介入性肺病学的发展给肺癌诊断和治疗带来了革命性的变化

简体中文
Share
Print
Mohit Chawla,医学博士,美国胸科医师学会资深会员

Mohit Chawla,医学博士,美国胸科医师学会资深会员

先进的介入性肺病学 (IP) 技术正在彻底改变肺癌的诊断和治疗。经专门培训的医生可以通过微创支气管镜检查准确诊断和分期肺癌,并为恶性气道、胸膜腔和肺实质疾病患者提供微创治疗和姑息治疗。

在 Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (MSK),自 2008 年与两位主治医师一起成立 IP 部门以来, 我们一直在介入性肺科学领域处于领先地位。(www.mskcc.org/IP)。我们的团队在肺癌患者症状管理循证临床实践指南的开发 (1)、该领域医生培训考试的有效性 (2),以及最近用于癌症分期的超声引导下经支气管针吸活检术 (EBUS-TNBA) 等方面,开创了新技术,并进行了合作(3)。

我们的介入性肺病学专家与胸外科医生、介入放射科医生、放射肿瘤科医生以及胸外科疾病管理团队的肿瘤学家合作,为每位患者制定最佳的诊断和治疗方案,通常尽量将多种侵入性手术的需求降至最低。我们将继续开发和研究新的方法,进行临床试验,并通过我们的培训研究协会和继续医学教育课程来推动该领域的发展,以培训更多的专科医生。

微创手术

经支气管镜插入仪器,无需切口,与标准的手术或经皮方案相比,为患者提供的显著优势有:术后疼痛更少,恢复时间更快,并发症更少,住院时间更短。许多手术都是在门诊手术室进行的,风险较低。

介入性肺病学手术可以缓解晚期肺癌患者的症状,在某些情况下,可以使其脱离呼吸机,或改善生活质量,以便其可以接受其他癌症治疗,从而延长生存期
Mohit Chawla Chief, Pulmonary Service; Director, Section of Interventional Pulmonology

EBUS-TNBA 涉及使用超声波通过针吸定位和活检肺部肿块和肿瘤附近肿大的淋巴结。导航支气管镜结合了 CT 扫描的数据和电磁导航仪器来识别、活检和治疗周围小肺病变。

在治疗性支气管镜检查中,支气管镜可作为导管,在肺塌陷或气道阻塞患者中插入气道支架,应用激光消融术来破坏肿瘤组织,或治疗气道缺陷。

当癌症扩散到胸部时,胸膜腔疾病是一个常见的问题。在超声引导下,我们可以插入可在家使用的留置隧道式胸腔导管(如 PleurX),进行胸膜固定术,以封闭胸膜腔,防止积液进一步积聚,进行排液,去除疤痕组织。

介入性肺病学手术可以缓解晚期肺癌患者的症状,在某些情况下,可以使其脱离呼吸机,或改善生活质量,以便其可以接受其他癌症治疗,从而延长生存期。

Back to top

MSK-IMPACT™ 肿瘤基因图谱分析

先进的诊断性支气管镜检查的一个显著优点是,该技术可用于获得足够大的活检样本,以用于 MSK-IMPACT™ (可操作癌症靶点的整合突变谱分析)、MSK 的基因图谱分析,使用高通量的下一代测序来寻找 465 个以上癌症相关基因和其他分子生物标记物的变化。该诊断测试由 MSK 的病理科开发,自 2014 年以来一直在使用。有了它,我们可以快速评估包括肺癌在内的一系列实体瘤类型,并尽可能为患者匹配可用的靶向治疗或新药物的临床试验。FDA 最近批准了 MSK-IMPACT™

Back to top

介入性肺病学研究 

我们将继续研究不同的方法和器械,用于诊断和治疗恶性疾病患者的肺部疾病、改善微创干预后的患者预后、研究口腔微生物群在造血干细胞移植后并发肺部疾病中的作用等领域,同时最小化风险,最大化收益。我们最近报道了首次使用可吸收明胶和凝血酶浆在支气管镜下治疗气道出血的数据。

放射治疗是一种非常有效的治疗肺癌的方法,但是当患者呼吸时,要对肿瘤组织进行持续的治疗是很有挑战性的。MSK 是首批将 Calypso GPS 系统作为肺癌放疗运动管理工具进行临床试验的公司之一。它已成功用于治疗前列腺癌多年,已经过 FDA 批准可用于此用途。 通过 Calypso 系统,使用微创支气管镜将长约 7.5mm 的微小信标放置在靠近肿瘤的肺部。该系统对肿瘤的位置进行三角定位,以确保辐射准确地传递到肿瘤组织。如果患者呼吸和跟踪领域发生变化,则关闭辐射,防止对健康组织造成损害。

一项研究正在研究 Calypso 系统与深吸气屏气疗法的结合。另一项研究无法屏住呼吸的患者中测试该系统,在他们正常呼吸时,辐射会打开或关闭。

最后,MSK 的 IP 计划成为第一批实施最新支气管镜机器人 技术的项目之一,目前正在接受 FDA 的审查。这将极大提高我们用于诊断肺肿瘤的定位能力,并首次通过射频消融或冷冻消融等热疗法在支气管镜下 (4) 可靠地治疗肺肿瘤。

Robert P. Lee,医学博士

Robert P. Lee,医学博士

Back to top

推进介入性肺病学领域

作为一个分支学科,介入性肺病学需要在传统的肺部医学和重症监护医学研究外额外进行一年培训。为了培养该领域未来的领导者,我们在纽约设立了首个 IP 研究协会。2018 年 6 月, 我们将有四个 IP 研究员毕业。我们的 IP 毕业生在先进的学术 IP 项目中都获得了成功,该项目对其成长和进步做出了巨大贡献。此外,我们有三名前肺内科研究员从随后很著名的 IP 研究协会毕业,他们都在全国范围内都领导着非常成功的学术 IP 项目。

我们还开展了一项经认证的年度继续医学教育课程,名为介入性肺病的当前范例:支气管内超声和介入支气管检查;为从业的肺病学家、重症医师、胸外科医生、护士和技术人员提供了对 EBUS、介入性支气管检查和细胞学标本处理的深入理解。

IP 仍然是一个很新的领域,其正在巩固基础,MSK 的这一科在这方面取得了重大进展。全国各地仍然非常需要训练有素的介入性肺病学家,尤其是在细胞病理学家和分子病理学家改善小型活检(用于诊断、分期和分子分析)实用性、加强姑息治疗的整合和接受度(在所有癌症中,但尤其是肺癌)的时代 (5),同时也需要开发新的疗法(如支气管镜下消融治疗周围型肺癌),以进行肺癌筛查。我们希望随着 MSK 的 IP 部门的发展,可以继续在该领域取得进步。

Back to top

Revolutionizing Lung Cancer Diagnosis and Treatment with Advances in Interventional Pulmonology

Mohit Chawla, MD, FCCP

Advanced interventional pulmonology (IP) techniques are revolutionizing the diagnosis and treatment of lung cancer. Minimally invasive bronchoscopy allows doctors with specialized training to accurately diagnose and stage lung cancer and to provide less-invasive therapeutic and palliative procedures for patients with malignant airway, pleural space, and lung parenchymal diseases.

At Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (MSK), we have been leading the field of interventional pulmonology since the inception of the IP Section with two attending physicians (www.mskcc.org/IP) in 2008. Our team has pioneered new techniques and collaborated in the development of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines for symptom management in patients with lung cancer, (1) the validation of an examination for doctors training in the field, (2) and most recently, the use of endobronchial ultrasound-guided transbronchial needle aspiration (EBUS-TNBA) for staging cancer. (3)

Our interventional pulmonology experts collaborate with thoracic surgeons, interventional radiologists, radiation oncologists, and medical oncologists in the Thoracic Disease Management Team to develop the optimal diagnostic and treatment plan for each patient, often minimizing the need for multiple invasive procedures. We continue to develop and research new modalities, conduct clinical trials, and advance the field through our training fellowship and continuing medical education courses to train more subspecialists.

Minimally Invasive Procedures

By inserting instrumentation through a bronchoscope, no incisions are required, providing patients with significant advantages compared with standard surgical or percutaneous options: less postoperative pain, faster recovery times, fewer complications and shorter hospital stays. Many procedures are performed on an outpatient basis with low risk.

Interventional pulmonology procedures can relieve symptoms in patients with advanced lung cancers, in some cases allowing them to be taken off ventilators or improving their quality of life so that they can receive additional cancer treatment that may extend survival.
Mohit Chawla
Mohit Chawla Chief, Pulmonary Service; Director, Section of Interventional Pulmonology; Program Director, Interventional Pulmonology Fellowship

EBUS-TNBA involves using ultrasound waves to locate and biopsy lung masses and enlarged lymph nodes near tumors via needle aspiration. Navigational bronchoscopy combines data from CT scans with electromagnetic navigational instruments to identify, biopsy, and treat small peripheral lung lesions.

With therapeutic bronchoscopy, the bronchoscope serves as a conduit for inserting airway stents in patients with collapsed lungs or blocked airways, applying laser ablation to destroy tumor tissue, or treating airway defects.

Pleural space diseases are a common problem when cancer spreads to the chest. Using ultrasound guidance, we can insert indwelling tunnelled pleural catheters, like PleurX, that can be managed at home, perform pleurodesis to seal the pleural space to prevent further fluid accumulation, and perform  to drain fluid and remove scar tissue.

Interventional pulmonology procedures can relieve symptoms in patients with advanced lung cancers, in some cases allowing them to be taken off ventilators or improving their quality of life so that they can receive additional cancer treatment that may extend survival.

Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

MSK-IMPACT™ Tumor Genetic Profiling Assay

A significant benefit of advanced diagnostic bronchoscopy is that the technique can be used to obtain biopsies of sufficient size for use with MSK-IMPACT™ (integrated mutation profiling of actionable cancer targets), MSK’s genetic-profiling assay that uses high-throughput next-generation sequencing to look for alterations in more than 465 cancer-associated genes and other molecular biomarkers. Developed by MSK’s Department of Pathology, the diagnostic test has been in use since 2014. With it we can rapidly assess a select range of solid tumor types, including lung cancer, and match patients with available targeted treatments or clinical trials for new agents wherever possible. The FDA recently approved MSK-IMPACT™.

Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

Interventional Pulmonology Research 

We continue to research different modalities and devices for the diagnosis and treatment of pulmonary disorders in patients with malignant diseases, patient outcomes after minimally invasive interventions, the role of oral microbiota in the development of pulmonary disease as a complication following hematologic stem cell transplantation, and other areas, all while minimizing risk and maximizing benefit. We have recently reported data on the first ever use of an absorbable gelatin and thrombin slurry for the bronchoscopic management of airway bleeding.

Radiotherapy is a highly effective treatment for lung cancer, but it can be challenging to deliver consistent therapy to tumor tissue when a patient breathes. MSK is among the first to conduct clinical trials to test the Calypso GPS system as a motion management tool for lung cancer radiation treatments. It has been used successfully for years to treat prostate cancer and is already approved by the FDA for this use. With the Calypso system, tiny beacons about 7.5 millimeters in length are positioned in the lung near the tumor using minimally invasive bronchoscopy. The system triangulates the tumor’s location to ensure that radiation is precisely delivered to tumor tissue. If the patient breathes and the tracking field shifts, radiation is switched off, preventing damage to healthy tissue.

One study is investigating the Calypso system in combination with a deep inspirational breath hold. A second study is testing the system among patients who are not able to hold their breath, with the radiation switching on and off as they breathe normally.

Finally, IP at MSK intends to be one of the first programs to implement the newest robotic technologies for bronchoscopy, which are currently under FDA review. This will greatly enhance our ability to localize lung tumors for diagnosis and, for the first time, reliably treat lung tumors bronchoscopically (4) with thermal therapies, such as radiofrequency ablation or cryoablation.

Robert P. Lee, MD,
Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.

Advancing the Field of Interventional Pulmonology

As a subspecialty, interventional pulmonology requires an extra year of training beyond traditional fellowships in both pulmonary medicine and critical care medicine. To train future leaders in the field, we established the first IP fellowship in New York. In June 2018, we will have graduated four IP fellows. Our IP graduates have all enjoyed success in progressive academic IP programs to which they have greatly contributed to their growth and advancement. In addition, three of our former Pulmonary medicine fellows graduated from subsequent prestigious IP fellowships and all are leading highly successful academic IP programs throughout the country.

We also conduct an accredited annual continuing medical education course called Current Paradigms in Interventional Pulmonology: Endobronchial Ultrasound and Interventional Bronchoscopy; it provides practicing pulmonologists, intensivists, thoracic surgeons, nurses, and technicians with an advanced understanding of EBUS, interventional bronchoscopy, and cytological specimen processing.

IP remains a young field and is solidifying its foundation, to which the Section at MSK has provided substantial progress. There remains a great need for fully trained Interventional Pulmonologists throughout the country, especially in the era of improved utilization of small biopsies by cytopathologists and molecular pathologists (for diagnosis, staging and molecular analysis), enhanced integration and acceptance of palliative care (in all cancers, but especially lung cancer) (5), development of novel therapeutics, such as bronchoscopic ablation of peripheral lung tumors, and lung cancer screening. We look forward to continuing this progress as the Section of IP grows at MSK.

Back to top Arrow (up) icon.Icon pointing upwards. Usually means that the containing element can be opened and closed.