Stages of Colon Cancer

Stages of Colon Cancer


Stages 0, 1, 2, 3, 4 of Colon Cancer

If your care team diagnoses you with colon cancer, the next step is figuring out the stage of the cancer, or how advanced it is. Staging helps us design a plan that treats you in the most effective way possible. So your care team can determine the stage of the cancer, you will have diagnostic tests to find out:

  • how deeply the cancer has grown in the wall of your colon
  • whether the cancer has spread to other parts of your body

The stage of cancer helps determine the typical treatment and outlook for people with cancer at that same point. However, each person’s cancer experience is unique. 

Request an Appointment

Call 800-525-2225
Available Monday through Friday, to (Eastern time)

What are the stages of colon cancer? 

There are five stages of colon cancer, starting at zero and going up to four. They are often written with the Roman numerals I, II, III, and IV. In general, the lower the number, the less the cancer has spread.

What is stage 0 colon cancer? 

Stage 0 colon cancer is found only in the innermost lining of the colon, called the mucosa.

What is stage I (1) colon cancer? 

Stage I colon cancer means that the tumor has spread beyond the inner lining but remains within the colon and has not spread to the lymph nodes. Lymph nodes are small organs that are part of the immune system and act like filters.

What is stage II (2) colon cancer?

Stage II colon cancer extends through the thick outer muscle layer of the colon but has not spread to the lymph nodes.

What is stage III (3) colon cancer?

Stage III colon cancer has spread outside the colon to one or more lymph nodes.

What is stage IV (4) colon cancer?

Stage IV colon cancer has spread to other parts of the body, such as the liver or lungs. The cancer may be in the lymph nodes.