如何使用阴道扩张器

本信息将教授您阴道扩张器相关知识,以及如何使用它们进行阴道扩张器治疗。

返回到頂部

关于阴道扩张器

阴道扩张器是用于拉伸阴道的管状器械。它们通常由塑料制成,并配有多种尺寸的套件。您可以在诊所拿到套件,或者您可以自行购买。该套件包括不同尺寸的扩张器,范围从小(约手指大小)到大(见图 1)。建议您使用硬质塑料制成的硬质扩张器,而非硅胶制成的软质扩张器。

图 1. 阴道扩张器

图 1. 阴道扩张器

绝经后,您的阴道会变得更加干燥,弹性(拉伸)降低(拉伸),变窄,变短。对于接受过癌症治疗或手术以降低癌症风险的女性来说,这一过程可能会更早发生。

为了帮助您应对这些变化,您可以使用阴道扩张器,开始阴道扩张器治疗。您需要使用套件中最小的扩张器开始阴道扩张器治疗,然后随着时间的推移,当您感觉更舒适时,您可以缓慢增加扩张器的尺寸。

返回到頂部

阴道扩张器治疗

只要您有需要,您都可以接受阴道扩张器治疗。接受阴道扩张器治疗的时间取决于很多因素。您可以与您的医疗保健提供者讨论适合您的时间长度。

阴道扩张器治疗将有助于防止您的阴道变得过于狭窄。它还可以帮助保持您的阴道弹性。

阴道扩张器治疗将有助于:

  • 您的医疗保健提供者为您进行的全面盆腔检查(医生或护士观察您的外阴和内生殖器官)。
  • 使盆腔检查变得更加舒适。
  • 减少性生活不适
返回到頂部

开始进行阴道扩张器治疗

请找一个可以独处的时间和安静的地方。尽量选择一个令您感到放松的地方。您的卧室通常是扩张器治疗的舒适场所。放松您的盆底肌肉,在您开始之前请做一些深呼吸。

首先选择一个舒适的位置:

  1. 仰卧,双脚平放在床上或沙发上,膝盖稍弯曲。
  2. 保持两腿分开,与肩同宽。如果分开时有困难,您可以把枕头放在膝盖下进行支撑。
  3. 确保您可以用手轻松触摸到阴道开口。如有需要,您可使用手持镜观察阴道开口。
  4. 请找到您的盆底肌肉(支持你生殖器官的肌肉),然后做凯格尔练习。凯格尔练习可以帮助您更容易地插入扩张器。如果您不确定如何进行相关练习,您可以阅读资源 Pelvic Floor Muscle (Kegel) Exercises for Women to Improve Sexual Health
返回到頂部

置入阴道扩张器

置入阴道扩张器应该非常简单。如果您缓慢而轻柔地进行操作,将不会引起任何疼痛。这一过程大约需要 10-15 分钟。

从套件中的最小尺寸扩张器开始。您可以在扩张器和阴道口涂抹润滑剂。请使用水基润滑剂,如 Astroglide® 或 K-Y®。这将有助于扩张器更容易滑入阴道。请勿使用凡士林(Vaseline®),因为它可能会引起刺激。请避免使用油和硅基润滑剂,因为不易将它们从扩张器上冲洗干净。

如需将扩张器置入阴道,请按照以下步骤操作:

  1. 轻轻按压,将扩张器的圆形末端缓慢置入阴道。始终沿脊柱(背部)直线方向或略微向下的角度置入,就像置入卫生棉条一样。
  2. 继续缓慢置入扩张器,直至感到轻微不适或肌肉紧张,然后停止。扩张器应感觉紧贴但并不造成任何疼痛。切勿用力,如感到疼痛,应立刻停止。如果您在置入时没有感觉到任何压力,您可能需要使用更大尺寸的扩张器。
  3. 您可以按照资源 Pelvic Floor Muscle (Kegel) Exercises for Women to Improve Sexual Health 中的指示进行一组凯格尔练习。这些练习将帮助您放松盆底肌肉,并将扩张器置入更深的位置。
    • 如果做凯格尔练习后仍然很难置入扩张器,您可以试着做一些深呼吸运动。然后,重新关注放松盆底肌肉,并尝试进一步置入扩张器。
    • 如果不能完全置入扩张器,请不要担心。随着时间的推移,您可以将扩张器置入更深一点的位置。如果您仍然无法置入扩张器,请告知您的医疗保健提供者。
  4. 扩张器就位后,按照步骤 5 和 6 操作 5-10 分钟。如果在此过程中有需要的话,您可以施用更多的润滑剂。
  5. 轻轻推入和推出扩张器,以伸展阴道长度。
  6. 轻轻以大圆圈旋转扩张器,以拉伸您阴道的宽度。在阴道后部、中部和开口处重复此步骤。
    • 一些女性发现使用一种以上尺寸的扩张器对她们很有帮助。例如,一些女性可能在阴道开口处使用较大的扩张器,在阴道深处使用较小的扩张器,直到她们能够完全使用下一个尺寸的扩张器。
  7. 完成步骤 1-6 后,请取出扩张器。
  8. 请用热肥皂水清洗扩张器。然后用干净毛巾或纸巾擦干。请按照套件中的说明进行储存。
返回到頂部

使用阴道扩张器后

使用扩张器时或使用结束后,您可能会有少量阴道出血。这是正常的现象。扩张器治疗后,您可能需要使用卫生护垫。如果您有大量出血,例如浸湿卫生巾(护垫)的出血,或如果出血持续超过 1 天,请联系您的医疗保健提供者。

如果您经常发生尿路感染 (UTI),您可能会在使用扩张器后想要排尿(小便)。

如果您有任何问题,请在下次预约访视时咨询您的医疗保健提供者。

返回到頂部

增大扩张器尺寸

阴道扩张器治疗的目标是缓慢增大扩张器的尺寸。当您可以将一个尺寸的扩张器完全置入阴道而没有任何不适时,您应该开始使用下一个尺寸。如果可能,目标是置入最大尺寸的扩张器,而不会造成任何不适。随着时间的推移增大尺寸将有助于您进行更舒适的盆腔检查、阴道性生活或两者兼而有之。

返回到頂部

应该何时进行阴道扩张器治疗

您应该每周进行 3-4 次扩张器治疗,但不要连续进行 2 天或更长时间。连续多日进行扩张器治疗可能会引起疼痛或刺激。当您不使用阴道扩张器时,您应该尝试做凯格尔练习。凯格尔练习不会造成任何疼痛。您可以参考资源 Pelvic Floor Muscle (Kegel) Exercises for Women to Improve Sexual Health 了解凯格尔练习的技巧。

如果您忘记进行扩张器治疗或者没时间做,请不要放弃。尝试尽快重新开始。为自己制定一个计划或日程安排可以帮助您获得成功。

返回到頂部

阴道保湿剂

阴道保湿剂是增加阴道水分的产品,他们能够使扩张器治疗、性活动和盆腔检查变得更加容易。

阴道保湿剂,如 Replens 和 HYALO GYN®,每周可在阴道内使用 3-5 次,也可用于内外阴唇(阴道周围皮肤褶皱)、阴蒂和阴道开口等部位。您可以经常使用,特别是绝经后有干涩感的时候。

使用阴道保湿剂的最佳时机是临睡前。这是因为当您在平躺和睡觉的时候,它吸收得最好。请勿在扩张器治疗前使用阴道保湿剂,因为保湿剂不能正确被皮肤吸收。

有关阴道保湿剂的更多信息,请阅读资源 改善您的外阴阴道健康。您可以在线查找,也可以向您的医疗保健提供者索取。

返回到頂部

女性性医学与女性健康项目

如果您想获得更多关于性健康和亲密关系的支持和信息,请与您的医疗保健提供者讨论 MSK 斯隆的女性性医学和女性健康项目。如需了解更多项目信息或进行预约,请致电 646-888-5076

女性性医学和妇女健康项目在以下地点提供服务:

  • 53 大街 160 号:洛克菲勒门诊馆
  • 66 大街 300 号:Evelyn H. Lauder 乳腺中心
返回到頂部

上次更新時間

How to Use a Vaginal Dilator

This information will teach you about vaginal dilators, and how to use them for vaginal dilator therapy.

About Vaginal Dilators

A vaginal dilator is a tube-shaped device that’s used to stretch the vagina. They’re usually made of plastic and come in kits with many sizes. Either you will be given a kit in clinic, or you may buy your own. The kit includes different size dilators ranging from small (about the size of a finger) to large. It’s recommended that you use firm dilators made of hard plastic, and not softer dilators made of silicone.

After menopause, your vagina becomes drier, less elastic (stretchy), narrower, and shorter. This process can happen sooner for women who have had cancer treatments, or a surgery to lower their risk of cancer.

To help you with these changes, you can use a vaginal dilator and begin vaginal dilator therapy. You will start vaginal dilator therapy using the smallest dilator in your kit, and then slowly increase the dilator size over time as you feel more comfortable.

Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

Vaginal Dilator Therapy

You can do vaginal dilator therapy for as long as you need to. The amount of time you will need to do vaginal dilator therapy depends on many factors. You can discuss the length of time that’s right for you with your healthcare provider.

Vaginal dilator therapy will help to prevent your vagina from becoming too narrow. It can also help keep your vagina elastic.

 

Vaginal dilator therapy will help:

  • Your healthcare provider do a full pelvic exam (when a doctor or nurse looks at your vulva and internal reproductive organs).
  • Make pelvic exams more comfortable.
  • Lessen discomfort with sexual activity
Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

Getting Started with Vaginal Dilator Therapy

Find a time and a quiet place where you can be alone. Try to pick a space where you feel relaxed. Your bedroom is usually a comfortable place for dilator therapy. Relax your pelvic floor muscles and take some deep breaths before you begin.

Start by getting into a comfortable position:

  1. Lie down on your back with your feet flat on the bed or couch, and your knees slightly bent.
  2. Spread your legs, so they’re shoulder-width apart. If you find this to be a problem, you can place pillows under your knees for support.
  3. Make sure you can easily touch the opening of your vagina with your hand. Use a hand mirror to see your vaginal opening if you need to.
  4. Find your pelvic floor muscles (muscles that support your reproductive organs) and do Kegel exercises. Kegel exercises may help you insert the dilator easier. If you aren’t sure how to do them, read the resource Pelvic Floor Muscle (Kegel) Exercises for Women to Improve Sexual Health.
Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

Inserting the Vaginal Dilator

Inserting a vaginal dilator is simple. It shouldn’t cause any pain if you do it slowly and gently. This process should take about 10-15 minutes.

Start with the smallest size dilator in your kit. Apply a lubricant to the dilator and the opening of your vagina. Use a water-based lubricant such as Astroglide® or K-Y®. This will help the dilator slide more easily into your vagina. Don’t use petroleum jelly (Vaseline®), because it can cause irritation. Avoid using oil and silicone-based lubricants because they don’t wash off the dilator easily.

To insert the dilator into your vagina, follow these steps:

  1. Using gentle pressure, slowly insert the round end of the dilator into your vagina. Always insert it in the direction of your spine (back) straight or at a slightly downward angle, like you would insert a tampon.
  2. Continue to insert the dilator slowly until you feel slight discomfort or muscle tension, then stop. The dilator should feel snug but not painful. Never use force and stop if you feel pain. If you don’t feel any pressure when you insert it, you might need to use a larger sized dilator.
  3. Do a set of Kegel exercises, as instructed in the resource Pelvic Floor Muscle (Kegel) Exercises for Women to Improve Sexual Health. These exercises will help you relax your pelvic floor muscles and insert the dilator a little further.
    • If it’s still difficult to insert the dilator after doing Kegel exercises, try taking some deep breaths. Then, refocus on relaxing your pelvic floor muscles and try to insert the dilator a little further.
    • Don’t worry if you can’t insert the dilator completely. Over time, you may be able to get the dilator in a little further. If you’re still not able to insert the dilator, talk to your healthcare provider.
  4. Once the dilator is in place, follow steps 5 and 6 for 5 to 10 minutes. You may add more lubricant if you need it during this process.
  5. Gently push the dilator in and out to stretch the length of your vagina.
  6. Gently rotate the dilator in wide circles to stretch the width of your vagina. Repeat this at the back, middle, and opening of your vagina.
    • Some women find it helpful to work with more than one size dilator. For example, some women may use a larger dilator at the opening of their vagina, and a smaller dilator deeper inside the vagina, until they’re able to use the next size dilator fully.
  7. When you’re finished with steps 1 to 6, remove the dilator.
  8. Wash your dilator with hot, soapy water. Then dry it with a clean towel or paper towel. Store it as instructed in your kit.
Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

After Using Your Vaginal Dilator

You may have a small amount of vaginal bleeding while using the dilator or after you’re finished using it. This is normal. You may want to wear a panty liner after dilator therapy. If you have a lot of bleeding, such as bleeding that soaks up a sanitary napkin (pad), or if bleeding continues for longer than 1 day, call your healthcare provider.

If you get urinary tract infections (UTIs) often, you may want to urinate (pee) after using your dilator.

If you have any questions or problems, talk with your healthcare provider at your next appointment.

Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

Increasing Your Dilator Size

The goal of vaginal dilator therapy is to increase the size of your dilators slowly. When you can insert one size of a dilator completely into your vagina without any discomfort, then you should start using the next size up. The goal is to insert the largest size dilator without any discomfort, if possible. Increasing the size over time will help you have more comfortable pelvic exams, vaginal sex, or both.

Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

When to Practice Vaginal Dilator Therapy

You should practice dilator therapy 3-4 times per week, but don’t do it 2 or more days in a row. Doing dilator therapy many days in a row may cause pain or irritation. When you aren’t using your vaginal dilator, you should try to do Kegel exercises. Kegel exercises shouldn’t be painful. You can refer to the resource Pelvic Floor Muscle (Kegel) Exercises for Women to Improve Sexual Health for tips on Kegel exercises.

If you forget to do your dilator therapy or don’t have time to do it, don’t give up. Try to start again as soon as possible. Coming up with a plan or routine for yourself can help you be successful.

 
Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

Vaginal Moisturizers

Vaginal moisturizers are products that increase moisture in your vagina making dilator therapy, sexual activity, and pelvic exams easier.

Vaginal moisturizers, such as Replens and HYALO GYN® can be used 3-5 times per week inside the vagina, and also on areas such as the inner and outer labia (the folds of skin around your vagina), clitoris and vaginal opening. You can use them regularly, especially if you have dryness after menopause.

The best time to use a vaginal moisturizer is right before bedtime. This is because it absorbs best while you’re lying flat and sleeping. Don’t use a vaginal moisturizer right before dilator therapy because the moisturizer won’t absorb into your skin properly.

For more information about vaginal moisturizers, read the resource Improving Your Vulvovaginal Health. You can find it online, or you can ask your healthcare provider for it.

Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

Female Sexual Medicine and Women’s Health Program

If you would like more support and information about sexual health and intimacy, please talk with your healthcare provider about Memorial Sloan Kettering’s (MSK) Female Sexual Medicine and Women’s Health Program. For more information about the program, or to make an appointment, please call 646-888-5076.

The Female Sexual Medicine and Women’s Health Program provides services at the following locations:

  • 160 East 53rd Street: Rockefeller Outpatient Pavilion
  • 300 East 66th Street: Evelyn H. Lauder Breast Center
Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

Last Updated