Prizes and Awards for Postdocs

Prizes and Awards for Postdocs


The Memorial Sloan Kettering community funds several major prizes and awards for postdoctoral researchers.

Marie-Josée Kravis Women in Science Endeavor (WiSE)

Kravis WiSE was created to promote gender equity in science by providing stable funding and professional support for women in science at MSK. In addition to funding for trainees, the initiative provides mentoring and professional development opportunities to women pursuing careers in biomedical research at MSK and to all scientists seeking childcare coverage when they travel to conferences.

Kravis WiSE is made possible by a generous philanthropic gift from Marie-Josée and Henry Kravis whose financial generosity has enabled this programming. For more information, please visit here.

Postdoc Innovation Fellowship

The Sloan Kettering Institute awards fellowships to MSK postdocs who are investigating new technologies to address unmet needs in research. Proposals may include new approaches to utilizing imaging, biochemistry, screening, genetics, or sequencing. 

Innovation Fellows receive up to $100,000 per year for up to two years to cover salary and related costs.

Postdoctoral Research Award

The Postdoctoral Research Award recognizes the accomplishments and promise of outstanding MSK postdocs. Recipients receive a cash prize of $2,000. The award is given annually during MSK’s Academic Convocation ceremony.

Society Scholars Prize

The Society Scholars Prize honors top-performing postdocs who are adjusting to life as new parents. Awardees are eligible for a cash prize of up to $5,000. The prize is supported by The Society of Memorial Sloan Kettering.

Tri-Institutional Breakout Award for Junior Investigators

Awarded annually, this prestigious honor recognizes the work of three to six postdoctoral researchers from Tri-Institutional community with a cash prize of $25,000 each.

The award was established in 2015 by three winners of the 2013 Breakthrough Prize in Life Science — Charles Sawyers of Memorial Sloan Kettering; Cornelia Bargmann of Rockefeller; and Lewis C. Cantley of Weill Cornell — with additional financial support from the Tri-I member institutions.

Other internal awards and fellowships 

MSK offers a number of other postdoctoral awards and fellowships, including those sponsored by the Parker Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy, Marie-Josée Kravis Fellowship in Quantitative Biology, the Alan and Sandra Gerry Metastasis and Tumor Ecosystems Center, the Ludwig Center for Cancer Immunotherapy, and the Center for Experimental Immuno-oncology, among others.