姑息性全脑放射治疗

分享
阅读时间: 约 2 分钟

本信息介绍了在姑息性全脑放射治疗的模拟治疗过程中可能发生的情况。 还介绍了治疗期间可能发生的情况,以及您可能会出现的副作用。

模拟治疗

图 1. 用于全脑放射治疗的模具示例

图 1. 用于全脑放射治疗的模具示例

模拟治疗(也称为定位或计划阶段)是用于规划放射治疗所进行的一个程序。 其目的是定位治疗部位,确保您获得正确的放射剂量,并限制附近组织接受的辐射量。

在模拟治疗过程中,我们可能会为您的面部和头部制作一个塑料网格模具(见图 1)。 您将在模拟治疗和所有正式治疗过程中使用该模具,以帮助您保持静止,并确保您的头部每次均处于相同位置。 戴上模具后,您仍能看到事物并听到声音。 模具的制作大约需要 15 分钟。

取下皮肤上的医疗设备

您可能在皮肤上佩戴了某些医疗设备。 在进行模拟或治疗前,医疗设备制造商建议您取下:

  • 连续血糖监测仪 (CGM)
  • 胰岛素泵

如果您使用其中一种,请询问您的放射肿瘤医生是否需要将其取下。 如果需要,请确保您有一个额外的设备可在模拟治疗或正式治疗之后佩戴。

您可能不确定如何在不佩戴设备时管理您的血糖。 如果不确定,请在预约前询问治疗您糖尿病的医疗保健服务提供者。

治疗期间

工作人员会带您到放射治疗室。 在那里,放射治疗师将等候您,并帮助您躺在治疗床上(见图 2)。 您将按照模拟治疗时的方式静躺在正确的位置。 然后,您将开始接受治疗。 治疗期间,机器会在您周围以圆圈的方式移动。

图 2. 放射治疗设备示例

图 2. 放射治疗设备示例

根据您的治疗计划,您将在治疗室停留 15 至 90 分钟。 大部分时间都会用来确定您在治疗床上处于正确的位置。 放射治疗师会进出治疗室,但他们能够全程看到您,并听到您的声音。

副作用

治疗期间和治疗后,您可能会出现一些副作用。 一些常见副作用如下。

如果您出现任何副作用,请务必告知您的放射治疗团队成员。 我们会帮助您管理这些情况。

  • 脱发:治疗后约 2-3 周,您的头发和眉毛可能会出现脱落。 治疗结束后 3-6 个月,这些毛发会重新长出。
  • 皮肤反应:治疗后约 2-3 周,您的皮肤可能会变成粉色或古铜色。 继续治疗时,可能会变成鲜红色,也可能变得非常暗。 您可能还会感觉干燥和瘙痒,并干裂起皮。 您可以使用针对干燥皮肤的乳液(如 Eucerin®)帮助保持皮肤湿润。 通过涂抹防晒霜来保护皮肤免受阳光照射也会有所帮助。 这些皮肤反应将在治疗结束后约 3 或 4 周开始逐渐好转。
  • 疲乏:疲乏是感觉疲倦或虚弱、不想做事、注意力无法集中,或反应不再灵敏的一种症状。 疲乏的程度可轻可重。 您可能在治疗后约 2-3 周出现疲乏,且可能会在治疗结束后持续 6 周至 1 年。

请告诉我们您的想法

请告诉我们您的想法

您的反馈有助于我们改进所提供的教育信息。 您的医疗团队将无法看到您在本反馈表中填写的任何内容。 请勿通过反馈表表达您的医疗需求。 如果您对自己接受的医疗服务有任何疑问,请联系您的医疗保健提供者。

我们会阅读所有反馈,但不会回答任何问题。 请勿在本反馈表中填写您的姓名或任何个人信息。

Questions 有点
请勿输入您的姓名或任何个人信息。

上次更新时间

星期三, 一月 6, 2021

Palliative Whole Brain Radiation Therapy

This information explains what to expect during your simulation for palliative whole brain radiation therapy. It also explains what to expect during your treatments and side effects you may have.

Back to top

Simulation

Figure 1. An example of a mold used for whole brain radiation therapy

Figure 1. An example of a mold used for whole brain radiation therapy

Simulation (also called a mapping or planning session) is a procedure to plan your radiation treatments. It’s done to map your treatment site, make sure you get the right dose (amount) of radiation, and limit the amount of radiation that gets to your nearby tissues.

During your simulation, we may make a plastic mesh mold of your face and head (see Figure 1). You’ll use the mold during your simulation and all your treatments to help you stay still and make sure your head is in the same position every time. You’ll be able to see and hear with it on. Making the mold will take about 15 minutes.

Remove devices from your skin

If you wear any of the following devices on your skin, the manufacturer recommends you remove it before your simulation or treatment:

  • Continuous glucose monitor (CGM)
  • Insulin pump

Talk with your radiation oncologist about whether you may need to remove your device before your simulation or treatment. Make sure you have an extra device with you to put on after your simulation or treatment.

If you’re not sure how to manage your glucose while your device is off, talk with the healthcare provider who manages your diabetes care before your appointment.

Back to top

During Your Treatment(s)

A staff member will bring you to the radiation treatment room. There, the radiation therapist will greet you and help you onto the treatment table (see Figure 2). You’ll be positioned exactly how you were during your simulation. Then, you’ll get your treatment. During your treatment, the machine will move in a circle around you.

Figure 2. An example of a radiation therapy machine

Figure 2. An example of a radiation therapy machine

You’ll be in the treatment room for 15 to 90 minutes, depending on your treatment plan. Most of this time will be spent making sure you’re in the right position. The radiation therapist will walk in and out of the room, but they’ll be able to see and hear you the whole time.

Back to top

Side Effects

You’ll probably have some side effects during and after your treatments. Common side effects are listed below.

If you have any side effects, be sure to tell a member of your radiation therapy team. We’ll help you manage them.

  • Hair loss: You’ll probably lose some of the hair on your head and eyebrows about 2 to 3 weeks into your treatment. Your hair should grow back 3 to 6 months after your treatment ends.
  • Skin reactions: Your skin may become pink or tanned about 2 to 3 weeks into your treatment. As you continue treatment, it may become bright red or very dark. It might also feel dry and itchy and look flaky. You can use lotions meant for dry skin (such as Eucerin®) to help keep it moisturized. Protecting it from the sun by wearing sunscreen will also help. These skin reactions will start to gradually get better about 3 or 4 weeks after your treatment ends.
  • Fatigue: Fatigue is a feeling of being tired or weak, not wanting to do things, not being able to concentrate, or feeling slowed down. Fatigue can range from mild to severe. You may develop fatigue about 2 to 3 weeks into your treatment, and it may last for 6 weeks to 1 year after your treatment ends.
Simulation date: _________________________________________
Treatment start date: ______________________________________
Medication instructions: ____________________________________
_____________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________
Back to top

Tell us what you think

Tell us what you think

Your feedback will help us improve the information we provide to patients and caregivers. We read every comment, but we're not able to respond. If you have questions about your care, contact your healthcare provider.
 

Questions Yes Somewhat No

Last Updated