关于儿科患者的开胸术

分享
阅读时间: 约 11 分钟

本信息将帮助您为在 MSK 儿科中心进行的开胸手术做好准备。 它还能帮您了解您在恢复期间的预期情况。 在本文中,“您”和“您的”均指您或您的孩子。

请在手术前至少阅读本资源一次,并在手术前几天将其用作参考。

关于该手术

“胸腔”一词指您的胸部(见图 1)。 胸腔包含心脏和肺脏。

图 1. 您的胸腔

图 1. 您的胸腔

您有 2 个肺,每侧胸部各 1 个。 您的肺由肺叶组成。 左肺有 2 叶,右肺有 3 叶。 人体肺部被 2 层薄薄的称为胸膜的组织包围。

开胸术是在胸部做一个手术切口。 当需要在肺部或其附近进行手术时会进行开胸术。

在开胸术中,外科医生会在您背部肩胛骨下方做一个切口(见图 2)。 切口的侧别将取决于肺部手术的侧别。

图 2. 开胸术切口

图 2. 开胸术切口

手术前

护士将指导您如何为手术做好准备。 请务必遵循医生和护士给您的所有指导。 如果您有任何疑问,请致电您的医生办公室。

手术前,您将与麻醉师(在手术过程中给您施用药物使您入睡的人员)会面。 他们将与您讨论管理疼痛的药物,并在手术后帮助您保持舒适。 这些药物有不同的给药方式。

  • 硬膜外导管:有些患者会通过硬膜外导管(放置于脊柱中的柔性细导管)获得止痛药。 药物将施予到脊髓外的间隙。
  • 周围神经导管(神经阻滞):有些患者可能会通过周围神经导管(也称为神经阻滞)获得止痛药。 药物将施予到给您手术区域带来感觉的神经。
  • 静脉 (IV) 止痛药:有些患者可能会通过 IV 管路将止痛药注入静脉。
  • 口服止痛药:有些患者可能会接受口服止痛药(吞服的药物)。

您将在手术后接受其中 1 种或多种方式给药。

手术期间

您将侧卧在手术台上。 您将接受麻醉药物(使您入睡的药物)给药。 当您入睡之后,外科医生会做以下切口:

  • 一个背部肩胛骨下方的切口。 该切口可以使外科医生接触到肺部。
  • 1 到 2 个胸部前侧的小切口,与背部切口同侧。 这是外科医生在手术后放置胸管以清除肺部周围的任何血液、液体和空气的位置。

中心静脉导管 (CVC)

一些患者在手术过程中还会放置临时的中心静脉导管 (CVC)。 CVC 是一种放置在锁骨下大静脉中的柔性细导管。 CVC 可以帮助您更加便捷地获得液体和药物,这意味着可以减少您被针刺的次数。

您可以通过阅读我们的资源关于儿科患者的中央静脉导管 (CVC)了解更多关于 CVC 的信息。

手术后

您术后将在麻醉复苏室 (PACU) 内醒来。 当您在 PACU 安顿下来之后,护士就会带您的家人来看望您。

护士会追踪记录您的体温、脉搏、血压和氧气水平。 您将通过鼻子下方的一根细管(鼻插管)获得氧气。

我们还会将其他管路和设备连接到您的身体,以帮助您恢复。

  • 我们将为您放置 1 到 2 根胸管。 胸管会将从手术部位连接到一个引流装置(见图 3)。
    图 3. 胸管和引流装置

    图 3. 胸管和引流装置

  • 并为您提供一个名为患者自控镇痛 (PCA) 装置的止痛泵。 PCA 装置可以使您在有需要时自行施用止痛药。 您可以通过硬膜外导管或 IV 管获得止痛药。
  • 您的小腿上会穿戴有压缩靴来帮助促进血液流动。 当您能够走路的时候,会将其取下。
  • 您的膀胱内可能会留置有一根导尿管 (Foley),用于记录您的排尿量。

在您完全清醒且疼痛得到控制前,您将一直待在麻醉后恢复室(PACU)内。 当您准备好之后,您将被送往儿科重症监护室 (PICU) 或住院病房。 具体将取决于您的年龄。 在那里,护士会指导您如何从手术中恢复。

以下是一些您可以帮助自己安全恢复的方法示例。

  • 术后走动非常重要。 这将有助于预防腿部形成血栓,并降低发生肺炎(肺部感染)的风险。 如果可以,请尽量每 2 小时走动一次。
  • 使用激励肺活量计。 这将有助于扩张您的肺部,从而预防感染肺炎。 年龄较小的儿童可以吹气泡或使用玩具风车来代替。
  • 在您清醒时,每 1-2 小时进行一次深呼吸和咳嗽练习。

护士将为您提供一种称为开胸术路径的资源。 它将帮助您了解在您恢复期间的每一天该做什么和有什么样的预期。

使用出院目标检查表跟踪您的恢复情况将对您很有帮助。 我们会向您的 MyMSK 帐户发送一份检查表。 如需了解更多信息,请阅读资源 Frequently Asked Questions About the MyMSK Goals to Discharge Checklist

在您出院之前,请与护士一起查看您的切口情况,以便了解其外观。 借助镜子可能会有助于查看。 这将有助于您在家中能够观察到伤口发生的任何变化。

常见问题

住院期间

手术后会疼痛吗?

手术后您会感到有些疼痛。 您的医生和护士将经常询问您的疼痛情况。 如果需要,您将通过药物来管理疼痛。 如果您的疼痛没有缓解,请告知您的医生或护士。 控制疼痛非常重要,这样您就可以咳嗽、深呼吸、使用激励肺活量计以及下床走动。

何时取出胸管?

在胸管还未取出时,您将接受胸部 x 线检查,以观察您的肺部情况。 当您的肺部愈合后,胸管将被移除。 该区域会用绷带进行覆盖。 移除胸管后,请将绷带保留至少 48 小时(2 天),除非护士另有指示。

我能进食吗?

手术后您可以进食。 选择高蛋白的均衡饮食有助于术后恢复。 您的饮食中,应该每餐都有健康蛋白质来源,以及水果、蔬菜和全谷物。

有关更多信息,请阅读资源Helping Your Child Eat During Treatment

出院后

什么是恢复情况跟踪?

我们希望了解您在离开医院后的情况。 为了帮助我们为您提供照护,我们将向您的 MyMSK 账户发送一些问题。 我们将在您手术后 10 天内每天发送。 这些问题被称为“恢复情况跟踪”。

请在每天午夜(凌晨 12:00)前完成恢复情况跟踪。 您只需花费 2 至 3 分钟即可完成。 您对这些问题的回答将有助于我们了解您的感受和您的需求。

根据您的回答,我们可能会联系您,以便了解更多信息。 有时,我们可能会请您致电您的外科医生办公室。 如果您有任何问题,请随时联系您的外科医生办公室。

如需了解更多信息,请阅读About Your Recovery Tracker

居家期间是否会疼痛?

疼痛或不适的时间长短因人而异。 有些患者切口周围的疼痛、发紧或肌肉疼痛会持续 6 个月或更长时间。 这并不意味着有严重问题。 请您遵循以下的指南。

  • 请根据医嘱和需要服用止痛药。
  • 如果为您开具的处方药无法缓解疼痛,请致电您的医生。
  • 随着切口逐渐愈合,您的疼痛会减轻,所需的止痛药也会减少。 非处方止痛药,如对乙酰氨基酚 (Tylenol®) 或布洛芬(Advil® 或 Motrin®)可减轻疼痛和不适。 请您务必遵医嘱量服用。
  • 止痛药会有助于您恢复正常活动。 请服用足够的药物,确保您在运动时保持舒适,但请务必遵医嘱服药。 口服止痛药在服用后 30 到 45 分钟效果最好,所以请提前做好安排。
  • 记录您服用止痛药的时间。 建议您最好在第一次感到疼痛时即服用。 如果您在疼痛加重后再行服用,效果会变差。

我可以洗澡吗?

您可以在移除胸管后 48 小时(2 天)进行淋浴。 洗个热水澡可以让人放松,有助于减轻肌肉疼痛。

在淋浴时,您可以用肥皂轻轻清洗切口。 淋浴后用干净的毛巾轻轻拍干切口部位,然后保持切口部位裸露(除非切口仍有溢液)。 如果您发现切口有任何发红或渗液,请致电您的医生。

在手术后的前 2 周,请勿将切口浸入水中(例如浴缸或游泳池)。

应该如何护理切口?

您的背部会有 1 个主要手术切口,胸部有 1 或 2 个较小的胸管切口。 切口下方和前方可能会有一些麻木感。 这是因为您的肋骨曾被分开,一些神经因此受到影响。

主要手术切口
  • 当您可以出院时,您的手术切口将开始愈合。
  • 切口会覆盖有胶水 (Dermabond®) 或纸胶带 (Steri-Strips®),且其会自行脱落或剥离。
  • 如果有任何液体从手术切口溢出,请记录溢出量和颜色,并联系您的医生。
小的胸管切口
  • 胸管切口上会覆盖有绷带。
  • 移除胸管后,请将切口上的绷带保留 48 小时(2 天),除非它变湿。 如果绷带变湿,请尽快更换。
  • 该区域可能会有少量黄色或粉红色的分泌物。 这是正常现象。 请在该区域包覆绷带(如 Band-Aid®)或干燥纱布。 并根据需要更换绷带。

我应该如何预防便秘?

手术后您可能会出现便秘(排便比平时少)。 这是止痛药常见的副作用。 为避免便秘:

  • 请服用一种非处方药,如多库酯钠 (Colace®)(一种大便软化剂)和番泻叶 (Senokot®)(一种泻药)。 请继续服用直到您不再服用处方止痛药为止。
    • 每天 3 次,每次服用______多库酯钠胶囊。
    • 睡前服用 2 片番泻叶。
  • 饮用足量液体。 每天目标设定在 8 至 10(8 盎司)玻璃杯 (2 L)。 选择不含咖啡因的液体,如水、果汁、汤、冰激凌奶昔等。
  • 如果您感觉有腹胀,请避免食用可能导致胀气的食物。 例如豆类、西兰花、洋葱、卷心菜和花椰菜。

如何帮助肺部愈合?

  • 每天继续运动或散步至少 30 分钟。 这会帮助您变得更强壮、感觉更好并加快肺部愈合。 继续使用激励肺活量计、吸管或玩具风车练习,并在家中进行咳嗽和深呼吸练习。
  • 饮用液体有助于保持粘液稀薄且易于咳出。 询问医生每天应该摄入多少液体。 对于大多数人来说,推荐每天至少饮用 8 杯(8 盎司)水或其他液体。
  • 在冬季,请在卧室内使用加湿器。 按照使用说明对其进行清洁。 经常换水。
  • 请小心不要生病。 避免与感冒、咽喉痛或流感患者密切接触。 如果您生病,请致电您的医生或护士。

术后感觉疲倦是否正常?

手术后精神不振是正常现象。 恢复所需时间会因人而异。 尽可能每天逐渐增加活动量。 始终平衡好活动期与休息期。 休息好是您帮助您恢复的重要部分。

我可以恢复正常活动吗?

术后恢复正常的日常活动非常重要。 把它们安排在每天的不同时间段内进行。 散步和爬楼梯是极好的运动形式。 逐渐增加散步的距离。 缓慢爬楼梯,根据需要休息或停止。

当您的活动量超过身体可承受的负荷后,您的身体自会告诉您。 当您增加活动量时,请注意您的身体反应。 您可能会发现您在上午或下午精力更好。 把活动安排在您精力比较旺盛的时间段内进行。

我可以坐飞机旅行吗?

在手术后第一次随访时与医生讨论之前,请勿乘坐飞机旅行。

我什么时候可以举起重物?

大多数人在手术后至少 4-6 周内不应举起任何重量超过 10 磅(4.5 千克)的物体。 然而,这将具体取决于您所接受的手术类型。 询问您的医生,应该在多长时间内避免提举重物。

我什么时候可以进行体育运动?

在医生告知您安全之前,请勿进行体育运动。 当您再次开始时,请记住您需要一段时间才能恢复到过去的活动水平。 慢慢开始,在感觉好转时增加活动量。

我应该如何管理情绪?

重病手术后,您可能会有一些新的或者不安的感觉。 很多人表示他们时不时会哭泣、悲伤、担心、紧张、易怒或生气。 您可能会发现有些情绪是您无法控制的。 如果发生这种情况,寻求情感支持是个好主意。

应对的第一步是您需要谈论您的感受。 家人和朋友都可以给您提供帮助。 您的护士、医生和社工可以为您提供安慰、支持和指导。 让这些专业人士了解您、您的家人和朋友的感受是一个好主意。 提供给患者及其家属的资源有很多。 无论您是在医院还是在家,护士、医生和社工都可以随时帮助您和您的家人以及朋友处理您疾病的情绪方面问题。

手术后我的第一次随访是什么时候?

当您出院回家时,您的医生或执业护士将告知您随访预约的日期。 此次随访预约期间,您的医生将与您详细讨论病理结果,并检查您的恢复情况。

您应该何时致电您的医生或护士

如果出现以下情况,请致电联系您的医生或护士:

  • 新发气短或气短情况加重
  • 发热 ≥100.4 ℉ (38 ℃)
  • 无法通过药物缓解的疼痛
  • 切口附近发红、肿胀或有异味或脓样分泌物
  • 3 天或更长时间未排便
  • 任何新发症状
  • 任何问题或顾虑

联系信息

如果您有任何疑问,请您直接联系您的医疗团队成员。 您可以在周一至周五上午 9:00 至下午 5:00 与他们取得联系。

如果您是 MSK 的患者,并需要在下午 5:00 之后、周末或节假日联系医务人员,请您致电 212-639-7900, 并请值班儿科外科医生接听电话。

上次更新时间

星期一, 十二月 12, 2022

请告诉我们您的想法

请告诉我们您的想法

您的反馈有助于我们改进所提供的教育信息。 您的医疗团队将无法看到您在本反馈表中填写的任何内容。 请勿通过反馈表表达您的医疗需求。 如果您对自己接受的医疗服务有任何疑问,请联系您的医疗保健提供者。

我们会阅读所有反馈,但不会回答任何问题。 请勿在本反馈表中填写您的姓名或任何个人信息。

Questions 有点
请勿输入您的姓名或任何个人信息。

About Your Thoracotomy for Pediatric Patients

This information will help you prepare for your thoracotomy surgery at Memorial Sloan Kettering (MSK). It will also help you understand what to expect during your recovery. For the rest of this resource, our use of the words “you” and “your” refers to you or your child.

Read through this resource at least once before your surgery and use it as a reference in the days leading up to your surgery.

About Your Surgery

The word “thoracic” refers to your thorax, which is your chest (see Figure 1). Your thorax contains your heart and lungs.

Figure 1. Your thorax

 

Figure 2. A thoracotomy incision
 

You have 2 lungs, 1 on each side of your chest. Your lungs are made up of lobes. Your left lung has 2 lobes and your right lung has 3 lobes. Your lungs are surrounded by 2 thin layers of tissue called the pleura.

A thoracotomy is a surgical incision (cut) into your chest. It’s done when you’re having surgery on or near one of your lungs.

During your thoracotomy, you will have an incision made on one side of your back below your shoulder blade (see Figure 2). The side that your incision is on depends on which lung is being operated on.

Back to top

Before Your Surgery

Your nurse will give you instructions about how to prepare for your surgery. Be sure to follow all of the instructions that your doctor and nurse give you. Call your doctor’s office if you have any questions.

You will meet with your anesthesiologist (the person who will give you medication to make you sleep during your surgery) before your surgery. Your anesthesiologist will talk with you about medications to manage your pain and keep you comfortable after your surgery. There are different ways that these medications can be given.

  • Epidural catheter: Some people may get pain medication through an epidural catheter (thin, flexible tube in your spine). The medication will be given into the space outside your spinal cord.
  • Peripheral nerve catheter (nerve block): Some people may get pain medication through a peripheral nerve catheter, also called a nerve block. The medication will be given to the nerves that give feeling to the area of your surgery.
  • Intravenous (IV) pain medication: Some people may get pain medication into a vein through their IV line.
  • Oral pain medication: Some people may get oral pain medication (medication that’s swallowed).

You will have 1 or more of these things after your surgery.

Back to top

During Your Surgery

You will lie on your side on the operating table. You will get anesthesia (medication to make you sleep). Once you’re asleep, your surgeon will make the following incisions:

  • An incision on your back below one of your shoulder blades. This will let your surgeon reach your lung.
  • One or 2 small incisions on the front of your chest, on the same side of your body as the incision on your back. This is where your surgeon will place a chest tube(s) to remove any blood, fluid, and air that’s around your lung after your surgery.

Central Venous Catheter

Some people will also have a temporary central venous catheter (CVC) placed during their surgery. A CVC is a thin, flexible tube that’s placed in a large vein below your collarbone. Having a CVC makes it easier for you to get things like fluids and medications and means that you won’t need as many needle sticks.

You can learn more about CVCs by reading our resource About Your Central Venous Catheter (CVC) for Pediatric Patients.

Back to top

After Your Surgery

When you wake up after your surgery, you will be in the Post Anesthesia Care Unit (PACU). As soon as you’re settled in the PACU, a nurse will bring your family member(s) in to be with you.

A nurse will be monitoring your body temperature, pulse, blood pressure, and oxygen levels. You will get oxygen through a thin tube that rests below your nose called a nasal cannula.

There will also be other tubes and devices connected to your body to help you recover.

  • You will have 1 or 2 chest tubes. The chest tubes will go from your surgical site to a drainage device (see Figure 3).
  • You will have a pain pump called a patient-controlled analgesia (PCA) device. The PCA device allows you to give yourself pain medication when you need it. You may get the pain medication through an epidural catheter or your IV line.
  • You will have compression boots on your lower legs to help your blood flow. They will be taken off when you’re able to walk.
  • You may have a urinary (Foley®) catheter in your bladder to keep track of the amount of urine you’re making.
Figure 3. Chest tube and drainage device

You will stay in the PACU until you’re fully awake and your pain is under control. Once you’re ready, you will be taken to the Pediatric Intensive Care Unit (PICU) or the inpatient unit. The unit that you go to depends on how old you are. There, your nurse will tell you how to recover from your surgery. Below are examples of ways you can help yourself recover safely.

  • It’s important to walk around after surgery. This will help prevent blood clots in your legs and lower your risk of developing pneumonia.Try to walk every 2 hours, if you can.
  • Use your incentive spirometer. This will help your lungs expand, which prevents pneumonia. Younger children can blow bubbles or use a pinwheel instead.
  • Do deep breathing and coughing exercises every 1 to 2 hours while you’re awake.

Your nurse will give you a resource called What to Expect After Your Thoracotomy. This resource will help you know what to do and expect each day during your recovery.

Before you leave the hospital, look at your incision with your nurse so you know what it looks like. It may be helpful to use a mirror. This will help you notice any changes once you’re at home.

Back to top

Commonly Asked Questions

During Your Hospital Stay

Will I have pain after my surgery?

You will have some pain after your surgery. Your doctor and nurse will ask you about your pain often. You will be given medication to manage your pain as needed. If your pain isn’t relieved, please tell your doctor or nurse. It’s important to control your pain so you can cough, breathe deeply, use your incentive spirometer, and get out of bed and walk.

When will my chest tube be removed?

You’ll have chest x-rays to look at your lungs while the chest tube is in place. Once your lung heals, your chest tube will be removed. The area will be covered with a bandage. Keep the bandage on for at least 48 hours after your chest tube is removed, unless your nurse gives you other instructions.

Will I be able to eat?

You will be able to eat after your surgery. Eating a balanced diet high in protein will help you heal after surgery. Your diet should include a healthy protein source at each meal, as well as fruits, vegetables, and whole grains.

For more information, read our resource Helping Your Child Eat During Treatment.

After You Leave the Hospital

Will I have pain when I am home?

The length of time each person has pain or discomfort varies. Some people may have soreness, tightness, or muscle aches around their incision for up to 6 months or longer. This doesn’t mean that something is wrong. Follow the guidelines below.

  • Take your pain medication as instructed and as needed.
  • Call your doctor if the medication prescribed for you doesn’t relieve your pain.
  • As your incisions heal, you will have less pain and need less pain medication. A mild pain reliever such as acetaminophen (Tylenol®) or ibuprofen (Advil®) will relieve aches and discomfort. Be sure to follow your doctor’s instructions for how much to take.
  • Pain medication should help you resume your normal activities. Take enough medication to do your exercises comfortably, but be sure to follow your doctor’s instructions. Oral pain medication is most effective 30 to 45 minutes after taking it, so it’s best to plan ahead.
  • Keep track of when you take your pain medication. It’s best to take it when your pain first begins. It won’t work as well if you take it after your pain gets worse.

Can I shower?

You can shower 48 hours after your chest tube is removed. Taking a warm shower is relaxing and can help decrease muscle aches.

When you shower, use soap to gently wash your incisions. Pat the areas dry with a clean towel and leave your incisions uncovered (unless there’s drainage). Call your doctor if you see any redness or drainage from your incision.

For the first 2 weeks after your surgery, don’t submerge your incisions under water (such as in a bath tub or swimming pool).

How do I care for my incisions?

You will have 1 main surgical incision on your back and 1 or 2 smaller chest tube incisions on your chest. You may have some numbness below and in front of your incisions. This is because your ribs were spread apart and some nerves were affected.

Main surgical incision

  • By the time you’re ready to leave the hospital, your surgical incision will have started to heal.
  • Your incision will be covered with glue (Dermabond®) or paper tape (Steri-Strips®) that will fall off or peel away on their own.
  • If any liquid is draining from your surgical incision, write down the amount and color and call your doctor.

Smaller chest tube incision(s)

  • You will have a bandage covering your chest tube incision(s).
  • Keep the bandage on your incision(s) for 48 hours after your chest tube is removed, unless it gets wet. If it gets wet, change it as soon as possible.
  • You may have some thin, yellow or pink-colored drainage from this area. This is normal. Place a bandage (Band-Aid®) or dry piece of gauze over the area and change the bandage as needed.

How can I prevent constipation?

You may be constipated (have fewer bowel movements than what’s normal for you) after your surgery. This is a common side effect of pain medication.

To avoid constipation:

  • Take an over-the-counter medication such as docusate sodium (Colace®), which is a stool softener, and senna (Senokot®), which is a laxative. Continue taking them until you’re no longer taking prescription pain medication.
    • Take _____ capsules of docusate sodium 3 times a day.
    • Take 2 tablets of senna before bed.
  • Drink plenty of liquids. Aim for 8 to 10 (8-ounce) glasses (2 liters) each day. Choose liquids without caffeine, such as water, juices, soups, and ice cream shakes.
  • If you feel bloated, avoid foods that can cause gas. Examples are beans, broccoli, onions, cabbage, and cauliflower.

How can I help my lungs heal?

  • Continue to exercise or walk for at least 30 minutes every day. This will help you get stronger, feel better, and heal your lung. Keep using your incentive spirometer, straw, or pinwheel, and do your coughing and deep breathing exercises at home.
  • Drink liquids to help keep your mucus thin and easy to cough up. Ask your doctor how much you should drink each day. For most people, this will be at least 8 (8-ounce) glasses of water or other liquids each day.
  • Use a humidifier in your bedroom during the winter months. Follow the directions for cleaning the machine. Change the water often.
  • Be careful not to get sick. Avoid close contact with people who have a cold, sore throat, or the flu. If you do get sick, call your doctor or nurse.

Is it normal to feel tired after surgery?

It’s common to have less energy than usual after your surgery. The time it takes to recover is different for everybody. Increase your activities each day as much as you can. Always balance activity periods with rest periods. Rest is an important part of your recovery.

Can I go back to doing my normal activities?

It’s important for you to go back to doing your normal activities after surgery. Spread them out over the course of the day. Walking and climbing stairs are excellent forms of exercise. Gradually increase the distance you walk. Climb stairs slowly, resting or stopping as needed.

Your body is an excellent guide for telling you when you have done too much. When you increase your activity, pay attention to how your body feels. You may find that you have more energy in the morning or the afternoon. Plan your activities for times of the day when you have more energy.

Can I travel by plane?

Don’t travel by plane until you have discussed this with your doctor at your first appointment after your surgery.

When can I lift heavy objects?

Most people shouldn’t lift anything heavier than 10 pounds (4.5 kilograms) for at least 4 to 6 weeks after their surgery. However, this depends on the type of surgery you had. Ask your doctor how long you should avoid heavy lifting.

When can I play sports?

Don’t play sports until your doctor tells you it’s safe. When you start again, remember that it will take time for you to return to your previous level of activity. Start out slowly and increase your activity as you feel better.

How can I cope with my feelings?

After surgery for a serious illness, you may have new and upsetting feelings. Many people say they felt weepy, sad, worried, nervous, irritable, or angry at one time or another. You may find that you can’t control some of these feelings. If this happens, it’s a good idea to seek emotional support.

The first step in coping is to talk about how you feel. Family and friends can help. Your nurse, doctor, and social worker can reassure, support, and guide you. It’s always a good idea to let these professionals know how you, your family, and your friends are feeling emotionally. Many resources are available to patients and their families. Whether you’re in the hospital or at home, the nurses, doctors, and social workers are here to help you and your family and friends handle the emotional aspects of your illness.

When is my first appointment after my surgery?

When you’re discharged home from the hospital, your doctor or nurse practitioner will tell you your follow up appointment date. During this appointment, your doctor will discuss the pathology results with you in detail and check how you’re recovering.

 
Back to top

Call Your Doctor or Nurse if You Have:

  • New or worsening shortness of breath
  • A temperature of 100.4° F (38° C) or higher
  • Pain that doesn’t get better with your medications
  • Redness, swelling, or foul-smelling or pus-like drainage around your incisions
  • No bowel movement for 3 days or longer
  • Any new symptom
  • Any questions or concerns
Back to top

Contact Information

If you have any questions or concerns, talk with a member of your healthcare team. You can reach them Monday through Friday from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm at ____________________.

After 5:00 pm, during the weekend, and on holidays, call 212-639-7900. Ask to speak to the pediatric surgeon on call.

Back to top

Last Updated