使用组织扩张器进行乳房重建

分享
阅读时间: 约 12 分钟

本信息介绍了在使用组织扩张器进行乳房切除术伴乳房重建手术后如何护理的相关事宜。 它还能帮助您为组织扩张手术过程做好准备。 乳房切除术是一种切除乳房的手术。

本信息旨在对您与医疗保健提供者进行的讨论作出补充,而非取代它。 其中一些信息可能并不适用于您。 如果您有任何问题,请随时咨询您的整形外科医生或护士。

使用组织扩张器和永久性植入物进行乳房重建的相关介绍

组织扩张器是一种空的乳房植入物。 乳房切除术期间,外科医生将放置组织扩张器。 乳房切除术伴乳房重建的住院时间通常不超过 24 小时。 这意味着手术当天您即可出院回家。

放置组织扩张器后,您的外科医生会在 6-8 周内将它的内部注满液体或空气。 当它变大时,会拉伸周围的组织,为永久性乳房植入物创造空间。 如需了解更多信息,请阅读“组织扩张期间的预期情况”部分。

当组织扩张器达到您同意的乳房尺寸时,外科医生就会停止填充组织扩张器, 随后用永久性乳房植入物来代替。 如需了解更多信息,请阅读“组织扩张完成后”部分。

放置组织扩张器

以下是放置组织扩张器的 2 种方式:

  • 肌下置入:您的外科医生会将扩张器放置在您胸部的胸大肌之下。 他们会在肌肉下制作一个囊袋,并在囊袋内放置一个组织扩张器。 

    如果您的组织扩张器放置在肌肉下方,它的内部将注满液体。 经历乳房切除术后,您的皮肤会变得非常脆弱。 您的肌肉可以作为皮肤和组织扩张器之间的屏障。 当皮肤愈合时,可以帮助您减轻扩张器给皮肤带来的压力。
  • 胸肌前置入:如果采用这种方式,您的外科医生会将扩张器放置在您胸部的胸大肌之上。 他们还会在扩张器周围放置一个补片,即脱细胞真皮基质。 皮肤愈合时,补片将帮助支撑扩张器。 随着时间的推移,您的身体会吸收该补片, 无需取出。 

    如果您的组织扩张器放置在肌肉上方,它的内部将首先被注满空气而不是液体。 经历乳房切除术后,您的皮肤会变得非常脆弱。 因为空气的密度比水小,所以在皮肤第一次愈合时,空气对皮肤的压力较小。 手术后约 2 周,您的外科医生会把组织扩张器里的空气换成液体。

您的外科医生将在术前咨询时与您讨论如何放置组织扩张器。

乳房切除术与组织扩张器放置手术后的预期情况

手术后,您将在麻醉复苏室 (PACU) 或恢复室里醒来。 如果您的手术在 Josie Robertson 手术中心 (JRSC) 进行,您将在自己的病房里醒来。 您身上将连接:

  • 连接静脉 (IV) 管路。 您将通过静脉输注接受液体、抗生素和止痛药。
  • 每个切口(手术切口)下方或附近的小型塑料引流管,即Jackson-Pratt®(JP) 引流管。 这些引流管会收集手术后切口附近产生的液体。 引流管会用缝线(缝针)进行固定,且最常在术后留置 1-2 周。

PACU 护士将会解答您遇到的任何问题。

JP 引流管

当您住院时,您的护士和护理助理将负责护理您的 JP 引流管。 您的护士将教您在家如何护理引流管。 他们还会为您提供资源Jackson-Pratt 引流管的护理

引流管将在手术后 1-2 周移除。

切口

手术后,我们会使用敷料(绷带)来覆盖乳房切除术的切口。 敷料可选用普通纱布或带有透明胶带的纱布。 同时也会使用手术胸罩将敷料固定在适当位置。

我们将使用体内缝线(缝针)缝合乳房切口。 这些缝线将会逐渐溶解,无需取出。 在覆盖切口的纱布垫上,您可能会看到一些红色血丝和轻微的血渍。 切口周围也可能有压痛感和一些淤血。 这是正常现象。

乳房切除术后,重建的乳房可能小于您术前的乳房尺寸。 这是因为组织扩张器在放置时仅进行了部分填充。 出院回家前,在护士更换敷料时观察和感受胸部和切口。 这将帮助您熟悉这个过程。 您或许能够感觉到用于填充皮下组织扩张器的输液港。 这是正常现象。

疼痛和感觉

手术后您会有一些不适感。 切口四周可能有刺痛感。 引流部位可能会发痒。 您也可能会感到下胸腔四周有一些压痛。 随着时间的推移,这些情况会慢慢好转。 您可以在需要时服用止痛药和肌肉松弛剂。出院时,我们会给您提供这些药物。 控制好疼痛将有助于您更好地恢复和尽快下地活动。

手术后可能产生的其他常见感觉包括:

  • 患侧手臂下方和胸部上方的麻木感。 患侧是指您接受手术的一侧。
  • 患侧手臂发热(有温度)。
  • 患侧手臂或胸部有水滴落的感觉。

这些是由于手术期间神经被切断或移动所致。 随着时间的推移,这些情况会慢慢好转,但一定程度的麻木感可能是永久性的。

居家护理

当您离开医院时,您的切口将覆盖着纱布垫。 术后 24-48 小时(1-2 天)纱布垫上有一些染色是正常现象。 如果您发现切口出现渗出液(液体),请致电您的医生办公室。

您需要每天 24 小时穿戴手术胸罩,直至医生给出其他指示。 淋浴前请将手术胸罩取下。

淋浴

术后 48 小时(2 天)内,请勿淋浴或弄湿敷料。 术后 48 小时后,您可以全身淋浴或进行腰部以下的淋浴。 请遵循外科医生的指示淋浴。 下面列出了一些指引。

  • 当您开始淋浴后,您可以每天淋浴一次,以保持切口清洁。
  • 在淋浴之前,脱掉手术胸罩并取下覆盖切口的纱布垫。
  • 请首先用背部或手检查水温。 手术部位的麻木感可能会妨碍您感受温度。
  • 请用温水和温和的无香型香皂清洗。 轻轻清洁切口和引流部位。 冲洗干净。
  • 请勿将水流对准重建的乳房。 将水流对准上背部或手臂。 让水轻轻流过您重建的乳房。
  • 用干净的毛巾轻拍切口位置。 请勿揉搓。

您的医疗保健提供者将在手术后 1-2 周移除引流管。 在移除引流管后 24-48 小时(1-2 天),请勿弄湿敷料, 包括淋浴。 您的外科医生会告诉您在多长时间内避免弄湿敷料。

在移除引流管后 24-48 小时,您可以全身淋浴。 请遵循外科医生的指示。

在您的切口和引流部位未完全愈合之前,请勿进行盆浴。 这是因为盆浴可能会增加感染的风险。 手术后约 6-8 周,您可以开始进行盆浴。 在进行盆浴前,请先咨询您的医生。

检查切口和引流部位

淋浴后,请仔细观察切口和引流部位。 您可以在光线明亮的房间内照镜子观察。 如果您发现以下任何一种情况,请致电您的整形外科医生或护士:

  • 发热≥100.4℉ (38.0 ℃)
  • 乳房发红情况加重
  • 乳房肿胀加重
  • 切口出现新的渗出液
  • 严重瘀血
  • JP 引流管中每小时的血性引流液量大于 30 毫升 (mL)

检查完切口和引流部位后,请在切口上放置一个干净的纱布垫。 戴上手术胸罩。

剃毛

手术后约 2 周,您可以剃除腋毛。 只在患侧使用电动剃须刀。 请仅使用电动剃须刀剃除患侧腋下的毛发, 割伤后可能会导致感染。

除臭剂

请在穿戴胸罩后使用除臭剂。 这有助于防止您的切口沾染除臭剂,避免发生感染。

如果患侧皮肤破损,请勿在患侧使用除臭剂。

首次随访

您的首次随访将安排在手术后 1-2 周进行。 您的整形外科医生的护士将在您手术后致电给您,了解您的恢复情况。 他们还会安排随访。

在此次随访期间,您的整形外科医生和护士将检查您的乳房切口,以确保其愈合良好。 如果您出院回家时还未移除 JP 引流管,那么,您的医疗保健提供者会将其移除。

  • 如果组织扩张器被放置在您的肌肉下方,那么,当连续 2 天出现每天的引流量少于 30 mL(1 液盎司)的情况时,您的医疗保健提供者会将 JP 引流管移除。
  • 如果组织扩张器放置在您的肌肉上方,则 JP 引流管至少在 2 周后才会被移除。 引流量的多少并没有什么区别。

随访前请务必淋浴。 在引流部位愈合之前,您无法再进行淋浴。 引流部位最常在移除引流管后 24-48 小时(1-2 天)愈合。

JP 引流管移除

根据大多数人的描述,引流管移除时会出现持续几分钟的轻微拉扯或刺痛感。 在移除引流管的过程中,您无需服用止痛药。

引流管移除后,引流部位可能仍会渗出一些液体。 使用无菌纱布垫或护士给您的 Primapore 敷料覆盖该部位。 如果纱布和敷料被浸透,请更换它们。 此时,引流部位通常已经愈合。 在引流部位完全愈合之前,请勿淋浴。

引流管移除后,请继续穿戴手术胸罩或您自己的支撑胸罩。 您的胸罩应该:

  • 穿着舒适。
  • 不能太紧。
  • 无钢圈。

您的医生也可能会让您在引流部位放置厚纱布垫增加压迫。 这是为了防止皮下积液。

组织扩张期间的预期情况

在第二次或第三次门诊访视时,您将接受第一次组织扩张。

  • 如果您的组织扩张器放置在肌肉下方,您的护士会通过输液港将液体注入。 他们会用一个小针头。
  • 如果您的组织扩张器放置在肌肉上方并且里面有空气,您的护士会把空气排出。 他们会把空气换成液体。
  • 如果您的组织扩张器放置在肌肉上方并且里面有液体,您的护士会注入更多液体。

您将大约每周或每隔一周预约一次组织扩张访视。 组织扩张手术只需要几分钟。 每次扩张后,重建的乳房都会变大。 直到置入永久性植入物以后,您的乳房才会形成最终的形状。

在两次组织扩张手术之间的阶段如何减轻不适

每次扩张后,您可能会感到乳房有些紧绷和发胀。 您在肩膀或背部还可能会有些不适感。 这种情况最常会在几天内好转。

扩张后,您的胸部可能会出现酸痛感,就像您运动后一样。 以下提供了一些在两次组织扩张手术之间的阶段减轻不适的方法:

  • 每天洗几次温水澡,帮助放松肌肉。
  • 服用非处方药(购买时无需处方的药物),如对乙酰氨基酚 (Tylenol®) 或布洛芬 (Advil®)。
  • 在乳房皮肤上涂抹无香型保湿剂(如 Eucerin® 或 Lubriderm®)。 术后 6 周内或结痂完全愈合前,请勿将保湿剂直接涂抹在切口处。
  • 按照护士的指示做手臂和肩部练习。 他们会给您一份附有说明的书面资源。 您也可以在 乳房切除术或乳房重建后的锻炼 上找到在线书面资源。 淋浴后,您可能会发现做这些伸展更容易,因为此时您的肌肉更松弛。
  • 穿戴柔软的支撑胸罩。 请勿穿着带钢圈的胸罩。

日常活动

每次组织扩张后,您可以继续进行正常活动。 愈合过程中请遵循以下指南,确保安全,避免不适。

  • 您可以在访视后数小时内返回岗位,以及做一些轻松的家务。
  • 手术后 6 周内,患侧手臂不得抬起重量超过 5 磅(2.3 千克)的物体, 包括抱起宠物和儿童。
    • 请与您的乳腺外科医师确认手术期间切除了多少个淋巴结。 这可能会改变您抬举物体的限制。
  • 接受其他影像学检查(如骨扫描、计算机断层扫描 (CT) 或 x 射线检查)是安全的。 在某些情况下,接受磁共振成像 (MRI) 扫描也是安全的。 具体取决于您需要 MRI 的原因。 如果您有任何疑问,请与您的医疗团队讨论,或发送电子邮件至 [email protected]
  • 组织扩展器可能会触发机场安全警报装置。 如果您计划旅行,请告知您的保健提供者。 他们会给您一封信,说明您的胸部植入了医疗器械。 旅行时请随身携带。
  • 请勿在泳池、浴缸或热水浴缸中浸泡,除非您的医疗保健提供者告知您此类行为是安全的。 这是为了降低切口受到刺激或感染的风险。
  • 相比身体其他部位,手术部位的知觉可能会下降。 请勿使用加热垫或进行热敷或冷敷。 这是为了防止皮肤灼伤或损伤。

运动

  • 在医生告诉您安全之前,术后约 4-6 周内请勿剧烈运动。 例如,不要慢跑、跳跃或跑步。
  • 避免进行任何类型的会收紧胸部肌肉的运动。 请咨询您的医疗保健提供者您何时可以再次进行这种类型的运动。

驾驶

  • 当您的患侧肩部活动自如,并且未服用任何处方止痛药时,您可以驾驶车辆。
  • 驾驶汽车长途旅行时,如果安全带直接接触组织扩张器所在的部位,请在安全带上加上衬垫。 虽然如此,但切勿选择不系安全带,系上安全带非常重要。

穿衣小贴士

组织扩张器可能会过度扩张。 如果您只有一侧乳房接受了手术,当扩张手术快结束时,重建的乳房看起来可能比另一侧乳房更大。

在乳房重建的不同阶段,您可以在胸罩中加上衬垫,帮助平衡外观。 使用柔软的乳房状填充物是填充胸罩的一种方法。 乳房状填充物是一种轻质尼龙袋。 您可以通过添加或取出里面的棉绒来改变尼龙袋的大小以匹配另一侧的乳房。 当您的乳房在扩张过程中逐渐变大时,这种方法尤其有效。

您可以从 Evelyn H. Lauder 乳腺和影像中心 (BAIC) 的乳房用品店 (Breast Boutique) 购买乳房状填充物。 乳房用品店的地址是第 2 大道东 66 大街 300 号。 如需了解更多信息,请致电 646-888-5330

您也可以用软纱布填充您的胸罩。 您可以从您的护士那里领取纱布。 请每天更换纱布,确保其始终保持洁净。

其他一些穿衣小贴士包括穿着:

  • 宽松的衬衣、上衣和毛衣
  • 在宽松的敞开式衬衣、上衣、毛衣里面穿着黑色针织上衣
  • 具有对角线条纹或非对称印刷图案的上衣
  • 围巾或披肩
  • 纽扣式宽松连衣裙
  • 长袍

组织扩张完成后

置换手术

组织扩张器达到合适的尺寸后,我们将安排您进入乳房重建的下一阶段。 在这一阶段,外科医生将使用永久性乳房植入物取代组织扩张器。 这个过程被称为置换手术。

如果您没有接受化疗或放射治疗,您可以在组织扩张完成后约 6 到 8 周进行此项手术。 如果您目前正在接受化疗或放射治疗,您需要等到治疗结束后。

在置换手术期间,您的外科医生会使用与您的乳房切除术相同的切口。 他们将取出组织扩张器并植入您与整形外科医生一起选择的永久性乳房植入物。 置换手术每侧大约需要 1 小时。 如果需要对您的另一侧乳房实施匹配手术,使其与重建乳房的大小和形状相匹配,则需要花费更长的时间。

当您从麻醉(手术期间让您入睡的药物)中恢复后,就可以出院回家。 手术当天即可出院,通常是术后 3-4 个小时。

乳头重建和脂肪移植

重建的最后一个阶段包括乳头重建和脂肪移植(如需要)。 脂肪移植是指从您身体的一个部位取出脂肪,注入您的乳房区域, 以改善乳房区域的形状。 脂肪最常取自大腿、腹部(肚子)或乳房。 更多信息,请阅读Fat Injection After Breast Reconstruction

关于乳头重建

有些人希望接受乳头重建手术,重新塑造乳头和乳晕。 该手术最常在永久性植入物置入后 2-4 个月进行。 乳头和乳晕重建的方式有以下几种:

  • 3D 乳头和乳晕纹身。 在该手术中,医生助理会为您纹身,帮助您重新塑造乳头和乳晕。 纹身不会凸起, 但有颜色和阴影,所以看起来就像一个天然的乳头。 更多信息,请阅读 About Your Nipple and Areola Tattoo Procedure: What You Should Know
  • 乳头和乳晕重建。 在该手术中,外科医生将使用您的乳房皮肤来重建您的乳头。 有时,外科医生将通过皮肤移植来重建您的乳晕。 皮肤移植是指在手术中将组织从身体的一个部位转移到另一个部位。 提取组织的地方叫做供体部位。 接受组织的地方叫做受体部位。 乳晕重建手术可以在手术室或您的外科医生办公室完成。 更多信息,请阅读使用皮肤移植进行乳头和乳晕重建
  • 这两种手术的混合。

根据您的皮肤和重建类型,3D 纹身可能是您进行乳头和乳晕重建的唯一可选方式。 您可以与您的外科医生讨论哪种方式适合您。

上次更新时间

星期四, 十二月 30, 2021

请告诉我们您的想法

请告诉我们您的想法

您的反馈有助于我们改进所提供的教育信息。 您的医疗团队将无法看到您在本反馈表中填写的任何内容。 请勿通过反馈表表达您的医疗需求。 如果您对自己接受的医疗服务有任何疑问,请联系您的医疗保健提供者。

我们会阅读所有反馈,但不会回答任何问题。 请勿在本反馈表中填写您的姓名或任何个人信息。

Questions 有点
请勿输入您的姓名或任何个人信息。

Breast Reconstruction Using a Tissue Expander

This information explains how to care for yourself after your mastectomy with breast reconstruction using a tissue expander. It will also help you get ready for the tissue expansion process. A mastectomy is a surgery to remove your breast.

This information is meant to add to, not replace, discussions with your healthcare providers. Some of the information may not apply to you. Be sure to ask your plastic surgeon or nurse if you have any questions.

Back to top

About Breast Reconstruction Using a Tissue Expander and Permanent Implant

A tissue expander is an empty breast implant. Your surgeon will place it during your mastectomy. The usual hospital stay after a mastectomy with breast reconstruction is less than 24 hours. That means you may go home the same day as your surgery.

Once your tissue expander is in place, your surgeon will fill it with liquid or air over about 6 to 8 weeks. As it gets bigger, it will stretch the tissue around it to make space for a permanent breast implant. For more information, read the section “What to Expect During Tissue Expansion.”

Your surgeon will stop filling your tissue expander when it reaches the breast size you agreed on. They’ll replace it with a permanent breast implant. For more information, read the section “After You Finish Your Tissue Expansion.”

Placing your tissue expander

There are 2 ways to place your tissue expander:

  • Submuscular placement is when your surgeon places the expander under your large pectoralis muscle in your chest. They will make a pocket under the muscle and place your tissue expander in that space.

    If your tissue expander is under your muscle, it will be filled with liquid. Your skin is very weak and fragile after your mastectomy. Your muscle is a barrier between your skin and the tissue expander. It helps take the pressure from the expander off your skin when it’s healing.
  • Prepectoral placement is when your surgeon places the expander over your large pectoralis muscle in your chest. They will also place a mesh called acellular dermal matrix around the expander. The mesh will help support the expander while your skin is healing. Over time, your body will absorb the mesh. It will not need to be removed.

    If your tissue expander is over your muscle, it may first be filled with air instead of liquid. Your skin is very weak and fragile after your mastectomy. Because air is less dense than water, it will put less pressure on your skin when it’s first healing. Your surgeon will replace the air in your tissue expander with liquid about 2 weeks after your surgery.

Your surgeon will talk with you about how your tissue expander will be placed during your presurgical consultation.

Back to top

What to Expect After Your Mastectomy and Tissue Expander Placement Surgery

After your surgery, you’ll wake up in the Post-Anesthesia Care Unit (PACU) or recovery room. If your surgery is at the Josie Robertson Surgery Center (JRSC) you’ll wake up in your own room. You’ll have:

  • An intravenous (IV) line. You’ll get fluids, antibiotics, and pain medication through your IV.
  • Small plastic drains, called Jackson-Pratt® (JP) drains, below or near each incision (surgical cut). These collect fluid from around your incisions after surgery. They’ll be secured with a suture (stitch) and most often stay in place for 1 to 2 weeks after surgery.

Your PACU nurses will answer any questions you have.

JP drain(s)

Your nurses and nursing assistants will care for your JP drains while you’re in the hospital. Your nurses will teach you how to care for them at home. They’ll also give you the resource Caring for Your Jackson-Pratt® Drain.

Your drains will be removed 1 to 2 weeks after your surgery.

Incisions

After your surgery, you’ll have a dressing (bandage) over your mastectomy incision. The dressing will have either plain gauze or gauze with clear tape. It will be held in place by a surgical bra.

The incision across your breast will be closed with sutures (stitches) placed inside your body. These sutures will dissolve and do not need to be removed. You may see some redness and slight bloodstains on the gauze pad over your incision. You may also feel tenderness and have some bruising around the incision. This is normal.

Right after your mastectomy, your reconstructed breast(s) may be smaller than your breast(s) were before surgery. This is because your tissue expander is only partly filled when it’s placed. Before you go home, look at and feel your breast and incision when your nurse is changing your dressing. This will help you become familiar with it. You may be able to feel the port that’s used to fill your tissue expander under your skin. This is normal.

Pain and sensations

You’ll have some discomfort after your surgery. You may have a stinging feeling along your incision. Your drain site(s) may itch. You may also feel some tenderness along your lower ribcage. These feelings will get better over time. You can take pain medication and a muscle relaxer when you need it, You’ll get these when you’re discharged from the hospital. Controlling your pain will help you recover better and become active as soon as possible.

Other common feelings you may have after your surgery are:

  • Numbness under your arm and over your chest on the affected side. Your affected side is the side of your surgery.
  • Warmth in your arm on the affected side.
  • A feeling of water trickling down your arm or chest on your affected side.

These are caused by nerves being cut or moved during your surgery. They’ll slowly get better over time, but some amount of numbness may be permanent.

Back to top

Caring for Yourself at Home

When you leave the hospital, your incision will be covered with a gauze pad. It’s normal to see some staining on the gauze pad for 24 to 48 hours (1 to 2 days) after surgery. If you see drainage (liquid) coming from your incision, call your doctor’s office.

Wear your surgical bra 24 hours a day until your doctor gives you other instructions. Take it off when you shower.

Showering

Do not shower or get your dressing wet for the first 48 hours (2 days) after your surgery. After the first 48 hours, you may be able to take a full shower or shower from your waist down. Follow your surgeon’s instructions for how to shower. Some guidelines are listed below.

  • When you start showering, take a shower every day to help keep your incision clean.
  • Take off your surgical bra and the gauze pad over your incision before you get in the shower.
  • Check the temperature of the water first with your back or hand. Numbness may keep you from feeling heat in the affected area.
  • Wash with warm water and gentle, fragrance-free soap. Gently clean your incisions and drain sites. Rinse well.
  • Do not aim the shower stream at your reconstructed breast. Aim it at your upper back or your arm. Let the water run softly over your reconstructed breast.
  • Pat your incisions dry with a clean towel. Do not rub them.

Your healthcare provider will remove your drains 1 to 2 weeks after your surgery. Do not get your dressing wet for 24 to 48 hours (1 to 2 days) after your drains are removed. This includes taking a shower. Your surgeon will tell you how long to avoid getting it wet.

You can take a full shower 24 to 48 hours after your drains are removed. Follow your surgeon’s instructions.

Do not take tub baths until your incisions and drain sites are fully healed. Soaking in a tub may raise the risk of infection. You may be able to take tub baths about 6 to 8 weeks after your surgery. Talk with your doctor before you do.

Check your incisions and drain sites

After your shower, look at your incisions and drain site(s) carefully. To do this, stand in front of a mirror in a room with good lighting. Call your plastic surgeon or nurse if you have any of these:

  • A fever of 100.4 °F (38.0 °C) or higher
  • Increased redness of your breast
  • Increased swelling of your breast
  • New drainage from your incision
  • Bad bruising
  • More than 30 milliliters (mL) of bloody drainage in your JP drains per hour

When you finish checking your incisions and drain site, place a clean gauze pad over your incision. Put on your surgical bra.

Shaving

You can shave under your arms about 2 weeks after your surgery. Only use an electric razor on your affected side. This is to prevent getting a cut, which you may not feel due to numbness. A cut could lead to an infection.

Deodorant

Do not use deodorant until after you put your bra on. This will keep it from getting on your incision and causing an infection.

Do not use deodorant on your affected side if there is any break in the skin there.

Back to top

First Follow-up Visit

Your first follow-up visit will be 1 to 2 weeks after your surgery. Your plastic surgeon’s nurse will call you after your surgery to see how you’re recovering. They’ll also schedule your follow-up visit.

During this visit, your plastic surgeon and nurse will check your breast incision to make sure it’s healing well. If you went home with a JP drain(s), your healthcare provider may remove one or more of them.

  • If your tissue expander(s) were placed below your muscle, your healthcare provider will remove your JP drain if it has less than 30 mL (1 fluid ounce) of drainage per day for 2 days in a row.
  • If your tissue expander(s) were placed above your muscle, you’ll likely have your JP drain(s) for at least 2 weeks. The amount of drainage does not make a difference.

Make sure to shower before this visit. You will not be able to shower again until after your drain site(s) heal. This is most often 24 to 48 hours (1 to 2 days) after your drain(s) are removed.

JP drain removal

Most people describe the drain removal as a slight pulling or stinging feeling that lasts only a few minutes. You will not need to take pain medication for the drain removal process.

After your drain(s) are removed, some liquid may still leak from the drain site(s). Cover the area with a sterile gauze pad or the Primapore dressing your nurse gave you. Change your gauze and dressing if they become damp. By that time, the drain sites are most often healed. Do not shower until your drain site are fully healed.

After the drain(s) is removed, keep wearing the surgical bra or your own supportive bra. It should:

  • Be comfortable.
  • Not be too tight.
  • Not have an underwire.

Your doctor may also have you place thick gauze pads over your drain sites for extra compression. This is to keep fluid from building up under your skin.

Back to top

What to Expect During Your Tissue Expansions

During your second or third office visit, you’ll have your first tissue expansion.

  • If your tissue expander is under your muscle, your nurse will inject liquid into it through the port. They’ll use a small needle.
  • If your tissue expander is over your muscle and has air in it, your nurse will remove the air. They’ll replace the air with liquid.
  • If your tissue expander is over your muscle and has liquid in it, your nurse will add more.

You’ll have a tissue expansion visit about every week or every other week. The tissue expansion procedure only takes a few minutes. Your reconstructed breast will get bigger after each expansion. It will not take its final form until the permanent implant is placed.

How to be more comfortable between tissue expansions

After each expansion, you may feel some tightness and fullness in your breast. You may also have some discomfort in your shoulder or back. This most often gets better within a few days.

After your expansion your chest may be sore, like after you have exercised. Here are some things you can do to be more comfortable between tissue expansions:

  • Take a few warm showers a day to help relax your muscles.
  • Take over-the-counter pain medications (medication you buy without a prescription), such as acetaminophen (Tylenol®) or ibuprofen (Advil®).
  • Use a fragrance-free moisturizer (such as Eucerin® or Lubriderm®) on your breast skin. Do not put it right on your incision for 6 weeks after your surgery or until the scabbing has fully healed.
  • Do the arm and shoulder exercises your nurse tells you to do. They’ll give you a written resource with instructions. You can also find the written resources online at www.mskcc.org/pe/exercises_after_mastectomy. You may find it easier to do these stretches after you shower since your muscles will be more relaxed.
  • Wear soft, supportive bras. Do not wear underwire bras.

Daily activities

You can keep doing your normal activities after each tissue expansion. Follow these guidelines while you heal to stay safe and comfortable.

  • You can go back to work and do light housekeeping a few hours after your visit.
  • Do not lift anything heavier than 5 pounds (2.3 kilograms) with your affected arm for 6 weeks after your surgery. This includes lifting pets and children.
    • Check with your breast surgeon to see how many lymph nodes were removed during your surgery. This may change your lifting restrictions.
  • Do not have magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) done while your tissue expander is in place. This is because your tissue expander has a metal port. You can have other imaging tests, such as a bone scan, computed tomography (CT) scan, or x-rays.
  • Your tissue expander may set off airport security devices. Tell your healthcare provider if you plan to travel. They will give you a letter that says you have a medical device in your chest. Bring this letter when you travel.
  • Do not soak in a pool, bathtub, or hot tub until your healthcare provider tells you it’s safe. This is to lessen your risk of irritation or infection at your incision.
  • Your surgical sites may have less feeling than other parts of your body. Do not use a heating pad or hot or cold compress on them. This is to prevent burning or damaging your skin.

Exercising

  • Avoid strenuous exercise for about 4 to 6 weeks after surgery unless your doctor tells you it’s safe. For example, do not jog, jump, or run.
  • Avoid any type of exercise that will tighten or bulk your chest muscles. Talk with your healthcare provider about when you can start doing this type of exercise again.

Driving

  • You can drive when you have full range of motion in your shoulder on your affected side and are not taking any prescription pain medication.
  • When traveling a long distance by car, pad your seat belt if it falls right over your tissue expander. It’s important to wear your seat belt, so do not skip wearing it.

Clothing tips

Your tissue expander may be over-expanded. If you only had surgery on 1 of your breasts, your reconstructed breast may look bigger than your other breast as you near the end of the expansion process.

During the different stages of your breast reconstruction, you can pad your bra to help balance your appearance. One way to fill your bra is to use a soft breast form. A breast form is a lightweight nylon pouch. You can change the size to match your other breast by adding or taking out the cotton fluff inside. This is especially useful as your breast mound gets bigger during expansion.

You can buy a breast form from the Breast Boutique at the Evelyn H. Lauder Breast and Imaging Center (BAIC). The Breast Boutique is at 300 East 66th Street, at Second Avenue. For more information, call 646-888-5330.

You can also line your bra with soft gauze. You can get the gauze from your nurse. Replace the gauze every day to make sure it’s always clean.

Some other clothing tips include wearing:

  • Loose blouses, tops, and sweaters
  • Dark knit tops under a looser open blouse, sweater, or blazer
  • Tops with diagonal stripes or asymmetrical prints
  • A neck scarf or shawl
  • Button-up, loose-fitting dresses
  • Robes
Back to top

After You Finish Your Tissue Expansion

Exchange surgery

Once your tissue expander reaches the right size, the next stage of your breast reconstruction will be scheduled. This stage is the surgery to replace your tissue expander with a permanent breast implant. This is called the exchange surgery.

If you are not getting chemotherapy or radiation therapy, you can have this surgery about 6 to 8 weeks after finishing your tissue expansion. If you are getting chemotherapy or radiation therapy, you will need to wait until after you finish your treatment.

During your exchange surgery, your surgeon will use the same incisions (surgical cuts) from your mastectomy. They’ll remove your tissue expander and replace it with the permanent breast implant you choose with your plastic surgeon. Your exchange surgery will take about 1 hour for each side. If a matching procedure is done on your other breast so it matches your reconstructed breast’s size and shape, it takes more time.

You’ll be able to go home once you’ve recovered from anesthesia (medication to make you sleep during surgery). This will be the same day as your surgery, most often about 3 to 4 hours after surgery.

Nipple reconstruction and fat grafting

The last stages of reconstruction include nipple reconstruction and fat grafting, if needed. Fat grafting is when fat is taken from a part of your body and injected into your breast area. It’s done to improve your breast area’s shape. The fat is most often taken from your thighs, abdomen (belly), or breast. For more information, read Fat Injection After Breast Reconstruction.

About nipple reconstruction

Some people also want to have nipple reconstruction to recreate their nipple and areola. This procedure is most often done 2 to 4 months after the permanent implant is placed. Options for nipple and areola reconstruction are:

  • 3D nipple and areola tattoo. In this procedure, a physician assistant will recreate your nipple and areola by giving you a tattoo. The tattoo will not be raised. It will have color and shading to make it look like a natural nipple. For more information, read About Your Nipple and Areola Tattoo Procedure .
  • Nipple and areola reconstruction. In this procedure, your nipple will be reconstructed using your breast skin. Sometimes, your areola will be reconstructed using a skin graft. A skin graft is when tissue is moved from one part of your body to another part during a surgery. The place the tissue is taken from is called the donor site. The place it’s moved to is called the recipient site. Areola reconstruction can be done either in the operating room or in your surgeon’s office. For more information, read Nipple and Areola Reconstruction Using a Skin Graft.
  • A blend of these 2 procedures.

Depending on your skin and type of reconstruction, 3D tattooing may be your only option for nipple and areola reconstruction. Talk with your surgeon about which option is right for you.

Back to top

Tell us what you think

Tell us what you think

Your feedback will help us improve the information we provide to patients and caregivers. We read every comment, but we're not able to respond. If you have questions about your care, contact your healthcare provider.
 

Questions Yes Somewhat No

Last Updated