Primary Brain Tumor Experts

The specialists at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center’s Brain Tumor Center focus only on brain tumors. They bring passion, creativity, expertise, and experience to every patient. Your personal treatment team will include neurologists, brain surgeons, and other experts who’ll use their skill and expertise to customize a plan of care that fits your unique needs.

The multidisciplinary team also includes neuropathologists, neurosurgeons, neuro-oncologists, neuroradiologists, radiation oncologists, and neuropsychologists. By bringing together experts in these highly specialized areas to work as a team, we offer our patients a personalized approach to care.


Lisa M. DeAngelis
Chair, Department of Neurology; Lillian Rojtman Berkman Chair in Honor of Jerome B. Posner
Thomas J. Kaley, MD -- Director, Neuro-Oncology Fellowship Program
Director, Neuro-Oncology Fellowship Program
Pictured: Ingo Mellinghoff
Vice Chair for Research, Department of Neurology; Evnin Family Chair in Neuro-Oncology
Edward K. Avila, DO
Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs, Department of Neurology


Philip H. Gutin
Chair, Department of Neurosurgery; Fred Lebow Chair in Neuro-Oncology
Viviane Tabar, MD
Vice Chair, Research and Education; Theresa Feng Chair in Neurosurgery

Radiation Oncology

Richard M. Gewanter, MD -- Chief, Commack/Rockville Center Radiation Oncology
Chief, Long Island Radiation Oncology
Karen D. Schupak, MD -- Chief, External Beam Radiotherapy Service, Regional Care Network; Chief, Basking Ridge Radiation Oncology
Chief, External Beam Radiotherapy Service, Regional Care Network; Chief, Basking Ridge Radiation Oncology
Timothy A. Chan, MD, PhD
Vice Chair, Department of Radiation Oncology; Director, Translational Oncology Division; Member, Human Oncology & Pathogenesis Program; Director, Immunogenomics and Precision Oncology Platform; PaineWebber Chair in Cancer Genetics


Andrei I. Holodny, MD -- Chief, Neuroradiology Service
Chief, Neuroradiology Service
Pictured: Hilda Stambuk
Director, Head & Neck Radiology
Michelle S. Bradbury, MD, PhD
Director of Intraoperative Imaging, Radiology
Sasan Karimi, MD -- Director, Memorial Sloan Kettering 55th Street Radiology
Director, MSKCC 55th Street Radiology

Psychiatry and Neuropsychology

Rehabilitation Medicine


Marc K. Rosenblum, MD
Chief, Autopsy Service; Director, Neuropathology; Founder's Chair

Social Work