早期乳腺癌治疗后妊娠

本资源对一些关于早期乳腺癌治疗后妊娠的常见问题进行了解答。

每个人的情况都不相同。如果您考虑怀孕,请与您的医疗团队针对您的具体情况讨论最适合您的方案。

乳腺癌治疗后怀孕对我来说是否安全?

虽然乳腺癌治疗后怀孕是安全的,但一些女性担心她们的雌激素水平在怀孕期间升高,进而导致癌症复发。但是,乳腺癌治疗后怀孕的女性发生乳腺癌复发或死亡的风险并没有增加。

治疗后我需要等待多长时间才能尝试怀孕?

很难就在乳腺癌治疗后应该等待多久才能怀孕给出一个确切的答案。您的医生将考虑以下因素,来确定您是否可以开始尝试怀孕:

  • 您在治疗期间服用的药物必须已经从体内清除。 您使用的药物可能会影响未来孩子的健康。有两件事您需要牢记:
    • 化疗可能会导致您的一些卵子发生基因突变(基因发生变化)。这些突变可能会导致从这些卵子中受孕的孩子出现健康问题。您应在完成化疗后等待至少 1 年再尝试怀孕,以便您的身体有充足的时间清除所有受损的卵子。
    • 化疗和其他一些癌症治疗可能会伤害正在发育中的胚胎或胎儿。如果您在接受其中一种治疗期间怀孕,您可能会流产或您的孩子可能会有出生缺陷。每种药物从您的体内清除需要花费不同的时间,因此等待时间将取决于您所接受的治疗类型。
  • 癌症复发的可能性。 应该避免在癌症复发风险最高的时期怀孕。
    • 如果在怀孕期间癌症复发,您的治疗选择可能会因此受限。计划怀孕前等待的时间会因人而异。您需要与您的医生讨论,了解他们建议您应该在尝试怀孕前等待的时间。
  • 内分泌(激素)治疗的需求。
    • 雌激素受体阳性 (ER+) 乳腺癌是乳腺癌的一种,其癌细胞需要雌激素才能生长。内分泌治疗可以阻断雌激素到达肿瘤,从而降低癌症复发的风险。
    • 您需要接受 5 至 10 年的内分泌治疗。我们目前还不了解中断内分泌治疗以尝试怀孕是否会减轻其疗效。中断治疗以尝试怀孕的决定是您的个人选择。您可以与您的医疗保健团队进行讨论,以决定适合您的方式。
    • 停止内分泌治疗后,您需要等待一定的时间才能尝试怀孕。这是为了清除您体内残留的药物。如果您中断内分泌治疗,我们建议您在孩子出生后或停止哺乳后重新开始(接受内分泌治疗)。

在您与您的医疗保健团队讨论制定适合您的计划之前,请采取避孕措施以防止怀孕。铜制的宫内节育器 (IUD) 和避孕套均为不含激素的避孕方式。更多信息,请阅读 性与癌症治疗

如果我的孩子是在我接受乳腺癌治疗后所生育的,那他(们)会有什么健康风险吗?

与未接受癌症治疗的女性所生育的孩子相比,接受过乳腺癌治疗的女性所生育的孩子不会有更高的出生缺陷风险。但是,非常重要的一点是您需要等到医生告诉您可以怀孕后,才能尝试怀孕。您需要等待一段时间再尝试怀孕,直至治疗中使用的所有药物均从您的体内完全清除。

如果我携带与癌症相关的基因突变,我能做些什么来防止将该突变遗传给我未来的孩子?

为了避免将遗传性(从母亲和父亲遗传给孩子)基因突变(如 BRCA1 或 BRCA2)遗传给您的孩子,您可以考虑体外受精 (IVF) 以孕育可检测是否携带该突变的胚胎。在 IVF 期间,您将持续约 10 天服用激素对卵巢进行刺激。然后,我们将取出您的卵子,并与精子受精,以孕育形成胚胎。约 5 天后,我们会从待检测的胚胎中取出一些细胞进行突变检测。这被称为胚胎植入前基因检测 (PGT)。当您准备好可以怀孕时,您可以选择只使用(经检测)未携带突变的胚胎。如果您在治疗前冷冻卵子或胚胎,也可以进行 PGT。IVF 和 PGT 的价格可能会比较昂贵,并且可能不在保险承保范围内。

如果我在治疗前冷冻卵子或胚胎,我应该使用这些卵子或胚胎还是应该尝试自然怀孕?

如果您完成了治疗,您可以尝试自然怀孕(如果您愿意)。如果您在尝试 3 至 4 个月后仍未怀孕,您可能会希望生殖内分泌医生(生育专家)对您的情况进行评估。如果您的卵子供应量较低,那么使用冷冻卵子或胚胎可能会增加成功受孕的机会。

如果您正在中断内分泌治疗,请务必限制您暂停治疗的时间。在这种情况下,您可能希望使用您的冷冻卵子或胚胎,而不是尝试自然怀孕。

如果在我准备好怀孕时已经绝经,该怎么办?

如果您在治疗后出现绝经(月经周期永久结束),您将无法自然怀孕。您需要使用您在治疗前冷冻的卵子或胚胎,或从捐献者处获得卵子。除非您有其他妇科或健康问题,否则您应该能够怀孕。但是,当您绝经时,您的卵巢不会产生使子宫内膜增厚所需的激素,以使其为胚胎植入和生长做好准备。胚胎移植前,您的生育医生将为您开具激素处方。您还需要在移植后继续服用 3 个月的激素,以帮助您成功受孕。

我可以在乳房肿瘤切除术、乳房切除术或乳房放疗后进行哺乳吗?

如果您接受了乳房切除术,那么您将无法通过接受治疗的一侧乳房进行哺乳,因为该侧乳房中产生乳汁的组织已被切除。即使您接受了保留乳头的乳房切除术,情况也是如此。

如果您接受了乳房肿瘤切除术并接受放疗,那么您接受治疗的一侧乳房将无法产生足够的乳汁进行哺乳。但您可以选择另一侧健康乳房进行哺乳。

如果您仅接受乳房肿瘤切除术,您将可以选择任一侧乳房进行哺乳。您的乳汁不会将癌细胞传递给婴儿。

上次更新時間

Pregnancy After Treatment for Early Stage Breast Cancer

This information answers some commonly asked questions about pregnancy after treatment for early stage breast cancer.

Everyone’s situation is different. If you’re thinking about getting pregnant, talk with your healthcare team about what’s best for you.

Is it safe for me to get pregnant after treatment for breast cancer?

While it’s safe to get pregnant after treatment for breast cancer, some women are concerned about their estrogen hormone levels going up during pregnancy, and causing a recurrence (cancer coming back). But, women who get pregnant after treatment for breast cancer don’t have a higher risk of recurrence or death from breast cancer.

How long do I need to wait after treatment before trying to get pregnant?

It’s hard to give an exact length of time to wait before getting pregnant after treatment for breast cancer. These are some of the things your doctor will consider before you can start to try to get pregnant:

  • The medications you took during your treatment need to be cleared from your body. The medications you took may affect the health of your future child. There are 2 things to keep in mind:
    • Chemotherapy can cause genetic mutations (changes in genes) in some of your eggs. These mutations could cause health problems in a child conceived from these eggs. You should wait at least 1 year after completing chemotherapy before trying to get pregnant so your body has time to clear out any damaged eggs.
    • Chemotherapy and some other cancer treatments can harm a growing embryo or fetus. If you become pregnant while on one of these treatments, you may have a miscarriage or your child may have birth defects. Each medication takes a different amount of time to clear from your body, so the amount of time you should wait will depend on the type of treatment that you had.
  • The chance of your cancer coming back. You should avoid getting pregnant during the time you’re at the greatest risk for your cancer coming back.
    • If your cancer comes back while you’re pregnant, your treatment options may be limited. The amount of time to wait before planning to get pregnant is different for everyone. Talk with your doctor to see how long they recommend that you wait before trying to get pregnant.
  • The need for endocrine (hormonal) therapy.
    • Estrogen receptor positive (ER+) breast cancer is a type of breast cancer where the cancer cells need estrogen to grow. Endocrine therapy blocks estrogen from reaching the tumor, reducing the risk that the cancer will come back.
    • You will need endocrine therapy for 5 to 10 years. We don’t know if interrupting endocrine therapy to try to get pregnant will lessen its effect. The decision to interrupt therapy to try to get pregnant is a personal one. Talk with your healthcare team to decide what’s right for you.
    • You will need to wait for a certain period of time after you stop endocrine therapy before you try to get pregnant. This is to clear the medication from your body. If you do interrupt endocrine therapy, we recommend you restart it after your child is born or after you stop breastfeeding.

Use birth control to keep from getting pregnant until you talk with your healthcare team to come up with a plan that works for you. Copper-based intrauterine device (IUD) and condoms are forms of birth control that don’t have hormones. For more information, read our resources Sexual Activity During Cancer Treatment: Information for Women and Sexual Activity During Cancer Treatment: Information for Men.

Are there health risks to children I may have after being treated for breast cancer?

Children born to women who have been treated for breast cancer don’t have a higher risk of birth defects compared to children born to women who didn’t have cancer treatment. But, it’s important to wait until your doctor tells you it’s okay before trying to get pregnant. You will need to wait to get pregnant until all the medications from your treatment are completely cleared from your body.

If I have a genetic mutation associated with my cancer, is there anything I can do to keep from passing the mutation to my future children?

To keep from passing on an inherited (passed from a mother and father to their child) genetic mutation (such as BRCA1 or BRCA2) to your child, you could consider in vitro fertilization (IVF) to create embryos that can be tested for the mutation. During IVF, you will take hormones to stimulate your ovaries for about 10 days. Then, your eggs will be removed and fertilized with sperm to create embryos. About 5 days later, cells will be removed from the embryos to be tested for the mutation. This is called preimplantation genetic testing (PGT). When you’re ready to try to get pregnant, you can choose to use only embryos without the mutation. PGT can also be done if you froze eggs or embryos before your treatment. IVF and PGT can be expensive and may not be covered by insurance.

If I froze eggs or embryos before treatment, should I use them or should I try to get pregnant naturally?

If you finished your treatment, you can try to get pregnant naturally if you want to. If you don’t get pregnant after 3 to 4 months of trying, you may want to be evaluated by your reproductive endocrinologist (fertility specialist). If your egg supply is low, you may have more success if you use your frozen eggs or embryos.

If you’re interrupting treatment with endocrine therapy, it’s important to limit your time off of treatment. In this case, you may want to use your frozen eggs or embryos instead of trying to become pregnant naturally.

What if I’m in menopause when I’m ready to get pregnant?

If you’re in menopause (permanent end of your menstrual cycles) from your treatment, you won’t be able to get pregnant naturally. You will need to use eggs or embryos you froze before your treatment or get an egg from a donor. Unless you have other gynecologic or health problems, you should be able to carry a pregnancy. But, when you’re in menopause, your ovaries don’t make the hormones needed to thicken the lining of your uterus, getting it ready for an embryo to implant and grow. Your fertility doctors will prescribe you hormones to take before your embryo transfer. You will also need to take hormones for 3 months after the transfer to help you with your pregnancy.

Can I breastfeed after a lumpectomy, mastectomy, or radiation to the breast?

If you had a mastectomy, you won’t be able to breastfeed from the treated breast because the tissues in the breast that make milk have been removed. This is the case even if you had a nipple-sparing mastectomy.

If you had a lumpectomy with radiation, you won’t be able to produce enough milk from that breast to breastfeed. You will be able to breastfeed from your other breast.

If you had a lumpectomy alone, you will be able to breastfeed from both breasts. You won’t pass on cancer cells to the baby through your milk.

Tell us what you think

Tell us what you think

Your feedback will help us improve the information we provide to patients and caregivers.

Questions Yes Somewhat No

Last Updated