突变克隆的增加:CVD 的一个全新危险因素

简体中文
Share
Print
科学影像

在 70 岁以上的人群中,高达 20% 的人有不确定潜能的克隆性造血 (CHIP),这种情况会带来双倍冠心病和缺血性中风风险,并且导致心力衰竭后预后更差 — 无论传统的心血管风险因素如何。

该状况包括由造血干细胞中的体细胞突变引起的外周血突变白细胞。随着人口老龄化的增长,越来越多 CHIP 患者将前往心血管医生处就诊。

就使用 CHIP 筛查、评估和管理患者的最佳方法,仍存在一些疑问。我们和其他癌症研究中心的同事们一起,最近在《美国心脏病学会杂志》上发表了一篇论文。我们在论文中对 CHIP 进行了说明,回顾了一些临床问题,为 CHIP 患者的心血管风险管理提供了一些合理化建议,并重点说明了当前需要进一步研究的知识缺口。 (1)

不确定潜能的克隆性造血

随着人类年龄的增长,造血干细胞可以获得特定基因的体细胞突变,并在外周血中分化成突变白细胞的克隆。突变克隆的概率随着年龄的增长而增加:到 70 岁时,10-20% 的个体携带有至少 2% 变异等位基因部分的白细胞克隆。 (2) (3)随着年龄的增长,CHIP 患病率持续上升,这表明突变是由 DNA 修复受损和端粒动力学改变引起的, (4)同时受到环境诱变剂(例如如辐射、烟草烟雾或空气污染物)的影响。 (5)用诱变药物治疗也可能导致特定 CHIP 克隆的产生。 (5), (6),  (7)  

CHIP 并非恶性肿瘤,而是发生白血病的倾向。这种可能性是不确定的,因为大多数有 CHIP 的个体永远不会发展为白血病。白血病需要在同一克隆中获得两个或三个连续突变,每年只有 0.5% 到 1% 的 CHIP 携带者会发生这种罕见的突变。 (8)最近研究发现,大多数 CHIP 病例是由 DNMT3ATET2ASXL1PPM1DJAK2TP53SF3B1SRSF2 的突变引起的。 (1) 

DNMT3ATET2JAK2 中的突变,以及 U2AF1SRSF2,以及 IDHI1/2TP53 剪接体基因,有向急性髓系白血病 (AML) 转化的较高风险。 (9) (10) (11)此外,发生 AML 的风险因突变的基因而异:TP53U2AF1 中的突变具有发生 AML 或骨髓增生异常综合征的更高风险,而 DNMT3A 的突变和 TET2 上的突变则风险较低。 (12) 

CHIP 并非恶性肿瘤,而是白血病发展的倾向。这种可能性是不确定的,因为大多数有 CHIP 的个体永远不会发展为白血病。
Robert Sidlow Head, Division of Survivorship and Supportive Care; Associate Chair, Patient Care Operations

目前 CHIP 的诊断标准如下:缺乏明确的血液肿瘤形态学证据;不符合阵发性睡眠性血红蛋白尿、意义不明的单克隆丙种球蛋白病 (MGUS) 或单克隆 B 细胞淋巴细胞增多症的诊断标准;存在与血液癌症相关的体细胞突变,其变异等位基因分数至少为 2%;每年发展为显性癌的几率约为 0.5%-1%,与 MGUS 相似。 (8) 

返回到頂部

CHIP 和心血管风险

在对一系列人群采用全外显子组测序的研究中发现,携带 CHIP 的个体心血管事件和因心脏病发作及中风死亡的患病率较高。最近的数据也表明,携带 CHIP 的心脏病发作幸存者具有死亡率增加和较差的心力衰竭结局。 (13), (14)

在细胞培养物和小鼠中的实验证据表明,CHIP 与心血管事件之间存在直接的因果关系。 (3)然而,其作用机制似乎根据不同的突变而不同。JAK2 突变似乎增强了斑块的形成 (15) (16);而 TET2 突变与促炎介质表达增强相关。 (17), (18)

这些实验结果具有潜在的转化意义。目前已经批准用抑制活性的 IL-1b(抑制炎症小体产品)或 IL-6(IL-1 诱导的多能促炎细胞因子)治疗人类的策略。 (19)JAK1/2 抑制剂 ruxolitinib 已获批用于治疗原发性骨髓纤维化和真性红细胞增多症。其他 JAK 抑制剂正处于后期开发阶段。

返回到頂部

临床问题

我们是否应该像筛查其他心血管风险因素(例如高血压和高脂血症)那样,对广泛人群中是否存在 CHIP 进行常规筛查?我们是否应该仅筛查 65 岁以上的成年人或没有传统风险因素的心血管疾病 (CVD) 患者?

在确定 CHIP 后,我们应该如何检测和监测患者的心血管危险因素?是否所有的 CHIP 患者都应该接受心脏检查以确定动脉粥样硬化或心肌缺血?哪些心脏或血管成像策略可以帮助我们监测患者?癌症患者和携带 CHIP 的幸存者的管理是否应当与非癌症患者不同?

随着基因组测序变得越来越普遍,在癌症患者和其他健康人群中,越来越多患者将被确定携带 CHIP。具备降低心血管风险专业知识的临床医生必须准备好解决这些问题,尽管缺乏可用的临床数据来指导疾病管理。 

返回到頂部

管理 CHIP 心血管风险的建议

为解决与 CHIP 相关的 CVD 提高的风险,我们为所有 CH 患者提供心脏病专家或内科专家的咨询服务。目前,缺乏旨在降低与 CHIP 相关的心血管风险的数据和循证建议。此外,在传统的心血管风险模型中 CHIP 仍然是未知领域。在获得此类数据之前,首选的管理策略是针对个体进行风险评估和咨询,以提升患者的意识,并通过采用与指南相一致的一级和二级心血管预防措施来缓解总体心血管风险。

我们对传统的心血管危险因素进行了全面评估,包括吸烟、早发动脉粥样硬化家族史、高血压、糖尿病、慢性炎症性疾病和血脂异常。所有患者均接受收缩压和舒张压测量、体格检查(包括体重指数)和血脂检查,包括 LDL、甘油三酯、高密度脂蛋白、超敏 C 反应蛋白、血红蛋白 A1c 和空腹血糖检测。我们使用 ASCVD 算法计算心脏病或卒中的 10 年风险,并在恰当情况下计算终生风险,并根据 ACC/AHA 指南指导进一步的非药物和药物干预。在中等风险患者中,通常推荐使用计算机断层扫描推导出的冠状动脉钙化评分,以便对亚临床动脉粥样硬化疾病进行评估,并协助进一步的风险分层。

我们非常重视 ACC/AHA 的生活方式建议,特别是每周至少进行 150 分钟的累积中等强度有氧运动或每周 75 分钟的高强度有氧运动(或中等强度运动和剧烈活动的等效组合)。我们鼓励心脏健康性饮食,鼓励摄入蔬菜、水果、全谷类、低脂乳制品、家禽、鱼类、豆类、非热带植物油和坚果,并限制摄入甜食、含糖饮料和红肉。

根据最近的临床试验,阿司匹林在一级预防中的应用受到相当严格的审查,通常我们不推荐将阿司匹林用于 CHIP 受试者。考虑到携带 JAK2 V617F 突变的 CHIP 患者的 CVD 风险升高以及阿司匹林在骨髓增殖性肿瘤血栓预防中的既定作用,阿司匹林在 CH 初级预防中的特殊作用对于此类 CHIP 患者尤为显著。因此,临床研究必须解决这一关键问题。

返回到頂部

MSK 推进护理和研究计划的举措

2012 年,Ross Levine 和 MSK 的研究人员在全球首次确定了克隆性造血的遗传基础以及其与血癌的联系。2018 年 1 月,MSK 为克隆性造血患者开设了一家新的诊所,我们继续监测异常患者的血液学参数。此外,考虑到与 CHIP 相关的心血管风险,我们在 MSK 建立了一个以 CHIP 为中心的新型预防性心脏病学诊所,如上所述;旨在对这些患者进行全面评估和管理。 

MSK 的 Levine 实验室的研究专注于增强人们对髓系恶性肿瘤遗传原因的认识。这项工作包括对于疾病的详细阐明和建模,包括从干细胞到克隆性造血,然后到骨髓恶性肿瘤的转化。 

一项新的 MSK 临床试验正在评估有氧运动对克隆性造血患者以及携带循环肿瘤 DNA 风险较高的患者的影响,这些患者接受过 III 期或 IV 期乳腺癌或 III 期结肠癌治疗。研究人员将研究每周步行 5 次、每周总共步行约 300 分钟的运动对血液中生物标志物的影响。 

返回到頂部

需要更进一步的研究

迫切需要更多有关 CHIP 及其与心血管疾病相关性方面的研究。关于 CHIP 的突出问题包括不同原因的突变在 CVD 的类型、表现和严重程度上是否不同,常见的 CHIP 突变应该接受标准管理策略还是不同的管理策略来降低心血管风险。

我们与文中提到的同事们一起,希望建立一个携带 CHIP 的个人多中心登记库,以收集基因、临床和影像数据,并且我们计划对登记者长期跟踪。我们希望登记库会提供一个数据库,用于前瞻性队列分析和招募临床试验参与者,以测试新的干预措施。

返回到頂部

Robert Sidlow 和 Dipti Gupta 得到了美国国家卫生研究院/国家癌症研究所癌症中心支持基金的支持 (P30 CA008748)。

Levine 博士也得到了该基金的部分支持 (P30 CA008748)。他曾任 Qiagen 监事会成员;曾担任 Loxo Oncology、Imago、C4 Therapeutics 和 IsoPlexis 的科学顾问并持有股权;曾获得 Celgene 和 Roche 的研究支持并担任顾问;曾获得 Prelude Therapeutics 的研究支持;曾为 Incyte、诺华、Astellas Pharma、MorphoSys 和 Janssen 提供咨询服务;并曾获得礼来和安进的特邀演讲酬金,以及 Gilead Sciences 的评审酬金。

  1. Libby P, Sidlow R, Lin AE, et al. Clonal hematopoiesis: Crossroads of aging, cardiovascular disease, and cancer: JACC Review Topic of the Week. J Am Coll Cardiol. 2019;74(4):567–577.

  2. Busque L, Buscarlet M, Mollica L, Levine RL. Concise review: Age-related clonal hematopoiesis: Stem cells tempting the devil. Stem Cells. 2018;36: 1287–94.

  3. Jaiswal S, Natarajan P, Silver AJ, et al. Clonal hematopoiesis and risk of atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease. N Engl J Med. 2017;377:111–21.

  4. Aviv A, Levy D. Hemothelium, clonal hematopoiesis of indeterminate potential, and atherosclerosis. Circulation. 2019;139:7–9.

  5. Coombs CC, Zehir A, Devlin SM, et al. Therapy-related clonal hematopoiesis in patients with non-hematologic cancers is common and associated with adverse clinical outcomes. Cell Stem Cell. 2017;21:374#82 e4.

  6. Wong TN, Miller CA, Jotte MRM, et al. Cellular stressors contribute to the expansion of hematopoietic clones of varying leukemic potential. Nat Commun. 2018;9:455.

  7. Loh P-R, Genovese G, Handsaker RE, et al. Insights into clonal haematopoiesis from 8,342 mosaic chromosomal alterations. Nature. 2018; 559:350–5.

  8. Steensma DP, Bejar R, Jaiswal S, et al. Clonal hematopoiesis of indeterminate potential and its distinction from myelodysplastic syndromes. Blood. 2015;126:9–16.

  9. Abelson S, Collord G, Ng SWK, et al. Prediction of acute myeloid leukaemia risk in healthy individuals. Nature. 2018;559:400–4.

  10. Desai P, Mencia-Trinchant N, Savenkov O, et al. Somatic mutations precede acute myeloid leukemia years before diagnosis. Nat Med. 2018;24: 1015–23.

  11. Sellar RS, Jaiswal S, Ebert BL. Predicting progression to AML. Nat Med. 2018;24:904–6.

  12. Abelson S, Collord G, Ng SWK, et al. Prediction of acute myeloid leukaemia risk in healthy individuals. Nature. 2018;559:400–4.

  13. Dorsheimer L, Assmus B, Rasper T, et al. Association of mutations contributing to clonal hematopoiesis with prognosis in chronic ischemic heart failure. JAMA Cardiol. 2019;4:25–33.

  14. Libby P, Jaiswal S, Lin AE, Ebert BL. CHIPping away at the pathogenesis of heart failure. JAMA Cardiol. 2019;4(1):5–6.

  15. Wang W, Liu W, Fidler T, et al. Macrophage inflammation, erythrophagocytosis, and accelerated atherosclerosis in Jak2V617F mice. Circ Res. 2018;123:e35–47.

  16. Libby P, Molinaro R, Sellar Rob S, Ebert Benjamin L. Jak-ing up the plaque’s lipid core…and even more. Circ Res. 2018;123:1180–2.

  17. Fuster JJ, MacLauchlan S, Zuriaga MA, et al. Clonal hematopoiesis associated with TET2 deficiency accelerates atherosclerosis development in mice. Science. 2017;355:842–7.

  18. Sano S, Oshima K, Wang Y, Katanasaka Y, Sano M, Walsh K. CRISPR-mediated gene editing to assess the roles of Tet2 and Dnmt3a in clonal hematopoiesis and cardiovascular disease. Circ Res. 2018;123:335–41.

  19. Libby P. Interleukin-1 beta as a target for atherosclerosis therapy: biological basis of CANTOS and beyond. J Am Coll Cardiol. 2017;70: 2278–89.

Rise of the Mutant Clones: A Newly Recognized Risk Factor for CVD

Share
Print
scientific image

Up to 20 percent of people over the age of 70 have clonal hematopoiesis of indeterminate potential (CHIP), a condition that carries twice the risk of coronary heart disease and ischemic stroke, and worse outcomes after heart failure — independent of traditional cardiovascular risk factors.

The condition consists of mutant leukocytes that arise in peripheral blood from somatic mutations in hematopoietic stem cells. As the aging population grows, more patients with CHIP will present to cardiovascular specialists.

Questions remain about the best approaches for screening, assessing, and managing patients with CHIP. Together with our colleagues at other cancer research centers, we recently published a paper in the Journal of the American College of Cardiology. We explain CHIP, review the clinical questions, provide reasonable recommendations for managing cardiovascular risk in patients with CHIP, and highlight current knowledge gaps that require further research. (1)

Clonal Hematopoiesis of Indeterminate Potential

As humans age, hematopoietic stem cells can acquire somatic mutations in specific genes and differentiate into clones of mutated leukocytes in peripheral blood. The probability of having mutant clones increases with age: By the age of 70, 10 to 20 percent of individuals harbor leukocyte clones with a variant allele fraction of at least 2 percent. (2), (3)The consistent rise in the prevalence of CHIP with age suggests that the mutations are caused by impaired DNA repair and altered telomere dynamics, (4)as well as by environmental mutagens, such as radiation, tobacco smoke, or air pollutants. (5)Treatment with mutagenic drugs can also lead to the development of particular CHIP clones. (5), (6),  (7) 

CHIP is not a malignancy: It is a predisposition toward the development of leukemia. The potential is indeterminate since most individuals with CHIP will never develop leukemia. Leukemia requires the acquisition of two or three successive mutations in the same clone, a rare occurrence that arises in only 0.5 to 1 percent of CHIP carriers per year. (8)Recent studies have identified that most cases of CHIP are caused by mutations in DNMT3A, TET2, ASXL1, PPM1D, JAK2, TP53, SF3B1, and SRSF2(1) 

Mutations in DNMT3A, TET2, JAK2, and spliceosome genes — such as U2AF1 and SRSF2, and IDHI1/2 and TP53 — have a higher risk of transitioning to acute myeloid leukemia (AML). (9), (10), (11)Further, the risk of developing AML varies based on the gene that is mutated: Mutations in TP53 and U2AF1 confer a higher risk of AML or myelodysplastic syndromes, whereas mutations in DNMT3A and TET2 are associated with a lower risk. (12) 

CHIP is not a malignancy: It is a predisposition toward the development of leukemia. The potential is indeterminate since most individuals with CHIP will never develop leukemia.
Robert Sidlow Head, Division of Survivorship and Supportive Care; Associate Chair, Patient Care Operations

The current diagnostic criteria for CHIP is as follows: the absence of definitive morphological evidence of a hematological neoplasm; does not meet diagnostic criteria for paroxysmal nocturnal hemoglobinuria, monoclonal gammopathy of unknown significance (MGUS), or monoclonal B cell lymphocytosis; the presence of a somatic mutation associated with hematological cancer with a variant allele fraction of at least 2 percent; and the odds of progression to overt cancer at about 0.5 to 1 percent per year, similar to MGUS. (8) 

Back to top

CHIP and Cardiovascular Risk

A series of population studies using whole-exome sequencing revealed that individuals with CHIP had a high prevalence of cardiovascular events and deaths due to heart attack and stroke. Recent data has also shown that heart attack survivors with CHIP had increased mortality and worse heart failure outcomes. (13), (14)

Experimental evidence in cell cultures and mice suggests there is a direct causal relationship between CHIP and cardiovascular events. (3)However, the mechanisms of action appear to vary by mutation. JAK2 mutations seem to enhance the formation of plaque, (15), (16)whereas TET2 mutations are associated with enhanced expression of pro-inflammatory mediators. (17), (18)

These experimental findings have potential translational implications. There are approved strategies for treating humans with antibodies that inhibit active IL-1b, a product of the inflammasome, or IL-6, a pluripotent pro-inflammatory cytokine induced by IL-1. (19)The JAK1/2 inhibitor ruxolitinib has received approval for the treatment of primary myelofibrosis and polycythemia vera. Other JAK inhibitors are in late-stage development.

Back to top

Clinical Questions

Should we routinely screen broad populations for the presence of CHIP as we do for other cardiovascular risk factors, like hypertension and hyperlipidemia? Should we only screen adults over the age of 65 or patients with cardiovascular disease (CVD) who do not have traditional risk factors?

After identifying CHIP, how should we test and monitor patients for cardiovascular risk factors? Should all individuals with CHIP undergo cardiac testing to identify atherosclerosis or myocardial ischemia? What cardiac or vascular imaging strategies might help us monitor patients? Should cancer patients and survivors with CHIP be managed differently from those without cancer?

As genome sequencing becomes more prevalent, in both patients with cancer and other healthy populations, an increasing number of patients with CHIP will be identified. Clinicians with expertise in cardiovascular risk reduction will have to be ready to address these questions, despite the inadequacy of available clinical data to guide management.  

Back to top

Recommendations for Managing Cardiovascular Risk in CHIP

To address the increased risk of CVD associated with CHIP, we offer all our patients with CH a consultation with a cardiologist or internal medicine specialist. Currently, there is a lack of data and evidence-based recommendations targeted to decrease CHIP-associated cardiovascular risk. Furthermore, it remains unaccounted for in the traditional cardiovascular risk models, and until such data is available, the preferred management strategy is individualized risk assessment and counseling to generate awareness among patients and mitigating the overall cardiovascular risk by employing guideline-concordant primary and secondary cardiovascular prevention.

We perform a thorough assessment of traditional cardiovascular risk factors, including tobacco use, family history of premature atherosclerosis, hypertension, diabetes mellitus, chronic inflammatory diseases, and dyslipidemia. All patients undergo systolic and diastolic blood pressure measurement, physical examination (including body mass index), and a lipid panel, including LDL, triglycerides, high-density lipoprotein, high-sensitivity C-reactive protein, hemoglobin A1c, and fasting glucose. We calculate ten-year risk and, when appropriate, the lifetime risk of heart disease or stroke using the ASCVD algorithm, and we use this to guide further nonpharmacologic and pharmacologic interventions per the ACC/AHA guidelines. In patients at intermediate risk, a computed tomography–derived coronary artery calcium score is often recommended to assess for subclinical atherosclerotic disease and aid in further risk stratification.

We emphasize the ACC/AHA lifestyle recommendations, specifically to engage in at least 150 minutes of accumulated moderate-intensity aerobic physical activity per week or 75 minutes of vigorous-intensity aerobic physical activity per week (or an equivalent combination of moderate and vigorous activity). We encourage a heart-healthy diet, encouraging the intake of vegetables, fruits, whole grains, low-fat dairy products, poultry, fish, legumes, and nontropical vegetable oils and nuts and the limitation of sweets, sugar-sweetened beverages, and red meat.

The use of aspirin in primary prevention has come under considerable scrutiny in light of recent clinical trials, and we do not routinely recommend aspirin use in CHIP subjects. The specific role of aspirin in primary prophylaxis in CH is particularly salient in CHIP patients with JAK2 V617F mutations, given their heightened risk of CVD and the established role of aspirin in thromboprophylaxis in myeloproliferative neoplasms. Thus, there is an imperative for clinical studies to address this critical question.

Back to top

MSK Initiatives to Advance Care and Research

Ross Levine and researchers at MSK were the first to identify the genetic basis of clonal hematopoiesis and its connection to blood cancers in 2012. MSK opened a new clinic for people with clonal hematopoiesis in January 2018, and we continue to monitor hematologic parameters in patients with the abnormality. In addition, given the cardiovascular risk associated with CHIP, we established a novel CHIP-centric preventive cardiology clinic at MSK, as noted; it aims to comprehensively assess and manage these patients.  

Research in the Levine lab at MSK focuses on improving the understanding of the genetic causes of myeloid malignancies. The work includes elucidating and modeling the transformation from stem cells to clonal hematopoiesis and then to myeloid malignancies. 

A new clinical trial at MSK is evaluating the effect of aerobic exercise in patients with clonal hematopoiesis as well as in patients who have a higher risk of harboring circulating tumor DNA — those who have received treatment for stage III or IV breast cancer or stage III colon cancer. Researchers will investigate the impact of walking up to five times weekly for about 300 minutes total per week on biomarkers in the blood. 

Back to top

More Research Required

There is an urgent need for more research about CHIP and its association with cardiovascular disease. Outstanding questions about CHIP include whether different causal mutations vary in type, presentation, and severity of CVD, and whether common CHIP mutations should receive the standard or different management strategies to lower cardiovascular risk.

Together with our colleagues on the paper, we are hoping to establish a multicenter registry of individuals with CHIP to collect genetic, clinical, and imaging data, and we plan to follow registrants over the long term. We hope that the registry will provide a database for prospective cohort analyses and for recruiting clinical trial participants to test novel interventions.

Back to top

Robert Sidlow and Dipti Gupta are supported by a National Institutes of Health/National Cancer Institute Cancer Center Support Grant (P30 CA008748).

Dr. Levine is also supported in part by that grant (P30 CA008748). He has been a member of the supervisory board of Qiagen; has been a scientific adviser to and holds equity interest in Loxo Oncology, Imago, C4 Therapeutics, and IsoPlexis; has received research support from and been a consultant for Celgene and Roche; has received research support from Prelude Therapeutics; has consulted for Incyte, Novartis, Astellas Pharma, MorphoSys, and Janssen; and has received honoraria from Lilly and Amgen for invited lectures and from Gilead Sciences for grant reviews.

  1. Libby P, Sidlow R, Lin AE, et al. Clonal hematopoiesis: Crossroads of aging, cardiovascular disease, and cancer: JACC Review Topic of the Week. J Am Coll Cardiol. 2019;74(4):567–577.

  2. Busque L, Buscarlet M, Mollica L, Levine RL. Concise review: Age-related clonal hematopoiesis: Stem cells tempting the devil. Stem Cells. 2018;36: 1287–94.

  3. Jaiswal S, Natarajan P, Silver AJ, et al. Clonal hematopoiesis and risk of atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease. N Engl J Med. 2017;377:111–21.

  4. Aviv A, Levy D. Hemothelium, clonal hematopoiesis of indeterminate potential, and atherosclerosis. Circulation. 2019;139:7–9.

  5. Coombs CC, Zehir A, Devlin SM, et al. Therapy-related clonal hematopoiesis in patients with non-hematologic cancers is common and associated with adverse clinical outcomes. Cell Stem Cell. 2017;21:374#82 e4.

  6. Wong TN, Miller CA, Jotte MRM, et al. Cellular stressors contribute to the expansion of hematopoietic clones of varying leukemic potential. Nat Commun. 2018;9:455.

  7. Loh P-R, Genovese G, Handsaker RE, et al. Insights into clonal haematopoiesis from 8,342 mosaic chromosomal alterations. Nature. 2018; 559:350–5.

  8. Steensma DP, Bejar R, Jaiswal S, et al. Clonal hematopoiesis of indeterminate potential and its distinction from myelodysplastic syndromes. Blood. 2015;126:9–16.

  9. Abelson S, Collord G, Ng SWK, et al. Prediction of acute myeloid leukaemia risk in healthy individuals. Nature. 2018;559:400–4.

  10. Desai P, Mencia-Trinchant N, Savenkov O, et al. Somatic mutations precede acute myeloid leukemia years before diagnosis. Nat Med. 2018;24: 1015–23.

  11. Sellar RS, Jaiswal S, Ebert BL. Predicting progression to AML. Nat Med. 2018;24:904–6.

  12. Abelson S, Collord G, Ng SWK, et al. Prediction of acute myeloid leukaemia risk in healthy individuals. Nature. 2018;559:400–4.

  13. Dorsheimer L, Assmus B, Rasper T, et al. Association of mutations contributing to clonal hematopoiesis with prognosis in chronic ischemic heart failure. JAMA Cardiol. 2019;4:25–33.

  14. Libby P, Jaiswal S, Lin AE, Ebert BL. CHIPping away at the pathogenesis of heart failure. JAMA Cardiol. 2019;4(1):5–6.

  15. Wang W, Liu W, Fidler T, et al. Macrophage inflammation, erythrophagocytosis, and accelerated atherosclerosis in Jak2V617F mice. Circ Res. 2018;123:e35–47.

  16. Libby P, Molinaro R, Sellar Rob S, Ebert Benjamin L. Jak-ing up the plaque’s lipid core…and even more. Circ Res. 2018;123:1180–2.

  17. Fuster JJ, MacLauchlan S, Zuriaga MA, et al. Clonal hematopoiesis associated with TET2 deficiency accelerates atherosclerosis development in mice. Science. 2017;355:842–7.

  18. Sano S, Oshima K, Wang Y, Katanasaka Y, Sano M, Walsh K. CRISPR-mediated gene editing to assess the roles of Tet2 and Dnmt3a in clonal hematopoiesis and cardiovascular disease. Circ Res. 2018;123:335–41.

  19. Libby P. Interleukin-1 beta as a target for atherosclerosis therapy: biological basis of CANTOS and beyond. J Am Coll Cardiol. 2017;70: 2278–89.