如何让您的孩子为其眼科门诊访视做好准备

阅读时间: 约 1 minute

本信息介绍了如何让您的孩子为其眼科门诊访视做好准备。 在本文中,“您”和“您的”均指您或您的孩子。

回到顶部

让您的孩子为其访视做好准备

帮助您的孩子为其访视做好准备非常重要。 孩子们不喜欢突然被带到医生办公室。 让他们对可能发生的情况有所了解有助于缓解他们的部分恐惧和焦虑。 本节介绍了帮助您的孩子为其访视做好准备的方法。

访视前

与儿童生活专家讨论

儿童生活专家是儿童发育领域经过专业培训的专家。 他们可以指导您帮助您的孩子为其访视做好准备。 您可以致电 212-639-8285 与其取得联系。

与您孩子的护理团队讨论

思考访视的哪些部分可能对您的孩子来说压力最大。 与您孩子的护理团队讨论您的担忧。 他们可以帮助计划如何在孩子进行访视期间为其提供支持。

进行放松练习

放松练习有助于您的孩子在感到紧张时放松。 他们可以练习深呼吸,或是在害怕时挤捏一些东西。 您的儿童生活专家可以教您的孩子做一些有助于其在访视期间放松的练习。

写下您的问题

思考您或您的孩子向护士、医生或儿童生活专家提出的任何问题。 将其写在记事本上,并在访视当天随身携带记事本。 这有助于您记得询问这些问题。

为您的孩子读一些关于看医生的书籍

为您的孩子读一些关于看医生的书籍有助于您的孩子对访视可能发生的情况有所了解。 还有助于您的孩子谈论其对成为患者的感受。 一些示例包括:

  • 《Elmo Goes to the Doctor》(Sarah Albee 著)
  • 《Baby Medical School: My Doctor’s Visit》(Cara Florance 和 Jon Florance 著)
  • 《We’re Going to the Doctor》(Campbell Books 出版)

与您的孩子就可能发生的情况进行讨论

用孩子可以理解的简单词语介绍这次访视,以便其对访视可能发生的情况有所了解。

为孩子介绍时可以使用以下示例,以帮助他们为访视做好准备:

  • “医生会往你的眼睛里滴眼药水。 这些眼药水有助于医生看到你眼睛的所有部位。”
  • “感到紧张或害怕是很正常的。 让我们讨论一些帮助你保持冷静的方法。”
  • “每个人都在这里帮忙,想让你感觉好一些。”

如果您的孩子将进行需接受麻醉(使人入睡的药物)的眼科检查,请向其展示检查室的照片(参见图 1)。

您还可以说:

  • “医生会使用安眠药物让你入睡。 你将通过戴在脸上的面罩进行安眠。 面罩可能有点臭,但不会伤害到你。”
图 1. 检查室

图 1. 检查室

访视日

请记住,您的孩子在访视期间可能不会像往常一样行事。 他们可能会感到紧张、害怕或愤怒。 如果他们有所表现,试着对他们保持耐心。 您的护理团队随时为您和您的孩子提供支持。

您可以在访视当天携带以下物品来帮助您的孩子:

  • 孩子最喜欢的毛绒玩具、玩具、奶嘴或任何其他安抚物品。
  • 零食或奶瓶,让孩子在访视后食用。
  • 婴儿车。 您的孩子在访视后可能会出现视力模糊,因此推荐使用婴儿车代步。
  • 记事本,用于在访视期间做笔记。
  • 手机或 iPad,让您的孩子可以播放他们最喜欢的节目或歌曲。 这将帮助他们在访视期间感到舒适。 您也可以要求您的护理团队在办公室的电视上播放节目。

访视后

  • 在您的孩子进行完访视后,给他们一些可以期待的东西。 例如,您可以做一个有趣的活动或给他们一个小奖品。
回到顶部

访视可能发生的情况

儿童生活专家将在访视开始时与您和您的孩子会面。 他们将与您的孩子讨论访视,让其保持冷静和放松,并与他们一起做活动。 您的儿童生活专家随时为您提供帮助。 您和您的孩子可以向他们提出任何问题。 儿童生活专家将在整个访视期间为您和您的孩子提供支持。

在与儿童生活专家会面后,护士会让孩子在您的帮助下测量身高、体重和血压。 您的孩子将通过读视力表上的字母、数字或图片来进行视力检查。 检查时,护士可能会要求您的孩子一次遮住一只眼睛,以测试每只眼睛。

接下来,您的护士将使用机器检查您的孩子是否需要配镜。 该机器称为自动验光机。 门诊中有两类自动验光机。 您可全程与您的孩子在一起。

  • 一类自动验光机看起来像相机。 护士会举起它,就好像他们正在给您的孩子拍照一样。 该自动验光机会在扫描孩子的眼睛时闪光并发出像鸟叫一样的声音。 您的孩子应像对待普通相机一样直视灯光。
  • 另一类自动验光机需要孩子直视机器。 您的孩子将坐在椅子上,将下巴放在下巴托上,并将前额靠在机器前面的横杆上。 当他们准备好后,将透过机器上的镜头看到不同的图片。 当机器扫描孩子的眼睛时,图片会先变模糊再变清晰。

对于这两类自动验光机,您的孩子都需要尽可能安静地坐着。

接下来,护士将在孩子的眼睛中滴入 1 到 2 滴眼药水。 这将有助于扩大其瞳孔(眼睛中心的黑点)。 这有助于医生看到其眼睛的所有部位。 这些眼药水会使他们的视力模糊几个小时,因此他们可能需要帮助才能走出医院。 如果可能,您可能想使用婴儿车。

接受麻醉后进行眼科检查

有些孩子可能需要麻醉(使其昏昏欲睡的药物)以进行访视。 本节介绍了您的孩子需接受麻醉时的访视可能发生的情况。

如果您的孩子需在接受麻醉后进行眼科检查,请务必遵循护士发给您的饮食说明。 如果您有任何问题,请咨询您的医疗保健提供者。

在孩子滴完眼药水后,您和您的孩子将前往手术室。 您的儿童生活专家将与您的孩子讨论麻醉以及可能发生的情况。

您的孩子将躺在检查台上。 医生会将麻醉面罩盖住其口鼻。 您将与您的孩子一起待在检查室,直到其入睡。 检查时间为 15-30 分钟。 如果您的孩子需要进行其他检查或治疗,可能需要更长时间。 在这种情况下,您的医生会在检查或治疗前与您讨论。

检查结束后,麻醉效果需要 15-30 分钟才能消退。 在麻醉药排出体外之前,您的孩子可能会感到悲伤或生气。 可以慢慢恢复正常饮食。

与医生交谈后,您和您的孩子就可以回家了。

未接受麻醉时进行眼科检查

有些孩子可在未接受麻醉的情况下进行眼科检查。 他们可能会很紧张,特别是当他们第一次访视时。 在其进行访视期间,我们所有人务必对其保持耐心。 如果检查在未接受麻醉时完成,您可以全程陪伴孩子。

在孩子滴完眼药水后,技术人员将使用机器为孩子的眼睛拍照(参见图 2)。 该机器被称为 Optos® 机器。 您的孩子需直视机器并看到绿色、红色和蓝色的灯。 孩子需要保持静止,在看着灯光时尽量不要眨眼。 当机器即将拍照时,会闪烁强光。 您的孩子在这次检查中不会感到任何疼痛。

图 2. Optos 机器

图 2. Optos 机器

如果孩子还需要进行超声波扫描,您和您的孩子将前往检查室。 护士会将冰凉的啫喱涂在您孩子的眼睑上。 他们将使用魔杖形状的超声波探头在您孩子的眼睛周围摩擦。 探头将扫描孩子的眼睛并拍照。 您的孩子会感到轻微的压力,但不会感到疼痛。

超声波检查后,您将与您的医生会面。 他们将戴着头灯检查孩子的眼睛,并与您讨论接下来的步骤。

回到顶部

联系信息

如果您有任何问题或疑虑,请联系您的眼科医疗团队。 您可以在周一至周五上午 9:00 至下午 5:00 致电 212-639-7232 与其取得联系。 您也可以发送电子邮件至 surophonc@mskcc.org 联系我们。

如果您是 Memorial Sloan Kettering 的患者,并需要在下午 5:00 之后、周末或节假日联系医疗保健提供者,请您致电 212-639-2000

回到顶部

上次更新时间

How to Get Your Child Ready for Their Ophthalmology Clinic Visit

Share
Time to Read: About 6 minutes

This information explains how to get your child ready for their ophthalmology (aaf-thal-MAA-luh-jee) clinic visit. In this resource, the words “you” and “your” refer to you or your child.

Back to top

Getting Your Child Ready for Their Visit

Helping your child get ready for their visit is very important. Children do not like surprises at the doctor’s office. Letting them know what to expect can help ease some of their fear and anxiety. This section explains ways to help your child get ready for their visit.

Before your visit

Talk with a child life specialist

A child life specialist is a trained professional who is an expert in child development. They can guide you through helping your child get ready for their visit. You can reach them at 212-639-8285.

Talk with your child’s care team

Think about which parts of the visit might be the most stressful for your child. Talk with your child’s care team about your concerns. They can help plan how to support your child during their visit.

Practice relaxation exercises

Relaxation exercises can help your child relax when they are feeling nervous. They can practice taking deep breaths or have something to squeeze when they are scared. Your child life specialist can teach your child exercises they can do to help them relax during their visit.

Write down your questions

Think of any questions you or your child have for your nurses, doctor, or child life specialist. Write them down on a notepad and bring the notepad with you on the day of your visit. This can help you remember to ask your questions.

Read your child books about going to the doctor

Reading children’s books about going to the doctor can help your child know what to expect at their visit. It can also help your child talk about how they feel about being a patient. Some examples include:

  • Elmo Goes to the Doctor by Sarah Albee
  • Baby Medical School: My Doctor’s Visit by Cara and Jon Florance
  • We’re Going to the Doctor by Campbell Books

Talk with your child about what they can expect

Explain the visit using simple words your child understands so they know what to expect at their visit.

Here are some example phrases you can say to your child to help them feel ready for their visit:

  • “You will get wet drops into your eyes. The drops help the doctor see all the parts of your eye.”
  • “It’s OK to feel nervous or afraid. Let’s talk about some ways to help you feel calm.”
  • “Everyone is here to help make you feel better.”

If your child is having their eye exam with anesthesia (medication that makes you sleep), show them a picture of the exam room (see Figure 1).

You can also say:

  • “You will fall asleep using a sleeping medicine. You will get the medicine through a mask that will go on your face. The mask may be a little smelly, but there is nothing that is going to hurt you.”
Figure 1. The exam room

Figure 1. The exam room

The day of your visit

Remember that your child may not act as they normally do during their visit. They may feel nervous, scared, or angry. Try to be patient with them if they act out. Your care team is here to support you and your child.

Here are some things you can bring with you on the day of your visit to help your child:

  • Your child’s favorite stuffed animal, toy, pacifier, or any other comfort item.
  • Snacks or a bottle for your child for after their visit.
  • A stroller. Your child’s vision may be blurry after their visit so it may be easier to use a stroller.
  • A notepad to take notes during your visit.
  • A phone or iPad so your child can play their favorite show or song. This will help them feel comfortable during their visit. You can also ask your care team to play a show on the office TV.

After your visit

  • Give your child something to look forward to after their visit. For example, you can do a fun activity or give them a small prize.
Back to top

What to Expect at Your Visit

A child life specialist will meet with you and your child at the start of your visit. They will talk with your child about their visit, keep them calm and relaxed, and do activities with them. Your child life specialist is here to help you. You and your child can ask them any questions you have. The child life specialist will support you and your child throughout the visit.

After meeting with the child life specialist, your nurse will come get you and your child to check their height, weight, and blood pressure. Your child will take an eye exam by reading the letters, numbers, or pictures on an eye chart. The nurses may ask your child to cover their eyes one at a time to test each eye.

Next, your nurse will use a machine to check if your child needs prescription eyeglasses. This machine is called an autorefractor. There are 2 types of autorefractors in the clinic. You will be able to be with your child throughout this process.

  • One type of autorefractor looks like a camera. Your nurse will hold it up as if they are taking a picture of your child. The autorefractor will flash lights and makes sounds, like birds chirping, as it scans your child’s eyes. Your child will look directly at the lights just as they would with a regular camera.
  • The other type of autorefractor is a machine that your child will look into. Your child will sit in a chair, place their chin on the chin rest, and rest their forehead on the bar in front of the machine. When they are ready, they will look through the lenses on the machine and see different pictures. The pictures will turn blurry and then clear as the machine scans your child’s eyes.

For both types of autorefractors, your child will need to sit as still as possible.

Next, your nurse will place 1 to 2 eye drops in your child’s eyes. This will help dilate (widen) their pupils (dark dot in the center of the eye). This makes it easier for their doctor to see all parts of their eye. These drops will make their vision blurry for a few hours so they may need help walking out of the hospital. You may want to use a stroller, if possible.

Having your eye exam with anesthesia

Some children may need anesthesia (medication to make them sleepy) for their visit. This section explains what you can expect during your visit if your child is getting anesthesia.

If your child is having their eye exam with anesthesia, it is important they follow the eating and drinking instructions your nurse sent you. If you have any questions, talk with your healthcare provider.

After your child gets eye drops, you and your child will go to the procedure room. Your child life specialist will talk with your child about anesthesia and what they can expect.

Your child will lie down on the exam table. The doctor will place the anesthesia mask over their mouth and nose. You will be in the exam room with your child until they fall asleep. The exam will take 15 to 30 minutes. It may take longer if your child needs to have other exams or treatment done. If this is the case, your doctor will talk with you before the exam or treatment.

When the exam is over, the anesthesia will take 15 to 30 minutes to wear off. Your child may feel sad or annoyed until the anesthesia is out of their body. They can slowly go back to their normal diet.

After speaking with the doctor, you and your child will be able to go home.

Having your eye exam without anesthesia

Some children can do their eye exam without anesthesia. They may be nervous, especially if it’s their first visit. It’s important that we all be patient with them during their visit. If the exam is done without anesthesia, you will be able to be with your child the entire time.

After your child gets eye drops, a technician will use a machine to take pictures of your child’s eyes (see Figure 2). The machine is called an Optos® machine. Your child will look into the machine and see green, red, and blue lights. They will need to stay still and try not to blink as they look at the lights. When the machine is ready to take the picture, it will flash a bright light. Your child will not feel any pain during this exam.

Figure 2. The Optos machine

Figure 2. The Optos machine

If your child also needs an ultrasound scan, you and your child will go to the exam room. Your nurse will place cold jelly on your child’s eyelids. They will use the ultrasound probe, which is shaped like a wand, and rub it around your child’s eye. The probe will scan and take pictures of your child’s eyes. Your child will feel slight pressure, but no pain.

After the ultrasound, you will meet with your doctor. They will check your child’s eyes while wearing a headlamp and talk about the next steps with you.

Back to top

Contact Information

If you have any questions or concerns, contact your ophthalmology care team. You can reach them Monday through Friday from to at 212-639-7232. You can also email us at [email protected].

If you are a patient at Memorial Sloan Kettering and you need to reach a healthcare provider after , during the weekend, or on a holiday, call 212-639-2000.

Back to top

Tell us what you think

Tell us what you think

Your feedback will help us improve the educational information we provide. Your care team cannot see anything you write on this feedback form. Please do not use it to ask about your care. If you have questions about your care, contact your healthcare provider.

While we read all feedback, we cannot answer any questions. Please do not write your name or any personal information on this feedback form.

Questions Yes Somewhat No

Last Updated