Stages of Uterine (Endometrial) Cancer

Stages of Uterine (Endometrial) Cancer


The International Federation of Gynecology and Obstetrics classifies endometrial cancer into four stages:

  • Stage I: Cancer that is confined to the uterus
  • Stage II: Cancer that has spread to the cervix
  • Stage III: Cancer that has spread to the vagina, ovaries, and/or lymph nodes 
  • Stage IV: Cancer that has spread to the urinary bladder, rectum, or organs located far from the uterus, such as the lungs or bones

Most women — nearly 70 percent — are diagnosed with early-stage uterine cancer, when the cancer is still within the uterus. Another 20 percent are diagnosed when the cancer has metastasized (spread) to nearby organs and lymph nodes, and about 10 percent are diagnosed when it has metastasized to distant parts of the body. 

Imaging tests and pathology results can help in making an accurate diagnosis and creating the best treatment plan for you.

Request an Appointment

Call 800-525-2225
Available Monday through Friday, to (Eastern time)