Что нужно знать о тесте на антитела к COVID-19 людям, больным раком?

Русский
Share
Print
Тобиас Холь, глава инфекционного отделения Memorial Sloan Kettering

Специалист по инфекционным заболеваниям Тобиас Холь рассказал, что тестирование на антитела помогает экспертам оценить, у какого процента населения развился иммунитет к вирусу.

Тесты на антитела к COVID-19 начинают играть важную роль в выявлении людей, перенесших инфекцию, а также в оценке распространения заболевания. Мы попросили Тобиаса Холя, главу инфекционного отделения Memorial Sloan Kettering, объяснить, что эти тесты значат для больных раком и для общества в целом.

Как работают тесты на антитела к COVID-19?

Обнаружив инфекцию, тело человека вырабатывает различные виды антител. Используемые сейчас тесты на антитела к COVID-19 обнаруживают антитела IgG, которые развиваются через 1–2 недели после заражения и остаются в организме в течение нескольких месяцев или даже лет. Тесты на антитела работают лучше всего, если их проводить через несколько недель после восстановления от тяжело перенесенной инфекции COVID-19. Когда у пациента впервые появляются симптомы, антитела к вирусу SARS-CoV-2, вызывающему COVID-19, могут еще не появиться.

Важно понимать, что тесты на антитела определяют иммунный ответ человека на инфекцию. Другие анализы на COVID-19 проверяют наличие самого вируса. Такие анализы могут показать, что человек инфицирован, но не покажут, среагировал ли на вирус иммунитет.

Вернуться к началу

Что означает положительный тест на антитела к COVID-19?

Это означает, что скорее всего человек заразился COVID-19, и его организм выработал иммунный ответ. Тесты на антитела не идеальны, они имеют точность от 80 % до 90 %. Кроме того, мы пока не знаем наверняка, означает ли наличие антител, что вы защищены от заражения в будущем. Большинство инфекционистов считают, что пациенты получат частичный, а возможно и полный иммунитет на неизвестный период. Сейчас проводятся исследования, которые позволят узнать точнее. Мы не хотим, чтобы люди с положительным результатом теста на антитела думали, что они неуязвимы, и отказывались от мытья рук, социального дистанцирования и других мер, ограничивающих распространение инфекции.

Information for Patients and Caregivers
Learn about our response to COVID-19 and our updated policies to protect our patients and staff.
Вернуться к началу

Столкнутся ли люди, больные раком, с какими-нибудь проблемами при прохождении теста на антитела к COVID-19?

Для человека, больного раком, не опасно проходить тест на антитела — это просто анализ крови. Люди с раком крови и костного мозга, например, лимфомой, миеломой или лейкемией, могут не выработать достаточное количество антител против вируса COVID-19. Это связано с тем, что такой рак часто лечат лекарствами, которые убивают лейкоциты, в том числе вырабатывающие антитела. Ученые в MSK и других центрах пытаются выяснить, нарушена ли у таких пациентов выработка антител к COVID-19. Если это так, то тест на антитела не будет работать. Что касается людей с солидными опухолями, такими как рак груди, легких и толстой кишки, мы не считаем, что лечение рака существенно ухудшит выработку антител или повлияет на тест на антитела.

Как правило, мы не проводим химиотерапию, когда у пациента развивается активная инфекция. Это касается и COVID-19. Мы откладываем химиотерапию и даем пациенту время на выздоровление. Как только он или она поправится, мы рекомендуем как можно скорее возобновить лечение. Мы также не думаем, что наличие антител к COVID-19 повлияет на эффективность лечения рака.

Вернуться к началу

Могу ли я пройти тест на антитела к COVID-19 в MSK?

Мы в первую очередь помогаем текущим пациентам и сотрудникам. Они могут пройти у нас тест на антитела к COVID-19, но количество тестов ограничено. Остальные желающие сейчас могут пройти тест на антитела к COVID-19 платно, и я надеюсь, что в ближайшие месяцы тесты станут более доступными. Поговорите со своим лечащим врачом о том, следует ли делать тест.

Вернуться к началу

Какую роль играет тест на антитела в сдерживании распространения инфекции COVID-19?

С точки зрения общественного здравоохранения, мы хотим, чтобы достаточная доля населения была невосприимчивой к вирусу, чтобы он больше не мог распространяться и постепенно исчез. Это называется «коллективный иммунитет». Добиться коллективного иммунитета можно двумя способами: подождав, пока достаточно людей подвергнется воздействию вируса и выздоровеет, и разработав вакцину против COVID-19. По мнению многих медицинских специалистов, если около двух третей населения станут невосприимчивыми к вирусу COVID-19 в результате вакцинации или воздействия вируса, то вирус, скорее всего, исчезнет, потому что не сможет найти достаточно новых уязвимых носителей для поддержания цепи передачи.

Тестирование на антитела поможет понять, насколько мы близки к коллективному иммунитету, узнав процент населения, у которого результаты тестов положительны.Мы все еще далеки от коллективного иммунитета. Вот почему так важно продолжать делать все возможное, чтобы ограничить распространение вируса.


23 сентября 2020 г.

Вернуться к началу

What Should People with Cancer Know about COVID-19 Antibody Tests?

English
Share
Print
Tobias Hohl, Chief of Memorial Sloan Kettering’s Infectious Diseases Service

Infectious disease specialist Tobias Hohl says antibody testing helps experts estimate what percentage of the population may have developed immunity to a virus.

Tests for COVID-19 antibodies are beginning to play a role in determining who has had the infection as well as calculating the prevalence of the disease. We asked Tobias Hohl, Chief of Memorial Sloan Kettering’s Infectious Diseases Service, to explain what these tests mean for people with cancer and the general public.

How do COVID-19 antibody tests work?

Humans make different types of antibodies in response to an infection. The COVID-19 antibody tests being used now look for IgG antibodies, which develop one to two weeks after infection and stay present in the body for months or years. The antibody tests work best if given several weeks after someone has recovered from severe COVID-19 illness. Antibodies to the SARS-CoV-2 virus — which causes COVID-19 — may not yet be present when a patient first has symptoms.

It’s important to understand that antibody tests detect a person’s immune response to an infection. Other COVID-19 tests look for the presence of the virus itself. Those tests can tell you if someone has been infected but not whether there has been an immune response.

Back to top

What does it mean if someone tests positive for COVID-19 antibodies? 

It means there is a pretty high likelihood the person was infected with COVID-19 and that their body mounted an immune response. The antibody tests are not perfect, but they appear to have an accuracy rate of around 80% to 90%. Beyond that, we are unsure whether it means you are protected against infection in the future. Most infectious disease specialists believe patients will be partially immune, if not fully immune, for an unknown period. Research is ongoing to get a clearer picture of this. We don’t want people who test positive for antibodies to think they are invulnerable and abandon handwashing, social distancing, and other measures that limit the spread of infection.

Information for Patients and Caregivers
Learn about our response to COVID-19 and our updated policies to protect our patients and staff.
Back to top

Are there any special issues for people with cancer getting a COVID-19 antibody test?

There is no danger for a person with cancer to be tested for antibodies, which is done from a blood draw. People with cancers of the blood and bone marrow, such as lymphomas, myelomas, and leukemias, may not be able to mount a strong antibody response to the COVID-19 virus. This is because they are often treated with drugs that kill off their white blood cells, including those that make antibodies. At MSK and elsewhere, scientists are studying whether the COVID-19 antibody response is impaired in these patients. If so, the antibody test might not work as well. For people with solid tumors, such as breast, lung, and colon cancers, we generally do not believe that cancer treatments will substantially impair the antibody response or affect the antibody test.

As a rule of thumb, we don’t give treatments like chemotherapy when a patient with cancer has an active infection. This would include COVID-19. We delay chemotherapy to give the patient time to recover. When they are well, we want them to resume their therapy as soon as possible. We also don’t think that the presence of COVID-19 antibodies will interfere with the effectiveness of cancer treatment.

Back to top

How are antibodies useful in treating patients with COVID-19?

MSK is one of many academic centers that has started treating some COVID-19 patients with convalescent plasma. This is plasma — the liquid part of blood — that has been removed from someone who has recovered from an infectious disease such as COVID-19. The plasma contains antibodies against SARS-CoV2.

MSK is conducting a study to offer convalescent plasma to patients with cancer and to measure COVID-19 outcomes in treated patients. At MSK, we’ve treated about 70 patients with convalescent plasma so far, and we are analyzing how patients fared after receiving this experimental therapy.

It's important to understand that antibody tests detect a person's immune response to an infection. Other COVID-19 tests look for the presence of the virus itself.
Tobias M. Hohl infectious disease specialist
Back to top

Can I get COVID-19 antibody testing at MSK?

Our primary obligation is to our patients and employees. Our COVID-19 antibody tests are available to them, but we are limited in the number of tests that can be performed. For those in the general public who are interested, the COVID-19 antibody tests are commercially available now, and I expect they will become easier to access in the next few months. People should speak with their primary care physician about whether they should be tested.

Back to top

What role does an antibody test play in containing COVID-19 infection?

From a public health standpoint, we want to have enough of the population be immune from the virus so that it cannot spread anymore and instead dies out. This is known as herd immunity. There are two ways we can reach herd immunity: through people who have been exposed to the virus and have recovered, and through the development of a COVID-19 vaccine. The view of many health officials is that if about two-thirds of the population becomes immune to the COVID-19 virus due to vaccination or to prior exposure, the virus is likely going to fizzle out because it can’t find enough new vulnerable hosts to maintain a transmission chain.

Antibody testing can help us get an idea of how close we are to herd immunity based on the percentage of the population that tests positive. It also can give us important scientific information as we try to develop a vaccine. We are still a long way from a vaccine or herd immunity. That’s why it’s so important to continue doing what we can to limit its spread. Simple measures like social distancing and handwashing have been very effective so far at containing the COVID-19 virus — especially in New York City.

Back to top