循环肿瘤 DNA 分析可快速匹配肺癌治疗

简体中文
Share
Print
采血瓶
经国家综合癌症网络指南(EGFR、KRAS、ALK、ROS1、RET、BRAF、MET、HER2)认可的血浆 NGS 检测致癌驱动突变阳性中,组织 NGS 符合率高达 96.1%。
Bob T. Li Physician Ambassador to China and Asia-Pacific, Bobst International Center

我们最近的前瞻性研究数据为血浆下一代测序 (NGS) 检测纳入肺癌实践指南提供了支持。

分析循环肿瘤 DNA (ctDNA) 可以实现快速、无创的基因分型,直接指导精准治疗,为组织活检提供重要补充,并在组织活检不可行的情况下提供替代方法。

我们的研究纳入了 210 例晚期非小细胞肺癌患者,确定了多种致癌因素。与组织型肺癌相比,在统计学上周转时间更短,并为患者提供了具有临床疗效的靶向治疗。血浆 NGS 的中位周转时间为 9 天,明显短于周转时间为 20 天的组织 NGS (p < 0.001)。 (1)

血浆 NGS 检测到近 65% 的晚期非小细胞肺癌患者存在体细胞突变,这些患者没有已知的致癌驱动因素或对目前的靶向治疗产生耐药性。对于几乎所有使用血浆 NGS 检测致癌驱动因素呈阳性的患者(51 例中有 49 例,95% CI = 86.5 - 99.5%),其组织 NGS 也呈阳性。总体而言,22% 的患者根据血浆 NGS 结果进行了靶向治疗,绝大多数患者都有响应。 (1)

由于面板较窄,血浆 NGS 识别的突变少于组织 NGS。因此,对于阴性结果,可能还需要进行进一步的组织 NGS 检测。然而,血浆 NGS 与组织 NGS 的高度一致性和较短的周转时间表明,血浆 NGS 应纳入肺癌治疗指南中,指导即刻治疗。 (1)

利用下一代测序技术识别致癌驱动因素

基于血浆的 NGS 检测可提供快速、无创的肿瘤基因分型,在临床实践中得到了越来越多的应用。然而,几乎没有前瞻性的证据表明其在匹配患者与靶向治疗或进行测试的理想时机方面有实用性。美国临床肿瘤学会和美国病理学家学会最近得出结论,几乎没有临床效用和有效性的证据支持 ctDNA NGS 在大多数晚期癌症患者中得到了广泛应用。

基因测序在晚期非小细胞肺癌患者中尤为关键,因为他们的肿瘤可能携带可操作的体细胞突变。可在血浆中鉴定原发性肿瘤或转移瘤的无细胞遗传物质,并可将其用作肿瘤负荷、瘤内异质性和治疗反应的有用替代物。基于血浆的基因分型也可能解决组织基因分型的一些局限性,包括重复的侵入性操作、活检组织不足、瘤内异质性和常规组织处理的周转时间缓慢等风险。

为了确定血浆 NGS 相较于组织 NGS 在这一患者群体中的效用,来自悉尼大学 Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center 和 NGS 技术公司 Resolution Bioscience 的一群研究人员联合对 210 例肺癌患者的基因分型结果进行了前瞻性分析(176 例来自 MSK,34 例来自悉尼)。使用 ctDx 肺癌检测方法(由 Resolution Bioscience 开发的 21 基因检测法),对所有研究患者进行血浆 ctDNA NGS 检测。还使用 MSK-IMPACT™(一种 468 基因检测试剂盒)对所有 MSK 患者进行了组织 NGS。

返回到頂部

研究结果

64.3% 的患者血浆 NGS 检测到体细胞突变。有趣的是,采集血浆时接受全身治疗的患者的检出率较低,为 42.9%,而未接受全身治疗的患者检出率为 75.0% (OR = 0.26, 95% CI = 0.1-0.5, p < 0.001)。这种差异表明,进行血浆基因分型的最佳时间是在最初诊断时或在疾病进展时。 (1) 基于与肿瘤体积的相关性,ctDNA 产量在该时间段可能最高。 (4)

总体一致性(定义:在组织和血浆中均发现至少一种基因变异的患者百分比)为 56.6% (60/106,95% CI = 46%-66.2%)。我们在两个方向上进行了一致性分析:在血浆 NGS 检测呈阳性的患者中,组织 NGS 呈阳性的比例为 89.6%,组织 NGS 检测呈阳性的患者中血浆NGS 呈阳性的比例为 60.6%。 (1)

血浆 NGS 基因分型确定了 45.7% 的患者 (96/210) 的驱动因素改变和广泛的可操作性改变,包括 EGFR 突变、继发性 EGFR 抵抗机制(T790M C797S和 MET 扩增)、ALK 融合、MET 第 14 外显子跳跃性突变、BRAF 突变和非操作性突变,如 KRAS 和 P1K3CA。可操作突变的识别导致 21.9% 的患者采用匹配的靶向治疗,其中包括美国食品和药物管理局批准的的标准治疗和研究治疗。 (1)

经国家综合癌症网络指南(EGFR、KRAS、ALK、ROS1、RET、BRAF、MET 和 HER2)认可的血浆 NGS 检测致癌驱动突变阳性的患者中,组织 NGS 符合率高达 96.1%。 (1)

返回到頂部

影响

血浆基因分型可快速确定致癌因素,阳性结果可立即指导治疗,无需等待组织基因分型。然而,血浆基因分型有一些显著的局限性,包括低浓度的 ctDNA 流到外周血中。 (3) 如其他研究所示,我们观察到血浆 NGS 的驱动检出率低于组织 NGS。 (5) 因此,血浆 ctDNA 的阴性结果并不排除组织 NGS 基因分型中可能存在的靶向驱动因素。

总体而言,我们的前瞻性证据为将血浆 NGS 纳入肺癌实践指南提供了支持。该技术可以成功地评估系统基因组情况,并整合肿瘤异质性,特别是对于可能与最初诊断时活检的原发部位不同的多发性转移患者。将血浆 NGS 成功整合到临床实践中将需要涵盖多个机构和公司的通用指南。

返回到頂部

MSK-IMPACT

MSK-IMPACT 是由 MSK 的生物信息学家、分子病理学家和基因组科学家开发,自 2014 年 1 月以来一直用于分析晚期癌症患者的肿瘤。最初其用于检测黑色素瘤、肺癌和结肠癌的基因突变,2017 年 11 月经批准,可用于检测任何实体瘤中的突变(无论其来源),从而扩大了应用范围。

目前 MSK-IMPACT 只能在 MSK 获得。国际患者可以请求 MSK-IMPACT 提供远程服务。目前,该面板涵盖 468 个基因,随着知识库的增长,该面板正在扩大。

在 MSK,我们将继续开拓分子研究,将其引入临床研究。受过不同临床和科学训练的医生和科学家组成的团队通过密切合作,在肺癌、黑色素瘤、甲状腺癌、前列腺癌和子宫内膜癌等治疗方面取得了国际公认的进展。

目前我们正在对超过 80 例成人肺癌患者进行临床试验,以研究可能改善患者预后的新治疗方法。

 

该研究的其他 MSK 作者有:Michael Offin、Dennis Stephens、Andy Ni、Sutirtha Datta、Nidhi Tandon、Mackenzie Myers、Alex Makhnin、Andres Martinez、Ysleni Leger、Helena Yu、Laetitia Borsu、Maria Arcila、Jeong Jeon、Valerie Rusch、Paul Paik、Jamie Chaft、Mark Kris、Marc Ladanyi、Matthew Hellmann、Alexander Drilon、Gregory Riely、David Jones、Andreas Rimner、Charles Rudin 和 James Isbell。

MSK、悉尼大学和 Resolution Bioscience 合作进行了这项研究。学术合作伙伴之间没有资金往来。Resolution Bioscience 为所有纳入研究的患者支付了检测费用,MSK 和悉尼大学均未向 Resolution Bioscience 收取获取患者血液的费用。同意参加研究的患者免费接受液体活检。 

该研究得到了美国国立卫生研究院和国家癌症研究所(T32 CA009207 和 P30 GA008748)以及 Nussbaum/Kuhn 基金会的部分支持。李博士 (Dr. Li) 在进行学术会议演讲时,获得了 Resolution Bioscience 的差旅支持,并担任 Genentech Roche、Thermo Fisher Scientific 和 Guardant Health 的顾问。

该研究的一部分在 2017 年 6 月的美国临床肿瘤学会年会上以海报和摘要的形式呈现,还有一部分在 2017 年 10 月的国际肺癌研究协会的会议上以口头形式呈现。

返回到頂部
  1. Sabari JK, Offin M, Stephens D, et al. A prospective study of circulating tumor DNA to guide matched targeted therapy in lung cancers. J Natl Cancer Inst. 2019;111(6):djy156. 

  2. Merker JD, Oxnard GR, Compton C, et al. Circulating tumor DNA analysis in patients with cancer: American Society of Clinical Oncology and College of American Pathologists joint review. J Clin Oncol. 2018: 36(16):1631–1641.

  3. Diehl F, Schmidt K, Choti MA, et al. Circulating mutant DNA to assess tumor dynamics. Nat Med. 2008;14(9):985–990.

  4. Abbosh C, Birkbak NJ, Wilson GA, et al. Phylogenetic ctDNA analysis depicts early-stage lung cancer evolution. Nature. 2017;545(7655):446–451.

  5. Schwaederle M, Husain H, Fanta PT, et al. Detection rate of actionable mutations in diverse cancers using a biopsy-free (blood) circulating tumor cell DNA assay. Oncotarget. 2016;7(9):9707–9717.

Circulating Tumor DNA Analysis Allows Rapid Therapy Matching in Lung Cancer

Print
Blood Vials
Among patients who tested plasma NGS positive for oncogenic driver alterations recognized by the National Comprehensive Cancer Network guidelines (EGFR, KRAS, ALK, ROS1, RET, BRAF, MET, HER2), 96.1 percent were concordant on tissue NGS.
Bob T. Li Physician Ambassador to China and Asia-Pacific, Bobst International Center

Our recent prospective study data provide support for the incorporation of plasma next-generation sequencing (NGS) assays into lung cancer practice guidelines.

Analyzing circulating tumor DNA (ctDNA) could allow for rapid and noninvasive genotyping that immediately guides precision therapy, providing an important supplement to tissue NGS, as well as an alternative when a tissue biopsy is not feasible.

Our study, which included 210 patients with advanced non-small cell lung cancer, identified a variety of oncogenic drivers with statistically shorter turnaround times compared to tissue NGS and matched patients to targeted therapies with clinical benefits. The median turnaround time for plasma NGS was nine days, significantly shorter than the 20 days for tissue NGS (p < 0.001). (1)

Plasma NGS detected somatic mutations in almost 65 percent of patients with advanced non-small cell lung cancer who had no known oncogenic drivers or resistance to current targeted therapies. Nearly all patients who tested positive for oncogenic drivers with plasma NGS (49 of 51, 95% CI = 86.5 to 99.5%) also tested positive with tissue NGS. Overall, 22 percent of all patients studied were matched to a targeted therapy based on their plasma NGS results, and the vast majority responded. (1)

As a narrower panel, plasma NGS identified fewer mutations than tissue NGS. Therefore, negative findings may still require further testing with tissue NGS. However, the high concordance with tissue NGS and the shorter turnaround time suggest that plasma NGS should be incorporated into lung cancer practice guidelines for guiding immediate treatment. (1)

Identifying Oncogenic Drivers with Next-Generation Sequencing

Plasma-based NGS assays that provide rapid and noninvasive genotyping of tumors have been increasingly adopted in clinical practice. However, there is little prospective evidence regarding their utility in matching patients to targeted therapy or the ideal timing for performing the tests. The American Society of Clinical Oncology and the College of American Pathologists recently concluded that there is little evidence of clinical utility and validity to support the widespread use of ctDNA NGS in most patients with advanced cancer.

Genetic sequencing is particularly crucial in patients with advanced non-small cell lung cancer because their tumors may harbor actionable somatic mutations. Cell-free genetic material from a primary tumor or metastases can be identified in plasma and may serve as a useful surrogate of tumor burden, intratumor heterogeneity, and response to therapy. Plasma-based genotyping may also address some of the limitations of tissue genotyping, including the risks of repeat invasive procedures, insufficient biopsy tissue, intratumor heterogeneity, and slow turnaround time with conventional tissue processing.

To determine the utility of plasma NGS compared to tissue NGS in this patient population, a group of researchers from Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, the University of Sydney, and Resolution Bioscience, an NGS technology company, collaborated to prospectively analyze genotyping results for 210 lung cancer patients (176 from MSK and 34 from Sydney). All patients in the study were tested with plasma ctDNA NGS using the ctDx lung cancer assay, a 21-gene assay developed by Resolution Bioscience. Tissue NGS was also performed for all MSK patients using MSK-IMPACT™, a 468-gene assay.

Back to top

Study Results

Somatic mutations were detected with plasma NGS in 64.3 percent of patients. Interestingly, detection was lower, at 42.9 percent, for patients who were on systemic therapy at the time of plasma collection compared to 75.0 percent for those who were not (OR = 0.26, 95 percent CI = 0.1 to 0.5, p < 0.001). This difference suggests that the optimal time to perform plasma genotyping is at initial diagnosis or at the time of disease progression. (1) The ctDNA yield might be highest at those times based on the correlation with tumor volume. (4)

Overall concordance, defined as the percentage of patients for whom at least one genetic alteration was found in both tissue and plasma, was 56.6 percent (60 of 106, 95% CI = 46% to 66.2%). We analyzed concordance in both directions: Among patients who tested positive with plasma NGS, 89.6 percent were also concordant on tissue NGS, and 60.6 percent of patients who tested positive with tissue NGS were concordant on plasma NGS. (1)

Plasma NGS genotyping identified a driver alteration in 45.7 percent of patients (96 of 210) and a broad range of actionable alterations overall, including EGFR mutations, secondary EGFR resistance mechanisms (T790M, C797S, and MET amplification), ALK fusions, MET exon 14 skipping alterations, BRAF alterations, and nonactionable mutations, such as KRAS and P1K3CA. Identification of actionable mutations led to matching targeted therapies for 21.9 percent of patients, which included standard therapies approved by the US Food and Drug Administration and investigational treatments. (1)

Among patients who tested positive on plasma NGS for oncogenic driver alterations recognized by the National Comprehensive Cancer Network guidelines (EGFR, KRAS, ALK, ROS1, RET, BRAF, MET, and HER2), 96.1 percent were concordant on tissue NGS. (1)

Back to top

Implications

Plasma genotyping identified oncogenic drivers with a fast turnaround time, and positive findings could immediately guide treatment without the need to wait for tissue genotyping. However, plasma genotyping has some notable limitations, including the low concentration of ctDNA shed into peripheral blood. (3) We observed a lower rate of driver detection for plasma NGS compared to tissue NGS, as demonstrated in other studies. (5) Therefore, a negative finding on plasma ctDNA does not exclude the presence of a targeted driver that may be found on tissue NGS genotyping.

Overall, our prospective evidence provides support for including plasma NGS in lung cancer practice guidelines. The technology can successfully assess the systemic genomic landscape and incorporate tumor heterogeneity, especially for patients with multiple metastases that may be distinct from the primary site that was biopsied at the time of initial diagnosis. Successful integration of plasma NGS into clinical practice will require universal guidelines that span multiple institutions and companies.

Back to top

MSK-IMPACT

MSK-IMPACT was developed by bioinformaticians, molecular pathologists, and genome scientists at MSK and has been employed to analyze tumors in patients with advanced cancer since January 2014. Originally used to detect gene mutations in melanoma, lung, and colon cancers, its use was expanded with the November 2017 authorization for the detection of mutations in any solid tumors regardless of origin.

MSK-IMPACT is currently available only at MSK. International patients can request MSK-IMPACT as a remote service. At present, the panel covers 468 genes, and we are expanding the panel as our knowledge base grows.

At MSK, we continue to pioneer the translation of molecular insights into clinical research. Close collaboration among teams of physician-scientists with diverse clinical and scientific training has led to internationally recognized advances in the treatment of lung cancer, melanoma, thyroid cancer, prostate cancer, and endometrial cancer.

We are currently conducting more than 80 clinical trials for adults with lung cancer to investigate new treatment approaches that may improve patient outcomes.

 

Other MSK authors of this study were Michael Offin, Dennis Stephens, Andy Ni, Sutirtha Datta, Nidhi Tandon, Mackenzie Myers, Alex Makhnin, Andres Martinez, Ysleni Leger, Helena Yu, Laetitia Borsu, Maria Arcila, Jeong Jeon, Valerie Rusch, Paul Paik, Jamie Chaft, Mark Kris, Marc Ladanyi, Matthew Hellmann, Alexander Drilon, Gregory Riely, David Jones, Andreas Rimner, Charles Rudin, and James Isbell.

MSK, the University of Sydney, and Resolution Bioscience collaborated on this study. There was no exchange of funds between the academic partners. Resolution Bioscience paid for the tests for all enrolled patients, and neither MSK nor the University of Sydney charged Resolution Bioscience for access to patients’ blood. Patients who consented to participate in the study received liquid biopsy testing free of charge. 

This research was supported in part by the National Institutes of Health and the National Cancer Institute (T32 CA009207 and P30 GA008748) and the Nussbaum/Kuhn Foundation. Dr. Li received travel support from Resolution Bioscience for an academic conference presentation, and he has served as a consultant for Genentech Roche, Thermo Fisher Scientific, and Guardant Health.

Part of this study was presented as a poster and abstract at the annual meeting of the American Society of Clinical Oncology in June 2017, and a portion was presented as an oral abstract at the International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer’s conference in October 2017.

Back to top
  1. Sabari JK, Offin M, Stephens D, et al. A prospective study of circulating tumor DNA to guide matched targeted therapy in lung cancers. J Natl Cancer Inst. 2019;111(6):djy156. 

  2. Merker JD, Oxnard GR, Compton C, et al. Circulating tumor DNA analysis in patients with cancer: American Society of Clinical Oncology and College of American Pathologists joint review. J Clin Oncol. 2018: 36(16):1631–1641.

  3. Diehl F, Schmidt K, Choti MA, et al. Circulating mutant DNA to assess tumor dynamics. Nat Med. 2008;14(9):985–990.

  4. Abbosh C, Birkbak NJ, Wilson GA, et al. Phylogenetic ctDNA analysis depicts early-stage lung cancer evolution. Nature. 2017;545(7655):446–451.

  5. Schwaederle M, Husain H, Fanta PT, et al. Detection rate of actionable mutations in diverse cancers using a biopsy-free (blood) circulating tumor cell DNA assay. Oncotarget. 2016;7(9):9707–9717.