疗。 发生双侧复发后,患儿转至 MSK 斯隆接受治疗。 患儿双眼接受 OAC 治疗,包括卡铂 30 毫克和拓扑替康 0.5 毫克(一次)以及美法仑 3 毫克和卡铂 30 毫克(两次)(右眼)。 此外患儿还接受了激光、冷冻和玻璃体内注射美法仑 25 微克(7 次)和拓扑替康 20-30 微克(7 次)治疗。 该治疗后 6 个月,患儿的右眼出现睫状体-脉络膜侵犯。 患儿接受 OAC 治疗(美法仑 5 毫克、卡铂 30 毫克和拓扑替康 0.5 毫克),睫状体-脉络膜侵犯在一个月内完全消失。 患者接受了另外两次的 OAC 治疗(美法仑 5 毫克、拓扑替康 0.5 毫克和卡铂 30 毫克)。 20 个月后患儿无癌症复发,且未发生转移。 患儿保持稳定的中心视力。 (1)

返回到頂部

改善儿童视网膜母细胞瘤患者的结局

MSK 斯隆儿科项目中心是世界上唯一一家完全仅致力于治疗视网膜母细胞瘤的癌症中心。 我们的著名专家团队一直致力于开创针对该疾病的微创治疗标准,努力挽救众多幼小患者的生命和视力。

目前,我们正在开展一项临床试验,研究治疗对单眼视网膜母细胞瘤幸存者生活质量的影响。 我们希望从本研究中获取到的信息将有助于改善该癌症儿童患者的医疗照护,包括幸存者的随访照护。

您可以阅读 Gigi 的故事,了解更多关于 2006 年在 MSK 斯隆儿科项目中心进行的首次 OAC 治疗的信息。

本研究获得了 Fund for Ophthalmic Knowledge, Inc. 和 NIH 癌症中心支持基金 (P30 CA008748) 的部分资助。 所有作者均声明无相关财务披露或冲突。

返回到頂部
  1. Bosaleh A, Sampor C, Solernou V, et al. Outcome of children with retinoblastoma and isolated choroidal invasion. Arch Ophthalmol,2012;130(6):724-729.-ERR:REF-NOT-FOUND-Arch Ophthalmol,2012;130(6):724-729.  
  2. Abramson DH, Gobin YP, Dunkel IJ, Francis JH. Successful Treatment of Massive Choroidal Invasion in Retinoblastoma with Intraarterial Chemotherapy (Ophthalmic Artery Chemosurgery) [印刷之前在线发表,2020 年 12 月 28 日]. Ophthalmol Retina. 2020;S2468-6530(20)30505-4.
  3. Abramson DH, Francis JH, Gobin YP. Choroidal Invasion in Retinoblastoma Treated with Intrarterial Chemotherapy. Ophthalmol Retina. 2018;2(1):9.
  4. Chévez-Barrios P, Eagle RC Jr, Krailo M, et al. Study of Unilateral Retinoblastoma With and Without Histopathologic High-Risk Features and the Role of Adjuvant Chemotherapy: A Children’s Oncology Group Study. J Clin Oncol. 2019;37(31):2883-2891.
  5. Zhao J, Dimaras H, Massey C, et al. Pre-enucleation chemotherapy for eyes severely affected by retinoblastoma masks risk of tumor extension and increases death from metastasis. J Clin Oncol. 2011;29(7):845-851.
  6. Schaiquevich P, Fabius AW, Francis JH, Chantada GL, Abramson DH. Ocular pharmacology of chemotherapy for retinoblastoma. Retina. 2017;37(1):1-10.
  7. Abramson DH, Francis JH, Gobin YP. What’s New in Intra-Arterial Chemotherapy for Retinoblastoma? Int Ophthalmol Clin. 2019;59(2):87-94.

MSK Kids: Retinoblastoma with Choroidal Invasion Successfully Managed with Ophthalmic Artery Chemosurgery, Avoiding Enucleation

English
Share
Print
Patient is examined at MSK Kids

Patients with choroidal invasion of retinoblastoma can be successfully managed with ophthalmic artery chemosurgery (OAC) and avoid enucleation, according to our research published online first in Ophthalmology Retina.

Worldwide, removing the affected eye has been the standard approach to managing choroidal invasion. Many clinicians have more recently questioned whether choroidal invasion retinoblastoma is truly associated with a higher rate of metastases and whether it warrants enucleation and aggressive treatment with multiagent adjuvant systemic chemotherapy. (1)

We conducted a retrospective review of a small series of four pediatric patients with bilateral retinoblastoma who developed massive choroidal invasion greater than 3 mm in diameter. All four patients responded after one session of OAC at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (MSK). After receiving subsequent treatment sessions, all patients successfully retained their affected eye with vision comparable to before treatment and were metastasis-free without systemic chemotherapy at a median follow-up of 28 months. (2)

OAC, pioneered by investigators at MSK over a decade ago (1) is our institutional standard of care for children with retinoblastoma. We were the first center to report in 2018 on successfully using OAC to save the eyes of two patients with choroidal invasion due to retinoblastoma. (3) Our current report provides an update on two previously reported cases and two new cases.

At MSK Kids, we are dedicated to improving outcomes and the quality of life for our young patients. Ninety-five percent of patients with retinoblastoma keep both eyes and maintain normal vision. We have a 99 percent cure rate for retinoblastoma overall.

Ophthalmic artery chemosurgery, pioneered by investigators at MSK over a decade ago, is our institutional standard of care for children with retinoblastoma.
Jasmine H. Francis

Treatment Approaches to Choroidal Invasion in Retinoblastoma

Retinoblastoma is the most common eye cancer in children, with about 350 diagnoses annually in the United States. It occurs most often in patients under the age of five. Ninety percent of cases are sporadic, caused by a randomly occurring genetic mutation in chromosome 13. The remaining 10 percent of cases are caused by an inherited genetic mutation. Most patients survive the cancer and go on to lead healthy lives with normal vision. Patients with germline mutations have a higher risk of developing second cancers and a higher mortality risk.

Invasion of the choroid is fairly common in retinoblastoma, with histopathological evidence found in about one-quarter of enucleated eyes. (4) Experts previously thought that eyes with choroidal invasion developed metastatic disease more often and that enucleation was required to improve patient outcomes. Some have recommended enucleation for the purposes of detecting choroidal invasion, and if found, recommending adjuvant systemic chemotherapy. (5)

OAC involves delivering chemotherapy directly to the ocular artery through a catheter inserted through a blood vessel in the patient’s leg while they are under anesthesia. Patients may also undergo further treatment with laser therapy, cryotherapy, radiation, and intraocular injections, as required.

OAC delivers chemotherapy to the eye in concentrations about 100 times that of intravenous delivery, (6), (7) ensuring a high concentration of chemotherapy goes directly to the choroid. Since the systemic dose level is so low, it rarely requires blood product transfusions or causes clinically significant fever or neutropenia. (6)

Back to top

Study Design

We conducted a retrospective review of a small series of four children with choroidal invasion of retinoblastoma treated with OAC at MSK. Choroidal invasion was diagnosed by amelanotic elevation of the choroid by ophthalmoscopy and confirmed with ultrasonography. (1)

Back to top

Study Results by Case

Two updated cases  

Case 1: A seven-month-old patient was diagnosed with bilateral retinoblastoma, with the right eye classified as Reese Ellsworth (RE)/International Classification of Retinoblastoma/Children’s Oncology Group Version (ICRb) RE Va/ICRb E and the left eye as RE Va/ICRb E. The right eye was enucleated and the left eye was treated with systemic chemotherapy (vincristine, carboplatin, and etoposide (VEC) at another center. After the tumors regrew, the patient was referred to MSK and treated three times with OAC consisting of on treatment of melphalan 2.5 mg and carboplatin 30 mg, and two treatments of melphalan 3 mg and carboplatin 40 mg, followed by laser and two intravitreal injections of melphalan 30 mcg, with control of all tumors. Three months later, the patient developed choroidal invasion. After just one OAC treatment of melphalan 4 mg, carboplatin 40 mg, and topotecan 1 mg, the choroidal invasion completely resolved. The patient had one additional session of OAC consisting of topotecan 2 mg and carboplatin 40 mg. Thirty-five months later, the patient’s vision was 20/60, and no metastases developed. (1)

Case 2: A seven-month infant with familial retinoblastoma was diagnosed with bilateral disease, with both eyes classified as RE IIIa/ICRb C. Twenty-one months following three sessions of OAC (melphalan 3–4 mg and topotecan 0.5 mg) and multiple laser treatments, the patient developed choroidal invasion in the right eye. It disappeared after one OAC treatment of melphalan 5 mg, topotecan 2 mg, and carboplatin 70 mg. The patient received two additional OAC treatments of melphalan 5 mg, topotecan 2 mg, and carboplatin 60 mg. Sixty-six months later, the patient’s vision was 20/200, and no metastases developed. (1)

Two new cases

Case 3: A 23-month-old child was diagnosed with bilateral retinoblastoma, with the right eye classified as RE Vb/ICRb D and the left eye as RE IIa/ICRb D. The left eye was treated with OAC three times (carboplatin 40 mg, topotecan 0.5 mg) in addition to laser, cryotherapy, and three intravitreal melphalan injections (two of 30 mcg and one of 25 mcg). Choroidal invasion developed in the left eye 17 months after this initial treatment. It disappeared entirely within one OAC treatment of melphalan 5 mg, topotecan 1 mg, and carboplatin 40 mg. Two additional OAC treatments were administered with the same drugs and dosages. Eighteen months later, the patient’s vision was Finger Counting, and there was no evidence of metastases. (1)

Case 4:  An 11-month-old child was diagnosed with bilateral retinoblastoma, with the right eye classified as RE IIIb/ICRb C and the left eye as RE IVb/ICRb D. She was treated with four cycles of systemic chemotherapy (VEC) at another center. After bilateral recurrences, the child was treated at MSK. She received OAC to both eyes, including carboplatin 30 mg and topotecan 0.5 mg once and melphalan 3 mg and carboplatin 30 mg twice to the right eye. She was also treated with laser, cryotherapy, and intravitreal injections of melphalan 25 mcg seven times and topotecan 20–30 mcg twice. Six months following this treatment, the child developed cilio-choroidal invasion in her right eye. She was treated with OAC consisting of melphalan 5 mg, carboplatin 30 mg, and topotecan 0.5 mg, and the cilio-choroidal invasion disappeared completely within a month. The patient received two additional sessions of OAC (melphalan 5 mg, topotecan 0.5 mg, and carboplatin 30 mg). Twenty months later, there was no cancer recurrence, and the child remained metastases free. Her vision was central, steady, and maintained. (1)

Back to top

Advancing Outcomes for Children with Retinoblastoma

MSK Kids is the only cancer center in the world with a staff solely dedicated to treating retinoblastoma. Our renowned team of experts continues to pioneer minimally invasive standards of treatment for this illness and work diligently to save lives and sight in our youngest patients.

We are currently conducting a clinical trial investigating the effect of treatment on quality of life in survivors of retinoblastoma in one eye. We hope that information from this study will help improve care for children with this cancer, including follow-up care for survivors.

Read Gigi’s Story to learn more about the first-ever OAC treatment at MSK Kids in 2006.

The study was supported in part by grants from the Fund for Ophthalmic Knowledge, Inc. and an NIH Cancer Center Support Grant (P30 CA008748). All authors declared no relevant financial disclosures or conflicts.

Back to top
  1. Bosaleh A, Sampor C, Solernou V, et al. Outcome of children with retinoblastoma and isolated choroidal invasion. Arch Ophthalmol. 2012;130(6):724-729.
  2. Abramson DH, Gobin YP, Dunkel IJ, Francis JH. Successful Treatment of Massive Choroidal Invasion in Retinoblastoma with Intraarterial Chemotherapy (Ophthalmic Artery Chemosurgery) [published online ahead of print, 2020 Dec 28]. Ophthalmol Retina. 2020;S2468-6530(20)30505-4.
  3. Abramson DH, Francis JH, Gobin YP. Choroidal Invasion in Retinoblastoma Treated with Intrarterial Chemotherapy. Ophthalmol Retina. 2018;2(1):9.
  4. Chévez-Barrios P, Eagle RC Jr, Krailo M, et al. Study of Unilateral Retinoblastoma With and Without Histopathologic High-Risk Features and the Role of Adjuvant Chemotherapy: A Children’s Oncology Group Study. J Clin Oncol. 2019;37(31):2883-2891.
  5. Zhao J, Dimaras H, Massey C, et al. Pre-enucleation chemotherapy for eyes severely affected by retinoblastoma masks risk of tumor extension and increases death from metastasis. J Clin Oncol. 2011;29(7):845-851.
  6. Schaiquevich P, Fabius AW, Francis JH, Chantada GL, Abramson DH. Ocular pharmacology of chemotherapy for retinoblastoma. Retina. 2017;37(1):1-10.
  7. Abramson DH, Francis JH, Gobin YP. What’s New in Intra-Arterial Chemotherapy for Retinoblastoma? Int Ophthalmol Clin. 2019;59(2):87-94.