关于即刻淋巴重建 (ILR) 手术

本信息介绍了即刻淋巴重建 (ILR), 也将帮助您了解乳房手术后腋窝淋巴结清扫和 ILR 的预期效果。

返回到頂部

关于淋巴水肿

在腋窝淋巴结清扫过程中切除腋窝淋巴结时,可能会损伤附近的淋巴管。 这会使您的淋巴系统难以正常引流。 如果发生这种情况,淋巴液可能会积聚在您患侧的手臂、手、乳房或躯干中。 患侧是指您身体上淋巴结被切除的一侧。

过多的淋巴液积聚在一个区域会引起肿胀,称为淋巴水肿。 您也可能会感到该部位沉重或疼痛,感染风险较高,或两者同时发生。 淋巴水肿症状可轻可重,严重时可以使该部位变得非常肿大。 有时,术后数月或数年后也不会出现相关症状。

在每 100 例接受腋窝淋巴结清扫的患者中,约有 15 至 25 例发生淋巴水肿。 每 100 人中约有 75 至 85 人不会发生淋巴水肿。 如果您在该部位接受过放射治疗,则发生淋巴水肿的风险可能会增加。

淋巴水肿无法治愈,但有治疗方法,如按摩和加压衣物。 加压衣物是能够对身体某个部位施加压力以帮助缓解肿胀的一类衣服。

有关淋巴水肿的更多信息,请阅读资源 乳腺癌相关淋巴水肿的常见问题

返回到頂部

关于 ILR

ILR 是一种重建受损淋巴管的手术,可帮助淋巴液从该部位引流排出。 这可以降低您发生淋巴水肿的几率。 乳腺外科医生完成腋窝淋巴结清扫后,您的整形外科医生将在您的乳房手术期间实施 ILR 手术。 该手术通常耗时不到 1 小时。

您不需要遵循任何额外的步骤来准备接受乳房手术。

ILR 手术期间

首先,您的整形外科医生会找到受损的淋巴管。 为此,他们会注射一种绿色染料。 它将进入您的手指和您患侧手腕下侧之间的空隙。 染料将通过您的淋巴管,使其更容易被看到。

当您的整形外科医生看到受损的淋巴管后,他们会将其与附近的静脉连接起来(见图 1)。 这样淋巴液可以从该部位引流排出。

图 1. 将受损淋巴管与静脉连接

图 1. 将受损淋巴管与静脉连接

ILR 手术后,您的外科医生将照常完成您的乳房手术。

ILR 手术后前 2 周

您的乳腺外科医生将在乳房手术和腋窝淋巴结清扫后为您提供护理指导。 请遵循他们的指导和以下说明。

图 2. 手臂呈 45 度

图 2. 手臂呈 45 度

  • 避免压迫或给腋窝淋巴结清扫部位施加任何压力。
    • 选择穿着不会压迫该部位的宽松衣物。
    • 请勿在胸罩中使用大量纱布或衬垫。 您的医疗团队成员将向您展示安全的使用量。
  • 患侧手臂抬高不要超过 45 度。 您可以通过将手放在髋部来体会 45 度有多高(见图 2)。 您可以伸直肘部,但请勿将手臂抬高超过这个高度。
  • 乳房手术后,请遵循乳腺外科医生的指导进行活动范围练习。 他们会为您提供资源 乳房切除术后的锻炼。 请记住,当您进行练习时,请勿将患侧手臂抬高超过 45 度。
  • 如果腋窝开始出现积液,请立即联系乳腺外科医生。 该液体可能会引起小的、确定部位的肿胀(如高尔夫球大小)或较大部位的肿胀。 您的医疗团队成员将告知您相关注意事项。

手术后,您的尿液以及手指之间和手腕下的皮肤可能会变色。 这是因为整形外科医生注射了染料。 这种颜色会在几天内褪色。

ILR 手术后 2 周开始

从术后 2 周开始,您无需再遵循任何活动范围限制。 您可以将手臂抬高 45 度以上。 如果您的乳腺外科医生为您提供其他指导说明,请遵循相应说明。

返回到頂部

上次更新時間

About Your Immediate Lymphatic Reconstruction (ILR) Procedure

This information explains immediate lymphatic reconstruction (ILR). It also will help you know what to expect after your breast surgery with axillary lymph node dissection and ILR.

Back to top

About Lymphedema

When lymph nodes in your armpit (axilla) are removed during your axillary lymph node dissection, nearby lymphatic vessels can be damaged. This can make it hard for your lymphatic system to drain properly. If this happens, lymphatic fluid can build up in your arm, hand, breast, or torso on your affected side. Your affected side is the side of your body where your lymph nodes were removed.

When too much lymphatic fluid builds up in an area, it causes swelling called lymphedema. You may also feel heaviness or pain in the area, have a higher risk for infections, or both. Lymphedema symptoms can be mild or severe (strong) enough to make the area grow very large. Sometimes, symptoms don’t develop for months or years after surgery.

Out of every 100 people who have an axillary lymph node dissection, about 15 to 25 people develop lymphedema. About 75 to 85 out of every 100 people don’t develop lymphedema. If you’ve had radiation therapy in the area, your risk of developing lymphedema may be higher.

There’s no cure for lymphedema, but there are treatments, such as massage and compression garments. Compression garments are pieces of clothing that squeeze an area of your body to help with swelling.

For more information about lymphedema, read the resource Common Questions about Breast Cancer-Related Lymphedema.

Back to top

About ILR

ILR is a procedure to rebuild damaged lymphatic vessels to help lymphatic fluid drain from an area. This can lower your chance of developing lymphedema. Your plastic surgeon will do your ILR procedure during your breast surgery after your breast surgeon finishes your axillary lymph node dissection. It usually takes less than an hour.

You don’t need to follow any extra steps to get ready for your breast surgery.

During your ILR procedure

First, your plastic surgeon will find the damaged lymphatic vessels. To do this, they’ll inject (give you a shot of) green dye. It’ll go in the space between your fingers and the underside of your wrist on your affected side. The dye will travel through your lymphatic vessels so they’re easier to see.

Once your plastic surgeon sees the damaged lymphatic vessels, they’ll connect them to a nearby vein (see Figure 1). This lets the lymphatic fluid drain from the area.

Figure 1. Connecting a damaged lymphatic vessel to a vein

Figure 1. Connecting a damaged lymphatic vessel to a vein

After your ILR procedure, your surgeon will finish your breast surgery as usual.

For the first 2 weeks after your ILR procedure

Your breast surgeon will give you instructions for caring for yourself after your breast surgery and axillary lymph node dissection. Follow their instructions and the instructions below.

Figure 2. Your arm at 45 degrees

Figure 2. Your arm at 45 degrees

  • Avoid compressing or putting pressure on the area of your axillary lymph node dissection.
    • Choose loose clothing that doesn’t compress the area.
    • Don’t use large amounts of gauze or padding in your bra. A member of your care team will show you how much is safe to use.
  • Don’t raise your affected arm more than 45 degrees. You can find how high 45 degrees is by placing your hand on your hip (see Figure 2). You can straighten your elbow, but don’t raise your arm past this height.
  • Follow your breast surgeon’s instructions for doing range of motion exercises after breast surgery. They’ll give you the resource Exercises After Your Mastectomy. Remember not to raise your affected arm more than 45 degrees while you’re doing them.
  • If fluid starts to collect in your armpit, call your breast surgeon right away. The fluid may cause swelling in a small, defined area (like a golf ball) or puffiness in a larger area. A member of your care team will tell you what to look out for.

Your urine (pee) and the skin between your fingers and under your wrist might be discolored after your procedure. This is from the dye your plastic surgeon injected. The color will fade over a few days.

Starting 2 weeks after your ILR procedure

Starting 2 weeks after your surgery, you don’t need to follow any range of motion restrictions. You can raise your arm above 45 degrees. If your breast surgeon gives you other instructions, follow their instructions instead.

Back to top

Tell us what you think

Tell us what you think

Your feedback will help us improve the information we provide to patients and caregivers. We read every comment, but we're not able to respond. If you have questions about your care, contact your healthcare provider.
 

Questions Yes Somewhat No

Last Updated