Find a Tracheal Disease Expert


At Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, our Complex Airway Program provides comprehensive care for patients with tracheal diseases — from diagnosis to treatment to surveillance after therapy. The team includes thoracic surgeons, interventional pulmonologists, head and neck surgeons, anesthesiologists, intensive care specialists, and radiologists.

Select from the list below to learn more about our team of experts, including their education, training, board certifications, current publications, and specific areas of expertise.

Thoracic Surgery
Matthew Bott, MD
Matthew Bott
Robert J. Downey, MD, FACS
Robert J. Downey

Co-Director, Specialized Advanced Care Unit

MSK Surgeon Prasad S. Adusumilli, MD
Prasad S. Adusumilli

Deputy Chief and Attending, Thoracic Service; Vice Chair for Translational Research, Department of Surgery; Co-Director, Mesothelioma Program; Head, Solid Tumors Cell Therapy, Cellular Therapeutics Center

Manjit S. Bains, MD, FACS
Manjit S. Bains

Min H. & Yu-Fan C. Kao Chair in Thoracic Cancer

James Huang, MD
James Huang
Memorial Sloan Kettering surgeon Gaetano Rocco
Gaetano Rocco
Valerie W. Rusch, MD, FACS
Valerie W. Rusch

Vice Chair for Clinical Research, Department of Surgery; Miner Family Chair in Intrathoracic Cancers

Memorial Sloan Kettering thoracic surgeon Smita Sihag
Smita Sihag
Head and Neck Surgery
Luc G. T. Morris, MD, MSc, FACS
Luc G. T. Morris

Associate Director, Immunogenomics and Precision Oncology Platform; Director of Fellowship Training

Interventional Pulmonology
Mohit Chawla, MD, FCCP
Mohit Chawla

Chief, Pulmonary Service

Memorial Sloan Kettering Interventional Pulmonologist Bryan Husta
Bryan Husta

Director, Interventional Pulmonary Outpatient Services; Associate Program Director, Interventional Pulmonary Fellowship

Robert P. Lee, MD
Robert P. Lee

Section Head, Section of Interventional Pulmonology; Program Director, Interventional Pulmonology Fellowship

Memorial Sloan Kettering radiologist Michelle Ginsberg
Michelle S. Ginsberg

Vice Chair for Education, Department of Radiology

Andrew J. Plodkowski
Andrew J. Plodkowski

Director of General Radiology

William L. Marx, MD
William L. Marx

Chief, Anesthesiology Service

Memorial Sloan Kettering anesthesiologist David Amar
David Amar

Director, Thoracic Anesthesia

Dawn P. Desiderio, MD
Dawn P. Desiderio

Vice Chair, Department of Anesthesiology & Critical Care Medicine

Memorial Sloan Kettering anesthesiologist Alessia Pedoto
Alessia Pedoto
Critical Care Medicine
Neil A. Halpern, MD, MCCM, FCCP, FACP
Neil A. Halpern

Director, Critical Care Center; Chief, Critical Care Medicine Service; Medical Director, Respiratory Therapy

Stephen M. Pastores, MD, FACP, FCCP, FCCM
Stephen M. Pastores

Director, Critical Care Medicine Fellowship Training & Research Programs

Sanjay Chawla, MD, FCCP, FACP, FCCM
Sanjay Chawla
Nina D. Raoof, MD
Nina D. Raoof
Louis P. Voigt, MD
Louis P. Voigt

Chair, Ethics Committee

Social Work