MSK Awards & Appointments


Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (MSK) announces the following awards and appointments:

Craig Thompson Awarded Columbia Business School’s Deming Cup for Operational Excellence

Craig B. Thompson, MD

Craig B. Thompson, MD, President and CEO at MSK, was awarded Columbia Business School’s Deming Cup for Operational Excellence. Dr. Thompson and MSK were recognized with this prestigious award for leadership during the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. Fellow 2020 honorees include healthcare leaders Michael Dowling, president and CEO of Northwell Health, and Kevin Sowers, MSN, RN, FAAN, President of the Johns Hopkins Health System and Executive Vice President of Johns Hopkins Medicine.

Ingo Mellinghoff Named Chair of MSK’s Department of Neurology

Ingo K. Mellinghoff, MD

Neuro-oncologist Ingo K. Mellinghoff, MD, was appointed MSK’s new Chair of the Department of Neurology.

Dr. Mellinghoff currently holds the Evnin Family Chair in Neuro-Oncology and runs a research lab in the Human Oncology and Pathogenesis Program. He is also Professor of Neurology and Professor of Neuroscience in the Feil Family Brain and Mind Research Institute at Weill Cornell Medicine. Dr. Mellinghoff previously served as Chief of the MSK Brain Tumor Service and Vice Chair of Research in MSK’s Department of Neurology.

Tomya Watt Named Recipient of Inaugural 2020 iCIMS Innovator Award

Tomya Watt

Tomya Watt, Vice President of Talent Acquisition and Mobility and Chief Diversity Officer, was named one of the winners of the 2020 iCIMS Innovator Awards. iCIMS, the talent cloud company that empowers employers to attract, engage, hire, and advance the world’s best talent, recognized 20 talent leaders for their creativity, dedication, and transformation in its first-ever Innovator Awards.

Ms. Watt is also one of the speakers at iCIMS’s inaugural INSPIRE conference, which is being held virtually on November 18.

Four MSK Researchers Receive 2020 Outstanding Investigator Awards from the National Cancer Institute

Joan Massagué, PhD; Maria Jasin, PhD; David A. Scheinberg, MD, PhD; and Hans-Guido Wendel, MD

Four distinguished researchers at MSK and Sloan Kettering Institute (SKI), Joan Massagué, PhD; Maria Jasin, PhD; David A. Scheinberg, MD, PhD; and Hans-Guido Wendel, MD, were named recipients of the National Cancer Institute’s (NCI) 2020 Outstanding Investigator Award (OIA). As part of this exceptional award, the NCI will provide each investigator with up to $600,000 per year for seven years to support their research.

The NCI’s OIA supports investigators and accomplished leaders in cancer research who have been nominated by their respective institutions and are providing significant contributions in the field of cancer and developing treatments and tools that may lead to breakthroughs in biomedical, behavioral, or clinical cancer research.

Lisa DeAngelis Receives Oligo Nation’s Lifetime Achievement Award

Lisa DeAngelis, MD, and Elizabeth Schille, RN, OCN

Lisa DeAngelis, MD, Physician-in-Chief and Chief Medical Officer of MSK, was awarded Oligo Nation’s Lifetime Achievement Award for her leadership in the field of neuro-oncology. MSK nurse Elizabeth Schille, RN, OCN, was also honored with Oligo Nation’s Compassionate Care Award. Ms. Schilles has worked in both the inpatient and outpatient clinic setting at MSK for 20 years.

Jedd Wolchok Receives Hearst Foundation Grant 

Jedd Wolchok, MD, PhD

The William Randolph Hearst Foundation awarded Jedd Wolchok, MD, PhD, a $1 million grant over a three-year period to establish a new Immuno-Oncology Research Fellowship at MSK and support postdoctoral students who are conducting exceptional research in the field of immune-oncology and immunotherapy. The fellowship program will be a part of the Human Oncology and Pathogenesis Program’s (HOPP) Immuno-Oncology service, led by Dr. Wolchok.

Krishna Juluru Named 2021 Presidential Innovation Fellow 

Krishna Juluru, MD

Krishna Juluru, MD, a radiologist and Director of Radiology Informatics, has begun a year-long “tour of duty” in the United States government as a 2021 Presidential Innovation Fellow. Through October 2021, Dr. Juluru will be on leave from MSK while he works with the National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering within the National Institutes of Health, where he will focus on advancing new technologies in COVID-19 diagnostics and coordinating data analytics.

Wouter Karthaus Named 2020 STAT Wunderkind

Wouter Karthaus, PhD

Wouter Karthaus, PhD, Research Assistant in the Charles Sawyers Lab at MSK, was named a 2020 STAT Wunderkind. He was recognized as one of the nation’s best young researchers in health and medicine.

Alessia Pedoto Named an AWEsome Woman by Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists

Alessia Pedoto, MD

Alessia Pedoto, MD, Attending Physician in the anesthesiology department at MSK, was honored by the Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists (SCA) as an AWEsome Woman in the SCA’s AWEsome Women (Anesthesiology Women of Excellence) initiative to recognize prominent women in the field.

Yan Leyfman Named City & State New York Manhattan Hero

Yan Leyfman

Yan Leyfman, Research Assistant in the Michel Sadelain Lab, was named to City & State New York’s Manhattan Heroes issue. He is one of ten recipients who were recognized for going above and beyond during the 2020 COVID-19 pandemic and helping to improve the lives of Manhattan residents.

As part of the joint task force between the American College of Academic International Medicine and the World Academic Council of Emergency Medicine, Mr. Leyfman meets weekly with an international group of researchers to exchange ideas and updates about how the virus is being treated and spreading around the world. With that group, Mr. Leyfman created a cohesive model of COVID-19 that demonstrates how it interacts with other cells.

Engineering News-Record Names David H. Koch Center for Cancer Care at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center Best Healthcare Design Finalist

David H. Koch Center for Cancer Care at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

The David H. Koch Center for Cancer Care at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center was named a Best Healthcare and Project of the Year finalist by Engineering News-Record. The David H. Koch Center for Cancer Care at Memorial Sloan Kettering was designed to help restore patients’ health and well-being and offers chemotherapy, immunotherapy, radiation therapy, blood and marrow transplants, clinical trials, rehabilitation services, and much more.